Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mate - 1000th day on the dole

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

You can just click "edit" and delete the other post. ;)

An STD? Just one?! Do I have to pay for a curry and a six pack to get the other 12? :(

Im guessing with them girls a bottle of buckfast will do ya grand. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

deisedave wrote: »
    Im guessing with them girls a bottle of buckfast will do ya grand. :D

Please tell me that was a pun otherwise I'm an idiot for laughing that much. :P

In all seriousness, you actually know (or knew) girls whose objective was to have kids just for the benefits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Please tell me that was a pun otherwise I'm an idiot for laughing that much. :P

In all seriousness, you actually know (or knew) girls whose objective was to have kids just for the benefits?

Ya actually a girl I was going out with from 14-17 was always trying to have one with me for that reason, We broke up and 2 months later she was pregnant with some out and out chavs baby, her wish has now come through :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: shes living the high life baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

Screw you, I was out of contract in 2008, used all my savings and got a loan to do a postgrad down Trinity. No parental or govt support. I nearly went bankrupt. Then after that I got rejected for about 150jobs. In October after much blood, sweat and tears I got a job, a good job. It pisses me off that there are tonnes of lazy feckers in Ireland, who don't even apply for jobs nor go into training.

You know nothing about our friend.
    We've tried to encourage all the time, sending him links to jobs, encouraging him to apply.
    Those avenues have failed.
    His parents don't care about his employment situation. He's very fortunate that he has educated friends there to motivate him.

For some a bit of public embarasment may cause him to get off his backside.

Who are you to judge?

And also, your mate's a loser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭nickobrien1985

Please send me details of menial jobs I'll forward them on to Kev

deisedave wrote: »
    Ya actually a girl I was going out with from 14-17 was always trying to have one with me for that reason, We broke up and 2 months later she was pregnant with some out and out chavs baby, her wish has now come through :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: shes living the high life baby

Ya muppet! She was a damn keeper! It's people like you ruinning the great dreams of the youth. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

A friend of mine - Kevin is celebrating his 1000th day on the dole today, he's been 2.5yrs+ out of work.
    In that time he has lived at home, (he's 28), and has applied for in total about 10jobs.
    He has even admitted that if the dole were lower he might actually work harder to find a job.
    He was never bother to go into training either.

Do we have a massive problem with our social welfare system if this is the case?

How bout the govt. offer €500 to someone who finds a job after being on the dole for less than 6mths?

Does my mate have any hope in building a future career at all?
    He must be a bum, If FG do anything they need to sort out social welfare as a career of choice. I see loads of fellas around here moaning about the recession and they have been receiving UB for years whilst working. They can go out to the pubs several nights a week, keep a good care under them and raise a family. Madness

Obviously if you're scamming then you should get kicked off. I don't think anyone would say "go work full time, have a family and scam the dole".

Kev goes to the pub all the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭yrwhu8jxtni06a

We had a poster who claimed to known a man who's being on it since 1983

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056186667

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So. Day 1,009. Any news?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

you mean like home care? or babysitter? you jealous?

shouldn't you be reporting these guys?

are they you?

are they?

but more importantly can these 'loads of fellas' work with hangovers?

oh, and what bout the foreigners taking all our jobs? what bout them? - oh, and the dingle single mothers who are eating all the world resources - selfish gits.

oh, and the lizards - what bout the lizards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭tonysea

UB lasts one year only my friend....one year. after that your "means tested" and told gtfo.

tonysea wrote: »
    UB lasts one year only my friend....one year. after that your "means tested" and told gtfo.

You can stay on UA indefinitely.
    Lots of people have been on it for years!

Means tested? - If you're over 25 you're parents income don't matter.
    Its as if many unemployed have tonnes of cash in the bank either.
    My mate Kev doesn't own a house.

You get UA as long as you're looking for jobs, although they don't really check

we're at about day 1050 now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Jesus, let the thread die already. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

So what

Mister men wrote: »
    So what

Where do you think the money comes from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

[Geordie accent]

Day 1,050 ... Kev has been out of bed for fourteen minutes and is having breakfast. He is not aware of the weekly nominations yet and is trawling through the newspaper calssifieds...

[/Geordie accent]

EDIT - it's actually only day 1,036. Give the man a break.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

Kev is off to Canada next week. Finally he's off the dole! We have estimated that he cost the state in excess of €33k over the last 3years. Great to see taxpayers money going to good use.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Fair Play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

So he must have been saving his dole! How could he afford to do that? It's too high! rabble!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I do'nt know how anyone could be on the dole for 2 and a half years without loosing their sanity. What does your mate do all day every day?

I work 9-5 Mon-Fri and even I get bored at the weekends when theres nothing going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I do'nt know how anyone could be on the dole for 2 and a half years without loosing their sanity. What does your mate do all day every day?

I work 9-5 Mon-Fri and even I get bored at the weekends when theres nothing going on.

Work to live, dont live to work my friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

good on him :D
    never mind what people say on here. If he can get away with, good for him :D

gotta really hate the whole "my taxes, my taxes!" line. Get what you can in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Kev is off to Canada next week. Finally he's off the dole! We have estimated that he cost the state in excess of €33k over the last 3years. Great to see taxpayers money going to good use.

Well if he spent most of the time down the pub, he probably gave most of it back :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

LighterGuy wrote: »
    good on him :D
    never mind what people say on here. If he can get away with, good for him :D

gotta really hate the whole "my taxes, my taxes!" line. Get what you can in life.

You should try Greece, you'd like it there :pac: