Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wooden flooring - offers anywhere ?

Options
  • 23-01-2011 1:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

I changing the floor at the moment - hope this one will last a looong time

I have three kids so need a decent hardwearing floor - am thinking of a solid/semi solid wooden floor that can be sanded in the future if need be

Any good offers anywhere ?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 torres123

well i have 13 years experience in wood flooring. in my opinion what you need is a good quality laminate floor. semi solid, engineered, or solid will all mark especially with kids. now laminates range from 4.99 to 30.00 plus.. the old saying you get what you pay for couldnt be more true when its comes to laminates..the cheap stuff is rubbish.. the best brand of laminate in my opinion is quickstep..it has high scratch resistance properties and is very realistic looking. it also has a locking system so youll never have gaps appearing in your floor. its colourfast as well which means it wont fade from natural light.hope this is of some help to you.. if there is anything more i can help you with, just ask..
    p.s i do not work for quick step
    i can offer you advice on all the different types of floors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Well even with kids a solid hardwood floor in say oak maple or ash is hard wearing. Avoid the likes of birch, cherry or walnut as these mark easier. The beauty of a real floor or a decent (5mm veneer) engineered board is that they can be sanded after a few years when the kids are older and finish brand new.