Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wicklow

not the co manager,the councillors.
    They have to face the electorate and justify whatever they try to raise locally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Auctionmcd

not the co manager,the councillors.
    They have to face the electorate and justify whatever they try to raise locally.
    Sorry yes you are right BB but the fact is they have 4 years honeymoon period before they need to face the electorate and they will be dictated by the fact that most councils are controlled by FG at the moment and they will be dictated to by FG head office. A lot of damage can be done in 4 years. A homeowner can be crippled and forced out of their home in less time as they are already hard pressed to maintain payments plus the fact that FG policies on creating employment are dubious at best. (Not saying the other parties are better or worse)

Aren't they 2 years into a term,so it wouldn't be 4 years.
    Anyhow I've made my point in the thread you created for this separate subject

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056183969

Aren't they 2 years into a term,so it wouldn't be 4 years.
    Anyhow I've made my point in the thread you created for this separate subject

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056183969

Of course you are right BB in that there are just over 3 years remaining. It is really not the fact that councils make this decision its the fact that FG lied about it that annoys me.

Voltwad wrote: »
    West Wicklow consists of more than Baltinglass ;)

West Wicklow is badly lacking in representation. I've only seen Tom Fortune out in Blessington thus far.

Any more canvassers since Voltwad?

Auctionmcd wrote: »
    Of course you are right BB in that there are just over 3 years remaining. It is really not the fact that councils make this decision its the fact that FG lied about it that annoys me.
    I'd hardly call mentioning local councils revenue raising in their manifesto lying.
    It's there in black and white.

Thats an entirely separate thing to a potential government saying that they would not introduce new income taxes.

It's certainly not a lie by any standard.It's all there for the public to digest and vote for,if they want totally unhidden.
    Your reaction is totally ott in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Does anyone think that Enda will have to do a deal with Jim Tallon ??????????

Has Nicky Kelly rejoined LABOUR?
    I see on wicklownews.net he has declared himself as a LABOUR candidate?

Has Nicky Kelly rejoined LABOUR?
    I see on wicklownews.net he has declared himself as a LABOUR candidate?

He is down as IND on Paddypower ????

ebbsy wrote: »
    He is down as IND on Paddypower ????

http://wicklownews.net/

He has an ad running as being in LABOUR on this site, just wondering has he rejoined?

You may be right there.

Excuse my ignorance in this regard but do you still have to place a deposit to be a candidate, its just that Wicklow has 24 candidates ???????!!!!!!!!

You may be right there.

Excuse my ignorance in this regard but do you still have to place a deposit to be a candidate, its just that Wicklow has 24 candidates ???????!!!!!!!!

As far as I know you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Any more canvassers since Voltwad?
    just timmins team to my door. stephen donnelly had a public meeting but I didn't hear about it until after it was finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Dannygirl

Mushy wrote: »
    Does anybody know much about Stephen Donnelly? Solely based on his policies, he seems decent, and I am strongly considering voting for him right now.

In the grand scheme of things, FG X2, Labour will get at least one (I'd hope Ferris), SF might nick a seat and FF too.

NOTE: I am in no way linked to Stephen Donnelly or any other politicians.

EDIT: Looking at John Brady's website, using terms like "feckless halfwits", while true, surely cannot be expected to get elected.

I saw him on Vincent Brown and have since watched and listened to everything I can find online. I went to a meeting in Bray last Wed ( I actually missed Arsenal beat Barcelona, for me to miss that match speaks volumes! But I figured I should put my money where my mouth is!) He is definitely getting my number 1. I hope he get's yours also. :-)

'NOTE: I am in no way linked to Stephen Donnelly or any other politicians.' Ditto.

North Wicklow has got alot from TDs, Dick Roche, Liz McManus etc, roads are good, their pot holes get filled, i'm gonna hope someone from south gets in so its Nicky Kelly or Pat Fitzgerald for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Seriously who gives a fook about potholes now? Esp with the measures over the next 3 yrs

gcgirl wrote: »
    Seriously who gives a fook about potholes now? Esp with the measures over the next 3 yrs
    Me:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

chicio wrote: »
    North Wicklow has got alot from TDs, Dick Roche, Liz McManus etc, roads are good, their pot holes get filled, i'm gonna hope someone from south gets in so its Nicky Kelly or Pat Fitzgerald for me

The type of voter that has contributed to this s**** we are in!

Don't think so, the thread is called Wicklow, 4 out of 5 current TDs in Wicklow are from North Wicklow, my reply to post was im voting and hoping a south wicklow TD gets in for a change, and as they would be new to the dail they won't have contributed to the "s**** we are in" either,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Its your county councillors that will better assist with potholes in south wicklow.

I would hope our 5 parlimentarians would have bigger fish to try.

Having said that, the majority of the county is poorly represented compared to the North east pocket.

I have decided that Tom Fortune is getting my no.1 vote. Haven't decided about transfers yet as there's so many independents to go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Revive1

Voltwad wrote: »
    West Wicklow consists of more than Baltinglass ;)

West Wicklow is badly lacking in representation. I've only seen Tom Fortune out in Blessington thus far.

I had a call to the door from Independent Anthony Fitzgerald .
    He said he had resisted running before but now it has gone beyond the beyond and he had to try and do something . Being tired of spin and waffle from most of the other lot. High on spoof and low on delivery once the party line takes over the people are forgotten .
    Anyway Anthony's bug bear was business rates being too high for sme's and emplyment was suffereing due to high overheads ( rates etc ) High rates are a tax on emplyment . other issues were no finace available to keep small business afloat or to expand and employ more people.
    He seems entirely sincere and so far seems to be well received in the area. I had a look at his website and the issues there are ones that are affecting himself also. His slogan was No Party No Posters just your voice. You van google him and come up with his site ( I don't know if you are supposed to post direcet links here )

Paddy Power has Dick Roche in 6th place at 4/5.....Behan in 7th place at 11/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Don't think so, the thread is called Wicklow, 4 out of 5 current TDs in Wicklow are from North Wicklow, my reply to post was im voting and hoping a south wicklow TD gets in for a change, and as they would be new to the dail they won't have contributed to the "s**** we are in" either,

You wanna vote for a crook or a FF'er....yeah that won't change anything and certainly does contribute to the **** that we're in.

Tom Fortune is back over our way again today I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭miseagustusa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QzoxG9b9i8

have a look at the above video, it happened in arklow, a local independent candidate got permission to put up a banner on a disused building in the town, Peter Dempsey is running a no poster campagain so this is his only advertising on the street!!!! 20mins later another party's truck was parked on a public footpath, causing an obstruction!!!! DIRTY TACTICS!!!, obviously peter dempsey is a major treat 2 the FF candidate!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QzoxG9b9i8

have a look at the above video, it happened in arklow, a local independent candidate got permission to put up a banner on a disused building in the town, Peter Dempsey is running a no poster campagain so this is his only advertising on the street!!!! 20mins later another party's truck was parked on a public footpath, causing an obstruction!!!! DIRTY TACTICS!!!, obviously peter dempsey is a major treat 2 the FF candidate!!!!!
    Its a dirty campaign, the only posters that have been untouched in west wicklow are Tom Fortune and Billy Timmins the rest have been torn down.

Does anyone think that Enda will have to do a deal with Jim Tallon ??????????

Enda will do a deal with the devil if he has to, FG want power

Thats a sweeping statement,care to elaborate with something tangible ?

I think it is clear that he desires a majority government with himself at the helm as they all do, am not saying hes any different from any other party leader but he is not any better either, he will do what he has to to get the power as will Martin and Gilmore

Well obviously,but there was no need to make the point in a vexatious singling out way like you did.
    The point of a politician is to aim to get into power.
    Ultimately it's our decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

From those living in the constituency, who will take the last seat, Donnelly or the third FG man?

Well obviously,but there was no need to make the point in a vexatious singling out way like you did.
    The point of a politician is to aim to get into power.
    Ultimately it's our decision.

Ultimately it is and unfortunately the choices we have at this moment in time are very limited, just the same old story, we are great , trust us, we wont do what FF did but unfortunately we wont know til they get in will we?

No we won't but then theres the next election.
    FF have been there for decades minus a 3 year gap.

In my opinion,theres some great candidates in Wicklow this time.

No we won't but then theres the next election.
    FF have been there for decades minus a 3 year gap.

In my opinion,theres some great candidates in Wicklow this time.

Is there? A lot of them have been in politics for years even if they were in opposition, there are scandals involving nearly every one of them, I know some of them personally and wouldnt describe them as being honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

I saw Billy Timmins handing out his leaflets a few times over the last few days in Blessington and I also have had FF ,Dick Roache's wife to be exact at my door yesterday looking for support.I haven't seen anyone else canvassing the area and calling to doors.

Kavanagh and Brady were in Blessington last week

I must have missed them ,it's a pity ,I did want to talk to Brady.

So anyone any idea which way the seats will go? Am finding it very perplexing as the vote apart from Timmins and Harris seem to be going all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Me:)

You've very little to worry about then

So anyone any idea which way the seats will go? Am finding it very perplexing as the vote apart from Timmins and Harris seem to be going all over the place.

I think Donnelly and Brady are a shoe in ,I have no idea after that.There are some that I have talked to that are voting for Roche and Timmins because they always have (they say they're nice lads:confused:) and then there's some that have just abandoned the mainstream parties altogether ,it's hard one to call tbh

Donelly and Brady? Think they will be fighting for the 5th seat but cant see them getting 1 each

I don't know about that tbh ,just from talking to neighbors friends and family ,the support for these two guys is big.But then again when people get to the ballot box they could change their mind.Timmins will get a seat ,everyone up here knows him personally a lot will vote for him ,like wise with Ferris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Why didn't People Before Profit/ULA run any candidates in Wicklow? There's no serious left-wing candidates, unless you count Brady (which I don't).

I know Carmel McKenna ran in 2007 and was a complete disaster, but surely either them or the Socialist Party could have run someone?

I think Donnelly and Brady are a shoe in.

From what I can see its only the Bray/Greystones area that is getting horny for Donnelly, down in regular Wicklow he has little presence.

Brady however will get some votes from every urban centre.
    He will go further but neither will get a seat.

I'm calling it as follows

3 x FG
    1 x Lab
    1 x FF

I think Dick Roche will sneak in in last place, without reaching the quota, because from 4th to 9th place the vote will be very close.

Ivan Yeates predicted Conal Kavanagh to get a seat because of his Wicklow town base.
    He will be close, but I think Roche will secure enough rural vote/transfers to sneak it.

Exciting though!

From what I can see its only the Bray/Greystones area that is getting horny for Donnelly, down in regular Wicklow he has little presence.

Brady however will get some votes from every urban centre.
    He will go further but neither will get a seat.

I'm calling it as follows

3 x FG
    1 x Lab
    1 x FF

I think Dick Roche will sneak in in last place, without reaching the quota, because from 4th to 9th place the vote will be very close.

Ivan Yeates predicted Conal Kavanagh to get a seat because of his Wicklow town base.
    He will be close, but I think Roche will secure enough rural vote/transfers to sneak it.

Exciting though!

I think there will be a dogfight for last 2 seats, Kavanagh doesnt seem to be getting much aid from his 2 running mates so I think Ferris will get 1st labour seat and fortune will be fighting fopr last seat. Timmins, Ferris and Harris will probably get first 3 seats.
    Probably Donnely, Brady, Fortune, Doyle and Roche fighting for last 2 seats with Kavanagh giving Fortune a chance through his elimination.

I think Doyle might swing the 4th seat and the last one is anyones but favour Fortune and Donnely over Roche

I think there will be a dogfight for last 2 seats, Kavanagh doesnt seem to be getting much aid from his 2 running mates so I think Ferris will get 1st labour seat and fortune will be fighting fopr last seat. Timmins, Ferris and Harris will probably get first 3 seats.
    Probably Donnely, Brady, Fortune, Doyle and Roche fighting for last 2 seats with Kavanagh giving Fortune a chance through his elimination.

I think Doyle might swing the 4th seat and the last one is anyones but favour Fortune and Donnely over Roche

I'd go along with that, and the margins are very thin for the 4th & 5th seats.

This time though, Dick Roche has the North Wicklow FF vote to himself.
    Turncoat Behan will get some votes, but the die-hard FF voters will not forgive him for abandoning the party

The FF running mate, Pat Fitzgerald is not well liked either.

So thats my angle on why 'Ol' Big Head' will get re-elected :pac:

I'd go along with that, and the margins are very thin for the 4th & 5th seats.

This time though, Dick Roche has the North Wicklow FF vote to himself.
    Turncoat Behan will get some votes, but the die-hard FF voters will not forgive him for abandoning the party

The FF running mate, Pat Fitzgerald is not well liked either.

So thats my angle on why 'Ol' Big Head' will get re-elected :pac:

Maybe but it will be the 5th seat and the margins will be very tight, will greatly depend on the order of eliminations

Exciting though!

Roche and Timmins both longstanding in Blessington will share the North Wicklow vote between them ,they have no one to worry about up here really ,people here either like Billy or Dick and to a lesser extent Ferris

Yes but Roche might struggle with the Collapse in FF vote