Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Geansai Rua

Auctionmcd wrote: »
    Just like to draw your attention to what Billy Timmins does for Wicklow.
    http://www.tribune.ie/archive/article/2007/mar/18/wicklow-councillor-accused-of-breaching-ethics-leg/
    He also voted as did all of FG to turn glen ding woods into a dump and is supporting the FG proposal to hand over huge revenue making powers to the County Council (That means your wicklow county council manager will decide how much proprty tax and rates you will pay) NOT sure of the definition but stealth tax springs to mind.

If FG get an overall majority this country will be screwed even more, we have lost our sovereignty now we are going to lose our language, welcome to the new Ireland. Might as well rename the country Europes lapdog or something similar. FG need to go into government as part of a coalition and the other party needs to be strong enough to calm them down as they tend to be very right wing when they are given power and I think capitalism brought this country to its knees because capitalism without regulation is just as bad as socialism or any other ism.

We havent been told the truth in 14 years by our government or our banks and we wont get it now from FG especially Billy Timmins who claims so much but his history tells a different story.
    Just looking back on this now, I didnt mean to say that I thought he was a great lad or whatever! I meant to say that that is the belief around here! Not my opinion, as I wouldnt vote for him at all..
    Sorry for the misunderstanding!:confused: Must have been a bit distracted that day!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lazyboy1

Have seen some posts removed here and the user seems to have been banned? Is there a reason that others are still up and still posting?

Surely these boards moderators are UNBIAS?

I noted some allegations aginst Labour remain alive in this forum and that they are just unfounded and unsubstantiated allegations yet some FG allegations were removed. Can someone clarify this, is it normal practice?

[MOD]Re-reg of Auctionmcd (banned 1 week for mudslinging at FG). Permabanned.[/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Still havent got even one politician to our door...:confused:

I do think Timmins will get in with his keep a TD in west wicklow campaign, but I havent heard of anyone in WW saying they would vote for Roche.
    Unless they are too ashamed to admit it!:(

Yeah Billy was handing out leaflets outside my daughters school and I heard some one say in the distance "Billy yer only a bollix"

His rep doesn't count for much ,people know he's from the old slab ,but then again some are voting for him:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Yeah Billy was handing out leaflets outside my daughters school and I heard some one say in the distance "Billy yer only a bollix"

His rep doesn't count for much ,people know he's from the old slab ,but then again some are voting for him:confused:

He is as useful as a chocolate teapot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

Voltwad wrote: »
    West Wicklow consists of more than Baltinglass ;)

West Wicklow is badly lacking in representation. I've only seen Tom Fortune out in Blessington thus far.
    once you get to aughrim bridge thats where wicklow stops

timmons has not been seen in tinahely shillelagh or carnew for years

not enough votes to care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

gcgirl wrote: »
    National issues for the td's, local issues for the local councillors that's the way it should be !

joe behan has on his poster ,,joe thinks for himself

theres the problem, they are always thinking of themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

jakdelad wrote: »
    joe behan has on his poster ,,joe thinks for himself

theres the problem, they are always thinking of themselves

Haha spot on. Brown envelopes anyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

I really cant see Dick Roche getting a seat, Bradys crew seem very organised and Labour will have a strong enough showing although I dont think Fortune will get elected. It all depends on whether the labour transfers will go to FG and vice versa. Conal might take some of Timmins vote whether enough to make a dent in his transfers is hard to tell
    Voltwad wrote: »
    I actually think Doyle (FG) is in danger of losing out.

I agree, Harris has a very good chance at this. Large youth vote and he has been very active since being a councillor.

Behan is hard to call, theres an appetite for a Mildred Fox type character FF but not truly FF. He certainly hasnt as much funding as the likes as SF but he will have very loyal support but as said previously mainly bray based. He will get some FF transfers and this on top of the dogfight between harris and donnely in greystones will put out the latter

So many variables, hard to predict but maybe three seats for FG wicklow all depends how it goes for doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Was canvassed by Stephen Donnelly this evening - very impressive candidate and he managed to convince quite a number of my neighbors to vote for him #1 too, despite most of them previously having said they wouldn't be voting Indep. . I think he has a far stronger chance of being elected than people think. He is exactly the type of candidate we need at this time - certainly not more of the same parish pump politics. Apart from him who'll i'll be voting for based on his personal ability and expertise, the rest of my votes will be solely based on which party they are from because frankly the actual candidates from the main parties are piss poor. For a constituency with 24 candidates it is full of un-inspiring run of the mil types which is why it is so refreshing to see someone like Donnelly go for election.

Former FF'er (now Ind) Joe Behan is sending out leaflets claiming that people have to vote for him or else Sinn Fein will get in. Very low and arrogant in my view to try and trick people into thinking that it is only between him and Sinn Fein, especially considering he is totally ignoring other serious contenders like Stephen Donnelly. His FF colors still very much shining through it seems. I don't like this sort of crap at all - another desperate FF'er Avril Power is doing something similar in Dublin.

SB-08 wrote: »
    Was canvassed by Stephen Donnelly this evening - very impressive candidate and he managed to convince quite a number of my neighbors to vote for him #1 too, despite most of them previously having said they wouldn't be voting Indep. . I think he has a far stronger chance of being elected than people think. He is exactly the type of candidate we need at this time - certainly not more of the same parish pump politics. Apart from him who'll i'll be voting for based on his personal ability and expertise, the rest of my votes will be solely based on which party they are from because frankly the actual candidates from the main parties are piss poor. For a constituency with 24 candidates it is full of un-inspiring run of the mil types which is why it is so refreshing to see someone like Donnelly go for election.

Former FF'er (now Ind) Joe Behan is sending out leaflets claiming that people have to vote for him or else Sinn Fein will get in. Very low and arrogant in my view to try and trick people into thinking that it is only between him and Sinn Fein, especially considering he is totally ignoring other serious contenders like Stephen Donnelly. His FF colors still very much shining through it seems. I don't like this sort of crap at all - another desperate FF'er Avril Power is doing something similar in Dublin.

where can I get more info on Donnellys policies?

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Dannygirl

woop wrote: »
    where can I get more info on Donnellys policies?

His web page is www.stephendonnelly.ie/
    There are plenty of you tube clips also. :)

He cant be any worse than whats there now, thats for sure. Arklow has gone to sh**e and all I hear is about the great names such as Timmons or Roche.

They are useless.

Dannygirl wrote: »
    His web page is www.stephendonnelly.ie/
    There are plenty of you tube clips also. :)

very little on actual policy, understandable being an independent however I got talking to someone who cleared up a lot for me thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

SB-08, any chance you live round Blessington way, I was canvassing there for Donnelly this evening and might have knocked at your door with our team.

We were amazed at all the people that said they'd vote for him. It's my first time canvassing, so I don't know what's expected, but had lots of in-depth conversations with people about what's gotten us into this mess and the best way out. I love it, jaysus I'd canvass every week if I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

SB-08 I'm the exact same as yourself. While never canvassed due to being away now, i'm home to vote. Number 1 for Donelly then its party based down to like 2 or 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 chelleflife

I heard of Stephen Donnelly through mutual friends but I actually only briefly met him once before the campaign. Having heard his policies and checked out his credentials, I decided he's the guy I want representing us in the Dail, be it in opposition or otherwise.

I believe in this guy so much that, despite not living in Wicklow, Ive driven out there a few nights to canvass for him. For the record, Ive never canvassed before and Im not affiliated with any party. I just believe in this guy and couldn't not try to help. I wish I could have done more. I guess as corny as it sounds, I have a bit of faith in the system when people like him can come out of nowhere and make such an impression, especially in these times.

The response on the door steps in Blessington was so positive. As can be expected, a few weren't interested in talking to canvassers which is fair enough - its not everyone's bag, but so many were very serious about their vote and last night, loads of doors were opened to us and I seriously enjoyed talking to them. As a nervous first-time canvasser I was initially a bit concerned about how I would be greeted but I needn't have worried selling Stephen. People want change. They want someone who knows what they're talking about. They were eager to hear about him and so many were already impressed by what they had seen and heard of him in the media. Yes he's an independant with no party backing, but my God, how can we hope for change if we don't give a chance to these guys to prove what they can do. One strong voice can do wonders.

As I say, this is the first time Ive been involved in an election. I don't have threads of political posts here and Ive certainly never woken up on election day and been so excited about the prospect of real change. But today is a great day!

I wish all the candidates the best today. The campaign trail is tough work and we have to appreciate the dedication that goes into it even if we don't always agree with the policies. Fair dues to all these guys for trying to make a difference. I applaud them all. But my fingers are well and truely crossed for Stephen Donnelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

SB-08 wrote: »

Would he be willing to give up his "leaders payment"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

pretty poor on Behans behalf

I hope the people of wicklow are wise enough to send this guy packing.

In his 4 years as a TD he has done next to nothing other than abandon his own party when things get tough.

Mark my words, if he does get elected he will be back in the FF fold before the year is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

pretty poor on Behans behalf

I hope the people of wicklow are wise enough to send this guy packing.

In his 4 years as a TD he has done next to nothing other than abandon his own party when things get tough.

Mark my words, if he does get elected he will be back in the FF fold before the year is out.

Yeah he is thinking for himself. :rolleyes:

One thing I am interested in is how many times he voted against his old party, ff ?

I have met Donnelly and he seems like a genuine guy who has actual proper ideas.
    Hope he gets in.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    One thing I am interested in is how many times he voted against his old party, ff ?

This would be an interesting measure of his 'independence'.

As far as I know, the first time he voted against the government was in 2008, in protest at the withdrawal of medical cards for the over 70s.

Does anyone know of any other times he voted against the government, or any websites we could find out on?

good point.
    It would be interesting. to know.

I have a suspicion that he may have abstained rather than voting against his buddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

edanto wrote: »
    This would be an interesting measure of his 'independence'.

As far as I know, the first time he voted against the government was in 2008, in protest at the withdrawal of medical cards for the over 70s.

Does anyone know of any other times he voted against the government, or any websites we could find out on?
    AFAIK, he's only voted against the Gov't once, the instance you mention. He voted in favour of the Finance Bill and all the resolutions before Christmas which introduced the reduced children's allowance and the USC amongst other things.

Also....

Is the count centre in Arklow again this time?

Just back from voting in Ashford, they said its been quite steady there all day so far, so thats good to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Also....

Is the count centre in Arklow again this time?
    AFAIK it's in Shoreline, Mill Road, Greystones. Next to the Rugby Club.

Do you know, can anyone just go to the count centre and watch, or do you need to apply for a ticket etc?

Mikedragon asked in a dedicated thread. It'll be on tv though yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

Voted just before 12. A guy came in asking for the percentages for that booth. Which was 14%.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 chelleflife

Just found this site talking about entry to count centres...seems you need a pass which you can get from an officer or a candidate but I hear they're often thin on the ground for a big election like this one...especially with the large number of candidates in Wicklow!

http://www.politics.ie/elections/152646-details-election-count-centres-general-election-2011-a.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭StillWaters

I think you may need to be nominated talliesperson in the morning, but after the tallies are completed (round lunchtime I would think), anyone can come in and watch democracy in action.

It won't be until after lunch that it will get exciting anyway, and it may be Monday by the time the count is completed.

I'm a seasoned political activist, but even I struggled with the ballot paper with the sheer volume of information. The tally and count will be difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

My vote 'might' go something like this :)

Andrew Doyle FG
    Billy Timmons FG
    Simon Harris FG
    Anne Ferris LBR
    Conal Kavanagh LBR
    Anthony Fitzgerald INDE
    Niall Byrne GRN

Knew my 3 most wanted, then others who would be better down to 7/8, then filled it in leaving Fianna Fail and Joe Behan blank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭lucy2010

Locally if you needed something done you contacted Liz Mc manus or Joe Behan. Going to be very hard to call I think. I dont see Dick getting back in though. Even my own parents avid FF have said enough is enough now. I can see Brady getting a seat given SF only have one candidate the SF vote for the entire constituancy will go to him.
    Will see what tomorrow brings .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭skearon

I'll be posting live updates to twitter and Google Docs

See my blog, www.kearon.ie for updates during day

Now off to bed for a few hours sleep ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭yogidc26

Just wondering were the votes are been counted in wicklow and can you go down and have a look at it

Donnelly in 6th place so far, he's certainly in the running. My gut feeling is that he'll pick up transfers from everywhere though and will finish strong, ahead of SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭pieface_ie

I hope John Brady does well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

3 FG and 1 Lab a certainty

The final seat is now neck and neck between Brady and Donnelly - I am hoping Donnelly manages to get the 5th seat due to transfers.

skearon wrote: »
    I'll be posting live updates to twitter and Google Docs

See my blog, www.kearon.ie for updates during day

Now off to bed for a few hours sleep ...

This is superb!!

I watched 2hrs of RTE this morning for a wicklow tally and got nowhere.

Good job sir.

Also, bad news for labour so far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭pieface_ie

Thank you for the updates skearon, excellent source

Yeah well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Excellent information. Looks like 3 FG and 1 SF. Will be interesting to see the final results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Excellent information. Looks like 3 FG and 1 SF. Will be interesting to see the final results.

Looking good so far For Brady and Donnelly

Doyle 14.4,
    Timmins 13.2,
    Harris 12.3,
    Brady 10.2,
    Donnelly 8.9,
    ferris 7.8,
    Behan 6,
    roche 5.5

Maybe no Labour:eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,833 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Would be nice to see Donelly get a seat, he really kicked up his campaign game in the last week or so. Looks like he has a good chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

Mushy wrote: »
    Maybe no Labour:eek:

It all depends on how the transfers go. Ferris has two running partners to rely on for transfers, Donnelly can probably rely on a good few transfer from across the political spectrum, Behan and Roche have 7000 votes between them, hard to say where the majority of transfer from those will go. Brady being Sinn Fein isn't has transfer friendly as either of the other two so its as of yet not inconceivable that he will get overtaken by the other two and not get a seat.

pljudge321 wrote: »
    It all depends on how the transfers go. Ferris has two running partners to rely on for transfers, Donnelly can probably rely on a good few transfer from across the political spectrum, Behan and Roche have 7000 votes between them, hard to say where the majority of transfer from those will go. Brady being Sinn Fein isn't has transfer friendly as either of the other two so its as of yet not inconceivable that he will get overtaken by the other two and not get a seat.

Exactly. Will be a good battle for last 2 seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

yes. the last two seats do look to be where all the fun is going to happen. i think at this point that it is highly unlikely that there will be anyone else in the running for them so it looks to be a 3 horse race between Ferris, Donnelly and Brady.

as was said above Brady, being a Sinn Féin candidate is not the most transfer friendly of options, where Donnelly can probably expect decent transfers from other indi sources, and perhaps even some of the party transfers. again ferris has her two running mates for transfers, and she may get some of the ff transfers - from people who voted ff and didn't want to transfer to fg.

it will be interesting to see where those ff transfers do go however, and to see does Brady pick up transfer votes.

it is however by no means a certainty and may come down to the wire. we are in for a LONG wait methinks :D

I came down to the count centre a few hours ago to watch, and I can report that the poster above is completely right! A rather slow event, long count underway.

At the moment the two lowest candidates have been eliminated and their votes are being distributed, no-one really expects anything to start vhanging significantly until another 5 or 10 have been eliminated. That'll probably mean tomorrow before any news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

I'm right as always Wicklow is such a hole