Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joan Burton on Vincent Brown

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Sand wrote: »
    @InchicoreDude

I think Covney was stumped because Browne was harping on about the morality of the guarantee. Covney was probably a little bit puzzled because whilst the morality of it makes for a good polemic, its not realpolitick.

The reason why the banks problems are the problems of the Irish people is the Irish people elected Fianna Fail and the Greens to make decisions on their behalf, and FF/Greens chose to take on all the losses of the banks and their speculators. FF/Greens werent some random bunch - they were put in power by the Irish people in free and fair elections.

The Irish people elected and backed a bunch of clowns based on their profile in the locality, or their proficiency at sorting out local problems. They didnt value national politicial skills other than backstabbing and jeering. If you vote in eejits, dont be surprised when you get awful decisions.

That people are credibly considering voting for hard left/provos candidates on the basis of some sort of spite/anger/toys of out pram nonsense shows many in the Irish electorate have learnt nothing.

As for Joan Burton - she and Gilmore are 2 of the worst examples of vaccuous non-politicians in the country. Her performance last night was woeful, but then it always is - no facts, no policies, no honesty: just blather. All she added last night was a bit of shouting.
    Er, you've effectively ruled out voting for anybody. You don't want right wing status quo or left wing change (for good or ill).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

It would be a great comedy if the whole thing wasn't serious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Anyone coming late to it, here is the summary Vid

• Registered Users Posts: 12,580 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Er, you've effectively ruled out voting for anybody. You don't want right wing status quo or left wing change (for good or ill).

I dont believe I have.

Whatever about the right wing status quo (:confused:) or the left wing change (:confused:) I've noted that:

The Irish electorate put FF and the Greens into power
    The Irish electorate did so based on short term, "whats in it for me!" thinking
    Some aspects of the Irish electorate are continuing on this short term, "whats in it for me!" thinking - registering some protest vote with a bunch of economically iliterate lefties, provos or single issue local candidates who have no national policy at all, whatsoever other than "whats in it for me!"

We have had 4 years of crucial, criticial decisions which have had major impacts on all aspects of our lives since the last election. Most of those decisions have been badly, badly wrong. Several of the TDs elected by the Irish people have freely admitted or otherwise indicated they do not understand the issues they are voting on and simply vote with the whip for as long as the short term "whats in it for me!" requirement is satisfied. They made a lot of awful decisions, but the worst decision of all was made by the Irish electorate who decided to vote them in as the people they trusted to make the big decisions.

After this election, we are going to have more crucial, critical decisions to make and the impact of those decisions is going to be truly historic. If the Irish electorate continue to vote on short term "whats in it for me!" candidates who bleat on about pie in the sky solutions or cant articulate a single policy then we are simply going to have another crowd of idiots who will not understand the issues they are voting on.

So by all means vote for whoever you like. But try to find a candidate whose actually running on a national platform, whose CV extends to more than captaining the local GAA team, and who is honest enough to explain that Ireland cant maintain a double digit deficit indefinitly and budgets are going to have to be cut, and reforms will be mandatory. The basic qualification for political office in times like these when we cant afford any more bad decisions is an ability to deal with the facts.

The left unfortunately, as personified by Gilmore, Burton, Sinn Fein, Joe Higgins and so on seem to be unable or unwilling to engage in more than wishful thinking and channelling rage as a policy. None of them will admit the reality - look at how Joan Burton was so badly caught in trying to weasel out of admitting that the cuts FF had made would not be reversed, despite Labours previous wishful thinking that they would be. It never, ever occured to her to actually be honest and try to explain the situation Ireland was in and what Labour will realisticially do to address the situation.

Anger is not a strategy. "Protecting the most vulnerable in society" is just a slogan some PR group came up with. If Irish voters continue to elect idiots to make the big decisions dont be surprised if things keep getting worse and worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Side Show Bob

Vinny forgot to mention Gilmour's Wife selling the land to the department of education, FF had the Galway tent, amazing maybe even a coincidence that Lab could find their way to the Public Body Tent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sponge Bob wrote: »

I actually pissed myself!!!

:P

crazzzzy Joan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I was watching this last night and found Joan to be extremely irritating to watch. I got the impression that she has a serious fear that her seat is not safe and instead of debating took every opportunity possible to talk over and interrupt Joe Higgins.

I would really prefer if Ruairi Quinn was installed as Labour's finance spokesperson or failing that almost anybody else except Joan. Still can't believe just how terrible she was last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

I actually had to watch it again tonight to be sure my original thoughts on her performance were misjudged. But no, they weren't, that was one of the most unprofessional, irrational, selfish, misguided, out of touch (and not caring) view. I was going to vote Labour but as simple/stupid as it sounds after the actions/attitude of that person who wants to be Min of Finance last night, no way.

"Would you like to sit closer to him".. Very strange behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

word of the day

HARANGUE

– noun

1. a scolding or a long or intense verbal attack; diatribe.

2. a long, passionate, and vehement speech, esp. one delivered before a public gathering.

3. any long, pompous speech or writing of a tediously hortatory or didactic nature; sermonizing lecture or discourse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Lorchii

"cause joan does want to finish what she has to say..."

While acting like a supreme bitch to Joe, she clearly crossed the line of insanity when she started to refer to herself in the third person.

I quite like Labour, and have voted (in my short history of voting) for them always, but JB is a joke and an egotistical maniac clearly. Her attempts to play the victim were so ill-judged it was comical. I think Simon Coveney came off quite well in all that by merely not getting involved! It's a testemont to how crazy she has appeared that there is such an active thread here. I hope labour do their research and see her damage.

The funny thing is, I got the impression when she was told she was trending globally, she thought it was a good thing!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Vinny forgot to mention Gilmour's Wife selling the land to the department of education, FF had the Galway tent, amazing maybe even a coincidence that Lab could find their way to the Public Body Tent.
    Non-story time again is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Voltwad wrote: »
    Non-story time again is it?

Vincent is boring tonight, they are all well able to handle him. Politicians being nice to each other gahhhhh!!

Shall we get back to The Train Crash caused by the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party last night so.

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Just proves that Vincent Browne can drive anybody mad :D An hour and a half of VB show a night - I don't think sooooooo............ I prefer Mrs. Brown myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Vincent is boring tonight, they are all well able to handle him. Politicians being nice to each other gahhhhh!!

Shall we get back to The Train Crash caused by the Deputy Leader of the Labour Party last night so.

I was referring to the Gilmore's Wife non-story that you cited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Sorry, I think Joe Higgins' version of socialism is outdated and potentially damaging. Dangerous people like him should be kept down imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

"I think you're trying to harange him Joan, You're haranguing him... I thought you were against haranging :D"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭cancercowboy

So I didn't get a chance to see this myself but apparently she lost the plot, yeah?

It's funny, Labour has a great leader in Eamon Gilmore but the rest of the Parliamentary Party are letting him down. Pat Rabbitte is sound though.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭cancercowboy

Sorry, I think Joe Higgins' version of socialism is outdated and potentially damaging. Dangerous people like him should be kept down imo.

Joe Higgins doesn't need to be "kept down". He does a very good job of making himself irrelevant, he doesn't need help from anyone else. We, the public, never hear about his accomplishments... just his policies. What has he actually done?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭golfball37

Joe Higgins doesn't need to be "kept down". He does a very good job of making himself irrelevant, he doesn't need help from anyone else. We, the public, never hear about his accomplishments... just his policies. What has he actually done?

I don't know of any other politician in this state who went to jail for his constituents on a point of principle, like he did over the bin trucks.

Half of the FF front bench should be in jail for valid reasons yet they won't even give up their pensions on principles?

If your gonna blacken somebody as irrelevent try keep some modicum of perspective anyway...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Well since he's never been in government it'd be a big harsh to judge him on his accomplishments in Ireland I guess. Quite easy to judge FF, GP, FG and Lab on their atrocious policies mind you as they've destroyed or facilitated the destruction of Ireland as a viable economic entity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

So I didn't get a chance to see this myself but apparently she lost the plot, yeah?

It's funny, Labour has a great leader in Eamon Gilmore but the rest of the Parliamentary Party are letting him down. Pat Rabbitte is sound though.

Your definition of great must be different to mine, what exactly has he done except regurgitate the same tired arguments over and over? Can anybody show one policy they have come up with to help us out of the current situation.

all the love for Gilmore worries me as it is basically all stemming from the fact that he is in opposition with the most unpopular goverment of all time, the labour party is a disaster waiting to happen. For gods sake his own party cant even remember the statements they are putting out on national television.

Im not against labour but am far from convinced of Gilmores 'greatness'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,872 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I thought she made a complete fool out of herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭outandabout

Your definition of great must be different to mine, what exactly has he done except regurgitate the same tired arguments over and over? Can anybody show one policy they have come up with to help us out of the current situation.

all the love for Gilmore worries me as it is basically all stemming from the fact that he is in opposition with the most unpopular goverment of all time, the labour party is a disaster waiting to happen. For gods sake his own party cant even remember the statements they are putting out on national television.

Im not against labour but am far from convinced of Gilmores 'greatness'
    Hi Jaysoose

Agree that Gilmore can only be judged on what he achieves in Government but he has done a good job on boosting Labour's opinion poll rating.

Im not against labour but am far from convinced of Gilmores 'greatness'
    Hi Jaysoose

Agree that Gilmore can only be judged on what he achieves in Government but he has done a good job on boosting Labour's opinion poll rating.

I cant argue that he talks a good game but then if sinn feins popularity is also on the rise one has to question is it because people actually believe that the parties and their policies are sound or is it because they want to vote for anybody apart from fianna fail?

Gilmore will be out of his depth when/if labour get in with fine gael and it will be to the detriment of all of us yet again. They have no policies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Reading the posts here just explains why soo many people in Ireland will still vote for FF or FG(same as FF,just different letter).All the two-faced,clean shaven people in very expensive suits who ruined the country by stealing,cheating and bluffing the Nation for TEN(recently) years,who rarely say anything close to the truth and show no pride or passion seem to have great appeal to the politically inept Irish people.Although Burton does come accross as a bit nuts and loud,she is actually very qualified in the finacial sector and I honestly like her passion.She takes no bull from anyone,including a **** stirrer like Browne.Look at Harney,Coughlan and Hanafin,rarely a beep out of any of them but when they did speak it was utter garbage,and they all made a mess of their portfolios.YES Joan Burton is nuts but we need big change so she gets my vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭fliball123

tweedledee wrote: »
    Reading the posts here just explains why soo many people in Ireland will still vote for FF or FG(same as FF,just different letter).All the two-faced,clean shaven people in very expensive suits who ruined the country by stealing,cheating and bluffing the Nation for TEN(recently) years,who rarely say anything close to the truth and show no pride or passion seem to have great appeal to the politically inept Irish people.Although Burton does come accross as a bit nuts and loud,she is actually very qualified in the finacial sector and I honestly like her passion.She takes no bull from anyone,including a **** stirrer like Browne.Look at Harney,Coughlan and Hanafin,rarely a beep out of any of them but when they did speak it was utter garbage,and they all made a mess of their portfolios.YES Joan Burton is nuts but we need big change so she gets my vote.

yeah lets all vote for Labour so that the Public servants can stay on their 40k+ odd salaries and lets tax the sh1te out of everyone...Burton showed Labours lack of political sense...At least FG have been fortcoming on how they will tackle it and are going to share it amoung everyone..Labour after listening to Gilmore last night has said he will not touch the CPA , therefore keeping ther TDs ministers on their nice salaries and penions...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

fliball123 wrote: »
    yeah lets all vote for Labour so that the Public servants can stay on their 40k+ odd salaries and lets tax the sh1te out of everyone...Burton showed Labours lack of political sense...At least FG have been fortcoming on how they will tackle it and are going to share it amoung everyone..Labour after listening to Gilmore last night has said he will not touch the CPA , therefore keeping ther TDs ministers on their nice salaries and penions...

Are you just trying to spread disinformation about labour.
    Yesterday you said labour were supporting the finance bill (did they?)

Today you are saying that by backing the CPA Labuour wont touch ministers salaries, can you link me to where in the CPA ministers/TD's salaries is mentioned?

tweedledee wrote: »

You should watch the video of the other night she is incapable of giving a straight answer on finance and how labour will start the recovery, at the end of the day she was an accountant this does not mean she has a clue about banking and high finance it means she can do somebodies books.

She takes no bull but also gives out a fair amount herself and is ultra defensive when critisized even slightly. Also the way she tried to play the sexism card is very worrying as it was totally out of context with the discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭fliball123

Are you just trying to spread disinformation about labour.
    Yesterday you said labour were supporting the finance bill (did they?)

Today you are saying that by backing the CPA Labuour wont touch ministers salaries, can you link me to where in the CPA ministers/TD's salaries is mentioned?

Are TDS not part of the PS there fore core pay cannot be touched under the CPA..

Where did I say that Labour are not supporting the Finance Bill.

But the fact is that they did originally oppose it but now they are supporting it. Talk about a complete uturn