Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haven't touched a drop in...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

I failed again the weekend. I didn't touch a drop Friday but was absolutely gummin all day Saturday and eventually caved and got 6 bottles of beer. I had 5 bottles then on Sunday night. I doubt I'll ever be able to stop to be honest.

Don't despair , just keep trying . Have you given AA any consideration . Worked and still works for me .

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭ASoberThought

I would just like to come in here to also say that joining a fellowship was the turning point for me. Medications & Doctors couldn't help me in the way that a fellowship has helped me. They really are a wonderful place if you enter them with an open mind.

These days I feel extremely grateful to have been given the gift of desperation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Appreciate all the kind words and advice.

The thing is I'm not so sure I want to give it up as much as I thought I did. I actually really enjoyed my few beers the weekend and it didn't effect me the following day so in my mind no harm was done (apart from the empty calories and eating unhealthy food after the beers). It's the sessions / nights out that get me and ruin me for days, that's when I detest alcohol and want to quit.

What I've come to understand is, that I can't just have a few beers here and there and get away with it long term, the session or night out is inevitable and the dreaded hangover and everything bad that comes with it.

That's why I said to myself I will quit altogether so I can't end up on a session or night out where I put away 15 to 20 drinks again but I really do enjoy a few quiet ones on the weekend so quiting really does not seem likely at the moment.

Can anyone relate to that or have I pretty much explained what the majority of all people looking to quit drinking are going through?

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭ASoberThought

The thing is I'm not so sure I want to give it up as much as I thought I did. I actually really enjoyed my few beers the weekend and it didn't effect me the following day so in my mind no harm was done (apart from the empty calories and eating unhealthy food after the beers). It's the sessions / nights out that get me and ruin me for days, that's when I detest alcohol and want to quit.

What I've come to understand is, that I can't just have a few beers here and there and get away with it long term, the session or night out is inevitable and the dreaded hangover and everything bad that comes with it.

That's why I said to myself I will quit altogether so I can't end up on a session or night out where I put away 15 to 20 drinks again but I really do enjoy a few quiet ones on the weekend so quitting really does not seem likely at the moment.

Can anyone relate to that or have I pretty much explained what the majority of all people looking to quit drinking are going through?

I can completely identify with that.

I've changed social circles, countries, hard alcohol, beer, no beer just weed, hard drugs, no drinking during the week, only once a month, etc. It brought me back to the same place eventually.
    These days...the sort of thing you are going through with "I just really enjoy a few quiet ones", I would question and ask myself "What are these few beers giving me"? Why do I need to look for something external to get this internal feeling? Is there anything I could introduce into my life to get me to that level without this high risk activity?

I had been reading forums for years and kind of wanting it but all the reading in the world didn't get me there. Infact, I don't know exactly what happened, it was a complete internal shift. Perhaps due to years of being fed up with it...no idea really, but it's hard and I wish you the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Glen, every one of us who has stopped and relapsed has gone through what you are.

Of course you feel like sh1t, but its done. Main thing is to nip it in the bud. Pack it away and move on.

One thing is for sure, drinking when you are feeling miserable is only going to end up one way.

Likewise enoughalready. Your anxiety problems will only get worse if you go back drinking. But you know that and you've shown good strength to stay four months. Start again.

Reason most of us have a problem in first place, is that we thought drink could cure whatever it was ailed us. It can't. We wouldn't have stopped if we didn't realise that.

Nearly everyone will have a setback. Put it aside and move on. You should see a doctor if the anxiety is a major issue.

Good luck my chums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

[QUOTE=Glen_Quagmire;100579535 I wouldn't consider myself an alcoholic as I only drink Friday and Saturday and the very odd Sunday. However the fact that I cannot seem to stop drinking and literally crave a drink on a Friday after a long week makes me think I may actually have some alcohol issues. This is gonna be tough![/QUOTE]
    Well last weekend didn't go as planned, Felt absolutely ****e on Monday and Tuesday because of it.
    Failed again. In a heap today.
    Back to the drawing board for next weekend.
    I was all prepared to stay off it this weekend but there was a function on Friday and I was going to go and not drink but I didn't have the will power. Ended up drinking all day yesterday too to cure the hangover. Next weekend will be different I am adamant!!
    That's it now, I've a pain in me b*ll*x with drink it has to stop. I barely slept a wink last night with the "fear" and was in bits today in work from it.

I forced myself to go to the gym after work and feel a bit better now. I was thinking to myself during the workout that I am bursting my balls in the gym 3-4 times a week and all I'm doing is maintaining the weight I'm at. Imagine of I wasn't just burning off the 4000 - 6000 calories from drink and take aways each weekend, I reckon I'd be in good shape and feel great too.

Drink is a flippin curse, I've had some enjoyable times drinking I can't deny that but the hangovers are effecting me too much lately and I don't like where it's heading!

Sorry about the rant but I'm a bit annoyed with myself for putting myself through this same ordeal every single weekend!!
    Thanks guys. Part of me feels like I'm giving up a huge "pleasure" in my life but when I feel the way I felt yesterday and this morning it really is awful.

I've tried cutting down on weekends but that doesn't work. Looks like the only solution is quit for good which I intend to do!

Feel free to offer some of those websites and books etc that have helped others.. Thanks
    So I actually abstained last night, first Friday in years about 15 years apart from last January when I tried to do dry January and lasted 3 weeks. Up early this morning and just back from the gym and feeling great.
    I failed again the weekend. I didn't touch a drop Friday but was absolutely gummin all day Saturday and eventually caved and got 6 bottles of beer. I had 5 bottles then on Sunday night. I doubt I'll ever be able to stop to be honest.

The thing is I'm not so sure I want to give it up as much as I thought I did. I actually really enjoyed my few beers the weekend and it didn't effect me the following day so in my mind no harm was done,What I've come to understand is, that I can't just have a few beers here and there and get away with it long term, the session or night out is inevitable and the dreaded hangover and everything bad that comes with it.

That's why I said to myself I will quit altogether so I can't end up on a session or night out where I put away 15 to 20 drinks again but I really do enjoy a few quiet ones on the weekend so quiting really does not seem likely at the moment

Hi glen, hope you don't me editing a few of your previous posts here, here's what I think for what's its worth.

When I at last got alcohol n drug free this time around,I still wasent sure how bad I wanted to stay that way,my whole life was based around socialising and partying,I did know I did not want to go back to the way I was,as really it was a miserable life and the buzz had left a long time ago.I was sick of it,i could barely stand the roundabout of the drinking circles and all that comes with it,I could hardly stand myself.

Most of us here have made plenty of decisions in our lives before, and then not followed through on them. That is why you have to make a “firm” decision. It has to be real. It has to be serious. It has to come from that part of you that is sick and tired of chasing another buzz. It has to come from that place in your heart that is sick of being afraid; of living in fear.

My advise to the you and others is to stop making excuses for yourselves and make a firm decision. A decision for what? A decision to change their life. there is a difference between “wishing things were different” and actually “wanting to quit.”

You cant do this alone you will need help,There are loads of books,forums,fellowships,non drinking groups and individual folks who are out there and are more than willing to help.

Quit only for yourself – trying to quit for the sake of others will only sabotage your efforts Quit for yourself or you will just run in circles, sabotaging your own efforts to try and be sober.

Mentally prepare yourself to take massive action in your life.you have to quit for yourself.

But at the end of the day its all down to you to make that choice ,said with respect no matter what way you go :)

@The flying mouse thanks for compiling all my posts it's good too see them all together like that to actually highlight how up and down I am about the whole thing, its a bit of a love / hate relationship.

It's like what Allen Carr says in his book, trying to quit alcohol through the "will power method" is like being schizophrenic, one part of your brain is telling you to have a drink while another part of your brain is telling you not to. It's a constant battle "with yourself" using will power alone.

He says the only true way to be free is to change your perception of alcohol and truly know how bad it is and make a firm decision never to drink again.

I'm not quite sure I'm there yet that seems to be the problem..

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭drydub

Still going strong. Three weeks tomorrow. To be fair not thinking about it so much. Keeping busy.
    Was out last night and had an non alcoholic with dinner.
    Gonna be focused going into the weekend now.

drydub wrote:
    Still going strong. Three weeks tomorrow. To be fair not thinking about it so much. Keeping busy. Was out last night and had an non alcoholic with dinner. Gonna be focused going into the weekend now.

Good stuff man keep it going!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭candycock

3 days off it,does'nt sound much but I have been drinking every nite or at least 5 /7 nights a week,followed by horrible bouts of depression and anxiety attacks,and not to mention the 2 stone I've packed on,I've given alcohol 19years of my life,it ruined countless relationships,opportunities and god knows how much money.So I'm taking what's left of my life back n I need to rebuild my relationship with my gf before its to late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭enoughalready

Good man candycock love that attitude! Day 6 myself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

2 months today for me. Having an non-alco down the local with some mates, no bother. Sometimes you think it'd be nice to have a pint but then you think better of it and move on.

Can't stress enough how important it is to keep your weekends busy and plan for them. Never drank much during the week so getting through the weekends is my main goal. Here's to a fresh head tomorrow morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Was 200 days yesterday. Didn't even realise it and at this stage don't think of the days that much. No matter what happens in my life I know it would be so much worse if I was drinking.

Well done all!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

6 days off it , like candycock above it dont sound much but Iv been drinking every night myself 7 nights a week for last 6-7 years , would just drink to counter attack the depression and anxiety attacks of the next day .

Going to be hard staying off it with with my 26th coming up next week and the all ireland final (tipp man) :( .

What do you guys do when you get the urge to drink ?? I bought a motorcycle and insured it monday morning so have no time for drink because no way would i chance driving it with a hangover , Also i visited my fathers grave for the first time in 6 years yesterday which was something i could have never faced :)

These last 6 days sober have given me a new lease of life :D

Well I am back at day 2 after been out Wednesday and Thursday,had nearly 5 weeks up till that point..Anyway back at it if I got to 5 weeks I can do it again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I was doing so well up to this point.

I have been training with the weight lifting for the last 5 weeks now and feel brand new from doing them, but I ended up having 2 cans of guinness earlier because I couldn't take it any-more. Yes I fell off the wagon, but I only had 2 and no more. I always thought that I had strong willpower, but after training every day for 5 weeks I just could not deal with it, so I had two cans.

I'm grand now with no cravings, so I'll try another 5 weeks and hopefully I can manage it better by then. I don't care what any-one says, it's the hardest thing I ever had to do mentally. Thankfully it was only two, cause I know in the back of my mind that if I go back to the way I was, I will be finished.

The daily training really helps a lot, especially after doing them as you feel really good, that is one thing that I will never give up, the training.

drydub wrote: »
    Not in a great spot at the moment. A very heavy Friday session that lead to an agressive (me being the agressor) and running my mouth early in the morning to people who ive probably genuinely upset. All day drinking, didn't think i was as bad as i was.

Pure ashamed of myself now. Had a pint watching the game on Saturday to take the edge off. But feel i think i really need to knock it on the head for a while which is frightening as feck.
    Didnt drink sunday and today , want to get to the end of the week now sober :(

Just wentback to read my original post 3 weeks ago. Satisfied I've stuck to it.
    Popped out for food and had two non alcoholic beers and home now with feet up and reflecting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Not a single drop since the June bank holiday weekend 2005. Me and drink were never meant for each other. I was 19 when i stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Johnny two hats

Hi all really glad I found this thread it's right up my street! I can so relate to the stories of the fear after drinking and using drink to relieve anxiety, but in doing so making it worse.

I have been drinking since I was 13 and probably haven't had a full month off it in the 23 years since! So am going to try a sober month and take it from there. Starting today.

Reading some of the great posts on here really helps and makes you realise you're not alone, so thanks to everyone, and good luck!

Still tipping along. Big one though was making it through croker and having just one non alcoholic drink in Jury's then home afterwards.
    Feet up and enjoying the 0% Bavaria in the evening.
    Had a bit of a goo watching everyone else on Sunday but made sure to drive

drydub wrote: »
    Still tipping along. Big one though was making it through croker and having just one non alcoholic drink in Jury's then home afterwards.
    Feet up and enjoying the 0% Bavaria in the evening.
    Had a bit of a goo watching everyone else on Sunday but made sure to drive

Outstanding drydub - great watching your progress

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

Good to see this thread still going, haven't been on Boards in a good while. Anyone posting here is doing great because in doing so you are admitting and facing your problem/potential problem with alcohol. Be assured no matter what ANYONE tells you, you will have a much happier fulfilling life without alcohol once you can be ruthlessly honest with yourself. I mean completely no skeletons in the wardrobe honest. A large percentage of the time people who have a problem with alcohol don't have a good relationship with themselves - self hatred, over critical, low self esteem, living a lie, the list goes on.

I'll be sober 5 years next month but it was only in the last 2 months that I finally unearthed all the **** I've been carrying since I was a kid. Now I feel unbelievable. Happy and peace of mind with no anxiety for the first time in my life. When I do have negative thoughts I read this and realise that my problems are insignificant compared to the big picture. I wish you all the best the world can offer you but most of all, peace.

Wild Geese
    You do not have to be good.
    You do not have to walk on your knees
    For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
    You only have to let the soft animal of your body
    love what it loves.
    Tell me about your despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
    Meanwhile the world goes on.
    Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
    are moving across the landscapes,
    over the prairies and the deep trees,
    the mountains and the rivers.
    Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
    are heading home again.
    Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
    the world offers itself to your imagination,
    calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting --
    over and over announcing your place
    in the family of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

All quite here ? how is every one getting on ?

sharing is caring :-)

I will say that over the last three weekends, although I have had a few beers I've not had as much as usual and also haven't enjoyed them as much as I normally would. For example I only had 3 beers last night and didn't really enjoy them, I forced the last one into me just so I could go to bed. I only had the beers because I had a long week in work and felt I "deserved" them.

Over the last two weekends it feels like something is changing with my mindset about beer. I can't put my finger on it but I'm not as bothered as I was before. Maybe I'm just tired or something or maybe Allen Carrs book is working slowly in my subconscious, however I could be back to "normal" next weekend who knows...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

To be honest I don't think a book alone is going to help much!

petes wrote:
    To be honest I don't think a book alone is going to help much!

To be honest the book is obviously not the only thing I'm doing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Laeot

171 days ....
    Not planning on drinking any time soon!

Laeot wrote: »
    171 days ....
    Not planning on drinking any time soon!

Outstanding Laeot , fantastic achievement . If only people knew what was involved ye guys would get Olympic medals for every day .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I had three pints of Heiniken of last night. Was after a long run and one of my mates called to meet him in a place down the road. Ordered a non-alco and had that but he got me a real one by accident, told me what it was and I just said "fcuk it". Ended up getting two more.
    I don't feel too guilty nor did I get drunk, so that's a benefit. I'll hit the reset button again, had 2 and a half months done but that's just a number. Time to deal with it and go from there. The last couple of months have shown me the benefits of not drinking, I won't be forgetting them. Going to hit the gym/pool now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

I'll start by saying that I've no doubt in my mind that this very thread has saved my life. In the early days of sobriety I didn't know what was happening and the great folks here thought me that sobriety is possible if you have people (in real life or online) that you can talk to. It wasn't easy but 28 months later I still haven't had a drink so something must've worked.

The problem is, the initial post accute withdrawal symptoms were so severe I decided to take prescription medication (obviously not prescribed to me) and they worked a charm.

Two years later and I'm just as addicted to prescription medication as I ever was to drink.

Basically I was wondering if boards would be willing to create some sort of drug addiction forum. There's an epidemic out there that a lot of people are suffering from but the general public don't seem to know much about it.

I'm aware of the countless pitfalls such a forum will attract but with strict moderation it could be a great help to many folks out there..