Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Difference between a caution and a charge?

• 27-01-2011 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭

Could anyone tell me what a "caution" actually is? Is there a record kept of it and if so does this constitute a criminal record?For example would this show up if you are being garda vetted for a job?
    Thanks for any information you can provide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

An adult caution is a formal caution administered by an inspector. It does not count as a conviction but if you are ever convicted of another crime your caution will count as a previous conviction for the purpose of sentencing. It is only available for certain offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

k_mac wrote: »
    An adult caution is a formal caution administered by an inspector. It does not count as a conviction but if you are ever convicted of another crime your caution will count as a previous conviction for the purpose of sentencing. It is only available for certain offences.

Thanks for that. So that means there is a record of it of some kind.Again,I am wondering does this show up in a garda vetting search?

There has to be a record of it. Otherwise they wouldn't know if you'd gotten one before and you are only entitled to one per lifetime,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭source

No, a caution does not show up through vetting, only convictions will be disclosed.

There has to be a record of it. Otherwise they wouldn't know if you'd gotten one before and you are only entitled to one per lifetime,

Yes of course. How are cautions viewed? Is just a mechanism to deal with misdemeanours as in offences not considered serious enough or worth the hassle of prosecuting?
    With regard to garda vetting,how does that work.Woud they file a report saying there is no criminal record but he does have a caution against his name?

foinse wrote: »
    No, a caution does not show up through vetting, only convictions will be disclosed.

Thanks for that foinse

Thanks,that's an excellent resource and answers all my questions.
    Cheers!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭millivanilli

does anyone know what happens if you don't turn up to get the Garda caution? my brother was told to go into the Garda station in December to receive a caution for being drunk and disorderly, but he never went in, says he forgot:confused: he hasn't heard anything from them but i was saying he could end up being charged in court and that he should go in even at this stage. any idea what happens of you don't go in for the caution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

foinse wrote: »
    A caution is not supposed to show up on vetting. I have it on good authority that it does show up for some things however.

does anyone know what happens if you don't turn up to get the Garda caution? my brother was told to go into the Garda station in December to receive a caution for being drunk and disorderly, but he never went in, says he forgot:confused: he hasn't heard anything from them but i was saying he could end up being charged in court and that he should go in even at this stage. any idea what happens of you don't go in for the caution?

Most likely a summons has been issued for him to go to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭James Jones

Tell him to send a Data Protection Access Request. If he has been cautioned, it will show on this record.

I know that the Caution is supposed to be accepted in writing but I found out I had received a caution following such a request, even though I had never spoken to any Garda in relation to the so-called offence and had not accepted being guilty.

Tell him to send a Data Protection Access Request. If he has been cautioned, it will show on this record.

I know that the Caution is supposed to be accepted in writing but I found out I had received a caution following such a request, even though I had never spoken to any Garda in relation to the so-called offence and had not accepted being guilty.

So what did you do then? Did you get it cleared?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

im not sure how it is here but a friend of mine got arrested for assault in the north. it didnt even go to court but when he applied for a job it came up on his background check that he was arrested for assault and he was refused the job. it was absolutely stupid.

So what did you do then? Did you get it cleared?

I complained to both the Garda Ombudsman and the Data Protection Commissioner who both said that my complaint was "vexatious".

How do I get it cleared?

I complained to both the Garda Ombudsman and the Data Protection Commissioner who both said that my complaint was "vexatious".

How do I get it cleared?

Get a solicitor. If they both consider it vexatious there is obviously much more to the story.

Regardless of the story, a caution is on my record without my being informed of a caution or my accepting being guilty

From your earlier LINK:
    When a Garda has detected an offence which is included in the list of offences, (1) the Garda fills out an Adult Caution Referral Form, if he/she believes the offender may be suitable for an Adult Caution. The offender is then told by the member in charge of the Garda station in ordinary language what the Adult Cautioning Scheme is. If the offender understands the procedure and agrees to being considered for the Scheme, then (2) the offender is asked by the Garda to sign Part E of the Referral Form. This signature is witnessed by the Gardaí.
    If it is decided to administer a caution, the member in charge of the Garda station arranges a suitable time and venue for the administering of the caution by the Superintendent. Once the caution is administered, (3) a copy of the completed Adult Caution Referral Form is given to the offender.

The three documents were not given to me on my original data protection request so, regardless of the actual story, the documents required for me to sign and to be given to me were not signed by me or given to me so how many other people have cautions administered if these straightforward procedures are not followed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Sprinkled3

pwd wrote: »
    A caution is not supposed to show up on vetting. I have it on good authority that it does show up for some things however.

What exactly would it show up on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Sprinkled3 wrote: »
    What exactly would it show up on?

It will show on PULSE that you were arrested and the fact that you were cautioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Sprinkled3

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    It will show on PULSE that you were arrested and the fact that you were cautioned.

I thought that a caution wasn't an arrest, just a warning?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Sprinkled3 wrote: »
    I thought that a caution wasn't an arrest, just a warning?

No. You could be arrested and then a decision made to give you a caution. It would be recorded on PULSE as an incident of arrest where the details of the offence, personnell involved and outcome would be recorded. It would not be a conviction.
    The real impact would be if you were applying for Gardai/Army and someone was tasked with doing a background check on you. They would see that you had been arrested and cautioned. The person making the background check would usually contact the arresting Garda to see what the full story is all about. Unless you were really acting the bollix (in which case you would probably have been charged) the fact that you received a caution would not go against you.
    I know a number of lads who received Juvenile cautions, copped themselves on, and are now Army, Gardai and Prison Officers. One mistake shouldn't be held against a person

• Registered Users Posts: 1 cloouds

Hi there, how are you?
    So i read some informations about cautions in your website and i have some doubts about it. If you dont mind can you help me with them?
    I had a caution, that not result in a conviction, a few months ago, in Ireland for theft. The price was 45 Euro in a store. I didnt have to pay no bail or anything like that, i just signed a paper admitting the caution and was done. On the garda station, they told me that if i have any other committed crime that results in a conviction i could never travel to US, Australia... but i dont have, this its not my case, it was only this.
    Im pretty confused. Can i travel with ESTA to the US? Will i have problems to travel? Im trying a medicine university, will this be a problem? I read that in the UK the caution disappear after 6 years, do you know if this will happen on ireland too?
    thank you so much