Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winners & Losers in General Election (Co. Clare)

• 29-01-2011 6:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

1. Who do you think will top the poll in the Banner county?

2. Which of the three existing TD's (Pat Breen, Joe Carey & Timmy Dooley) is at greatest risk of losing their seat?

3. Name your dream team to represent Co. Clare in the next Dail?

How Will You Vote? 30 votes

Green
    0% 0 votes
    Independent
    3% 1 vote
    Labour
    3% 1 vote
    FF
    43% 13 votes
    FG
    13% 4 votes
    None of the Above
    36% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

1. One of the Breens Pat will give James a good run. A lot of FF voters will vote for him and clare has a big FF core who will in a poll say they hate FF but when they have to tick the box on the day well thats different.

2. Dooley cant see where he will pick up votes as Mike Mac and Mulcahy will both hurt his First Preferences.

3. We have got to get away from how Co. Clare will benefit. This election is about this country's ability to manage its own affairs and who best can do that for us. I do not think their is a candidate in the field who has shown that potential so I would say none of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

ger664 wrote: »

3. We have got to get away from how Co. Clare will benefit. This election is about this country's ability to manage its own affairs and who best can do that for us. I do not think their is a candidate in the field who has shown that potential so I would say none of them.
    Ger, I agree with the point you make and it is for that reason I feel that we need to return four individuals who have the talent and attributes required to deal with the challenging times we live in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Ger, I agree with the point you make and it is for that reason I feel that we need to return four individuals who have the talent and attributes required to deal with the challenging times we live in

Completely right, but I don't think we'll have four on the ballot, so not much chance of returning four.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Claregirl

Would hope that the Green candidate is a loser along with his FF buddies:mad:

All the negativity is focused on the FF camp but thanks to the Green brigade anyone outside of Dublin reliant on oil for heat is shivering this winter! And as for their transport policy... Don't get me started. Feck sake not everyone can cycle to work....Won't be long till we're thumbing a lift to work coz we won't be able to afford the petrol:mad::mad::mad:

Keep hoping to see some credible candidates anounced for Clare but it's not looking good so far.

5h4mr0(k wrote: »
    Completely right, but I don't think we'll have four on the ballot, so not much chance of returning four.
    Who do you think will go the distance??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

ger664 wrote: »

This is a big mistake.

If clare people don't think locally no one else will. Same goes for us in Limerick, we effectively had no minister for years and as a result the mid west region is in freefall. It suits the dublin media to slam 'parish pump' politics, yet they keep nice and quiet when all the resources are going into dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

liammur wrote: »
    This is a big mistake.

If clare people don't think locally no one else will. Same goes for us in Limerick, we effectively had no minister for years and as a result the mid west region is in freefall. It suits the dublin media to slam 'parish pump' politics, yet they keep nice and quiet when all the resources are going into dublin.

Willie O' Dea, Killeen, another Clare TD before him (name escapes me, maybe it was Killeen too?) all were Ministers. Willie is the archetypal parish politician, walking around, attending an impoosible amount of funerals, etc. He is a 'local' politician. What use is this type of politician to us in the Midwest? They achieve little locally, and even less nationally. O' Dea has done next to nothing to lobby on Limerick's behalf. Ditto Killeen on the Shannon issue.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think Brendan Daly is who you're thinking of.

The old analogy for Irish politics is that all politics are local politics

CiaranMT wrote: »
    Willie O' Dea, Killeen, another Clare TD before him (name escapes me, maybe it was Killeen too?) all were Ministers. Willie is the archetypal parish politician, walking around, attending an impoosible amount of funerals, etc. He is a 'local' politician. What use is this type of politician to us in the Midwest? They achieve little locally, and even less nationally. O' Dea has done next to nothing to lobby on Limerick's behalf. Ditto Killeen on the Shannon issue.

You are correct. O dea was only a minister in name, he really is a local councillor. What the region needs is someone who looks out for the region a bit like o cuiv in galway or m martin in cork. M Martin and Mary Harney hardly brought a job into this region. That's why we need local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Clareman wrote: »
    I think Brendan Daly is who you're thinking of.

The old analogy for Irish politics is that all politics are local politics

No there was someone before Killeen, maybe it was Killeen himself. Just googled Daly and he's much further back.

Just looking at it there and I must have been thinking of Killeen in his other ministries.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Sile de Valera?

Need to the the country right first. If it keeps going the way it is, it won't matter what part of the country you're in.

Shannon is a mid-west issue, not just Clare. Willie walked with Timmy, and showed that he was just as spineless.

Shannon and Foynes if developed right could transform things, not just for the mid-west, but for the country. But we won't be able to do anything in the country if more than 25% of the states income is going on servicing debt.

If the bank debt isn't written off, well have no services now, no education for the future, and an even worse pension time bomb.

Once the country is right, then I'll worry about what they'll do for Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

I pointed this out in a few other threads but thought it was worth mentioning here as well.

Speaking of Willie and Timmy - has anyone seen their websites recently?

Willies disappeared about the time the government started looking bad. It's back now and has been sanatised of all FF logos, colours, and even mentions.

Timmy's disappeared the same time and has yet to come back. Odd considering he is running for office, to have no website.

There is a thread on politics.ie about this - about half of the FF candidates running this election are removing all FF logos, colours, etc. from all websites and printed materials. Some are even adopting a red background to look like Labour.

http://www.politics.ie/fianna-fail/145894-fianna-fail-politicians-drop-toxic-fianna-fail-logo.html

Willie has done it, looks like Timmy is following his lead. Do they actually think people are dumb enough to forget which party they are in if they pretend they are independent or in Labour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭golfball37

Very disheartening that there is no ULA, SF or default candidate in Clare. For me the IMF/EU loan is the biggest issue and in Clare we don't even have a choices as to wheter or not we want to pay it back, as all the candidates running have signed up to debt slavery on future generations.

For the sake of sanity I hope the people of Clare don't return and FF or Green TD's. If you can't punished for your actions then there's no justice in this country. If Timmy gets re-elected then I can only assume the people who voted for him condone people dying in ambulances on the dock road in Limerick because Ennis A&E was closed.:mad:

Need to the the country right first. If it keeps going the way it is, it won't matter what part of the country you're in.

Shannon is a mid-west issue, not just Clare. Willie walked with Timmy, and showed that he was just as spineless.

Shannon and Foynes if developed right could transform things, not just for the mid-west, but for the country. But we won't be able to do anything in the country if more than 25% of the states income is going on servicing debt.

If the bank debt isn't written off, well have no services now, no education for the future, and an even worse pension time bomb.

Once the country is right, then I'll worry about what they'll do for Clare.

Bank debt can't be written off now.
    They are talking about another IFSc for dublin, a green one this time, why can't they do initiatives like this for the regions? Dublin's unemployment is way down on the regions.

A canvaser for our Labour candidate called to the door last night, and I put it to him that the bank debt had to be written off. He immediately replied that it is Labours policy that it should be written off as it's not sovereign debt, it was debt caused by reckless lending to the bank. This came as a surprise to me, as I was only aware on SF having such a policy.

The candidate himself then arrived, and sang the same hymn and agreed fully that it had to be written off and that it's the Labour policy.

I've checked their web site and can't find anything saying this, but maybe I'm just missing it..... Anyone else heard this policy or spotted anything on their web site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

liammur wrote: »
    Bank debt can't be written off now.

We as a country are never going to be able to pay this debt.

What has been dumped into the Banks already is not the end of it and they will require more capital over the lifetime of the next government.

We need a government in place that will but the people first not the Euro or the Banks.

A canvaser for our Labour candidate called to the door last night, and I put it to him that the bank debt had to be written off. He immediately replied that it is Labours policy that it should be written off as it's not sovereign debt, it was debt caused by reckless lending to the bank. This came as a surprise to me, as I was only aware on SF having such a policy.

The candidate himself then arrived, and sang the same hymn and agreed fully that it had to be written off and that it's the Labour policy.

I've checked their web site and can't find anything saying this, but maybe I'm just missing it..... Anyone else heard this policy or spotted anything on their web site?

Typical BS - candidates will promise the world during the election. The FF candidates SWORE on the news they would keep Ennis A&E open and make sure no routes were cut in Shannon. Look how well that worked out for us.

golfball37 wrote: »
    Very disheartening that there is no ULA, SF or default candidate in Clare. For me the IMF/EU loan is the biggest issue and in Clare we don't even have a choices as to wheter or not we want to pay it back, as all the candidates running have signed up to debt slavery on future generations.

There currently isn't even a SF structure in Clare. There was an article on this in the Clare People last week. SF in their infinate wisdom stood down the structures so the locals couldn't run a candidate. Really democratic, eh? This was discussed on Clare.FM last week.

There is Jim Connolly - http://www.td4clare.com/ - he is the only person who looks electable to me right now.

Sad thing is, it's a four seat election. That means at least three seats will go to parties no one wants in government, if nothing else because they will be the only ones running.

With the news that FG has been in talks with VHI to shutter more A&E's and the fact many of their 'new' ideas are rehashed ideas taken from the now defunct PD's, the future is looking pretty bleak.

Folks, this is a regional forum, not a political forum, if you want to discuss election topics/policy please us the election forum that has been setup http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1431

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭golfball37

Folks, this is a regional forum, not a political forum, if you want to discuss election topics/policy please us the election forum that has been setup http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1431

There's gonna be nothing bigger in Clare this year than the election though?

Surely local politics is relevant to a regional forum, even if its confined to 1 topic?

golfball37 wrote: »
    There's gonna be nothing bigger in Clare this year than the election though?

Surely local politics is relevant to a regional forum, even if its confined to 1 topic?

There's a 12 page thread on the election in the Limerick city forum. If they are allowed to discuss their election candidates, then surely the good people of Clare have the same rights in their county forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Great to see that most of the candidates broke the litter laws again but will they be fined ?

Clareman, Where is your election poll gone to? Would you consider bringing it back???? Mrs D

It wasn't my poll :) I forgot about it to be honest so I added it to this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

CptSternn wrote: »

There is Jim Connolly - http://www.td4clare.com/ - he is the only person who looks electable to me right now.

Looked at this web page. Agree with one or two things but his slogan of "Fresh Thinking" is a pure spoof. Nothing new in there, just showing a socialist background and those arguments have been previously proposed by many candidates and his culture point about succeeding on love and practice of the language is ridiculous, its 2011 not 1960.

He gives no background about himself regarding education, work, skills etc. Also, it is easy to say things like "Close the income gap from the top down". I would welcome this very much to obtain a Norwegian scenario with low levels of tax avoidance/evasion and income tax is around 60% but childcare , travel and healthcare are world-class and free. However, this is extremely difficult to do over a short period of time with redistribution of wealth (which I have looked at in great detail, thesis), but he as no solutions given.

To make it clear, I am not attached to any party and not happy with the candidates on offer either but agree with what was said earlier to try and vote for the people best for the country in all regions, not the guy who will help me out the most.

Regarding the National Debt, Debt to GDP ratio and Bonds, yes the debt will probably be unsustainable BUT we cant just default and refuse to pay any of it back. We would probably be better coming to an arrangement like paying back 50/60cent on the dollar. If we just stop, what will happen when we go back to the bond markets for money? Would the market lend to someone who defaulted 4 or 5 years previously, no way!!!

This means that bond prices would again rise, leading to more problems like speculation (which drives the market and the CDS' which are found to cause govt. bond rates to increase leading to the circle starting all over again).

/rant :D

BUT we cant just default and refuse to pay any of it back. We would probably be better coming to an arrangement like paying back 50/60cent on the dollar. If we just stop, what will happen when we go back to the bond markets for money? Would the market lend to someone who defaulted 4 or 5 years previously, no way

This is what Iceland did by defaulting, and it's what is generally proposed for defaulting on the bank debt. You restructure the debt, and give the bond holders the options of shares in the bank now (so they have an interest in the bank recovering) or else they can have 1c on the €. They can take the hit, or wait at the back of the line.

If we don't default now, then well have five or ten years of misery and then we'll default. By which time we'll have lost a generation to immigration, pensioners struggling to get by, and the youngest generation will be in classes of 40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

There are no shares left to give to bondholders now and 1c on the € wont happen. I agree a debt restructuring is needed as said and previously said this but what happens when we go back for money and the issue regarding credit default swaps (CDS'). Iceland did do this but their GDP (though growing) is poor. The bondholders are the main holders of the debt so they will be the first banging on the door. What about when we go back to th market, who will lend to a proven defaulter?

No matter what we have another few years of discomfort ahead. defaulting wont just bring growth and as Ireland is such an open and export led economy we will be the last in europe to experience growth due to our reliance on exports, people wont buy our stuff in other countries until they have money!

As for young people immigrating, it should happen in times of boom also. Young people will never get world class experience in the majority of their chosen fields here but will abroad. Many will return with a lot better experience, skills and money that they never would have received at home, which can only benefit the country and economy! If you take into account increased life expecting, they should be allowed to go off and see the world while they can. Its better than being on the dole and frees up money for other expenses.

There's a 12 page thread on the election in the Limerick city forum. If they are allowed to discuss their election candidates, then surely the good people of Clare have the same rights in their county forum.

Same mods in both forums so no need to feel hard done by :) I'll repeat the "guideance" given in the Limerick City forum here, I think it covers everything really
    Lads and ladies,

In order to keep this thread open, I'll henceforth be enforcing a "no abuse of politicians" rule. I totally understand why people are ridiculing politicians. But, that doesn't mean I'm happy to let it continue. Keep it civil and we'll keep this running here. Continue the silliness and all further political will be directed to the Politics Forum, where modding tends to be a lot stricter.

Thanks. :)

Edit: Link to new Boards.ie General Election 2011 forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1431

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70324922&postcount=167

Same mods in both forums so no need to feel hard done by :) I'll repeat the "guideance" given in the Limerick City forum here, I think it covers everything really

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70324922&postcount=167

That's fair enough, but it's a different point from what you said yesterday
    which basically said that we're not allowed to discuss the election of the Clare TDs.

I assume that this is no longer the case, since you added in the poll.