Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Voting in the Dun Laoghaire constituency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Has Boyhan any policies at all? His leaflet just listed his name, absolutely pointless voting for someone that can't even bother putting their policies on a leaflet. This is the most serious election in most of our lives and to waste a vote on someone who can't even put together a few ideas on a flyer beggars belief. Same with Haughton is it? No info/policies on his flyer.

Bacik may have that view on gender quotas but it's not Labour Party policy so I wouldn't hold that against her.

Boyd-Barrett wants to actively feck up the 46a for the vast majority of passengers so that people in the Farm won't have to walk a few hundred metres - pointless and typical of the anti-everything policies he and his fellow travellers espouse.

For me the FG plan isn't a plan it's a list, there's a huge hole in their finances which is predicated on getting 30,000 public sector voluntary redundancies which just won't happen.

Hanafin is obnoxious, someone who allows their 80-odd year old mother file a claim for €65k against the State for an injured ankle when she's on the money she's on and who also brings her ma on state visits at the taxpayers expense is beyond contempt.

Barry Andrews is now relying on his Da's name to grab votes, can't sink much lower than that.

The flyer I got from Boyhan had all his policies on it? Clearly you got a different one.
    http://www.victorboyhan.com/policy_overview I got a flyer listing all the policies on his website so I couldn't say why you didn't. I don't agree with all of them (in fact some are quite stupid) and some are a bit wishy washy but certainly no more so than any other candidate. I haven't heard or recieved anything from Haughton so can't argue with you there.

No it is official Labour Party Policy to impose gender quotas on the Dail and state boards, not just Bacik shooting her mouth off. She's a vile sexist regardless who believes in lesser prison sentences for women so she won't be getting my vote.
    Everything else I'd agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I met Richard BB yesterday. I asked him about the deal he supposedly has with Sinn Fein, according to him this is a FG biased journalist putting out untrue rumours.

I will probably give him a vote. He certainly seems like the sort of guy who will keep the main parties under pressure, which is no bad thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Irish Times polled 500 houses and the four that would get their seat based on the results were;

Gilmore
    Barrett
    Hanafin
    Bacik or Boyd Barrett

From the Irish Times;

As per the Boards results which is near 500, Hanafin has her seat lost.
    This is only my second time to vote in a general election, and the first time i didn't really have a clue!

I am at a total loss on who to vote for. It seems they are all to busy going on the radio to interrupt and shout at each other like bold children all the while making no sense (to me at least!), am I to vote for the person who can shout the loudest?

They sh*te on and on about how they are going to do this, that and the other, but that means nothing to me! Not one of them has called to our door to even try lie to my face!

It definatly will not be FF or Greens. FG I'm doubtful, they keep waffling on about this 5 point plan and I have no clue what it is.

So I have a choice of Labour or Independents?

I would have voted SF but they don't seem to have anyone running.
    Richard Boyd Barrett can sing for my vote, I picked him the last time and he's done SFA, seems unless you are a headline grabber he won't help you out. :confused:

I think I'll just vote for Eamon Gilmore because he looks like a teddy bear.........:D:p Just joking!

I had Eamon in the house about 3years ago for a personal issue the mother had, was very nice, kind, open and understanding and in the end did fck all about it! So while he is nice man and I geniuinely think he is a 'good guy' I just honestly dont think he has the verve or umph to be the Taoiseach.

I met Richard BB yesterday. I asked him about the deal he supposedly has with Sinn Fein, according to him this is a FG biased journalist putting out untrue rumours.

I will probably give him a vote. He certainly seems like the sort of guy who will keep the main parties under pressure, which is no bad thing.

For this reason alone all my votes will be IND

• Registered Users Posts: 12,003 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Boyd Barrett just comes off as the Jackie Healy Rae of Dun Laoghaire.

He'd fluff money on rebuilding the baths which I don't think anybody really has any interest any using again.

He's campaigning to have the 46a run through Monkstown farm again despite the fact that the route has moved only a few hundred metres away and prior to its removal the buses regularly mounted curbs to pass each other out because the road is not built for that sort of traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

As per the Boards results which is near 500, Hanafin has her seat lost.

I had Eamon in the house about 3years ago for a personal issue the mother had, was very nice, kind, open and understanding and in the end did fck all about it! So while he is nice man and I geniuinely think he is a 'good guy' I just honestly dont think he has the verve or umph to be the Taoiseach.

For this reason alone all my votes will be IND

As an opposition TD what do you think he was going to be able to do? Anyway, that's what county councillors are for not national politicians or Ministers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

The flyer I got from Boyhan had all his policies on it? Clearly you got a different one.
    http://www.victorboyhan.com/policy_overview I got a flyer listing all the policies on his website so I couldn't say why you didn't. I don't agree with all of them (in fact some are quite stupid) and some are a bit wishy washy but certainly no more so than any other candidate. I haven't heard or recieved anything from Haughton so can't argue with you there.

No it is official Labour Party Policy to impose gender quotas on the Dail and state boards, not just Bacik shooting her mouth off. She's a vile sexist regardless who believes in lesser prison sentences for women so she won't be getting my vote.
    Everything else I'd agree with you.

The 40% gender quota is for State Boards, a woolier commitment is given towards State funding of political parties being dependent on a certain amount of female representatives - NOT TDs - so this would include County Councils, Urban District Councils and Town Councils. Either way, I think it's important that more women get into representative politics.

Bacik isn't a sexist, she's into equality, if you actually think through what she talked about regarding prison sentences for females it was for the benefit of society that she had her concerns - what happens to the children of women who get sent to prison for often very very minor offences - their children are much more likely to get taken into care (which doesn't happen when men go to prison) which leads to family breakdown and the next generation of children are much more likely to repeat the mistakes of the parents and the cycle just continues.

I looked at Boyhan's policies, not sure how they can be afforded, no property tax yet reform of local government funding, funding for everything yet no tax increases on anything? Doesn't add up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

The 40% gender quota is for State Boards, a woolier commitment is given towards State funding of political parties being dependent on a certain amount of female representatives - NOT TDs - so this would include County Councils, Urban District Councils and Town Councils. Either way, I think it's important that more women get into representative politics.
    Then maybe more women should run for them.
    Bacik isn't a sexist, she's into equality, if you actually think through what she talked about regarding prison sentences for females it was for the benefit of society that she had her concerns - what happens to the children of women who get sent to prison for often very very minor offences - their children are much more likely to get taken into care (which doesn't happen when men go to prison) which leads to family breakdown and the next generation of children are much more likely to repeat the mistakes of the parents and the cycle just continues.
    She is a sexist, she is in no way interested in equality, and is only interested in feminist issues.

Equality means equal, how can she be into equality when she only ever pushes for womens issues? The article about women getting lower sentences is an example of sexist discrimination. As is gender quotas.

You can argue that they're a good thing if you wish, it doesn't negate the fact that they are forms of sexist discrimination :/

As an opposition TD what do you think he was going to be able to do? Anyway, that's what county councillors are for not national politicians or Ministers.

I expect him to have a bit of backbone and resovle if he wants to pretend to care about local issues to help his national image then he surely could have been more productive and helped with a resolution but as far as he was concerned turning up and having a cup of tea was a good as offering the mother the winning lotto ticket.

I went to Gilmore with a local(but national issue) with regards the Affordable Homes scheme(ran by the CoCo, DLR has 8 Labour Councillors) after having no luck with the CoCo. He sent me a nice mail saying it was an important issue that needed to be addressed on a national basis and... never heard back. Cuffe was more helpful in that he couldn't help, but offered decent advice ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭James Jones

Tragedy wrote: »
    She is a sexist, she is in no way interested in equality, and is only interested in feminist issues.

Equality means equal, how can she be into equality when she only ever pushes for womens issues?

Not true. She has called for paternity leave for fathers HERE.
    Calling for a change in the law, Senator Bacik said: “The State must give fathers recognition in the workplace by legislating for the right to take even a few weeks’ paid paternity leave. It is most unfair on men, women and children that the parenting responsibilities of fathers specifically are not given any legal acknowledgement in their employment

Unfortunately, LABOUR are watering down her proposals by seeking maternity leave to be shared so, instead of fathers having leave as a right, Labour will allow fathers to have leave IF MOTHERS ALLOW!!!
    Labour favours moving to a paternity leave model, where parents can share paid leave when a new baby is born, as resources allow".

Bacik is in Dun Laoghaire because she failed in Dublin Central in 2009 and is now in Dun Laoghaire to become elected via Eamonn Gilmores trade off votes

Says a lot really.

Not true. She has called for paternity leave for fathers HERE.

Unfortunately, LABOUR are watering down her proposals by seeking maternity leave to be shared so, instead of fathers having leave as a right, Labour will allow fathers to have leave IF MOTHERS ALLOW!!!
    Ah, I stand corrected.
    Only,
    She wouldn't be calling for increased paternity leave as this would make it easier for women to keep up a career while still having children?
    As in, she's calling for a right for men because it benefits women(Note: I don't disagree with it, I only disagree that her motives are for the betterment of all rather than just women).

She's still a complete misadrist who keeps parachuting into any constituency she can in a desperate attempt to get elected.
    Somewhere.
    Anywhere?

Fireball, she tried run in DSE and sought nominations last year. She wasn't selected, so off to Dun Laoghaire she went.

Tragedy wrote: »

Fireball, she tried run in DSE and sought nominations last year. She wasn't selected, so off to Dun Laoghaire she went.

I didn't even know that, I only knew about the failed by-election!

So she's gone from a failed by-election in Dublin Central to a failed selection in Dublin South East and now she's in Dun Laoghaire (I assume to take Gilmores overflow)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

No it is official Labour Party Policy to impose gender quotas on the Dail and state boards, not just Bacik shooting her mouth off.
    For the record, that is current FF Govt policy to gender balance State Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

For the record, that is current FF Govt policy to gender balance State Boards.

I am actually aware but I oppose awarding positions to people because of their sex, age, nationality, links to politicians etc. Positions should be awarded specifically on merit.

Of course the history of politics is riddled with cronyism and don't be under any illusion that the future will be any different.

The whole issue of equal rights in the work place/dail should be decided equally by the people of a democaracy and not a bill thats actually counter progressive by highlighting the idea that the government can force their hand by removing qualified and even excellent people based on gender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

http://richardhumphreys.blogspot.com/2010/10/humphreys-shocked-at-boyd-barrett.html
    HUMPHREYS SHOCKED AT BOYD-BARRETT SUPPORT FOR EXTREMIST ORGANISATIONS
    STATEMENT BY CLLR RICHARD HUMPHREYS
    Labour Party Councillor for Stillorgan
    Tuesday, 12 October 2010

HUMPHREYS SHOCKED AT BOYD-BARRETT SUPPORT FOR EXTREMIST ORGANISATIONS

Speaking during the meeting of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council on 11 October 2010, Cllr Richard Humphreys, the Labour Party Councillor for the Stillorgan Ward, has expressed shock at the support shown by Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett and his Party for Extremist Islamic Organisations that are involved in terrorism, anti-Semitism and Holocaust-denial.

“Cllr Boyd Barrett is a prominent figure in the Socialist Workers Party, which has openly stated in its newspaper, the “Socialist Worker”, in August 2006 that it supports Hamas and Hezbollah.” Humphreys said. “Hamas is acknowledged by the EU to be a terrorist organisation. Its charter is openly anti-Semitic and it has engaged in Holocaust denial. Likewise Hezbollah has been categorised by many governments internationally as terrorist and is committed to the destruction of the State of Israel.”

“According to a report by Mary Fitzgerald in the Irish Times on 13 April 2009, Cllr Boyd Barrett himself spoke at an Al-Aqsa Conference in April 2009 at which Hamas paramilitary material was openly on display, and he shared a platform with speakers who openly voiced support for the jihad, the Taleban and the Iraqi and Afghan insurgents. In his own speech at that conference and again at the Council meeting last night Cllr Boyd-Barrett openly questioned Israel’s right to exist.” Humphreys said.

“Last night I challenged Cllr Boyd Barrett to condemn Hamas and Hezbollah, the Taleban and the jihadis in the Iraqi and Afghan theatres. Cllr Boyd-Barrett failed that challenge and he failed to condemn any of those organisations by name. He also failed to acknowledge Israel’s right to exist, but merely objected to anti-Semitism in general. However he cannot pose as anti-war and as against discrimination while he and his Party lend succour to organisations that are anti-Semitic and extremist, and while he himself does not accept Israel’s right to exist.” Humphreys said. “The voters of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown are entitled to know about the extreme groupings that Cllr Boyd Barrett and the Socialist Workers Party/People before Profit have associated with and supported.” Humphreys said.

Ends

Boyd-Barrett is not the type of person i want representing my constituency. Its a shame people dont see through his man of the people charade. He is an extremist.

Pauleta wrote: »
    Boyd-Barrett is not the type of person i want representing my constituency. Its a shame people dont see through his man of the people charade. He is an extremist.

Well if Mr Humphreys is so sure about it were are the actual quotes from Barret supporting these organisations even video footage at these conferences, sound files?

I dont think he would have lasted so long if he openly supported these organisations.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Don't want this to sound like a plug, but I've blogged my thoughts on the constituency over here.

Basically, I think it'll go Gilmore, Barrett, and Bacik, and the fourth seat will be a close enough one. Personally I don't want to see RBB get it, I'd like to see Cuffe or one of the Independents get in instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Ron DMC wrote: »
    Personally I don't want to see RBB get it, I'd like to see Cuffe or one of the Independents get in instead.

or even Trevor Patton, slime that he is :pac::pac::pac:
    Still better than RBB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Bacik does not deserve a vote in my view. Her sexist outlook does not sit well with me. The fact that she is unelectable and her only hope is to drag herself over the line in gilmores constituency on gilmores coat-tail - is not very impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

So, no Hanafin and no Andrews. A new era for Dun Laoghaire.

Ild like to think that the opening of this thread contributed. Even slightly so I will accept self gratifying thanks, even if it is hollow and pathetic, my job here is done.