Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Black and White thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

so I picked up pokemon black for 25.47 on amazon which is about 30 euros but can't play it to the 25th

£26.12, score.

Pity their exchange rate is shíte (£1 = €1.22, compared to current market rate of €1.18), but still €32.05 delivered is pretty sweet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Lucky, lucky, people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Buzzthebatgirl

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Did I mention you have a spy on the UK who has spare room?

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭r0cks0l1dd

8 more days left!! The friend code thread is a bit dead at the moment so if you want to battle me (in game pokemon or pokesavd pokemon I don't care) PM me and I'll PM you my friend code when the game comes out.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Soooo close! Oh they thrill Pokémon can still incite in me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Rocket Butch

I wonder will there be overnight queueing to meet Sugimori.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Wobbuffet

unowntv.png

Ring Ring
    Ring Ring
    Ring Ring

SEVEN DAYS!!!!

Wish they announced the London thing sooner, with a bit more notice I'd have loved to have gone over for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I'm actually getting really excited now :D Getting paid at the weekend and all so will be straight down to game on the 4th to get the DSi bundle. Was going to wait and get a 3DS instead but I can wait until my birthday in May to get that :D

Wobbuffet wrote: »
    Wish they announced the London thing sooner, with a bit more notice I'd have loved to have gone over for it.
    You can still get over for about €80 in flights to Gatwick (fly out Thursday, back Tuesday it's the cheapest rate). You can get a train into London then for about £20 return. Ferries I think are about €30 as a walk on passenger, but unless you are car pooling, you lose the saving on the train into London. Accommodation isn't a problem the first night (as you'll possibly be queueing outside the shop) and subsequent nights out at my gaff (about £5 a return train about £2 single).

It's still possible if you pull a sicky from school/work or book emergency holidays. I hear Sugimori-itus is a very rare and very contagus condition, best not be around regular people when you are suffering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

Getting paid at the weekend and all so will be straight down to game on the 4th to get the DSi bundle. Was going to wait and get a 3DS instead but I can wait until my birthday in May to get that :D

Good call. I'd say it'll take them a while to work the kinks out of the 3DS anyway.

Only a week :D I've decided to wait for the 3DS as well, not good for my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Anyone know if there is a Walkthrough Guide coming out for this.Really love those. I'd get the DSi bundle if it was a DSiXL but the DSi ain't a large step up from my DS lite.

What are the odds Amazon will push their dispatch date forward...? As it is, my copy of White is only being dispatched on the 3rd, with an ETA of the 7th-9th D:

The Strategy Dex version (aka Volume 2) is due out in May. You can already preorder it on Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭SamIAmNot

I'll probably end up getting both volumes, or at least volume one. I really can't wait now, only:

5 days
    11 hours
    23 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭marko93

Kinda worried bout not getting it, if i order online.. I think i shall go into game or somewhere on launch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

I'm completely ignorant of all these fancy new consoles, will my trusty classic DS do the job for Black/White?

A Neurotic wrote: »
    I'm completely ignorant of all these fancy new consoles, will my trusty classic DS do the job for Black/White?

Absolutely! It's how I play my Jap copy.

I'm so excited :D:D only 5 days!!!

The Strategy Dex version (aka Volume 2) is due out in May. You can already preorder it on Amazon.

Do the Strategy Dex's tell you what level they learn moves at & that.Never seen one in the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I've been waiting seemingly ages for a new generation Pokemon game. I'll definitely look to pick this up. I've been trying to work out the major differences with the two games though. Am I right in thinking the major differences are the legendary Pokemon that appear and that Black has a futuristic type city whereas in White the city is some sort of wooden forest type area?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Pretty much. I think this is the first game to actually have the two versions get seperate areas (Black City and White Forest). Most differences are just the version exclusives, seen here. (Potentially a spoiler I guess)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Also, I think I saw something about one game having rotation battles where the other has triple? Is that true? Which is better?

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Also, I think I saw something about one game having rotation battles where the other has triple? Is that true? Which is better?

Yup, Black primarily features the rotationals, whereas White features triples.

Personally, I hate the rotational battles. Too much guesswork involved as to whether your opponent will move or not and then trying to match up accordingly. It's a gimmick they should have left in games such as MvC3...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Where are ye getting your copies. Still havnt decided which one im getting yet

Don't have a clue, I should really look into getting a working DS too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭SamIAmNot

I've had a little look around and Gamestop and HMV are same prices. I saw the ad for the games earlier on Nickleoden. It's the only one I've seen for the games. So who's getting which version? I'm going to get White.

3 days
    13 hours
    39 Minutes

Black pour moi! If I can't pick up the DSi bundle then I'll just be getting it wherever's cheapest.

Whats the story with that Pokémon thats on promotion. Some little rat thing, how do you get one of those?
    Also, checked GAME, Gamestop, and HMV today most priced between 35-40 but had no definite price, if i had cash, i'd buy that DSi Bundle, anyone know how much i'd get off it for a DSLite?

I'll be getting White in Oxford Street Game, just ordered it today. Still trying to get interested people for a camp out, but the closest I've gotten is a 6am meet up outside the shop with two guys I met at the Celebi event yesterday in Hamley's. Better than nothing I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

White from Amazon, not in a mad rush to get started so the shipping delay is not a problem. The "rat thing" may be Victini, the squirrel of victory (Fire / Electric I think) - you get a ticket, hop on a boat when you get to the Manhatten-esque town and beat some dudes up till they let you fight and catch it. If memory serves it's relatively low-level so if you can get as far as facing it, you can catch it.

marko93 wrote: »
    anyone know how much i'd get off it for a DSLite?

My Brother got offered €45 Store Voucher for his DS Lite last week.Don't go trading it in for that price.

Banjo wrote: »
    White from Amazon

+1 to this too. But I am annoyed by the shipping delay :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Getting White from xtra vision....don't know the price yet..but I'm not buying ..so it's all good :D ...

+1 to this too. But I am annoyed by the shipping delay :mad:
    What's the shipping delay in Ireland? In the UK you opt to pay an extra £3 and it's 99% guaranteed to arrive on launch. You could still make the Launch Party...

Woman, you make a mockery of the sacred order of SuperSaver Delivery!
    Let her head be plucked of all but 3 hairs!

More US hate :mad:
    What's the shipping delay in Ireland? In the UK you opt to pay an extra £3 and it's 99% guaranteed to arrive on launch. You could still make the Launch Party...

Only being dispatched on the 3rd, for an ETA of the 8th-9th.

Standard shipping (3-4 days) = £6.03
    Priority shipping (1-2 days) = £24.18

Yea, no thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭AndyKiely

I don't know where I'll buy it. I'll be getting White though. No reason, this has to be the first time ever though I know nothing about the game coming out. I have no idea about the starters, the region or the characters.

It's going to be a different experience for me and one I'm looking forward to.

I can't imagine that it would require a pre order? I would think that those days would be gone the way of Gold/Silver?

Can't wait for it though. It's been marked in my calendar since the new about the release date! Feel like I'm 10 again

Zavvi "Awaiting Despatch"
    Let us pray it arrives on time, if the last few pre-orders are anything to go buy i'll be playing this ALL weekend.
    Thanks to the person, vicinti is the "rat yoke"
    is there some sorta promotion or a place i gotta go to get this ticket, like from WiFi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

I know very little about the games aswell. I havent gone out of my way to avoid them but purposefully havnt researched them. Its like when i started playing pokemon crater all over again (Man i loved crater). I never had a gameboy when i was younger but loved the tv show. Crater got me back into the game as well as showing me all the new pokemon. Still not sure which one i want yet

marko93 wrote: »
    is there some sorta promotion or a place i gotta go to get this ticket, like from WiFi?

Just download it from Wi-Fi via mystery gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Can I ask if you go with the fire pokemon to begin with does it make it a little bit trickier in the early stages as was the case with the original incarnation?

No, it's fairly evenly matched:
    The first gym has 3 leaders, grass fire and water. The gym leader you face will have the advantage over whatver starter you picked. So if you pick Tepig you'll fight the water gym leader. However, if you go to the right of the first town you'll find someone who gives you a monkey pokémon that will compliment your starter, so again if you picked Tepig, the person will give you a grass monkey which will be effective against the gym leader!

Only 1 full day :D

God-dammit, Amazon just pushed the estimated delivery date back a day...

I'm very tempted to cancel my order and just buy it Friday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭stevethewraith

Had forgotten it was this close, planned on getting so much college work done this weekend!

God-dammit, Amazon just pushed the estimated delivery date back a day...

I'm very tempted to cancel my order and just buy it Friday morning.
    You might as well cancel it and do the planned meet up in the city :)

A Day? At this rate, that's a serious threat of Victini slippage. Hmmmm... if I skip my morning coffee and don't eat lunch I have just enough time to zip down to Smyths at 1pm on friday, get back to my desk and hide White under something manly, like a tricked out Honda Civic full of porn and uncooked steak.

Anyone brewing up eggs in the Jap releases for the meetup (not that I'm going, just curious).