Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dark Souls

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Kiith wrote: »
    Killed the Gargoyles there. Bloody easy when you summon the npc. Going to do a bit of farming now i think, and upgrade my Elite Knight armour. Is that still one of the best sets in your first playthrough?

Oooh, got the Black Knight Halberd and Shield...sweet :P

Also, wtf? I thought ringing the bell killed the red dragon? I'm almost positive he just died on me on my first play through. So now i've to melee him down instead? Balls! :(

best armour you can get on your first playthrough is probably the best armour in the game haha
    im using paladin armour and i just finished my first playthrough even though thats not me best armour i like the way eh looks ;)
    ringin the bell doesnt kill the dragon unless it was a glitch or they patched it not sure mate, i still havnt killed him, i just run past him to the bonfire ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I think there used to be a glitch where he killed himself.

I have been finding online play very good despite games for windows live.
    3 times out of 5 I can successfully invade, which is good since it only takes 1 min to see if you can invade. Any time I needed to summon someone it's worked for me. However when I invade I see people trying to summon others to help them most the time it will not work for them.
    Also when I put my summon sign down it's very rare for someone to summon me :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Managed to run under the dragon last night and he flew away. Oh well, at least he's out of the picture. Been reading on some of the forums, and apparently the regular Knight armour, once upgraded fully, is better then the Elite Knight armour? Haven't started upgrading any yet, but i prefer the look of the Elite, so i think i'll go with that one.

On my way down to Blightown now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 20,561 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Kiith wrote: »

On my way down to Blightown now :(

:(

have you the master key or are you going the normal route. i missed the eagle shield and a few other things there, just to get out of there as quick as possible

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Have the Master Key. Does that make it easier? Just looked up the Eagle Shield, and it looks pretty good. I do like my Black Knight Shield :P

• Registered Users Posts: 20,561 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

just means you can skip the depths , and go in a shorter route (the one that you would have taken out having passed blightown eventually)

i just always used the eagle shield with my last character.

the depths are easy enough though (unless you get cursed by the frogs !!!) just an advantage if you want to ring the second bell quickly !

Ok there is defiantly something up with summoning. When I try to summon someone it vary rarely works even though I see loads of summon signs. When I leave my sign down it takes ages before I get summoned if I do, probably because other people are having the same problem. If I try to invade I have no problem doing that.

Also when you connect with someone press home to bring up the games for windows menu and click players. You can find the person there and send them messages. This isn't obvious if you have not used gwl before. I found this handy to tell what level I player I had killed https://sites.google.com/site/darksoulstats/dark-souls-calculators/mini-calcs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

tuxy wrote: »
    Ok there is defiantly something up with summoning. When I try to summon someone it vary rarely works even though I see loads of summon signs. When I leave my sign down it takes ages before I get summoned if I do, probably because other people are having the same problem. If I try to invade I have no problem doing that.

Yeah there's definately something up with it, although i suspect its the person you're connecting to or where he's from or its live, never had these issues on the psn. Was doing the place before lost iziath and was getting my ass handed to me by the asylum demon down there, so spent around 30 mins in several unsuccesful summon attempts. In the end i got onto excalibur on live and he dropped a sign and i summoned him 3 times with no issues whatsoever. First fight was major lol btw, it lasted about 6 seconds, ran in he did the flamewall thing hit me and then hit me dead on as i got up, excalibur was just walking through the fog at that stage.

The bonus stuff, took me a while to figure how to get there. The first boss is a proper git, weirdest boss i've met yet in that regular weapons do weak damage but the bow does the best damage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Anyone else think the inventory system and descriptions etc are awful ?
    I've not been impressed so far really.

When you are at a shop, is it possible to compare weapons to the currently equipped weapon/armor ?

It's presentation isn't the best, its not about that though.

As for the shop i think if you hit x it will compare to your currently equipped weapn(blue means beter, red means less). To be honest there's only 2 or 3 weapons that you'd buy in a shop, the rest can be found around the place. The first bow and washing pole are the only weapons i ever bought. Still in the undead burg i take it?

• Moderators Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭Azza

Since the system is using GFWL, you guys got ports open on your router (uses the same ports as Xbox Live)

Might prevent people from summoning others if they remain closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭heid

I have the original xbox pad and converter. Is it possible to use this?

heid wrote: »
    I have the original xbox pad and converter. Is it possible to use this?

Yes, just about any pad with dual analogue will work fine. You may have to install an xbox 360 pad emulator for it to work though, I'm not sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

Just after recently starting into this and while I like the idea of the game, I just can't get used to controls.
    I'm using the Wireless XBOX 360 on PC and it's works fine out of the box but there are certain button configurations that I would to change but can't seem to find any options!

Am I forced to try and use Xpadder or am i missing something?

Also any particular options I'm missing in dsfix.ini other then the resolution? Getting fairly constant 30 FPS but does have the tendency to drop to low teens. I've heard it will get worse once on my way to blightown!

Did you turn off the video options in game? I know blur is one of them, can't remember the other. Not aware of any button options.

BTW the alternate sif sequense in the forest is well cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Lads. I fired up dark souls again in my ps3. I think I want to make a new character as my old one was based on dex and I heard those are proper crap later on.

So any suggestion on what to start off and what do I base on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

str and faith
    thats my current
    think its called lightning god on the wiki builds for dark souls
    have a look its pretty cool :)

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Yell0 Man

Thank God that's over, just finished killing Gwyn after 50 odd attempts as I can't parry for ****, it's only taken 100+ plus hours since last October, is it worth doing NG+?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,390 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Yell0 Man wrote: »
    Thank God that's over, just finished killing Gwyn after 50 odd attempts as I can't parry for ****, it's only taken 100+ plus hours since last October, is it worth doing NG+?

I thought so.

Theres two ending (although nothing materially changes).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

Yeah NG+ is good, and join the darkwraiths if you didn't the first time.

Ok stupid question what the hell are the white circles i keep seeing on the ground every now and then. Thought it was me but then saw them on youtube vids as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

Ok stupid question what the hell are the white circles i keep seeing on the ground every now and then. Thought it was me but then saw them on youtube vids as well.

These are known as resonance spots. There is a short section in the instruction manual talking about them.

They occur when a member of your Covenant uses a Miracle close to you.

Standing close to the circle while casting a miracle will increase the effectiveness of the Miracle you cast.

When you cast Miracles, resonance spots appear for other people in your area provided they are in the same Covenant as you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Started a new character last night. Hunter, as I want to play a Dex build properly. No interest in bows however.

So I summoned 2 lads to help me out on the Gargoyles... One the usual white signs, the other was an orange/gold colour (can't remember what this means - any ideas?)

Anyway, the dude who glowed orange killed both Gargoyles in 1 hit.

1!

coolhanddeath was his name :)

Am hooked on this game again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I've had this game sitting on my shelf for 6 months. I beat the first demon, was surprised by the difficulty just after that point and forgot about it.

I must give it a try again. I assume it gets pretty epic...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

Started a new character last night. Hunter, as I want to play a Dex build properly. No interest in bows however.
    A Pure DEX build is fairly pointless unless you intend to remain low-level. At higher levels you'd end up going for a build to let you use the Astorias swords or the like as theres little point in pumping DEX beyond 25ish.
    So I summoned 2 lads to help me out on the Gargoyles... One the usual white signs, the other was an orange/gold colour (can't remember what this means - any ideas?)

He's a member of the Sun Bros covenant (cant rememeber the proper title) who specialise in helping people
    Anyway, the dude who glowed orange killed both Gargoyles in 1 hit.

1!
    Yeah, a lot of people try to remain as low a level as possible whilst upgrading their gear to the max. It means that guy probably went through most of the game at like level 20 (which is quite an achievement) to obtain the gear and the souls to upgrade it.

penev10 wrote: »
    Yeah, a lot of people try to remain as low a level as possible whilst upgrading their gear to the max. It means that guy probably went through most of the game at like level 20 (which is quite an achievement) to obtain the gear and the souls to upgrade it.

Or he used the bottomless box glitch, is that still around? Man stockplile thomas would'nt have stood for that sh1t.

penev10 wrote: »
    A Pure DEX build is fairly pointless unless you intend to remain low-level. At higher levels you'd end up going for a build to let you use the Astorias swords or the like as theres little point in pumping DEX beyond 25ish.

Tell me more... I was pretty much balanced between END/VIT on my first character (playing it safe), rest in STR, but I did get DEX to 16 for something I think! Didn't use magic or pyromancy the first time at all really.

I still like the idea of a fast, as opposed to strong character - what would you recommend I aim for, DEX/FAI or DEX/INT? Am open to suggestions.

Or he used the bottomless box glitch, is that still around? Man stockplile thomas would'nt have stood for that sh1t.

That's fixed now on the pc version and will be fixed for consoles when the dlc comes out.

Tell me more... I was pretty much balanced between END/VIT on my first character (playing it safe), rest in STR, but I did get DEX to 16 for something I think! Didn't use magic or pyromancy the first time at all really.

I still like the idea of a fast, as opposed to strong character - what would you recommend I aim for, DEX/FAI or DEX/INT? Am open to suggestions.

Running a dex\int build at the moment running around with an enchanted uchitana or washing pole with crystal magic weapon and the enchanted pharis bow. It's handy, use the crystal homo soul mass then dart in and get 2-3 hits with the uchi or washing pole. It's kinda useless in the DLC though as most of the bosses seem to have alot of magic damage resistance, so you're basically chipping away at their health.

No joke... every attempt I've made to get Pharis' bow has resulted in her falling to her death in that feckin forrest! I think it's cursed in more ways than one :D

Anyway, looks like I've some research to be doing!