Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Our options for TD in Athlone

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Hi Aaron,
    Not anger on my behalf, I just read that line and it sounded like pure pointless waffle. When I read pointless waffle, my bullsh!t detector goes off the scale.

In a candidate I would like someone who doesnt go on with pointless waffle.

A couple of observations of the site & content from a brief read through ...
    - just wondering why you choose the domain name irishelection2011 instead of donaljackson or votedonaljackson?

- The banner intro reads "Thank you for allowing me into your home". I have never seen nor heard of your Dad before and he has never been in my home.

- The About section states your Dad has "excellent knowledge of financial matters". Can you provide examples of where and how he aquired this excellent knowledge.

- He also says he has a way to have the EU "asking us to let them pay our bank bonds for us". Can you elaborate on this plan or will the details only be revealed if elected?

- What is revolutionary about your software company?

On the Manifesto
    I only had time to skim through it but...
    - "No student to be refused entry to a course if willing to pay the fees"
    Does this mean that a less academic student with money should be accepted into a course ahead of a poorer but more academic student?

Also, just a personal preference ... I'm not into the video bits on the site, I never watch them but it looks like your Dad is drawing out plans on a whiteboard? Why not put the actual details on the site instead of a video of him writing them out.

Didnt have time to read any more

Thanks! I'll try to answer as best I can

Domain - irishelection2011.ie was chosen simply because its easy to remember for people. Its on his flyer and cards he hands out to people. No other reason really.

Banner - This was merely put there as the likelihood is that people will be viewing it from home.

Financial knowledge - He is extremely well versed in Macro and Micro economics and the forces of the market. He studies everything from Smurift Business school, Harvard, Yale, London etc. I myself have an MBA from Smurfit and don't understand a fraction of what he does but feel free to ask him directly through the other thread in the forum!

Bonds paid by xmas - The situation here is as follows... The Irish government has put at risk the sovereign wealth of Ireland to guarantee bond holders in the banks. This is not really news at this stage, but what may be news to some people is that over 80% of these bond holders are other banks and institutions based in the Eurozone. In essence, the ECB has lent us the money, at a ridiculous interest rate, to pay themselves back in order to keep the single currency monetary system alive. As a nation we have allowed FF/Green government to do this. We are paying a hefty price for this. Now we are in a position of 'needing' their money to run the country and as a result there is pressure for tax harmonisation (corporation tax) across the eurozone - or in other words - Dictating governance over us as a people because we owe money? It is subtle and not clearly obvious but its absolutely true. This cannot be allowed to happen! His proposals are to force bond holders into a debt equity swap based on the value of their bonds and to use our corporation tax level to attract national and international businesses to come here, set up, create jobs and stimulate the country in association with government objectives. Once we do this, Europe will have two choices:

1) Pay the bond holders from the European fund they are setting up (most likely)

2) Let the euro fail - something they cannot afford!

you may not agree with him and me on this so I would encourage you to find this out yourself and ask every politician that looks for your vote to answer you! Everything I have heard from the TD's to be is nonesense and akin to putting a plaster on a 8in hole in someone chest!

(I will say one more thing. I am setting him up with an official candidate boards account and answering direct questions in another thread in the forum)

What is revolutionary about your software company - We have some propriety software we are in the process of developing and patenting. I am not sure this is the forum for a discussion on that.

No student to be refused - Absolutely not. What he is saying here is that the current mechanism for college fee's is unsustainable and several people in government are talking about re-introducing fees. This re-introduction would result in those who can afford to goto college, going and those who can't, not. This would detrimental to Ireland. What he is proposing is that we, as a government, set up a pension for each and every college applicant when they finish school. This fund would pay the college fee's and then the student would 'pay it back' into their pension.
    An example would be that students would pay into their penson when they start working at say 12 euro a month instead of 10 euro until the fee's are paid. That way we can get everyone who wants to goto college into college, maintain a sustainable way for it to be paid and also get younger people starting a pension, with educational and Old age benefits. This can be done!

plans on a whiteboard - I was thinking about this but decided against it because it require explanation as it goes. I thought the videos were best for that.

Aaron

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Thanks for taking the time to answer, only getting around to reading it now

Domain - point taken on the domain but personally if I was running I'd want people to remember and get familiar with my name

Banner - never assume anything ;)

Financial Knowledge -
    He studies everything from Smurift Business school, Harvard, Yale, London etc.

Has he actually studied at these institutes or just read up on their material.
    To be honest that blurb, to me, made him sound like a taxi driver I used to get. He'd waffle on about all he knew about everything, without actually saying anything of note. I don't get that taxi driver anymore cos I couldn't be listening to his waffling on.

Your company - understandable you don't want to speak about it here but I brought it up as it is something that is noted on the website

Thanks again for the reply and explanations. Much appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

No problem. I'd encourage you to ask him anything directly on the other thread.

Re: taxi driver. I do apologise. This really isn't the case. I don't think I did him justice there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Miriamski wrote: »
    You seem to be confusing public service with public image there, Walrus. True, Nicky has not gone around with a camera on her shjoulder like some public so-called representatives. But if you were in Athlone you know that she personally delivered sandbags and radiators and raised money and worked day and night for people in distress last year and this year. That was a cheap shot, not worthy of this site.

WWhat has she done? As Seanad Spokesperson for Social and Family Affairs, McFadden has presented people on flood relief, people needing cancer screening, 245 elderly people in St Mary's Day Care Centre Mullingar, health service staff in Mullingar Hospital, health care staff in St Vincent’s Hospital Athlone, women needing sexual assaults units, farmers requiring compensation for crop damage, carers of elderly people, people needing out of hours medical services, people needing rescue services on Lough Ree, a young Athlone man needing access to specialist health services, people in Athlone needing treatment for drug abuse, people needing compensation for flood relief. People suffering from cutbacks and inefficiency in the VECs, Westmeath children relying on reneged promises of school buildings programmes, unemployed people looking for job seekers allowance, families facing bureaucracy when a loved one dies abroad, people appealing for child benefit, illness benefit, farm assist and state pension, families suffering cuts in child benefit, cuts in carers allowance, cuts in the blind pension, widow’s pension, tenants suffering under unfair rent increases, people in poverty, the need to protect FAS placement schemes, cut under Fianna Fail, lone parents, children with special needs requiring Special Needs Assistants to attend mainstream education, the IDA, families protesting against the proliferation of head shops (McFadden was among the first and the most outspoken on this), inland fisherman, carers, children in care, people experiencing sharp rises in the costs of electricity, farmers relying for their future on the CAP negotiations, people with disabilities, people running small and medium term enterprises, people employed by small and medium term enterprises, people with diabetes and people on housing waiting lists.

And that was just 2010.

Read the Seanad statements. She has been a tireless, fearless champion. No publicity. No sound bites. Only one agenda. To give a voice to people.

Your beloved Paul Hogan is a nice young man. And I am sure his time will come. But really, what has he done?

Firstly, no I am not confused with publicity and public image and public service at all. A good politican does not need to be shoved into the media at the opening of an envelope, isn't that right Mrs O'Rourke. I would imagine that in election manifestos you are damned if you do and damned if you don't actually set out your personal opinions, policies and since we are begrunders, your achievements.

Secondly, and for importantly, I was asking a geniune question directed at anyone who is in the Know, without any spin. You have had the decency and ability to answer in full at least what she has done and at least justify why she should get the nod as oppose to a "Athlone needs a TD" "we need ours sorted before Longford". There was no intention on my part to attack her, and as an Athlonian who has been away for years (well, back and forth) I simply wanted to know what is the big deal about her, as I have not heard great things about her (like others)

Thirdly, point out the cheap shot. Youtube her 2007 campaign when Enda came to town. Fake smile and never answered any questions. Enda then flying around thinking he was man of the people, like er, Bertie, at Golden Island.

It is a fair question, and prior to your valid defence, at worse, my post was simply an attack on those voting for someone (not neccessarily Nikki) without pointing out why he/she should get in, bar "we need an Athlone TD" feck their policies they need to be in power. Boards.ie, thankfully is not censored, provided it complies with the charter, if people in politics are going to get upty over preceived cheap shots they should leave the area and people should avoid debtate if they get offended. Fair play to you, you have given a account of the Senator

Before you send this debate into a childish tit for tat, since you preceive to be one to suggest what is suited for the site may I suggest a number of things. First, read people's posts. Anthing said was not an attack on Ms McFadden, it could have been said about any other politican. Secondly, I clearly stated that I personally have not ruled out giving Ms McFadden my no 1. Thirdly, "your beloved Paul Hogan"? Eh sorry, why get defensive?. What even suggests to you whether I will personally vote for Sinn Fein or him (for exact same reasons, what has he done? he could not even get County Council in 2009). Any comment regarding Mr Hogan, which you will note my other questions as to whether he actually has a realistic chance, was in response to people who have an inability to move on from the past and to automate a young councillor with the violence of the past in a region most of ye never visit bar the TV and Newspapers. Enda and FG need to get more use of dissent or alternative opinions (make it clear, I am not even suggesting you vote FG)

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭tubos

Some interesting quotes from Boxer in todays Athlone advertiser....

"I will never go back to Fianna Fail, and I won't go into power with Fianna Fail. I say this with anger over the way I was treated. I was just a vote getter"

I'll be keeping that snippet just in case!

Also on his election leaflets he has this...

"The most effective Politician I have ever watched in action is a councillor in Athlone named Boxer Moran" - Terry Prone - Irish Examiner

Here's the piece he took this quote from:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/terry-prone/you-can-keep-the-presidency-theres-no-way-i-could-be-happier-than-thou-84046.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

tubos wrote: »
    Some interesting quotes from Boxer in todays Athlone advertiser....

"I will never go back to Fianna Fail, and I won't go into power with Fianna Fail. I say this with anger over the way I was treated. I was just a vote getter"

I'll be keeping that snippet just in case!

Also on his election leaflets he has this...

"The most effective Politician I have ever watched in action is a councillor in Athlone named Boxer Moran" - Terry Prone - Irish Examiner

Here's the piece he took this quote from:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/terry-prone/you-can-keep-the-presidency-theres-no-way-i-could-be-happier-than-thou-84046.html

Ah Terry Prone. No doubt boxer is decent, but, I suppose she will be switching camps now, with the swing in power. Funny enough, I stand watching her on tv, how did she get into pr and communications and become so successful?

Didn't boxer get great publicity from Podge n Rodge a few years ago, for his motion to ban sun bathing by the wimen along Lough Ree?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Will somebody please tell me how, in all that is holy, can the odds be so short on Mary O'Rourke getting a seat

She was evens about 2 weeks ago....

Good to see Boxers odds shortning! I got him at 8/1 :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Eamon Cunningham

She was evens about 2 weeks ago....

Good to see Boxers odds shortning! I got him at 8/1 :P

I got him a couple of weeks ago at 10/1, can't wait to collect my €1100!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 imfgohome

FF seem to be in a meltdown. Will they get less than 20% in Longford Westmeath?

I noticed Troy posters at the Clonmacnoise interchange off the M6 just 6 miles from Athlone and ORourke Posters plastered from Mullingar to Longford on the N4. There seems to be a turf warbetween the candidates.

My prediction 1 Lab, 2 FG, 1 (Hogan/Sexton/Boxer)

Has Boxer put enough between himself and FF, still only weeks since the split.

SF & IND candidates seem to be picking up protest votes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

I threw a score on Hogan at 12/1. He is very popular on the boards poll. He seems to have quite a bit of support in Athlone, and as he's the only SF candidate in the contituency he's bound to pick up the votes of people who are far left and also might get a good few transfers from Penrose.

I voted today (I've a postal vote). I didn't vote for Hogan myself, but I hope others do so I can collect a wad of cash from Paddypower!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭veryangryman

O Rourkes Posters even showing up around Monksland (not part of her constituency)

See the one near Ganlys anyone? Fricking hilarious what theyve done with it! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

will have to swing out to Ganlys to have a look at that :D Seen a few upside down posters, and saw the lads putting them up doing it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

O Rourkes Posters even showing up around Monksland (not part of her constituency)

See the one near Ganlys anyone? Fricking hilarious what theyve done with it! :D

I giggle everytime I see that. I think they might have been going for "the Ultimate Warrior" or maybe a baddy from Batman. warrior.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

There was a bit in the Westmeath today from her son saying they have CCTV of one of her rivals defacing one of them! Will keep it to themselves until after the election.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

whyulittle wrote: »
    There was a bit in the Westmeath today from her son saying they have CCTV of one of her rivals defacing one of them! Will keep it to themselves until after the election.

They've done a great job of keeping a secret there!

ah now in fairness, quite a few posters were "defaced" the one by ganleys was quite funny. I see the display of these posters a hindrance, if not a safety risk before anything else. I've seen posters block oncoming traffic, making it difficult to see around corners, blocking traffic lights etc,.....

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Iomega Man

Can anyone answer this for me?

Is there a ban on receiving election material on election day?
    (to your home).

Cheers

IM

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭tubos

I think canvassing is allowed on election day, but not at the polling stations, Otherwise Mary O'Rourke would be in big trouble with her full front page ad on the Athlone Advertiser!!

The night before the election I got a phone call, it was a recorded message from FF candidate Peter Kelly, he began by saying sorry for missing me on the doorsteps! I hung up. What a lazy git, canvassing by phone with a recorded message, what a cheek!

yup, it's legal to canvas on polling day, however as already said, you can not canvas outside a polling station. I wonder though, if placing vans near the stations is legal? Saw one of Mcfaddens FG vans (the one with loudspeaker) near enough to the Dean Kelly School, it wasn't blasting anything out, just seemed a bit dodgy where it was, to me that is. One of the methods of canvasing on polling day was to offer to drive people to the station on the day :P Bit of effort involved, recorded messages is lazy and complete bollix indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

So, what are peoples thoughts on the Longford/Westmeath election results.

No surprise that PPP topped the 1st Pref Poll.

Athlone has a TD in Nicky McFadden.

I was surprised that Boxer didnt campaign out my way as when he was with FF he was always on the door step. Although I was told on Sat morning that he had concentrated on other areas around WH and into LD as he already knew the votes he was going to get in Athlone anyway!!!! Bit of a kick in the aras if true!

The other Independents were never going to get near the 4 figure totals

Dont think anyone can be surprised about Mary O'Rourkes performance at the polls.

Paul Hogan ranked 6th in the order of merit

Cheers BoB and Tubos,

Yeah,Was just wondering about it.
    I received some stuff with the Advertiser on Friday morning.
    As it was Mary O, I don't think it matters now!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

I'm dissapointed P Burke didnt get in. Especially seeing as he had a higher first preference vote than either McFadden or Troy.

With both Troy and Penrose from Ballynacarragie it must be the best represented village in Ireland!!

We're all moving to Ballynacargy....Who's with me?

I said "who's with me?"....

Lads....Lads....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Iomega Man wrote: »
    We're all moving to Ballynacargy....Who's with me?

I said "who's with me?"....

Lads....Lads....

you got first... well be right behind you.

lol. not

How far behind....20 miles?30 miles???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

I think we can close this now ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

Well, until just before the next election anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

Onikage wrote: »
    Well, until just before the next election anyway.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 ishtarcelt

BoB_BoT wrote: »
    What does that even mean?

Blueshirts in.. Hand over Ireland to Hunn overlords