Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting started selling

Options
  • 01-02-2011 9:41pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm a reasonably good baker - people seem to enjoy what I make, anyway! So I've been half-thinking for a long time of starting to sell things to the public. Markets and car boot sales have been suggested, but I'm just wondering if anyone can offer any advice? Do you need a licence or anything to sell food at car boot sales etc?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Hi Faith,

First of all if you want to sell you have to be HSE Registered, well, you should be, a lot of people aren't but I think it's a must. This is easily done, contact your local Environmental Health Officer and tell them what you want to do, they will come out and inspect your kitchen, tell you what procedures need to be put in place and if there's anything else you need.

You need a market licence to trade at markets I think, a lot of them also ask for public liability insurance, but some have umbrella insurance that you can pay towards. If in a while you decided to do a lot of selling you should get product liability insurance too, again really you should have this from the start but I know how it is, you don't want to fork out a lot until you know whether or not you will be continuing to do it. I don't know anything about car boot sales though, sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭nesbitt