Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I honestly think...

• 01-02-2011 10:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭

that Spurs will never be properly up there again until we get an Abramovic type owner who's happy to spunk 100's of millions on a load of world class mercanaries. Watching Chesea splash 75mil at the drop of a hat yeaterday brought it home to me.

Until this happens at Spurs we'll hang about between 8th and 5th.
    Even if this happened, it would all feel very hallow, manufactured to me.
    It's a bit of a loose loose senario I'm afraid.

Although, with a bit of luck we really could surprise a few in the Champions League.
    Liverpool won it with a weak side, you never know in cup competitions.

But once we're done it might be a long while till we see it again :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭yiddo59

that Spurs will never be properly up there again until we get an Abramovic type owner who's happy to spunk 100's of millions on a load of world class mercanaries. Watching Chesea splash 75mil at the drop of a hat yeaterday brought it home to me.

Although, with a bit of luck we really could surprise a few in the Champions League.

Sad but true Shane!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I think we're all just a bit sore after yesterday. I feel very bad about the team and our chances for the remainder of this season, after a rubbish performance on Sunday and not getting what we needed during the window and it will take something pretty big to bring me out of it, such as beating AC or going on a winning run, and I emphasise winning because although we've lost only 2 in 15, we haven't won enough.

Like you I can't help feeling that we've blown our chances of maintaining 4th spot and that prices in the summer will be ridiculous, meaning we'll be relying on cast-off's or something out of the blue/stroke of luck, such as VDV.

Something needs to change at Spurs though. We caught up last season, but we've already slipped away from the other teams and that has to stop. The players need to cop on, especially those up front, and the board/owners need to do the same and not wait until the last 2 days of a transfer window to tie players up - it's embarassing and completely counter-productive.

As I look at the scores so far tonight, Chelsea, Arsenal, and Utd are all winning. It may not finish that way, but if it does and we don't win tomorrow night, we're pretty f*cked. There's still a good bit of the season to go so we still have a chance, but things need to happen straight away or we'll be looking over our shoulder trying to protect 5th rather than claim 4th.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Do you not think if we'd of taken our chance last August to sign a top centre back and centre forward, and push on, we'd be right up there ?

I think we have missed a great chance to break in to the elite, on a permanent basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Absolutely, and this is what should have happened though at the start of the January transfer window we were still well in touch, and had a smart bit of business been done then, we could have pushed on. It didn't happen, and as a result we're now stuck in limbo below the top 4 who we haven't done enough to keep up with.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Keep the Faith:)
    So much depends on the January transfer window and what striker we get in. We have the squad to break the top 4, no doubt about that, we're just missing that one special player to get us >20 goals a season on a regular basis.
    I admit that 4th place, even at this stage looks oh, so unlikely, but remember last season? We had to face Arsenal, United, City and Chelsea and IIRC we were 2 points behind City. No one in their right mind would have put money on us at that stage. Went on to win 3 of those games though and clinch 4th at Eastlands.

Hatch99 wrote: »
    Do you not think if we'd of taken our chance last August to sign a top centre back and centre forward, and push on, we'd be right up there ?

I think we have missed a great chance to break in to the elite, on a permanent basis.

Exactly and is mainly down to Levy's leadership or lack of. He rattled on for years that we couldn;t compete because of the lack of CL to attract the top players. Then when we finally get there and faced with an average Manu, and an ageing Chelsea team what does he do? Cept for teh huge stroke of luck in landing VDV he does nothing! As already posted last August was the time to do business and get some quality forwards in. By waiting til January you're gambling and as we all know Levy is a gambler, Well yesterday he and we lost (again)!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

yiddo59 wrote: »
    Exactly and is mainly down to Levy's leadership or lack of. He rattled on for years that we couldn;t compete because of the lack of CL to attract the top players. Then when we finally get there and faced with an average Manu, and an ageing Chelsea team what does he do? Cept for teh huge stroke of luck in landing VDV he does nothing! As already posted last August was the time to do business and get some quality forwards in. By waiting til January you're gambling and as we all know Levy is a gambler, Well yesterday he and we lost (again)!

Agree. But the original point was that the only way we would match the elite would be by an oil tycoon for example throwing zillions at mercenaries, I disagree. We could of done it, but missed the boat and decided not to, and yes we may never get a better chance. Even more sickening seeing as we breezed through the group so well in the CL. A couple of quality signings and we could have pushed for the league and been a contender in the CL.

Anyway, the boat has well and truly sailed away...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

maybe, but I get the feeling that had we gone in for many world class players, the likes of a Man City or a Chelsea would bid and blow us away with their megabucks.

For example, Dzeko looks like he would have been perfect for us, but nobody can compete with Man City and they already had 5 center forwards before they bought him !

The more I think about it the more I think the Van Der Vaart deal was an one off. Thankfully it was done at the very end of the window, if it turned into an autcion we'd have been destroyed again by the fee and the wages the likes of City/Chelsea are prepard to pay.

Reckon it's a long way back from here to the CL again.

Agree. But the original point was that the only way we would match the elite would be by an oil tycoon for example throwing zillions at mercenaries, I disagree. We could of done it, but missed the boat and decided not to, and yes we may never get a better chance. Even more sickening seeing as we breezed through the group so well in the CL. A couple of quality signings and we could have pushed for the league and been a contender in the CL.

Anyway, the boat has well and truly sailed away...

The boat has sailed and now the only chance is the oil tycoon. Knowing our luck we'll get JR Ewing :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

So you'd like to turn this:

2%2BSpurs%2BProfit.jpg

Into this:

Chelsea+5+years.jpg

Or this:

2+Profit.jpg

With these rules on the way:

City+Acceptable+Deviation.jpg

Are you crazy???

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

All we need is a bigger stadium (so that we can abide by Fifa's new rules) and then i reckon we're in a good position to challenge the top 4/5. Hopefully Redknapp won't be nicked for the England job when it comes available in 2012 when Capello stands down.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

Modern world of football. The 'haves' and the 'have nots'. Would I want Spurs to be like Oil backed clubs....NO.....yes I want us to be successful but not at any cost.
    Until this happens at Spurs we'll hang about between 8th and 5th.Even if this happened, it would all feel very hallow, manufactured to me. It's a bit of a loose loose senario I'm afraid..

Its becoming more like Theatre with teams monotonously acting out their role each season but just like the script...always the same ending.
    Although, with a bit of luck we really could surprise a few in the Champions League. Liverpool won it with a weak side, you never know in cup competitions.

Would be great but I'd seriously be clutching at straws if I thought we could.

Ain't that the truth.

European football today is more like the Cosa Nostra with the various families (G14 clubs) across Europe staking claim in their own countries but also backing each other up to the point that they are virtually untouchable. Sure G14 is disbandoned from 2008 but it's still the same families clubs that are calling the shots. In the last 20 years there has only been one club outside of the G14 that has won the CL (Red Star Belgrade in 1991). Man City aren't part of that clique and nor are we so regardless of what money we have we'll never get into the Cosa Nostra clique.

As for Spurs domestically, well, we've always been the outsider, never part of the 'old school tie' or special 'handshake' brigade, we're not popular with the establishment, we don't have hoards of famous personality fans or come from some trendy part of London.

Whilst frustrated sometimes, I can accept this and continue to be a fan because I started supporting Spurs long before all the PR, Commercialism and Globalisation sh1t started. To me Spurs were just my local club and they represented the area I lived. In those days before the world wide web I used to get books out from the library and read up on the history. It meant so much to me then and still does today.

Fact is the current regime at the club are so desperate to pimp themselves out in the hope that some rich punter will will pick up their trick that they will sell every single member of their family down the road.

I'd prefer to be my own man rather than buy into the idea of being one of the 'elite'. What makes us think that we are better than the likes of Villa, Newcastle, Everton etc. because IMO we're all in that outsider list and always will be.

PS. My rant is very much a modern football thing. Prior mid-eighties wasn't such a big issue.......even though Pool did always get the peno in front of the Kop...Hmmmm :D

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Wendell Gee

The one I'm sorry we didn't go for is Lukaku. He's as big and promising as Carroll, and only 17. £25 mill would get him. Can Harry pick a player? Why did we need Pienaar , or Adam ffs. Maybe Pienaar came in due to his attitude. A lot of recent posts saying we aren't fighting it out. And yet- bar Utd, no-one comes close to us for pulling games out of the fire. Our last league gme saw ue get a point, with Lennon's 2nd crucial injury time goal of the season. These are games we used to lose. my only regrets from Sunday are that we played Modric et al, instead of resting them up for the league, and Dawsons sending off. The three games with 10 men have worked our players, especiallyModric, Bale and Lennon, very hard.
    2 key reasons we aren't in the top 4. One is the lack of goals- the other the lack of a settled cb pairing. Last season, when dawson and King cme together, we were a different team. If (and I know it's a big if) Woodgate could do this season what ledlley did last year, we won't leak too many goals. Then if defoe and Pav can bang a few in, we're in decent shape.
    There's no shame in fighting hard for 4th and being edged out. Win tomorow noght and we're still right in there.
    It's crucial the fans believe. Utd have been crap at times, spent not a cent in the window, and yet are clear. We need o not look back at points dropped, but make WHL a cauldron for every game til May. when it's all over, we can countup the points. At the start of the season, we pllayed well and were ulucky- think iteh in particular- and played some awful games. We have been very good in general since the CL group stages began.
    It's the best season since the eighties, and it's only half over. i'm having fun, and so should we all.

L'prof wrote: »
    So you'd like to turn this:

2%2BSpurs%2BProfit.jpg

Into this:

Chelsea+5+years.jpg

Or this:

2+Profit.jpg

With these rules on the way:

City+Acceptable+Deviation.jpg

Are you crazy???

but they've won 3 leagues, a load of cups, and they've seen some of the best players and managers in the world arrive at their club since the russian took over.

I don't know about you but I'd wouldn't mind a bit of that at Spurs

There's no other way to become and remain a big force in the game without a magabucks owner.

but they've won 3 leagues, a load of cups, and they've seen some of the best players and managers in the world arrive at their club since the russian took over.

I don't know about you but I'd wouldn't mind a bit of that at Spurs

There's no other way to become and remain a big force in the game without a magabucks owner.

The fact of the matter is if Spurs did that now they'd be banned from European competitions, is that a price you'd be willing to pay? Surely if everybody's working within reasonable budgets as per the new ruling it could only benefit Spurs?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Ah jaysus lads,
    Ye are in great shape as a club and are gonna be far more stable than the likes of Chelsea/City in the future.
    Ye need to do what ye "friends" across town did and move into a new stadium to generate more revenue to truly be relatively self sustaining and I see that is happening now.

You dont HAVE to splash masses of money at a team, what you need is a team that is enticing to up and coming/decent players and most importantly a manager who can use them to best effect.

The main issue with money effecting Spurs is not so much that ye cannot spend 30 million on a player yet but that another club can spend that kinda money on one of yer players - keeping a hold of what ye have for the moment is key aspect until ye do make that move.

Ye really dont want to be in the hands of people pretending to throw money at a problem - look at what happened some clubs who did throw cash at problems and where they are now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

The fact of the matter is if Spurs did that now they'd be banned from European competitions, is that a price you'd be willing to pay? Surely if everybody's working within reasonable budgets as per the new ruling it could only benefit Spurs?

The annoying thing is if they go buying players like Luiz now they are set for a decade which means we play by different rules for a decade which is a serious pain but I wouldn't want to jeopardise the club in any way.

What about wages? Can Chelsea and Man City really afford the wages they are currently paying? They may well be "set for a decade", but how many foreign players go to England and stay there that long? Something will eventually have to give, be it European football, player wages or cutting the playing staff. There are no quick fixes any more*. Slowly, slowly wins the race.

*Although you can pump as much money as you like into a new stadium and youth facilities as far as I know!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

What about wages? Can Chelsea and Man City really afford the wages they are currently paying? They may well be "set for a decade", but how many foreign players go to England and stay there that long? Something will eventually have to give, be it European football, player wages or cutting the playing staff. There are no quick fixes any more*. Slowly, slowly wins the race.

*Although you can pump as much money as you like into a new stadium and youth facilities as far as I know!
    Ya wages is a big problem for Chelsea and City aren't selling out there stadium at the moment either. Chelsea also can't move because the chelsea name is tied to the stadium.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭tomo75

OK, so we signed no one in the Jan window. I would perfer not to sign anyone than the Ronan Ricketts of this world. We have money to spend - fair enough. But the strikers we have are not cutting it. Pav, while he bitches and moans is not scoring goals. No point spending 30m on a 6 month old prem striker (Caroll) when we have proven one's that are just firing blanks. I am still hopeful for 4th. I have seen us play some shocking crap against weaker teams, but this season has been my greatest and most enjoyable since I started supporting Spurs. Ok, if we miss 4, we will most likey get the Europa. It still beats mid table drivel any year!

Rant over ;)

Ok - now back to my thesis!!!:D

I still think the big boys will work around the new rules.

I can't see R Madrid, Barca, Chelsea, Man td etc.... getting kicked out of european compitition over this, can you ?

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

I can't see R Madrid, Barca, Chelsea, Man td etc.... getting kicked out of european compitition over this, can you ?

No way, Uefa pander to every whim of these clubs whilst the rest of us are sh1t upon from a great height.

I still think the big boys will work around the new rules.

UEFA have taken a very strong stance on this, all clubs have agreed to it, so I seriously doubt that there's going to be any leeway given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

yiddo59 wrote: »
    Sad but true Shane!

How do you know his name?