Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

good spot to go out in limerick

• 02-02-2011 5:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭

hi guys goin to limerick on the 18th of feb. goin to watch munster match been down a good few times but never stayed over always drove back to waterford the same night. just wonderin will there be any lively spots to go to in city centre. somewhere wit live music would be preferable but sure look it any where good at all would do.

any help would be appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

Look no further than the SinBin. Mind you there's loads of fantastic pubs and clubs in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

Derfil wrote: »
    Look no further than the SinBin. Mind you there's loads of fantastic pubs and clubs in the city.

+1 on the SinBin no better place on match day.

hi guys goin to limerick on the 18th of feb. goin to watch munster match been down a good few times but never stayed over always drove back to waterford the same night. just wonderin will there be any lively spots to go to in city centre. somewhere wit live music would be preferable but sure look it any where good at all would do.

any help would be appreciated

Anywhere around the Milk Market area is usually hopping after a Munster match. Plenty of pubs and clubs to choose from around that area such as Nancy's, Flannery's, Smyth's, Old Quarter, Cukoo Box, Angel Lane*, The Icon* and a few more.

*these are nightclubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44 Frecklefart90

Flannerys on Denmark St then over to D'Icon

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭L.T.P.

Milk Market area your best bet but Clohessy's (Sin Bin) is always good on match day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

Oooo I have to say I HATE the SinBin. It IS a very rugby bar but I just really dislike it.

The Locke is a nice spot on the river. Tom Collins' pub is a nice one too. Then Flannery's and Nancy's (Front bar at Nancy's is lovely.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Bourkes Bar on Catherine St. is a good spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

If you are a real rugby fan - avoid the SinBin...plenty of good rugby pubs such as Myles Breens, Flannerys (take your pick) JJ Bowles, The Curraghgower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭larchielads

thanks for all the suggestions, any where wit live music?

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

http://www.limerickpost.ie/index.php/component/gcalendar/day/calendars/1.html#year=2011&month=02&day=18

The layout is awful there, but click on the squares and it'll give you an idea of what's on, Smyth's and Baker's are always a safe bet.

Also, when you get into Limerick just grab a copy of the Limerick Post and check the back for event listings to be sure of what's on and maybe have a gawk around the facebook pages of each bar to get an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

Check out Dolans Warehouse for live music, www.dolanspub.ie

good spot with a nice crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭larchielads

thanks for your help lads im sure ill find somethin to entertain us after the rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

If walking into town after the match.... ye have to stop off at The Curraghgower pub for one (or a few) on Clancys strand on the Shannon. Then head into town to somewhere like Clohessys or else in fars Flannerys, Nancys and even though everyone says its awful.... Smyths do cover bands with often good atmosphere after matches and then the nightclub, Icon is there aswell. Have a good stay in Limerick, enjoy the match :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

As a former non Nancy's fan, my mind has changed on that one recently. Mostly because it's a very nice non-scobe environment but for rugby of course, Clohessy's is a must -especially if it's a warm (for Limerick) sunny evening and you can sip Corona and lime in the open air by the river.