Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who are you voting no.1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Where's the option for Christian Solidarity Party?

A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Eh what? Are you seriously trying to say that for a 3-year period between 2007 and 2010 Labour had absolutely no policies listed on their website?
    I don't count addendums on sports and youth policies to be really responding to the national questions. Once again, where does Gilmore intend to get the remaining 98% of the deficit?
    A note on FG, we're entering election season and they don't have a detailed account of their policies on their new website.
    They started a new one for the election campaign, its fairly clear if you watch the videos.

Believe me I'm far from happy giving them the nod, but the best of a bad lot and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Why does everyone automatically assume SF have the worst economic policies in the world and they'll never work :confused:

haven't we found out that FF and the capitalistic way of doing it has ended us €80bn in debt... and FG policies are basically pretty much similar to FF at the end of the day..

how much more harm could SF's policies possibly do to the country - we can't exactly get much worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Who evers voting FF/GREENS must be in cloud coo coo land.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Why does everyone automatically assume SF have the worst economic policies in the world and they'll never work :confused:

haven't we found out that FF and the capitalistic way of doing it has ended us €80bn in debt... and FG policies are basically pretty much similar to FF at the end of the day..

how much more harm could SF's policies possibly do to the country - we can't exactly get much worse...

Eh, I was FF's policy to not let the 'capitalist way' work is the reason we are in this mess. The capitalist way would have been to let Anglo Irish Bank fail. It is socialism that got us in this mess (nationalising banks, increasing public sector employment levels and salaries, increasing social welfare benefits.

If we had a true capitalist system our economy would be performing well no, given the growth in the manufacturing and export levels, our property sector would have bottomed out without being propped up by NAMA and dodgy banks.

SFs policies are pure fairytale. Assume they can pick money out of the air and that the rich (investment and job creating people) are to blame for everything yet someone whos dole has increased three fold over the last 15 years somehow never benefitted from the celtic tiger and is innocent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Admiral Ackbar has really impressed me with his stance on the banking crisis so its a Rebel Alliance No.1 from me

but what if It's a trap?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Lauder wrote: »
    Eh, I was FF's policy to not let the 'capitalist way' work is the reason we are in this mess. The capitalist way would have been to let Anglo Irish Bank fail. It is socialism that got us in this mess (nationalising banks, increasing public sector employment levels and salaries, increasing social welfare benefits.

If we had a true capitalist system our economy would be performing well no, given the growth in the manufacturing and export levels, our property sector would have bottomed out without being propped up by NAMA and dodgy banks.

SFs policies are pure fairytale. Assume they can pick money out of the air and that the rich (investment and job creating people) are to blame for everything yet someone whos dole has increased three fold over the last 15 years somehow never benefitted from the celtic tiger and is innocent.
    hold on a moment, it was the preservation of capitalism that saved anglo and the other banks. First time, I've ever heard of socialism being the reason to save anglo, heard it all now. As for public sector pay, it got out of control but this was to buy fianna fail votes, not socialism. As for social welfare, it got bigger due to increases in the cost of living(capitalism at work) but i presume you don't agree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour

Hey! It's coming right at me like 3D in the cinema. And we all know how much that works...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Unfortunately there is no Direct Democracy Ireland http://www.directdemocracyireland.org/ candidate in my constituency, that would instantly get my number one. As far as I am aware there are no independent candidates at all in my constituency, which is a bit annoying, if I had of known this was going to be the case in advance I would have convinced someone I know to run just to give people the option.

That leaves two Fianna Fail and one Green candidate. Obviously not an option. I personally know one of the Labour candidates, he's a cvnt and and a lier, and has been for years, in both his personal and political life, so he's out. The other Labour guy has represented my area of the constituency on the council for ten years. He has done exactly zero for the area in that time as far as I can see apart from getting himself voted to the board of two quangos. Labour cvnt number two is out. Fine Gael candidate I have never liked, nominated to the senate at the age of 26 because.........:confused: Nepotism and cronyism disgust me. I'll fire him off a couple of e-mails and read up on what he has been saying lately before I write him off completely but he would have to blow my socks clean off with his replies to be in with any kind of a shot.

That leaves me with Mike Murphy of the Socialist Party and Sean Crowe of Sinn Fein as my only real options..............

I guess they'll get a few e-mails and check up what they have been saying around and I'll see which one comes closest to what I believe, but again unless they surprise me and impress hugely I'll probably be sitting at home this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

SINN FEIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

http://www.labour.ie/policy/ - nice bit of reading there.

I know they want to cut PS expenditure by €400 million or so.
    Since ya like a good read:

Six reasons to vote Sinn Fein.

January 28th, 2011
    1. Sinn Féin has shown that there is a better way. We were the only party not to sign up to the government’s consensus for cuts and instead put forward a real costed alternative for economic recovery.
    2. Sinn Féin would reverse cuts to public services and social welfare introduced in Budget 2011. We are the only party to clearly state that we would do this.
    3. Unlike the other parties Sinn Féin would stand up to the IMF and EU. Sinn Féin is an Irish republican party. We are a United Ireland party. We believe in the sovereignty, independence and freedom of the Irish people and the right of our people to build our own society.
    4. Every TD elected for Sinn Féin will mean a stronger voice for working families, the unemployed and all those struggling to survive. The more Sinn Féin TDs elected the louder the voice for those they represent in the Dáil.
    5. Sinn Féin stands up for ordinary people. Over the last year it is our party, which confronted this government and demanded higher standards. For us, actions speak louder than words. Sinn Féin was the only party to oppose the Lisbon Treaty, pointing out the dangers for our sovereignty. Sinn Féin forced the government to hold the Donegal SW by-election, exposed the Taoiseach’s contacts with leading people in Anglo, is the only party not to sign up to the Fianna Fáil / Green Party / Fine Gael / Labour consensus for cuts and instead put forward a real alternative for economic recovery. Sinn Féin TDs only take home the average industrial wage.
    6. Sinn Féin will change politics and put an end to cronyism. Reform must start with the Dáil. That means cutting TD’s wages and expenses. It means changing how the Dáil business is done so the Government can be held to account. We would abolish the Seanad in its current form.

Sinn Fein priorities for the next Dail:
    Sinn Féin has set out a better, fairer way to reduce the deficit and deal with the banks. Our alternative seeks to stimulate the economy, protect and create jobs and reform the tax system. We would target cuts at the top of society — beginning with the salaries of Government Ministers, TDs and top civil servants.
    In the upcoming general election we will be presenting a real programme of recovery which will:
    1. Regenerate the economy by investing in a major job creation programme to get Ireland back to work.
    2. Reverse the savage cuts and prioritise frontline services.
    3. Burn the bondholders in Anglo and wind it up.
    4. Reduce the deficit by taxing the wealthiest and eliminating wasteful spending.
    5. Provide for a root and branch reform of the political system; including abolishing the Seanad in its current form, reforming the electoral system, and bringing forward a constitution aimed at producing a genuine republican form of Government which puts an end to political elites and empowers Irish citizens.
    6. Ensure the proper use of Ireland’s natural resources for the common good.
    7. End the two-tier health and education systems.
    8. And guarantee continued support for the Peace Process, the Good Friday Agreement and seek to enhance outreach to the unionist community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I have absolutely no idea who I'm going to vote for. All I want more than anything now is execution of porkie pig ahern and no one is offering that. There isnt one party that is even making progress at packing that cnut and the rest of his cronies into jail. No one is worthy of my vote but I need to vote to get FF out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    Labour
    BATMAN!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

What a ULA dumb-bag approach.

Doesn't matter who you vote for when it comes to defaulting. It will happen.
    Notice on the news tonight the "Euro" is being mentioned?

The Euro is in serious trouble, defaulting is probably due in 2012 (end of or maybe start of 2013) along with another election. #ge12 / #ge13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

we fought long and hard enough to get our parliament and constitution, it will not be handed away by a gang of docile gombeens who's only interest are in their own personal business ventures, and top jobs for their own families and cronies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

we fought long and hard enough to get our parliament and constitution, it will not be handed away by a gang of docile gombeens who's only interest are in their own personal business ventures, and top jobs for their own families and cronies

NEWSFLASH:

It will be because our culture is to look after ourselves and those closest to us, self interest etc. Endemic is the word that is used I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Dr. Bollocko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Dr. Bollocko.

Dont forget about Biggins.

Vote Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Fine Gael. Though I wish Bruton was leader, not Kenny.