Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy threatening to jump off bridge

• 03-02-2011 2:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭

So me and a few of the lads finished up jamming some music together at about half ten down on lombards street, we came out to see a guy sitting on the edge of that little bridge up from lombards opposite the car park. There was an ambulance there, there were also gardaí trying to talk him out of it. We were talking so some man who was there who was regretting not grabbing him off the bridge before the gards arrived and told him to clear off. The tide was out at the time though so I imagine if he decided to jump they'd have got him out quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Some smell off him if he did jump in. Shoulda pushed him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Feckin De Ja Vu ,same thing actually happened to us about 15 years ago.Difference being though we kinda goaded him on and payed little attention to him.Only found out the next day he jumped....into a whole foot high of water and broke an ankle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Interesting thread

Haven't seen this in Waterford but did in Dublin.
    Some girl sitting on the bridge and gardai talked her out of it and grabbed her.

Tbh, with the tide out you wouldn't drown, you might break a leg or two.
    Not a lot of thought went into this

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

What happens though is that they jump when the tide is out and get stuck in the mud, then the tide comes back in and if noone knows they are there then they drown. Worst part is after being stuck in the mud for a while they may come to their senses and not be able to get out....

Fairly sure someone only died about 2 or 3 weeks ago from jumping off they quay here

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

What happens though is that they jump when the tide is out and get stuck in the mud, then the tide comes back in and if noone knows they are there then they drown. Worst part is after being stuck in the mud for a while they may come to their senses and not be able to get out....

Fairly sure someone only died about 2 or 3 weeks ago from jumping off they quay here

Thats not very good thought though in fairness,

So you jump, sit in the mud for what an hour, 2hours and then very slowly then tide comes in and covers you. Very slow way to die.

If any thought was put into it you'd do it when tide is in, perhaps jumping into the mud is a cry for help of sorts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

That's the way I'd see it. If he had real intentions I'm sure he would have picked a different spot. Hope it worked out ok in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

Cabaal wrote: »
    If any thought was put into it you'd do it when tide is in, perhaps jumping into the mud is a cry for help of sorts?

feck that lark why don't he just ring the samaritins... Father in law was out fishing in Passage one night with a few others when a guy comes running down the peer threating to jump in, they obviously tried to talk him out of it but NO he was all macho and in he goes. He only hit the water when he was screaming for help crying like a baby.. Ruined the guys fishing as they had to get him out, plus he scared all the fish for miles with the racket he was making and all because his girl friend broke it off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Saw something like that happen next to Dignity one night.

Yer man was pissed out of his mind and threatening to jump. Saw the girlfriend chatting to her ex (who was now gay apparently) and went mental. Was hanging over the edge, guards standing they're telling him
    "There's nothing but sludge down there, you go in and you'll ruin your clothes and maybe sprain your ankle. Haven't a hope of drowning."

Refused to climb back over, or jump when the crowd started shouting at him. GF ended up grabbing him by the scruff and hauling him back over the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

Op, he didn't hear yer jammin be any. Chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Funfair wrote: »
    feck that lark why don't he just ring the samaritins... Father in law was out fishing in Passage one night with a few others when a guy comes running down the peer threating to jump in, they obviously tried to talk him out of it but NO he was all macho and in he goes. He only hit the water when he was screaming for help crying like a baby.. Ruined the guys fishing as they had to get him out, plus he scared all the fish for miles with the racket he was making and all because his girl friend broke it off :)
    would ya blame your man. The water do be freezing sure.