Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF Michael Martin Heckled in Galway

• 03-02-2011 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭

Anybody see it on the news last night. He was heckled at the Spanish Arch yesterday. He looked really surprised that somebody should do such a thing. Seems like they are still living in cloud cukoo land - you can change the face, but not the mentality

More of this sort of thing please. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Sempai

Not as good as the ould bird giving Enda Kenny the fingers during his campaign. priceless!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I have to say fair play to the guy who spoke up,he wasn't abusive he just put his case across with the kind of emotion it deserved.

I heard a journalist on the radio who was with M. Martin yesterday and he said that the journalists were really amazed that he got such a "warm reception" in Galway. He said only that 1 person had any voice of dissent and that everyone else Martin offered handshakes to gave big smiles and "oh yes,I'll vote for you"s!

Obviously reduced pay, people losing their houses and having to leave to find work and rubbish infrastructure doesn't hurt so much in Galway. That or we're more camera shy than most.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

First of all I have no political affiliation but what the hell is wrong with our people that FF got a bit of hassle from just one person on their time in Galway. Fair enough if people want to just ignore them and give their verdict on election day but to be subjected to these people brazenly walking through the streets of Galway shaking hands and laughing with whatever half wits were around who'd vote for them no matter what.

Anyone who gave FF a warm reception yesterday deserves every bit of financial misery that can be heaped upon them. We're on our knees yet some people want us to be kicked into the gutter as well. Fair enough some people might have respect for someone like Eamonn O'Cuiv who will get things done for his Connemara constituents but for people to shake hands and openly welcome a snake like Micheal Martin and the good for nothing hangers on following him around, the phrase 'you reap what you sow' comes to mind.

Fair play to the man who tackled him, what he was saying is a microcosm of what is going throughout this island yet still some people will continue to welcome them with open arms and blame the crisis on the media or Lehman Brothers or whatever other excuse they could lay their hands on.

Meanwhile we have the main perpetrator of our current situation Bertie Ahern brazenly walking around on his extortionate pension stating that his biggest regret was that his pet project didn't come to fruition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Canvasser

Going out of your way to shout abuse at anyone brave enough to put themselves before the public is disgraceful behaviour and should be brought to the attention of the gardaí as assault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Canvasser wrote: »
    Going out of your way to shout abuse at anyone brave enough to put themselves before the public is disgraceful behaviour and should be brought to the attention of the gardaí as assault.

You don't have to canvass you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Huh?. Ur taking the piss I hope. The least those effers should get is verbal abuse for what they and their pals from the Galway tent have done to the country.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Huh?. Ur taking the piss I hope. The least those effers should get is verbal abuse for what they and their pals from the Galway tent have done to the country.
    it must be great to have a nice simplistic socilaist view of the world :)

shouting abuse at anyone is not acceptable in a civil society like ours loveen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Destroying the future of a country by reckless economic policies and bailing out corrupt banks should be brought to the attention of gardai.

shouting abuse at anyone is not acceptable in a civil society like ours loveen

Note I said 'verbal abuse' not shouted abuse. I agree, 'shouting' is out of order but the people responsible for the misery Irish people are trying to live with right now are 100% fair game when it comes to being abused on the hustings.

Where does socialism come into it?. It's alright for the mega rich to get richer and the blind/old/young and sick to suffer as a result. That ain't no civil society pal.

CoalBucket wrote: »
    Destroying the future of a country by reckless economic policies and bailing out corrupt banks should be brought to the attention of gardai.

I think we should try to extradite some of that Lehmans Brothers crowd to face the music along with some of the anglo-irish boys. bloody bankers :mad:

reckless economic policies??!! take a look at what the blueshirts and red commies were proposing in their 2007 election manifestos! they wanted to slash taxes and increase spending by way more than the current government. and there was no choice other than to bail out the banks - but of course you probably wanted all the atm's failing in the morning....

Note I said 'verbal abuse' not shouted abuse. I agree, 'shouting' is out of order but the people responsible for the misery Irish people are trying to live with right now are 100% fair game when it comes to being abused on the hustings.

Where does socialism come into it?. It's alright for the mega rich to get richer and the blind/old/young and sick to suffer as a result. That ain't no civil society pal.

misery? look at egypt if ya want real misery. god irish people love complaining.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I'm beginning to understand why you are not getting a good reception on the doorsteps.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

I think we should try to extradite some of that Lehmans Brothers crowd to face the music along with some of the anglo-irish boys. bloody bankers :mad:

reckless economic policies??!! take a look at what the blueshirts and red commies were proposing in their 2007 election manifestos! they wanted to slash taxes and increase spending by way more than the current government. and there was no choice other than to bail out the banks - but of course you probably wanted all the atm's failing in the morning....

Lehmans brothers! blueshirts! red commies!!
    lol!!

Have you any ability to think for yourself or do you believe everything your Fianna Fail masters tell you!!
    The facts are we don't live in an alternative universe, FG and LAB didnt get into power in 2007 so this line about "look what they would have done!" is complete
    BS. FF were returned and made a complete **** of the place.
    Their banking policy alone has made sure this country is ruined for at least 10 years.

The facts are Martin is 100% complicit in the state of the country. He voted with the gov. on every single decision they made. He has been in cabinet for 14 years, what has he achieved?
    absolutely **** all!! all he has learned is to duck and dive responsibility and talk endless waffle.
    Martin is just another Bertie, all style, zero substance and zero credibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Fogra

misery? look at egypt if ya want real misery. god irish people love complaining.
    Thankfully people with your sort of attitude are in a very small minority in this country.

If only the Irish had as much balls as the ordinary egyptian we'd have had this Govt out months ago.

Anyhows to use your phrase earlier.

Egypt = not a civil society, autocracy in power
    Ireland = supposedly a civil society, incompetent/self serving arseholes in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Good to see the Fianna Fail condescending attitude to Irish people is alive and well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

The global economic downturn obviously has an effect on a small island nation. Magnifying it by creating a property bubble and reckless spending in order to buy elections in 2002 and 2007 was FFs responsibility.

What other parties were suggesting in their manifestos is moot. Is FFs defence of their policies is "they would've done it too" ? It's pathetic.

Guaranteeing deposits was essential for the citizens of this fine nation. Guaranteeing gambles by bondholders, there is no reason whatsoever that the Irish taxpayer should pay for the risk of investors.

By the way your desciption of FG and Labour as "blueshirts and red commies", is this an example of the respect of political parties that you espose in your posts above ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Didn't take you long to show your true colours.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭mrrepublic

skelliser wrote: »
    Good to see the Fianna Fail condescending attitude to Irish people is alive and well!

FF are thenly Party with the ability to sort out the problems which are a result of an international recession.
    just look at the front bench the current opposition have to offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

First of all I have no political affiliation but what the hell is wrong with our people that FF got a bit of hassle from just one person on their time in Galway. Fair enough if people want to just ignore them and give their verdict on election day but to be subjected to these people brazenly walking through the streets of Galway shaking hands and laughing with whatever half wits were around who'd vote for them no matter what.

Anyone who gave FF a warm reception yesterday deserves every bit of financial misery that can be heaped upon them. We're on our knees yet some people want us to be kicked into the gutter as well. Fair enough some people might have respect for someone like Eamonn O'Cuiv who will get things done for his Connemara constituents but for people to shake hands and openly welcome a snake like Micheal Martin and the good for nothing hangers on following him around, the phrase 'you reap what you sow' comes to mind.

Fair play to the man who tackled him, what he was saying is a microcosm of what is going throughout this island yet still some people will continue to welcome them with open arms and blame the crisis on the media or Lehman Brothers or whatever other excuse they could lay their hands on.

Meanwhile we have the main perpetrator of our current situation Bertie Ahern brazenly walking around on his extortionate pension stating that his biggest regret was that his pet project didn't come to fruition.

I'm getting really sick of people blaming FF for everything and openly attacking people who chose to support them. FF are the only party that have made tough decisions. FG & Labour couldn't decide what to have for lunch. During the "give-away budgets" FG and Labour were calling for even more spending, and I don't recall any private members bill on the financial regulator on Labour's or FG's dail business.

The entire country (politicians of all colours and everyone else) chose to believe that dream would never end. People bought houses and cars they couldn't afford. Its not the governments job to wrap you in cotton wool.

I'm proud to support FF.. a party that has been in power for more than half the time it has been in existence, a party that freed us from our oath to the queen, a party that has brought free education, social support for those who need it, and a modern road infrastructure that we can be proud of.

You talk of Bertie Ahern as as perpetrator. History will remember that Ahern brought us something that seemed forever out of reach - peace in Northern Ireland. 15 years ago, if you told someone that Ian Paisley and Gerry Adams would share power in a democratic government you would have been laughed off the face of the planet. Eaten bread is soon forgotten. Remember that the next time you take the motorway to dublin.

At least Micheál Martin is out on the streets and in the media, facing the people and standing behind his decisions. Where is Enda Kenny? He won't have a debate and he wouldn't even talk to the media at his own press conference yesterday. His OWN press conference. If FF have been a bad government then FG have been a disgraceful opposition.

FF still have the support of a large amount of the population, people who choose to see Micheál Martin as the only credible option as a leader. So have some respect for others.

( and for the record I'm not some developer or anything. I'm a graduate student who has made his way through the FREE Irish education system with support from grants and state funded scholarships)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Now Brian Walsh has signed up with Boards it was only a matter of time before Ollie Crowe did so as well. Musha Howya Ollie, howz it goin horse !!! :cool:

( and for the record I'm not some developer or anything. I'm a graduate student who has made his way through the FREE Irish education system with support from grants and state funded scholarships)

That was put in place by a Labour - Fine Gael coalition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quite a trollercoaster of thread we've got here.

I'm getting really sick of people blaming FF for everything and openly attacking people who chose to support them. FF are the only party that have made tough decisions. FG & Labour couldn't decide what to have for lunch. During the "give-away budgets" FG and Labour were calling for even more spending, and I don't recall any private members bill on the financial regulator on Labour's or FG's dail business.

The entire country (politicians of all colours and everyone else) chose to believe that dream would never end. People bought houses and cars they couldn't afford. Its not the governments job to wrap you in cotton wool.

I'm proud to support FF.. a party that has been in power for more than half the time it has been in existence, a party that freed us from our oath to the queen, a party that has brought free education, social support for those who need it, and a modern road infrastructure that we can be proud of.

You talk of Bertie Ahern as as perpetrator. History will remember that Ahern brought us something that seemed forever out of reach - peace in Northern Ireland. 15 years ago, if you told someone that Ian Paisley and Gerry Adams would share power in a democratic government you would have been laughed off the face of the planet. Eaten bread is soon forgotten. Remember that the next time you take the motorway to dublin.

At least Micheál Martin is out on the streets and in the media, facing the people and standing behind his decisions. Where is Enda Kenny? He won't have a debate and he wouldn't even talk to the media at his own press conference yesterday. His OWN press conference. If FF have been a bad government then FG have been a disgraceful opposition.

FF still have the support of a large amount of the population, people who choose to see Micheál Martin as the only credible option as a leader. So have some respect for others.

Take the 'r' out of that word. The dog on the streets know the Northern Bank robbery was the pay off. Jaysus. Yes great to have peace but to cover up the fact that it was paid for makes me wanna puke. Ahern is nothing but a cowboy cancer, who learned from the Master, Charlie.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

Seen as this is the Galway forum - to bring things back in that direction - Frank Fahey gave people an opportunity to voice their opinion and anger.

Now I'm not Franks biggest fan, he's not a true representation of the core FF ideals, but at least he stood and faced the music. Where are the other parties? are they standing behind all their decisions? no.. they are hiding under the radar, hoping that the national anger will carry them past the election before anyone realises they don't know the first thing about running a country or forming realistic economic policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭flutered

sponge bob please tell us more about them new boardsies, i always view new members with entrenched views as spoofers and phishers, until proven otherwise.

Take the 'r' out of that word. The dog on the streets know the Northern Bank robbery was the pay off. Jaysus. Yes great to have peace but to cover up the fact that it was paid for makes me wanna puke. Ahern is nothing but a cowboy cancer, who learned from the Master, Charlie.

lol this is not the conspiracy theory forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Excellent post, I couldnt agree more with the above. I'd cant wait to see here in 18-24 months time when people will be crying out for a change of government ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Canvasser banned a day

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

mrrepublic wrote: »
    FF are thenly Party with the ability to sort out the problems which are a result of an international recession.
    just look at the front bench the current opposition have to offer.

My youngest ( 11) would do a better job than FF could do, judging by their pathetic record. FF did get a chance to try and deal with the problems they created by getting into power last election, what did they do? THEY SOMEHOW MANAGED TO MAKE THINGS WORSE.