Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers Transfer Talk and Gossip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Rangers in the Aviva. Now theres a thought !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Pal wrote: »

It sure is! ;)

want to buy a ticket ?

I'll hold off a couple of rounds yet!

If we get to the semi's i'll be in touch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Would be like an invasion.

imagine Rangers v Liverpool in Dublin.

the mind boggles.

Busy day for the Gardai :)

Would be more Rangers fans.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Would be more Rangers fans.

would be a lot of both of them

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Deserved to go through there in the end. 4 players waiting for Healy's cross, don't think I've ever seen so many Rangers players forward! :D

bit off topic but great game on now Villareal v Napoli

napoli scored and a wall came tumbling down

anyway. back on track. well done Rangers and good luck against PSV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

dublincelt wrote: »
    Not too unhappy with that.

The more games for rangers the better! :D
    Its very rare for me not to be upset when rangers get a positive result. But this is a blessing for Celtic in a way. More games for the threadbare squad.Grampa weir will be cussin edu for that. Lisbon were woeful it has to be said.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Deserved to go through there in the end. 4 players waiting for Healy's cross, don't think I've ever seen so many Rangers players forward! :D
    Back in the Souness years I'd say:D

Frightening thought.Extra Gardai would have to be drafted in from every county in Ireland.Maybe even the Irish Army would be needed(I dont know if Im joking here):confused:

I'm a Celtic supporter but to be fair you have to give Rangers credit.
    They would have been a bit short on confidence after the weekend and they came back tonight impressively.

All the stuff about too many games may very well be true, but i'm damn sure if you asked the players they'd rather be in it than not!

Big run of games coming up -

27th Feb
    St Johnstone (H)

2nd March
    Celtic (A) SC Replay

6th March
    St Mirren (A)

10th March
    PSV (H)

17th March
    PSV (A)

20th March
    Celtic (Hampden) LC FInal

6 points in the league, still in Europe, still in Scottish Cup and League Cup champs?
    Then things woould be interesting! ;)

Plenty to play for. 2 games in hand in the league. Still got to play them at Ibrox. Come on The Rangers. Lets do this :D

nice chatting to you.
    back to the telly.
    2nd half.
    Villarreal have equalised.
    Good luck Rangers.
    CIAO

Interesting wee factoid for the superstitious among us.

We have played Sporting twice in european competition. 1972 and 2008.

quick update.

Villarreal 2 1 up

Napoli piling on the pressure

quick update.

Villarreal 2 1 up

Napoli piling on the pressure

Sounds like a cracking game, i'd kind of like to see napoli sneak through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Eirebear wrote: »
    Interesting wee factoid for the superstitious among us.

We have played Sporting twice in european competition. 1972 and 2008.

Also should be noted that both those times Rangers beat Sporting, Celtic went on to win the league ;).

Sounds like a cracking game, i'd kind of like to see napoli sneak through.

Villarreal win 2 1

have to say Napoli are not likeable.

Worst disciplinary record in Europa League.
    Surrounded the ref after the game (for nothing).

No Italians left.

3 Brits remain out of 16.

Could be RANGERS at Aviva yet.

But somebody still has to beat Villarreal. They are a good team.

Also should be noted that both those times Rangers beat Sporting, Celtic went on to win the league ;).

Meh, superstitions and omens meannothing to me! :p

But somebody still has to beat Villarreal. They are a good team.

I'd like to avoid them for as long as possible, our record against spanish teams is abysmal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Frightening thought.Extra Gardai would have to be drafted in from every county in Ireland.Maybe even the Irish Army would be needed(I dont know if Im joking here):confused:

Not you again? :rolleyes:

Like the Irish army could handle 200 thousand loyalists lol.

Ah dude, dont bring it down to that level, doesnt do us any favours!

lol. Unionists/loyalists/whatever.

Will be thousands of people who you would imagine many republicans would not like to see in Dublin. RSF being one group who would not like it.

lol. Unionists/loyalists/whatever.

Will be thousands of people who you would imagine many republicans would not like to see in Dublin. RSF being one group who would not like it.

I'm sure there will be a lot of people who wouldnt want Rangers there at all, thats why it would be all the more pleasurable if a huge number of bears went there and had a great time despite all the outrage from some quarters. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Rangers fans would be grand until the scumbags clad in Celtic shirts stream down from their knacker estates with trouble on their minds.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Rangers fans would be grand until the scumbags clad in Celtic shirts stream down from their knacker estates with trouble on their minds.

TBF we've our own fair share of scumbags too, and Dublin is similar to Manchester in the fact that its very cheap & easy to get to from Glasgow.

(I dont actually think well make the final, however...) Could you imagine the numbers that were in Manchester turning up in Templebar before a game against Liverpool at the Aviva?

The guards would be completely, and utterly out of their depth and wether malicious or not, chaos would ensue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Its not even the quarter finals and yer talking nonsense

Dempsey wrote: »
    Its not even the quarter finals and yer talking nonsense

We're more prepared than the Gardai! ;)

You will notice the part in brackets in my last post of course....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

We're more prepared than the Gardai! ;)

You will notice the part in brackets in my last post of course....

I didnt see your last post until i had posted mine. Still though, the last page and abit is pie in the sky :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Is that what happened in Manchester too?

Dempsey wrote: »
    I didnt see your last post until i had posted mine. Still though, the last page and abit is pie in the sky :)

You can blame PARKHEAD67 for that! ;)

I think he's getting a bit panicky! :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Well done. :rolleyes: Did you get an adult to help you type that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Just popped in to offer my Congratulations on last night, great time to score what turned out to be the tie winning goal,

Delighted for Diouf to bag himself an important goal, I don't like him much, but as a Blackburn fan I know he is worth his weight when he puts the effort into the playing side of things.

Difficult one up next against PSV, but great confidence to be taken from last night!

I'll ignore all the other crap being talked about here.

Rangers are definitely in with a chance against PSV.
    Ibrox is a tough place to get a result for any team.

problem is the next round.
    My predicted winners are in bold.
    Who would you want ?
    answer : none of them

Benfica Paris Saint-Germain
    Dynamo Kyiv Manchester City
    Twente Zenit St. Petersburg
    CSKA Moscow Porto
    PSV Eindhoven Rangers
    Bayer Leverkusen Villarreal
    Ajax Spartak Moscow
    Braga Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I can't see Rangers getting any further, Sporting CP were truly woeful over the two legs, from their performance over the two legs they would be the equivalent of a top half SPL side in Scotland, a quality somewhere between Hearts and Kilmarnock. I would have been surprised had Rangers failed to get through as, over the two legs, they were the better side yet they seriously struggled.

PSV are miles ahead of Sporting in terms of quality and confidence. I can't see anything apart from a PSV win.

You can blame PARKHEAD67 for that! ;)

I think he's getting a bit panicky! :D
    Naw.PSV will be too strong.I hope:D

Well wally, I guess your name is apt.

a quality somewhere between Hearts and Kilmarnock.

:mad: I think that's really harsh PM......

on Killie! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

you must live a very sheltered life if you think this!!!

no disrespect to eirebear and others who seem genuine on here but rangers have a huge number of scumbags with chips on their shoulders about the republic....it would kick off even before the ''celtic knackers'' showed up....just look at manchester!!!

anyway i think PSV might be too strong for rangers in the next round!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

problem is the next round.
    My predicted winners are in bold.
    Who would you want ?
    answer : none of them

Benfica Paris Saint-Germain
    Dynamo Kyiv Manchester City
    Twente Zenit St. Petersburg
    CSKA Moscow Porto
    PSV Eindhoven Rangers
    Bayer Leverkusen Villarreal
    Ajax Spartak Moscow
    Braga Liverpool
    Does that mean Rangers are at home in the 2nd leg?

In our last two league meetings we'd win the tie 5-0(2-0 at Ibrox & 3-0 at paradise) on agg.If Psv are any good it shouldnt matter if both games are at Ibrox(Plus, they wont have to factor in the 12th man i.e. Our Scottish refs who are prone to the odd "honest mistake" or two.;)

YES

Round of 16 draw
    SL Benfica (POR) v Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)
    FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR) v Manchester City FC (ENG)
    FC Twente (NED) v FC Zenit St Petersburg (RUS)
    PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS) v FC Porto (POR)
    PSV Eindhoven (NED) v Rangers FC (SCO)
    Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER) v Villarreal CF (ESP)
    AFC Ajax (NED) v FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
    SC Braga (POR) v Liverpool FC (ENG)

Teams mentioned first play at home in the opening legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    In our last two league meetings we'd win the tie 5-0(2-0 at Ibrox & 3-0 at paradise) on agg.If Psv are any good it shouldnt matter if both games are at Ibrox(Plus, they wont have to factor in the 12th man i.e. Our Scottish refs who are prone to the odd "honest mistake" or two.;)

PSV are sitting top of their league.
    Joint best defence with Ajax so far with 22 conceded.
    Easily outscoring all their rivals. 66 goals to the next being 51
    They'll have every right to feel very confident after defeating a very strong Lille side who themselves sit second in their league with a very comfortable GD.

They however drew with Sporting Lisbon who themselves are in very poor form.
    3rd in their league, but
    15pts off second and 23 off the top
    GD of 8, yes 8, compared to 26 for Benfica and 39 for Porto.

All in all, I'd say the only thing Edu's goal "achieved" was a better Scottish co-efficient and an extra 2 games for an already weary, threadbare R*ngers squad, that they really can't physically afford. (Though Lloyds will be happy with the extra Gate reciept) Somebody get Davy Weir a defibrillator!!

I'm happy enough! :D

PSV are sitting top of their league.
    Joint best defence with Ajax so far with 22 conceded.
    Easily outscoring all their rivals. 66 goals to the next being 51
    They'll have every right to feel very confident after defeating a very strong Lille side who themselves sit second in their league with a very comfortable GD.

They however drew with Sporting Lisbon who themselves are in very poor form.
    3rd in their league, but
    15pts off second and 23 off the top
    GD of 8, yes 8, compared to 26 for Benfica and 39 for Porto.

All in all, I'd say the only thing Edu's goal "achieved" was a better Scottish co-efficient and an extra 2 games for an already weary, threadbare R*ngers squad, that they really can't physically afford. (Though Lloyds will be happy with the extra Gate reciept) Somebody get Davy Weir a defibrillator!!

I'm happy enough! :D

Isnt it embarrasing when your main hope of winning the league is that Rangers might get tired?

Now run along, we'll do our best to keep Scottish football somewhere in Europe, i'm sure you'll watch. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Isnt it embarrasing when your main hope of winning the league is that Rangers might get tired?

Now run along, we'll do our best to keep Scottish football somewhere in Europe, i'm sure you'll watch. ;)

Our main hope of taking back the league is playing you off the park, as we have been doing. But if some fixture congestion makes for some weary blues and helps us on our way, I'll smile and accept it gracefully. :p