Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fingal Gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

What a ****ing joke.

I think I'll create a club for a couple of seasons for the craic, everyone else seems to be doing it in The LoI :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I hope Cobh will be promoted up if Fingal go bust.

Well, they weren't promoted last year when two clubs went out of business.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I don't think they wanted to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,622 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Des wrote: »
    Shels? Advertise anywhere other than right outside Tolka Park? :confused:
    Schoolboy stuff usually around if that counts.

Des wrote: »
    I don't think they wanted to be

Were they even offered the chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I'm pasting this from the Sporting Fingal Facebook page.

"Ok people, why do people write such negativity on OUR facebook page. Never does it say ANYWHERE that we won't have a team competing in the LOI this season. The players trained today as usual in preparation for upcoming friendlies and our first ever Setanta Cup game against Lisburn. Don't be writing rumours on this page or your own. GET BEHIND THE CLUB!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Pfft, fiction. The Lep probably runs that fb page.

dsmythy wrote: »
    I'm pasting this from the Sporting Fingal Facebook page.

"Ok people, why do people write such negativity on OUR facebook page. Never does it say ANYWHERE that we won't have a team competing in the LOI this season. The players trained today as usual in preparation for upcoming friendlies and our first ever Setanta Cup game against Lisburn. Don't be writing rumours on this page or your own. GET BEHIND THE CLUB!!!"

That's put us in our place. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    That's put us in our place. :pac:

Yeah it is quite forceful I must say :D

The same page is now looking to drum up season ticket sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

dsmythy wrote: »
    Yeah it is quite forceful I must say :D

The same page is now looking to drum up season ticket sales.

He answered a question that was asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Sad to hear Sporting Fingal are in big trouble, wasn't that suprised though, i think most people will admit it was only a matter of time. Played some fantastic football last season and Liam had built a great squad, gave us a run for our money a couple of times in Tallaght last year.

But what i do ask of the supporters of Fingal if you can find it in your hearts, make your way along to another LOI ground and find a team you like, whether it be shels, bohs, pats, or us the model club. LOI as a whole is in trouble and we need every soul through the turnstile no matter what club it is. Nobody should be happy to see a club on its uppers as it makes for a less attractive league and thats good for nobody.

But as i said make sure you go and enjoy LOI football as much as you have been as Fingal supporters. Anyone can be a football suppporter, but it takes a very special person to support the LOI, as it doesn't seem as fashionable as our neighbours in Britland. Real football, Real Supporters, no plasma screens, no 3d glasses, no sky super sunday. Live football and atmosphere on your doorstep. EPL supporters you should try it sometime, you'll never look back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Delighted they're gone. It was always gonna be a joke of a purchase!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭shanec1928

its good enough for them. this could be seen since they began pouring money into the club.if they had kept an average team in the first division and built up a fan base and not bought their way to the premier division they could have established them selves in fingal.if they had went that way then id feel sorry to loose a loi club. they should have followed wexford who set up in the community and not over expand them selves

DH2K9 wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0203/sportingfingal.html
    The club have agreed a deal to play in Dalymount Park for the 2011/12 season and are due to take part in the Setanta Cup, but they have yet to confirm whether they will be in a position to do so.

Somebody should've let RTE know about the switch to summer football. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Pfft, fiction. The Lep probably runs that fb page.

Who is this lep you seem to have an obsession with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Who is this lep you seem to have an obsession with?

An actual Fingal fan not someone like yourself who lives under a bridge.

Also dont quote the Shellss fans it irks them into a pontification mode.

And the tax Ollie evaded, all his debts he bulit up, all players wages were paid in the full. If Fingal fold their debts will be the Governments problem, at least we do things the moral way, sure as of last season (not sure of this season) we're still paying off debts Ollie left behind.

+1 Awaits though people saying that Fingal weren't a replacement for Shels!:rolleyes: Forza Shels!!!!!!!!

Well from reading Fingal fans comments for the couple of years on here and on foot.ie they weren't questioning their finances tbh.

You dont half talk some ****e gav ;)

dreamers75 wrote: »
    An actual Fingal fan not someone like yourself who lives under a bridge.

Also dont quote the Shellss fans it irks them into a pontification mode.

Whats wrong with living under a bridge? Are you having a go at my house now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

or us the model club.

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

Thats the most over used pic on the boards ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Thats the most over used pic on the boards ;)

Patrick Stewart is God. Hence why it used so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Re: the Shels lads- Jaysus, I don't think I've ever seen such naked gloating on here, even between us and Bohs over our own troubles down the years,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

stovelid wrote: »
    There's always worse. You could be a plastic cockney.

Reading some of the stuff here I'm not sure if thats worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

I really have to laugh at the Shels fans on here.

For those of us who were around in the 90's and 00's, there is a recurring theme.

One man operation? No fans? Huge budget no-one can figure out where its coming from? Check, check and check again. Its the slagging we used to give Shels fans, and here they are reeling it off without a tongue in their cheeks.

Surreal.

As for Fingal, I wouldn't join the gloating, but the writing has been on the wall for a while. Its an unsustainable model. But I have no conceptual problem with clubs trying something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

stovelid wrote: »
    Re: the Shels lads- Jaysus, I don't think I've ever seen such naked gloating on here, even between us and Bohs over our own troubles down the years,

Towards Fingal? Obviously we'll be happy, they were a shower leap frogged by the FAI as our replacement in the League.:rolleyes:
    I really have to laugh at the Shels fans on here.

For those of us who were around in the 90's and 00's, there is a recurring theme.

One man operation? No fans? Huge budget no-one can figure out where its coming from? Check, check and check again. Its the slagging we used to give Shels fans, and here they are reeling it off without a tongue in their cheeks.

Surreal.

And here we our today we a club that made a profit last season while still paying off our debts that Ollie left behind. We've struggled our way since our demise, no examinership to clear our debts, no help, no nothing, you're commenting on the past of Shels, that's long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

And here we our today we a club that made a profit last season while still paying off our debts that Ollie left behind. We've struggled our way since our demise, no examinership to clear our debts, no help, no nothing, you're commenting on the past of Shels, that's long gone.

While I do agree with you Gavin that shels have taken some valuable lessons out of this and are coming back in the proper way ONYD does have a valid point. Shels fans have been spitting fire about fingal from day 1 so it is a touch rich to be on a high horse over it.

Towards Fingal? Obviously we'll be happy, they were a shower leap frogged by the FAI as our replacement in the League.:rolleyes:

It wasn't your place to take, Gav. You were relegated.

Not saying I agree with the SF model - I don't - but if they were down the road from us, you wouldn't care as much. I also don't agree with them bloating the wage market and the other shenanigans and I would have like to seen them being forced to build a club on realistic means but the level of enmity (laughing at other supporters that their club is gone) is down to youse and them slugging it out on the same turf.
    you're commenting on the past of Shels, that's long gone.

Everybody appears to do that about other clubs on here.

We replaced Killkenny Gav which you know full well but still want to scrape the barrel for a something to have a go at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

has there been anymore on this lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Pure_Cork wrote: »

Let's hope pineapple starts supporting rovers

Trilla wrote: »
    has there been anymore on this lads?

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4880/

Players seemingly paid but i heard they were not.

Via facebook

Sporting Fingal
    Just to let the fans know, all players have been paid in full and up to date. Now for the Setanta Cup:)

Is fudgeness imminent?

Who wants to explain to me what all this fudge shít is about?

Its when the FAI allows a club a licence thet they really shouldnt get.

They "fudged" it up.

shels fans are the experts on it.

From the Fingal thread in DCN

Paulw wrote: »

Good game today. Easy to see it's a pre-season.

Must say, the linesman made some good calls today. 2-0 win to Fingal.

Lineswoman :)

Paul's mistake not mine :cool:

Anyways, for now, it would appear that the club is still kicking.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    shels fans are the experts on it.

No, the FAI are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Are they gone yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Are they gone yet?

No, not by a long shot. Very much still there, alive and kicking. Playing a friendly tomorrow against Shels and then ready for the cup game next Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Are they gone yet?

They'll be gone eventually, unless they scale back to a Monaghan style operation.

You cannot run a professional football club with no fans.

Paulw wrote: »
    No, not by a long shot. Very much still there, alive and kicking. Playing a friendly tomorrow against Shels and then ready for the cup game next Monday.

Press conference today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hearing some very bleak rumours about them right now.

Do tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's they're pretty much gone and won't be about this time next week. Only a rumour I have to stress, and hopefully wrong.

What's your source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

They have withdrawn from the Setanta cup could be a lot worse though

Sourcessssss?