Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anderson Cooper (CNN) attacked while trying to approach pro-Mubarak protesters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Pity it wasn't a Sky News reporter...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They wont attack charlie bird like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

orourkeda wrote: »

Damn right! Bird would've opened a can of whoop ass! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

He'd be in Montrose recording v/o on a BBC feed.

....and he'd moan about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Commentators' Curse...

He'd be in Montrose recording v/o on a BBC feed.

....and he'd moan about it.

Nah, he'd go to Egypt and say "Listen fool, I was on O'Connell St, I've been through the wars!" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Is it because he is black gay?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Shower of nut jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

http://cnn.com/video/?/video/bestoftv/2011/02/02/ac.cooper.egypt.protest.attack.cnn

Jesus, what a sense of dignity those protestors have... all they were doing was trying to get their side of the story... :mad:

He should call the cops.....

O. yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

blackdog2 wrote: »
    Commentators' Curse...

Hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Scum really... "They look like americans, all americans must pay". Very retarded mentality if that's the case. Either way, what did the reporters do apart from being white to deserve the attack? That could have easily escalated into something a lot more serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Aren't most of the pro-Mub's basically hired thugs? It's not the first time the regime has sent 'civilians' out to smash up protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Scum really... "They look like americans, all americans must pay". Very retarded mentality if that's the case. Either way, what did the reporters do apart from being white to deserve the attack? That could have easily escalated into something a lot more serious.
    That's not the main reason. It could be a reason but I really doubt it. There is no racist "anti-white" sentiments in Egypt considering people in Egypt range from pale "European" white to dark black.

People in Egypt are feeling anti-American as they feel the government are oppressing them with the aid of the US. For example, earlier in the protest someone pointed out that the tear gas canisters being used were American made.

There's also the element of shame. They don't want Egypt to look bad on the international stage. Some of the less savoury of the protestors might view attacking cameramen as preventing the leak of the images of chaos and mayhem to the world. It doesn't sound very reasonable, but then again neither does having a full scale battle across a 1km^2 city square.
    strobe wrote: »
    Aren't most of the pro-Mub's basically hired thugs? It's not the first time the regime has sent 'civilians' out to smash up protesters.
    Very few. I'd say they're agent provocateurs rather than masses of hired thugs. They may have sent a few people to instigate a riot and then they withdraw after it gets in to full flow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

These were Mubarak supporters, not those who are feeling oppressed.

The population are suffering badly from the chaos, and the regime is feeding the people the idea that "foreign agents" are at work (usually a codeword for Israel). Therefore, the pro Mubarak crowd have taken to attacking foreigners in general as they think they are spies, agitators and the reason why their businesses and jobs are at risk.

hmmm wrote: »
    These were Mubarak supporters, not those who are feeling oppressed.
    I know that. Mubarak supporter =/= Pro-Oppression.

The people who are for Mubarak are primarily campaigning to allow him the chance to peacefully transfer power to the next government. Their logic is that Mubarak said he will not seek another term come September therefore the best solution in their view is to try and restabilise the country prior to the elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Pity it wasn't a Sky News reporter...

I'd pay a small fortune if they sent Kay Burley in.

Anyway, on a more serious note, you should read Robert Fisk's report from on the ground in Cairo. It's freaky stuff.

Fisk in Cairo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

They punched him on his face, with their fists, and called him 'an Orange Bastard'!!

God, he'd give Cooper a run for his money all right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭lolie

didnt he not get a few slaps at the love ulster parade a few years ago.

didnt see last to posts.....oops

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

I fancy Anderson Cooper, even though he's a ghey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

LambsEye wrote: »
    I fancy Anderson Cooper, even though he's a ghey.

Maybe thats why he was attacked. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

He's grey and proud.

Now if he went for the silver rinse, he'd deserve a public beating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That's not the main reason. It could be a reason but I really doubt it. There is no racist "anti-white" sentiments in Egypt considering people in Egypt range from pale "European" white to dark black.

People in Egypt are feeling anti-American as they feel the government are oppressing them with the aid of the US. For example, earlier in the protest someone pointed out that the tear gas canisters being used were American made.

There's also the element of shame. They don't want Egypt to look bad on the international stage. Some of the less savoury of the protestors might view attacking cameramen as preventing the leak of the images of chaos and mayhem to the world. It doesn't sound very reasonable, but then again neither does having a full scale battle across a 1km^2 city square.

Very few. I'd say they're agent provocateurs rather than masses of hired thugs. They may have sent a few people to instigate a riot and then they withdraw after it gets in to full flow.

Ah yea, just giving my view on how I percieved it. Looking over the video again, it began with one man trying to grab the camera, which may have been somewhat hidden. He said he was using the "flip out" camera? Mainly to not draw attention to them.

I don't mean they are anti-white, more of a "They're white, they must be americans" or something along those lines.

I don't like the idea of innocents getting kicked to death in the heat of the moment because of something so small, you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

What a silver fox! didn't he save a young boy in Haiti from being crushed during a news report? purrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I thought yer man escaping on the camel was cool ( he was trying to escape wasn't he ? )

like Yosmite Sam with his whip , lashing out at everybody ie,'' get back ya heathens '' .

http://goldtent.net/wp_gold/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/samani_camel_b.thumbnail.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

And yet some eejits keep saying sh*t like 'We should do like the Egyptians have done!"

"Yeah! Let's box reporters in the head and protest even though we actually have a working democratic system in our country. But I'm too f*cking thick to realise that so I'm going to advocate riots instead cause I wanna smash sh*t and pretend I'm doing it because I care about Ireland. Yeah! What? Vote? No, I don't vote! I'm not a ghey!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

I know that. Mubarak supporter =/= Pro-Oppression.

The people who are for Mubarak are primarily campaigning to allow him the chance to peacefully transfer power to the next government. Their logic is that Mubarak said he will not seek another term come September therefore the best solution in their view is to try and restabilise the country prior to the elections.

Would you trust Mubarak?

Well he did say he's "had enough with politics" and that had he the chance he would leave office immediately but would refrain from doing so so as to not descend Egypt in to further chaos.

On one hand, he is 83 and he may truly have had enough but on the other hand he may have ulterior motives behind waiting until September.

Or he could be doing it to avoid going down in history as being forced out of his office.

So all in all, I am quite unsure as to whether or not he can be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

"We didn't want to run because we didn't want the crowd to get emboldened, thinking we were scared and chase us"

Someone shoould sit Anderson Cooper down and explain the difference between Egyptians and wasps...

Wouldn't have happened Wolf Blitzer though. Anyone with a name that epic would have taken on the crowd single handedly and won, and then personally toppled Mubarak just for the kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    And yet some eejits keep saying sh*t like 'We should do like the Egyptians have done!"

"Yeah! Let's box reporters in the head and protest even though we actually have a working democratic system in our country. But I'm too f*cking thick to realise that so I'm going to advocate riots instead cause I wanna smash sh*t and pretend I'm doing it because I care about Ireland. Yeah! What? Vote? No, I don't vote! I'm not a ghey!"

Yeah - it was much better to sit back and let Biffo et al sign deals that will beggar us for decades:rolleyes:

Well he did say he's "had enough with politics" and that had he the chance he would leave office immediately but would refrain from doing so so as to not descend Egypt in to further chaos.

And he's also stated every few years or so for the past three decades that he'll allow free and fair elections, where all parties can canvass equally....

Forgive me if I have qualms about taking a murderous old dictator at his word.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Yeah - it was much better to sit back and let Biffo et al sign deals that will beggar us for decades:rolleyes:

Well, all we have to do is vote for the Socialist Party/ULA in this election, and they'll repudiate the deal on our behalf. Not that I'd advocate that, but at least you have a choice. At least we're all able to sit at home and condemn and criticise the government without fearing the thud of jackboots kicking in the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

The Saint wrote: »
    Is it because he is black gay?

No, it's because he is uncircumsized.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Birdnuts wrote: »

People voted the fools in.

Now's our chance to make a change using our votes. Rioting will serve no purpose in Ireland at the present time.

But feel free to think that it would and not bother to vote and then whinge when you're not happy about who got into office. If you don't vote you can't complain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I've always liked Anderson Cooper, and I like him even more now because he took that punch like Floyd "Money" Mayweather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

http://cnn.com/video/?/video/bestoftv/2011/02/02/ac.cooper.egypt.protest.attack.cnn

Jesus, what a sense of dignity those protestors have... all they were doing was trying to get their side of the story... :mad:

Anderson Cooper works for CNN. He deserves to have the boot put in on him. Stooges like Amanpour and Piers Morgan should be next for a battering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Damn camels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

All Muslims are terrorists. God people never learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Don't forget the logic of wrecking all our own stuff. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Einhard wrote: »
    "We didn't want to run because we didn't want the crowd to get emboldened, thinking we were scared and chase us"

Someone shoould sit Anderson Cooper down and explain the difference between Egyptians and wasps...