Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is the RDF going to end up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭davetherave

I heard that my sub unit are having mandatory fitness test for all personnel on camp this year. It's a start anyway.

Remains to be seen whether it will actually be all ranks or if some people will be busy or out of contact for those few hours :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭trellheim

In about a fortnights time hopefully I'll be having my 4th mandatory fitness test in 6 years.

2005 - needed for a course ( first mandatory ITs in the history of the RDF/FCA)
    2008 - needed for a course
    2010 - needed for a course
    and
    2011 - needed for a course.

Most of the really active personnel have done ITs multiple times now; its required for all career courses bar three star and it looks like its coming down that road too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Required for all new recruits as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

As a former member of the RDF, I would hold the opinion it should be either;

a) Disbanded

or

b) Trimmed down so you have small specialist units i.e. drivers, medics, signals.

My personal experience was the RDF was full of people with no ambition or pride who were happy to do nothing, and who had a ridiculously high opinion of themselves despite this. I still hold that view on the organisation as a majority, but there are some who could be utilised to benefit the PDF. And that is all the RDF should do.. supplement the PDF. So maybe it has a role in supporting PDF training.

But I still believe the RDF should be disbanded. We have enough PDF personnel to deal with ATCP or any other situation the Defence Forces may be requested to do i.e. floods, patient transport during winter etc. Integration never got off the ground, and unlike the UK, the RDF will never serve abroad. Nor should they when we have PDF personnel crying out for overseas deployment.

RDF training is too irregular and simply inefficient. Sitting in old buildings stripping Steyr's and performing drill wont make them soldiers. The TA and National Guard work because they are needed for deployment, and train to meet that requirement. The RDF doing one or two exercise's a year where confusion is the theme, will not make them soldiers either.

Final point.. yes it is unfair to those who put the effort in but the RDF is seen too often by it's members as a social club rather than a military organisation, and is not taken seriously. As someone said before, the RDF's own worst enemy is the RDF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

I have been a member of the FCA and then the RDF for six years.

When the organisation became the RDF nothing changed except the name and some of the units were disbanded and joined together.

The RDF was supossed to have an ATCP role which in six years i have never seen.

The facts are simple the FCA was established as the LVF during the emergency, training was local and not of a great standard. So whats the difference between the RDF and the LVF nothing apart from the unifroms and weapons.

The RDF has no use, intergration was a disaster if your unit wasnt in or near a barracks.

These IT's for fitness are a joke espescially the fact that you dont need to be physically fit to join up.

What should have been done when they changed it to the RDF, all members be discharged and the RDF be set up along the lines of the TA. Proper fitness tests and interviews carried out.

My point is the RDF is a joke and should be shut down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I heard that my sub unit are having mandatory fitness test for all personnel on camp this year. It's a start anyway.

Remains to be seen whether it will actually be all ranks or if some people will be busy or out of contact for those few hours :rolleyes:
    We all hear about things that are going to happen but never do.

These IT's for fitness are a joke espescially the fact that you dont need to be physically fit to join up.

You do now. It won't be long before it's required for all troops, not just those going on career courses, and now recruits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

We all hear about things that are going to happen but never do.

I beg to differ. The new recruits will be recieving instruction on ITs by PTLs and will be expected to pass an IT.

With at least one PTL advising per Bn this should not be an issue considering the small numbers involved. Centralisation of rec training makes things even easier.

All it takes is for the BPEO to turn up one weekend and can pretty much go through an entire recruit platoon.

Now all we need to do is introduce an fitness entry test and interview (pass / fail) prior to attestment. Don't give people the finger as it will leave a sour taste in their mouth. Invite them to try again next year. As we all know from "exclusive" clubs it will attract more attention if every joe soap who does not meet the requirement is not allowed in (hopefully it will also attract super models and slutty B list female celebs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 mhorda

So what level are these recruits expected to achieve in their ITs? are they just expected to pass the general entry assessment of 1.5mile & 20 push/sit-ups in the alloted time or are they expected to pass a certain grade on the scale?

The unit will advise - I'm not posting anything from the new syllabus, I only mention it has become a requirement as this info was posted on another board. Sorry.

concussion wrote: »
    The unit will advise - I'm not posting anything from the new syllabus, I only mention it has become a requirement as this info was posted on another board. Sorry.

Thats OK, the only reason I ask is because we were not alloted a recruit intake in my unit so I was curious.

No problem. Your sub-unit should have received the new recruit syllabus by now, you should be able to read through it.

We are quite an isolated unit and have to hunt everything back up along the chain so I doubt it

Ill hit up my contacts in the mean time :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Dunno where we will end up but FG bailed out on the DF over triple lock with the poxy labours.

http://www.worldandmedia.com/europe/ireland-coalition-partners-compromise-on-climate-change-aid-0703.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ruserious

any members of the NSR on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭Alkers

Yes, Dublin Unit.

Simona1986 wrote: »
    Yes, Dublin Unit.

Cork unit myself

ooh sailors! whats the service with NSR like? Im a ground pounder. Do ye get out much on patrols?

It's grand yeah, get out on patrol at least once a year. Some people like to stick with the one ship or whatever if they get on well with the crew, I've served on them all except for the two Peacocks and I've been in 5 years.

Not hard with only 8 ships lol ;)

Not knocking the navy, just the govts lack of funding, we need a larger fleet IMO.

Sounds cool, often see you lads hanging around the back of CB in dublin, did my PNCO course out there last year.

How integrated are you guys into the crew on board?

For example,
    can you train for and take part in, boarding operations?
    can you train as an 76mm gunner (or irish navy equivilant)?

Assume its interesting enough, probably beats tabbing across the wicklow mountains to kill the enemy in a section in attack with blank pyro!!!

Morphéus wrote: »
    ooh sailors! whats the service with NSR like? Im a ground pounder. Do ye get out much on patrols?

It's very good to be on a patrol. You really feel part of it. Been to sea on LÉ Emer last summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

It's grand yeah, get out on patrol at least once a year. Some people like to stick with the one ship or whatever if they get on well with the crew, I've served on them all except for the two Peacocks and I've been in 5 years.

You must be a girl so.

ruserious wrote: »
    Yes members of the NSR can take part in boardings. I was helping the cox'n of the rib (linesman) while we were preparing to board a trawler. Most of the weapons you can be trained on. I just got to use the fn and h+k out but I know of others that used the gpmg. We also go on lookout and go on the helm of the ships.

That's a No then.

You must be a girl so.

Wrong. Sorry to disappoint!

Are you sure?

Quite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Reilly616

Hey everyone! I've gotten quite interested in joining the RDF recently, so I've been doing alot of research online. Just a couple things I haven't found, I'm wondering if you could help me out. I know the recruiting is on hold at the moment, so my questions are just for what I can expect in general. (I wouldn't be able to join till Summer 2012 anyway)

Firstly; Do all new recruits start training at the same time of year/ a couple different times of year, and when exactly is this/are these?

Secondly; Are the ranks in the RDF equal to those in the PDF? I know the structure is the same, but I mean for example is an RDF Colonel actually a Colonel in the Irish military, or would he be of lower seniority than his PDF counterpart?

Lastly; Are there any obligations that arise, or is everything optional?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Reilly616 wrote: »
    Firstly; Do all new recruits start training at the same time of year/ a couple different times of year, and when exactly is this/are these?

Secondly; Are the ranks in the RDF equal to those in the PDF? I know the structure is the same, but I mean for example is an RDF Colonel actually a Colonel in the Irish military, or would he be of lower seniority than his PDF counterpart?

Lastly; Are there any obligations that arise, or is everything optional?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Generally speaking, all new recruits from a battalion will train together. This is how we trained anyway. Over the last few years, due to reduction in numbers, a few battalions generally train together to fill whatever camp they are in to capacity. If there are more people than camps can facilitate, then several recruit camps are run on different weeks.

for us, 2*-3* has generally been a 1 week winter camp in the glen of imaal for the last few years with recruit training being 2 weeks in the summer.

Ranks in the PDF are the same in name only in the RDF upto the level of senior NCO, obviously due to training differences etc. In saying this though, I highly doubt a PDF lad would disrespect a sergeant major or BQ. RDF corporals for instance do not go around telling PDF privates what to do.

In saying this, if an RDF corporal or sergeant is a duty I/C for guard or BOS in a PDF barracks, then they are treated with the same respect as their PDF counterparts. I have known RDF sergeants to charge PDF privates for insubordination and general disrespect while on guard.

Officers receive their commission from the president for both RDF and PDF, so garner the same respect.

I remember when I joined, I thought a PDF commandant was the scariest thing in the world..once you move up the ranks a bit you realise that officers are just managers..

and the analogy I give my lads when teaching them about respecting officers is..a weekend manager is not lower than a full time manager just because he only works part time.

so to answer your question, an RDF commandant manages his company..same as a PDF commandant does.. Lt colonel controls a battalion etc

colonel is the highest rank in the RDF btw so dont piss him off.

with respect to obligations, if you join then you would want to be dedicated, theres no point otherwise..we have enough sacks of ham within the ranks of the RDF. You do not have to attend every week or every weekend, but there is a minimum requirement to remain effective ( not get discharged)

mhorda wrote: »
    Generally speaking, all new recruits from a battalion will train together. This is how we trained anyway. Over the last few years, due to reduction in numbers, a few battalions generally train together to fill whatever camp they are in to capacity. If there are more people than camps can facilitate, then several recruit camps are run on different weeks.

for us, 2*-3* has generally been a 1 week winter camp in the glen of imaal for the last few years with recruit training being 2 weeks in the summer.

Ranks in the PDF are the same in name only in the RDF upto the level of senior NCO, obviously due to training differences etc. In saying this though, I highly doubt a PDF lad would disrespect a sergeant major or BQ. RDF corporals for instance do not go around telling PDF privates what to do.

In saying this, if an RDF corporal or sergeant is a duty I/C for guard or BOS in a PDF barracks, then they are treated with the same respect as their PDF counterparts. I have known RDF sergeants to charge PDF privates for insubordination and general disrespect while on guard.

Officers receive their commission from the president for both RDF and PDF, so garner the same respect.

I remember when I joined, I thought a PDF commandant was the scariest thing in the world..once you move up the ranks a bit you realise that officers are just managers..

and the analogy I give my lads when teaching them about respecting officers is..a weekend manager is not lower than a full time manager just because he only works part time.

so to answer your question, an RDF commandant manages his company..same as a PDF commandant does.. Lt colonel controls a battalion etc

colonel is the highest rank in the RDF btw so dont piss him off.

with respect to obligations, if you join then you would want to be dedicated, theres no point otherwise..we have enough sacks of ham within the ranks of the RDF. You do not have to attend every week or every weekend, but there is a minimum requirement to remain effective ( not get discharged)

Thanks for this in depth response! It's very helpful!

No probs chief

Lt. Colonel is the highest AR rank BTW.

Hey everyone! I've gotten quite interested in joining the RDF recently, so I've been doing alot of research online.

I would look into the NSR too if I were you. There is a unit each in Dublin,Cork,Limerick and Waterford. The time I spent in it was great and I would highly recommend it. If you have any questions, just ask.

mhorda wrote: »
    RDF corporals for instance do not go around telling PDF privates what to do.

I would like to point out that it is not unknown for an RDF coporal to be positioned as an IC or 2IC in a PDF or mixed PDF/RDF section in a PDF exercise where the RDF have been brought in to bring numbers up, if a position needs to be filled.

The rank still needs to be respected even if you think / know the individual is a complete bag of ham.

Ive seen this happen before and the PDF privates were quite happy to have an RDF corporal control the section or take role as 2IC, not an impossible task in either case, so long as you're physically fit enough to pull your own weight with the rest of the section.

But alas ... ive also seen the opposite happen once or twice!!!

concussion wrote: »
    Lt. Colonel is the highest AR rank BTW.

I was sure the director of the AR was a Colonel? well there ya go, you live, you learn.

@Morpheus, oh yeah I know, I just meant walking around the barracks on a training night like.

We trained with the PDF for most of my PNCO course years back..and it worked both ways respect wise...great set of people we were with though

well, to be fair....

most corporals (being the hardest working rank and all that *dives for cover* ) are only concerned with members of their own platoon and anyone outside of that, not interfering with their charges, will go by completely unnoticed!!!

D. Reserve is indeed a Colonel...but he's PDF.

[RANT]
    After long and careful thought on the matter and constantly being upbeat about the RDF it is now my belief, from personal experience at unit level, that the current status quo can no longer survive. My unit is dying from the feet up. I personally will attend training tonight and believe strongly that for the first time I can recall, the number of attending privates will actually be less than the number of training NCO's.

This VFM completion delay CAN. NOT. CONTINUE.

why are there mixed answers and conflicting messages regarding recruitment?

Who ultimately in the RDF can give a straight f**king answer about whether a unit CAN or CANNOT recruit?

Im told theres an embargo, yet every day I see posts on here where the NSR is recruiting or another unit has taken in a number of recruits... what the hell is going on?

SOMEONE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD CLARIFY THE SITUATION FOR US.
    [/RANT]

5 recruits attested recently:p :rolleyes:

On the truck, off the truck...

What unit is that? weve lost 7 (i think) to PDF alone in last year and only have 3 recruits to be sworn in yet have about 70 applications in progress/on standby.

AFAIK, each sub-unit is allowed recruit enough to bring them up to the effective strength they had on a certain date, a date I don't recall. Basically, we are not allowed recruit to establishment as we should be, rather to whatever understrength number we were at when the decision was made.

dont suppose there is anyone in your unit that you can get confirmation from regarding this?

I'll see if I can find out, if it's not restricted I'll let you know. TBH, your command should know exactly what's happening anyway, even if you don't. It may be the case that those who were posted to the ineffective list, and therefore off the effective strength of the sub-unit, were posted effective. Politics, politics, politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

THE RDF is under used and a lot of people do not see any need for their existence. They should have been used in the flooding. That way people might appreciate them more.

Ill see if I can get a straight answer, but doubt it will be forthcoming for some reason!

I would look into the NSR too if I were you. There is a unit each in Dublin,Cork,Limerick and Waterford. The time I spent in it was great and I would highly recommend it. If you have any questions, just ask.

What's the NSR? Google just directs me to Hondas...

Oh nevermind. Forgot about the Navy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭trellheim

Recruiting in the RDF is still subject to the general recruitment moratorium across the public service.

We are all waiting for the VFM Review.

What's the NSR? Google just directs me to Hondas...

Oh nevermind. Forgot about the Navy :P

Try the Naval Service Reserve this time.

What do you mean?

You tried 'NSR' in google and presumably got info on Hondas judging from your previous post.
    I said then to try 'Naval Service Reserve' if you want info on that.

trellheim wrote: »
    Recruiting in the RDF is still subject to the general recruitment moratorium across the public service.

We are all waiting for the VFM Review.

That poxy thing was supposed to be completed in Jan... how f**king long does it take to evaluate (whats left of) the reserve.