Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Photowalk in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Anyone have a forecast for tomorrow? It's nasty out there tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

weathercity.com - cloudy, windy 2-4mm rain, sunny in the afternoon.

NOAA - no rain tomorrow but a bit windy.

So - maybe a bit damp, but no monsoons...

Regarding the count centre:

- I have never been in one but my expectation is that every citizen should be free to enter at any time, subject to fire regulations or whatnot.

- RTE news at 2130 said " counting centres due to open in a little over 12 hours time" which I took to mean as 10am tomorrow.
    - RTE website states "When voting concludes the ballot boxes will be brought to the 43 count centres. They will be opened at 9am tomorrow. The returning officers will verify that all paperwork is correct before counting begins."

So I expect that counting centres will be open to the public, but possibly not until after 10am?

- FoxT

PM me with your cell phone no anytime up to 3pm tomorrow if you are late/lost/bewildered, and I will phone you back within a few mins so you will know where the group is & be able to hook up.

Cheers, FoxT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

I was in City Hall today and asked one of the wimmin sitting behind the desk about the count tomorrow. She said that the count begins at 09:00, but the place will be open before that.

As for access, if you have a look on the Election photographic thread in the photo challenge bit, there was no problem taking pics last year in Dublin. As far as I know, there should be no problems. Hopefully...

Fair play - Colblimps research beats my assumptions every time..

Just sifting through the hundreds of photos...great day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Just sifting through the hundreds of photos...great day out!

Indeed it was! Was great to meet you all. Im also sifting through a rather large pile of shots!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭serjical_strike

i missed the walk due to a hangover from friday night, gutted when i woke up late, next time tho :) look forward to seeing the shots..!!

It's quite a random assortment!

Credit to Colblimp for the vote counting idea, I'd never have thought of it but it was great.

BCDA24D1397846B5B5EBF165A4A4ADD7-0000336754-0002191745-00800L-2738F332AF6B4B3E93B185AA4F7EE15C.jpg
    1D94AF8D577C4B82B57DD10909D93F65-0000336754-0002191643-00800L-038CA7627BD04D16B46127A7321BA86D.jpg

677E8CBD835A4AA0817E7BAD3C9F08D1-0000336754-0002191767-00800L-0E42A3DE64974D099E11A1B8C0CF39FC.jpg

9F82F01F04934C0CA42A25D5B716160F-0000336754-0002191766-00800L-45CC71A3C3D24732BD1C9E2BAD79EC5C.jpg

E6995D260F154753B9DC2C7AB23FF74F-0000336754-0002191764-00800L-481077F3597C43898599E5E3E29C7399.jpg

A4BBF9CA29144BB2B31D1BD06D49088A-0000336754-0002191763-00800L-ACC33CE0F0FE4F458F570AB01C4E792A.jpg

CF2CE17060054894B2E561F9FA7178BE-0000336754-0002191761-00800L-058D73A7BC7E4EC38447F0B766A79BFB.jpg

A couple from my lot...

5480169096_ca677dfdfa_z.jpg

5480169540_280866f694_z.jpg

5479570873_eca97de957.jpg

Just back from West Cork...Great day yesterday, really enjoyed it.

Colblimp, TinfoilHat, 11811, Buceph, Necronomicon,myself, and Twomers , did a grand tour starting at Grand Parade, then count centre via english market, then Kent station for coffee & reinforcements, then up to montenotte. Back to nosh+coffee in city centre for lunch, and on to the count center again.

Weather was great, the only quibble we had was the sunlight was a bit too contrasty! Nevertheless it stayed dry, until we went for lunch. While we were safely ensconced indoors, there was a brief cloudburst, but it had stopped by the time we emerged.

Anyway, an enjoyable few hours was had, Hopefully dineenp & cork_girl (& others) will make it next time!

Colblimp's idea of going to City Hall for the count was an excellent one, in fact, it was so good, we went there twice!

This was my 1st photowalk & it was good fun, having an ongoing event (election count) was great & really added to it. Also I got to play with a 100mm macro lens, which impressed me greatly!

Photos in a while - I have about 500 to wade thru between the photowalk & Baltimore.....

• Registered Users Posts: 14 twomers

FoxT wrote: »
    Colblimp, TinfoilHat, 11811, Buceph, Necronomicon,myself, and 1 other (aargh, help me here somebody)
    Me? :)

Good walk. Must do it again.
    Link to shots: http://www.flickr.com/photos/niallotuama/sets/72157626156763896/
    Some picks...

From the count:
    5482175089_a90ec50f47.jpg
    5482175527_728b349762.jpg
    5482175977_5126309f48.jpg

Others:
    5482176349_c2a30420a7.jpg
    5482772784_15f386df1b.jpg
    5482773782_f154a532aa.jpg
    5482835618_272585b6fa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Some great shots there lads. I've a long way to go to be up there with ye.
    Most of mine were crap, but here's a few I tried to salvage.

68F4C0FDD7524454B52BD0AE7D82302C-0000336590-0002193364-00640L-527EF3559CAE47CD90FB9E1B4765EB60.jpg

0EDE4E3CABBA4AB1887FC92CBFB08A0B-0000336590-0002193362-00640L-C48351325C6F443CB4E3127BD68F60B3.jpg

954EF5A7D8344F29BB61378B30B81ADB-0000336590-0002193361-00640L-930E3A94FA8042D2A24F38BB1E26492B.jpg

EE009EB1F9C941E1B4C3FDA433BB29A4-0000336590-0002193360-00640L-4627ABA988414F0CA4312EEB47B75AF2.jpg

BA8647E82E9E4532AA54AE9B2D187693-0000336590-0002193363-00640L-EEF8F2DF4A404FD68FE8B20CE65F5D59.jpg

The entire album is here - http://bit.ly/hoVosv

Some highlights below. Great day out guys, well done to all!

IMG_1612.JPG

IMG_1642.JPG

IMG_1631.JPG

IMG_1653.JPG

IMG_1679.JPG

IMG_1691.JPG

IMG_1793.JPGIMG_1957.JPGIMG_1886.JPGIMG_1979.JPG

ColBlimp gets stopped by a security guy as he is trying to go upstairs in the city hall... " I have no ID, I am IndyMedia! " then sprints up the stairs....
    Nice :D

What's in that last shot FoxT??

I'm looking forward to seeing colblimp's shots, particularly the group shot.

Funny moment of the day: meeting up with the lads who started at the train station, exchanging handshakes and usernames surrounded by people waiting for a train...with our big bags...I'd say there were a few anxious people wondering what we were planning :D

they are grab-handles hanging from the ceiling of the bus on the way home!

Ah cool. Cheers for showing me how to re-jig the autofocus on the 40D btw, we took the dog out to Currabinny yesterday and the improvement in getting her in focus was definitely noticeable.

Oh and following on from our Lego conversation on Saturday, here's my set :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭dinneenp

@foxT- nice one of the woman counting with the hand motion

OK, finally, here's some of the junk I took on the day. Thanks to everyone that turned out for it, I think it was successful judging by the shots posted up so far, it puts my stuff to shame! Hopefully we can do another one soon - Kinsale anyone?!

From the count:

01B677F8632C42BD8543BFEF0C3096E8-0000323026-0002194591-00800L-BE6697F0A5BE4168918159DECAAB7688.jpg

7804F30579E3432290118684997904A4-0000323026-0002194589-00800L-1B4E60E5411146A78A49B3A788B03794.jpg

4BCC86F4C32145E29108F54A5266FFF5-0000323026-0002194588-00800L-362B516D13394E2D817ADFA26118A85A.jpg

78EF959C3F8E491A963B32666995928E-0000323026-0002194587-00800L-700A9A30F2904DC9B48AD964C66ACFFE.jpg

Other junk:

1E9433390D2B4960A90EACF7523191F0-0000323026-0002194586-00800L-9E7582B2C3AB4A5F930FCBEAE3A24034.jpg

F12F0DC4EF744193BEF3AA17B953F1D4-0000323026-0002194585-00800L-EE860149464E45E1B56764B74CEA9A43.jpg

1C0A5147AEEE4F3099E21B66465DF442-0000323026-0002194593-00800L-81C160A5B76B4828B5DE53745493BBF9.jpg

397E9B049B2A4E5484A9EFB442E5A48A-0000323026-0002194594-00800L-74DC49417CB04297AD15EC03B9BE4F1D.jpg

The group shot:

89BACA319FCC4EFFA5B0FC6A68B6A286-0000323026-0002194583-00800L-AD5AF5BE8622449E9480E18C31AC50AC.jpg

I'll post some more up when I can be arsed lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Some fantastic shots there lads - hope there will be another walk soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

My first real attempts at photography in a few years. At least some I'm moderately happy with, although I think I need to read up on post-processing, seeing as I'm using the defaults.

9BD1A4BB753D40509D8825F8724C6562-0000341806-0002196951-00800L-C336F292D40740AE89B611E596EA4B93.jpg

808875D9E1ED478E8BC877F4627B9CF4-0000341806-0002196956-00800L-C865D7310AE6490BAF40A1BF6795F5DE.jpg

A85FE0034F6D4388ADA5BB3082B524DE-0000341806-0002196954-00800L-12DAA6B2094F470595B26FA0127E9D2C.jpg

718046BFE95D438083D890554B7791D9-0000341806-0002196953-00800L-749549687ECE47DA838D55E72263C780.jpg

745168EE0CED43A18306A310C54AD896-0000341806-0002196952-00800L-5996C50FF1FC4B2CA1940BF6DF6B7C07.jpg

I had a blast. And am looking forward to taking more snaps.

Some more from here on... our hallowed leader, buildings and some buoys.

5494516147_e4f6eb6f79.jpg
    5487482986_0019f593d3.jpg
    5495111750_f91f0fda18.jpg
    5494518651_684da5192d.jpg
    5494516789_d082011f35.jpg
    5495109710_4ce74f184b.jpg
    5494517341_01a1c7ca12.jpg

And how the hell do you do the thanks thing?!

@ Twomers - I really like th high-contrast PP you did on #3 above , the buoy. Would you mind sharing how you did that?

And, click on the 'thumbs up' button on the bottom right of the post you want to thank..

Cheers, FoxT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

@ Twomers - I agree with Fox T. Your PP work is top class. I love your pics of the rowers and of the wrecked boat in your first set. Same goes for the one of the creepy looking guy with the glasses.

Edit:- No. 2 on your second set is my favourite pic on the thread. PP tips would be much appreciated.

@ Fox T - Great colours from your market shots.

Re the thanks thing - I think you need about 25 posts first. I would suggest a bit of sh!t stirring in the religion and politics fora to get your numbers up. It's great fun. :D

Niall, the photo of the old steam train is top class, I love the high contrast you achieve in your post-production.

And you need 10 posts to thank, n00b :p

@ Twomers - I really like th high-contrast PP you did on #3 above , the buoy. Would you mind sharing how you did that?
    Glad you like it! :)
    That took a bit more than post processing to get. I got in that position on front of that buoy (?) with the sun doing a bit of a starburst sunlight by the end of the buoy. Sorta positioned myself to get the result, if you know what I mean. Afterwards...
    I imported it to Lightroom (which I use to organise all my photos. It's pretty good), and did some basic processing (probably auto buttons). I then exported it to Topaz Adjust to give the shot a bit of pop/depth. After that reimported lightroom and blew out the highlights with the slider.
    Lemme know if you need more info.
    All my processing is done in Lightroom and with Lightroom plugins. Others that I use are the topaz bundle, silver efex pro, nik software stuff, imtoo toolkit. Mostly silver and topaz though. They're excellent.
    Edit:- No. 2 on your second set is my favourite pic on the thread. PP tips would be much appreciated.
    Not entirely sure about what I did in this one... probably auto'd in lightroom, adjusted for pop in topaz... I think I then brought it into silver efex pro (great black and white editing software, do all my portrait work in that), I might have also put it into hdr efex pro and enhanced the reflectiveness of it. Back into Lightoom, and sepia'd it... I then blew out the 36 to make it stand out against the black train.
    Niall, the photo of the old steam train is top class, I love the high contrast you achieve in your post-production.

And you need 10 posts to thank, n00b :p
    Tanks :)

Last two now (I think).
    Third iteration of the set.

5499411407_48ac993f54.jpg

5499411219_4c9cfcf4e0.jpg

Full set.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/niallotuama/sets/72157626156763896/with/5499411219/

I'm going through a black and white editing phase, as might have been noticed :)

twomers wrote: »
    Some more from here on... our hallowed leader, buildings and some buoys.

I'M NOT THE LEADER!!! :mad:

@twomers - lovely shots there! They would probably look better on boardsie if you put a bit of whitespace between the 2...

@ Colblimp - Hope you got the glands well drained in Nenagh! And, of course, you are OUR LEADER! We Salute you, Sir Colonel!
    And, check the tags - its official ;)

tocolblimp.jpg

@twomers - lovely shots there! They would probably look better on boardsie if you put a bit of whitespace between the 2...

@ Colblimp - Hope you got the glands well drained in Nenagh! And, of course, you are OUR LEADER! We Salute you, Sir Colonel!
    And, check the tags - its official ;)

tocolblimp.jpg

I presume she'll be on the next photowalk...? :cool:

Anyone up for another one of these? Was good crack the last time!

11811 wrote: »
    Anyone up for another one of these? Was good crack the last time!

Oh absolutely, I'm up for anything, all the time lol! However, I can't think of a location at the moment - Cobh or Kinsale spring to mind maybe...?

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭foxy123

I would definitely be interested! name the time and place!

foxy123 wrote: »
    I would definitely be interested! name the time and place!

OK - this Friday, 06:30 in Cobh. The liner 'Minerva' (PAX 352) is arriving :D I'll be down there to catch her as she arrives. I'll also be around afterwards for a few hours to take all sorts of pics, if anyone else comes down.

AM? might be a tad too early for me anyways! :p

Er, yes AM! Why, is that a problem? You know as well as I do that the light is better at that time of day, and better getting a ship on the move, rather than moored. :D

OK, there's been an update to Minerva's arrival time on Friday - it's now 8:00am, so if anyone's interested, we could meet at 7:30am in Cobh. Let me know.:cool:

Leave it with me, I might be able to make it. Twould be good alright!

OK, there's another change to Minerva's arrival time - it's gone back to 07:00 tomorrow morning. However, she departs Cobh at 16:00 tomorrow evening, that might be a better option for all you tardy photographers?!

I'll be down there first thing in the morning, but if it transpires that a Boardsie wants to join me in the afternoon, I'll give the morning a miss and get down there for her departure.

Ack, afraid I have to do some work tomorrow and won't be able to make it. Might be floating about the city on Saturday for a few hours...

Sorry won't be able to make it :( I am working until 5.30. Looking forward to seeing the photos though.

No probs folks, maybe another time.

Am thinking of doing some night shots on Tuesday night in city centre if anyone interested?

Tuesday's a bad night for me - track night. I've got to do my speed work lol!

No problemo!

Hey all!

Thinking of putting out the feelers for another photowalk! Anyone with ideas? Kinsale has been mentioned :) Sundays always suit me. My day off during the week changes week by week but I can try and work around everyone else.

Hey all!

Thinking of putting out the feelers for another photowalk! Anyone with ideas? Kinsale has been mentioned :) Sundays always suit me. My day off during the week changes week by week but I can try and work around everyone else.

Damn, I've only just seen this now - would have suggested tomorrow, er, today lol. OK, maybe next week?