Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleeping Dogs (formerly True Crime: Hong Kong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Just got this game today. It's just so nice to play. It's the little things really. I can't help but run up to fishermen and thow them into the bay. Sheehy, your stats are showing up every now and then, so that's quite cool too. If this was a neverending MMO where there was just an infinite amount of things to do I would gladly pay monthly. I'm sure it has to end sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

sheehy83 wrote: »
    I just got my Central Apartment last night (not getting much chance to play this lately) and feel like a bum in my crap clothes compared to the niceness of Central itself. Gotta get myself a new car and new clothes. Although I have a snazzy 'Mr. Black' suit I wasn't able to wear but just got my face up so gonna throw that on. Anyone prefer any specific clothes sets or cars/bikes?

I robbed a couple of super bikes, don't know the make but I want to buy one ASAP. Crotch Rocket is an understatement!

I actually spent the first half of the game shirtless with runners, jeans and a neck-chain/wristband that gave +15% extra Face. Once I became more respected I changed to some nice suits, sort of like 'Mr. Black', but customized instead so I could add my extras. I also wore shades through the whole so I always appeared in cut-scenes in them - my current designer shades were not cheap but look sweet :)

I rather use my cars more then my bikes actually. I just find them easier to control especially when turning sharply. I like to drift around bends, so in a Class A or B car I can do this easily (combo of gas and handbrake) but with the bike I lose control more often then not and end up missing the turn or hitting traffic!! I do agree though that once you hit a straight line those bikes are satisfyingly fast.

You can buy a Class A bike from the car seller in Aberdeen I think - only costs from around 90,000+ or get a top end Class A car for 600,00!
    Another reason to max your Face level is the 40% discount on cars and clothes! I went on a vehicle shopping spree recently thanks that discount but still ended up using the same car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

calex71 wrote: »
    Spotted this going for 43.99 in Argos of all places today.

It's €43 on Amazon. They dropped the price last week before it was even released. It was €48 before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Played a few more minutes just there.

The Maccabees and Bombay Bicycle Club one after the other on Kerrang!? Epic! :D:D

But the driving. Oh good lord the driving is awful. It's almost as bad as Saints Row. Really disliking that aspect of the game. Everything else so far has been excellent.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Is it just me or is it very easy too lose the cops ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,029 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

not really, sometimes I've had to bash into them to get rid of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Most the time all I have to do is press b and do a u turn. They then struggle to turn around to come after me.

All the races were simple also. The AI will normally clip some part of the scenery that will throw them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,018 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I'm loving the driving, not as 'real' as GTA but not as arcadey as saints row, perfect mix to jusrt have fun. I haven't called a taxi yet where as that was my main mode of transport in gta 4. Just bought what looks like a honda integra, enjoying the street racing.

Is it just me or is it very easy too lose the cops ?
    Since finishing main game I've been messing about the with the cops alot. They actually were pretty easy to escape in main story but now I seem to get max heat all the time and without a weapon or sports car - they are very tough to lose!

To add to that once you get max heat and the swat trucks they really go for the kill!! Take those trucks you have to air-jack, I did a couple of them during the story mission and thought they were easy... now I get an instant max heat which is quite tricky in a slow, moving armored truck. It's good thats is durable though as its really gets shot to pieces if you get cornered!
    I'm loving the driving, not as 'real' as GTA but not as arcadey as saints row, perfect mix to jusrt have fun. I haven't called a taxi yet where as that was my main mode of transport in gta 4. Just bought what looks like a honda integra, enjoying the street racing.

Have you got access to the Valet yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Have you got access to the Valet yet?

He only brings me the crummy motorbike you start with. Is there any way to switch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

aaronh007 wrote: »
    He only brings me the crummy motorbike you start with. Is there any way to switch it?

When you're choosing which car you want to take out press Y on the car/motorbike you want the valet to bring!

Ya I have the valet but keep forgetting to use him

The nightclub fight is a little hard is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,224 ✭✭✭Doge

tuxy wrote: »
    I have a i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz and a 570 gtx also overclocked
    I have never seen the frame rate drop below 60 ( vsync is on) I'ms using patch 1.3

Cpu is normally at 30% but can go a bit higher
    Gpu is also around 30%

I did notice that the game uses all 4 cores of the cpu, perhaps the game is not optimised for anything with less than 4 core. :(

What cpu do you have?

I have a core 2 quad Q8200 @2.33 GHZ.

It still doesn't explain why its using f'all GPU though!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The nightclub fight is a little hard is it not?

It is I agree,it pissed me off when I would die I would have to start all over again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Is this a seperate nightclub fight or the one near the start of the game after your first karaoke session ?

SeantheMan wrote: »
    Is this a seperate nightclub fight or the one near the start of the game after your first karaoke session ?

THE one near the start,I was nearly 3 hrs trying to do sunday night And THEN i GET IT in one go on tuesday :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,029 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Is it the night club fight without guns or the one with guns later? I did both first try.

ShaneU wrote: »
    Is it the night club fight without guns or the one with guns later? I did both first try.

emmmmm one without,I probably wasn't leveled up/didn't know enough moves etc at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

That's pretty awful tbh lol :P I didn't find it harder than anything else.
    The thing I probably failed most at was the first Fight Club outside, after you learn your first move from the sifu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭TheYardStick

Hey there guys, could anyone speculate on how much I could get for trading this in at either Gamestop, Xtravision or Gamesnash? I'm not usually one for trading in games (especially new games) , but with the slow summer for gaming I really tore into this when I got the chance!

I really enjoyed the game but with FIFA, Resi 6, Halo 4, Assassin's Creed, Borderlands 2, Hitman etc. being released in the coming months, I wouldn't say no to some extra cash.

Thanks!

You can send Pat (Gamesnash rep on Boards) a message in their boards. I'd say you'd get a better offer than somewhere in town and they also give credit for what you paid for postage.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1222

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭caspa307

also id be very intrested in it, if it was up on adverts??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Just finished her last night, amazing game I got me 100 percent, although them suitcases gave me a head ache.

Congrats... trying to find those lockboxes are a pain though I like that I get to beat thugs up beforehand. Not fan though the safe-crack minigame!

Has anyone played any of DLC? Do they add much/anything to the game?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

The Fight Clubs are grand, between them and the races, I'm up at 10 Face and with the missions and Drug Busts, I'm at 7 or 8 cop, but still only 5 Triad. Tackling people to the ground in fight club is very useful.

Bought myself a Velocita mostly cause it was the most expensive one available and I wanted to see what the best of the best was :D

Thought d'oul apartment was a bit shabby looking...
    ...so i decided to redecorate! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Shiminay wrote: »

Bought myself a Velocita mostly cause it was the most expensive one available and I wanted to see what the best of the best was :D

It corners like it's on bloody rails , break and turn at speed and it will immediately do a near perfect 90° turn :D

finnally got my hands on a copy cant wait to get started when the kids are asleep and she's out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,416 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Got it a week ago and finished it last night. Great story, but predictable as hell. It wasn't until the credits I realised that it wasn't Nolan North voicing Wei, sounds exactly like him, must be his Hong Konger cousin.

The game itself was very enjoyable, what Saints Row the 3rd should have been like. Even though the movement was great the majority of the time, sometimes he just didn't do what I wanted him to.

The driving was ok, nothing special, and the bikes were crazy at class a.

Combat was fun, better than most other open world games but not quite Batman. Found the combat really easy once you've levelled up a bit, still managed to get killed a few times though when I wasn't really trying, which is good. Gunplay was great, as it wasn't overdone. Slow mo shooting was enjoyable and effective if you got a chain going and kept the slow mo going.

I have traded it in though. I didn't have everything collected but had all the main and side missions, races and favours completed. Only had a few cameras left and about 1/3 of the lockboxes left, but didn't want to collect them. Once the story was over, I was left wanting which is this games main downfall in my opinion. Oh, and only 2 dates with Amanda... Booo!

I got between €30-40 trade in for it, so now working on Darksiders 2 which is already beating this hands down (different games, I know).

Im still only 36% through ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭King Krib

Got it a week ago and finished it last night. Great story, but predictable as hell. It wasn't until the credits I realised that it wasn't Nolan North voicing Wei, sounds exactly like him, must be his Hong Konger cousin.

The game itself was very enjoyable, what Saints Row the 3rd should have been like. Even though the movement was great the majority of the time, sometimes he just didn't do what I wanted him to.

The driving was ok, nothing special, and the bikes were crazy at class a.

Combat was fun, better than most other open world games but not quite Batman. Found the combat really easy once you've levelled up a bit, still managed to get killed a few times though when I wasn't really trying, which is good. Gunplay was great, as it wasn't overdone. Slow mo shooting was enjoyable and effective if you got a chain going and kept the slow mo going.

I have traded it in though. I didn't have everything collected but had all the main and side missions, races and favours completed. Only had a few cameras left and about 1/3 of the lockboxes left, but didn't want to collect them. Once the story was over, I was left wanting which is this games main downfall in my opinion. Oh, and only 2 dates with Amanda... Booo!

I got between €30-40 trade in for it, so now working on Darksiders 2 which is already beating this hands down (different games, I know).
    I agree with you completely, I've just finished the bad luck mission and am at this stage grinding through just to finish it. A good game, will be using it to prebook Fifa shortly.

"My cock is the best!"

Definitely one of the funniest quotes in the game.

Ok finally done and dusted with this, 100% all achievments etc.

Overall great main story loved the city, but the whole thing now feels like saints row 1 , where I feel there will likely be another 2 games and the next one will be the best of the 3.

For all they had in the game outside of the main story (green), they could have done with more cases (blue) maybe? it's like the early saints/gta games with no aircraft and the boat missions where totally tacked on. the Radio stations where very poor indeed, I was expecting a breaking news story on there after something big went down.

Over all great game , though short lived no co-op and felt like it was missing something :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,416 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

calex71 wrote: »
    ...felt like it was missing something :confused:

Nail on the head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭gar1234

any shops selling this game was in xtravison and smyths toys and both said it was never shipped

gar1234 wrote: »
    any shops selling this game was in xtravison and smyths toys and both said it was never shipped

hmv 47.99 for limited edition, or gamestop 55 for standard:rolleyes:

caspa307 wrote: »
    hmv 47.99 for limited edition, or gamestop 55 for standard:rolleyes:

43.99 in argos ;)

Mine will be on adverts this evening :D

Any mods for pc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I have a mission telling me "Find the marked Sparc" I keep going to it and telling its underground near club bam bam. I keep going to the waypoint and there nothing there. Any ideas?

I did that one a while ago. I called trent to start it but was up in central so I juat did some other missions and forgot about it. Then crusing around in north point, a way point automatically appeared as I was near the sparc car. If yoi cant find it, head off and do other missions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,725 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

I have a mission telling me "Find the marked Sparc" I keep going to it and telling its underground near club bam bam. I keep going to the waypoint and there nothing there. Any ideas?

It's just a car driving around, you have to active hijack it or just get in when it's stopped at a light...

Saw something class last night, I was on a cop mission chasing a car on my motorbike. I knock down a civ and kill him (I only seem to kill civilians on cop missions!) Anyway, I'm stopped as I hit a wall and 1 of the guys who was with the dead guy runs over, takes out his phone and starts filming me. I move around him and he is following me with the phone.

Later, I was about to turn off the game, thought I would flying kick a few people. Another guy runs up, takes out his phone and starts filming me. I flying kick him and he flys back through the air dropping his can of coke. The can is on the ground spinning in circles being pushed by the spray of fizz shooting out from it being knocked down.

Thought those details were really impressive.

Finished it just now. Good game, and was just about the right length. Have it in my adverts.ie link for PS3 if anyone wants it a bit cheaper than the shops.

Can anyone tell me when you meet the girl who gives you the locations to the lockboxes? I'm just after handing
    Dog Eyes
    over to Mrs. Chiu, not sure how much of the story is left but loving it.

Lads,

I'm done my exams today...
    I get home at around 6-7pm...
    I have nothing planned for the next two weeks...
    Sleeping Dogs is sitting in my CD Drive...
    This binge is going to be SWEEEEEEEET! :D:D

• Moderators Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭Azza

I've got a major bug, all the cars in the game have dissappeared!

Can't select my own from the garage, and there is none either driving around or parked anywhere. Pretty bizzare.:confused:

Can anyone tell me when you meet the girl who gives you the locations to the lockboxes?

Ilyana in the K Bar... though I think I met her there a bit later from where you are.
    From what I remember it was during the
    American Rapper
    mission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭King Krib

Finished it last night, good game and I thought just long enough. Got a bit bored towards the end. Now to pick a preorder Fifa or Pro Evo....Ah the joys of it.

Gah. This fight in Club Bam Bam (going by previous posts, there're two fights there, so it's the first one you do) is killing my soul. Keep getting surrounded and bludgeoned to death with about 3 hits of those weapons. :(

Smashing a guys face into an aquarium(?) upstairs is really fun though! :D