Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Funny Houses/Flats to rent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Jake1 wrote: »

0406e7966e09fde57a23be66aff454a0.png

That mantel piece is indeed not great.
    But why is there GFH or Oil heating and the devil's invention aka electric (storage) heating on 1 and the same wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭cml387

That was known as stippling and was popular in the seventies aka The Decade That Taste Forgot.

To the poster who thinks 80k is a steal, you have to bear in mind that it's in Mullinahone.

cml387 wrote: »
    That was known as stippling and was popular in the seventies aka The Decade That Taste Forgot.

To the poster who thinks 80k is a steal, you have to bear in mind that it's in Mullinahone.
    "And I wouldn’t much care for Sierra Leone,
    If I hadn’t seen Killenaule,
    And the man who was never in Mullinahone
    Shouldn’t say he had travelled at all”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Ted Plain wrote: »
    A serious piece of house for only €80K. Would gladly buy it if I was from the area! Boozer directly across the street, too.

Judging by streetview the boozer is out of operation and for sale too!

Ted Plain wrote: »
    A serious piece of house for only €80K. Would gladly buy it if I was from the area! Boozer directly across the street, too.

Totally agree, it is a great house. I would also love some of that old furniture they have:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

cml387 wrote: »

I'd literally never heard of Mullinahone until today - doesn't look like the most happening place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Mullinahone is a dirty oul' hole,
    A church without a steeple.
    Oul' women like whores,
    lookin' over half-doors,
    Criticisin' decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Totally agree, it is a great house. I would also love some of that old furniture they have:)

I'd say if you contacted the auctioneer with that request, he'd gladly accomadate you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The oil burner in the kitchen would be the first thing I'd change. Comes with 5 acres of land, and 10 minutes to Westport town centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 lmarieloos

Is this lad looking for a live in cleaner? A wife? A mother?

"Only female who can take care of house."

https://www.daft.ie/meath/apartment-share/ratoath/corballis-demesne-ratoath-meath-971341/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

lmarieloos wrote: »

https://www.daft.ie/meath/apartment-share/ratoath/corballis-demesne-ratoath-meath-971341/

Jaysus. What's with the amount of ads lately with no photos as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I have questions......

Is the shower in the bath?
    Will I wake up to the Virgin Mary leering at me if I sleep in the fold up bed or will she just push me down the stairs?
    Is the wardrobe in pic 14 going to teeter over on top of me while I sleep so should I place frenemies in there if they sleep over?

yes, but:
    This property offers the new owner a fantastic opportunity to put their own stamp on it.

or, to put it another way, "It's gonna cost a fortune to turn it in to something half decent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's going to take a lot of effort, hope it's worth it for me.

YTU0YmIxZDlhYiMvbzRNZ0s1SGsweUhMejhTME1FeVE1R2FoVEtBPS8yMjZ4MTE6MTkxOHgxMDc5LzgwMHg0NTAvZmlsdGVyczpmb3JtYXQoanBlZyk6cXVhbGl0eSg4MCkvaHR0cHM6Ly9zMy5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL3BvbGljeW1pYy1pbWFnZXMvYjNkMzU0MTdiNmFhMzc3YWY3YzJiYWJiYjRmYzBiMWMzZTFjYmYzYjlkYjI0MjhkNjhmZDllODM3NzdiMWMzZi5qcGc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

yes, but:

or, to put it another way, "It's gonna cost a fortune to turn it in to something half decent"

The decor in there is truly vomit-inducingly hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭BandMember

pilly wrote: »
    Jaysus. What's with the amount of ads lately with no photos as well?

No photos = sh*thole.

You know it's bad when even the owners are too embarrassed to put up photos of their overpriced dump!

Nobody with half a brain would even bother making an enquiry into a place that doesn't show any photos....

BandMember wrote: »
    No photos = sh*thole.

You know it's bad when even the owners are too embarrassed to put up photos of their overpriced dump!

Nobody with half a brain would even bother making an enquiry into a place that doesn't show any photos....

It say's everything you need to know

Plus a lot of them have bee on the markets for months!!! :) You'd think the owner's would give something? A nice view, of local lake, /forest/beach or an interesting tree , but make a bloody effort :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Got to love that sign by the front door "no tresspassing day or night." Good they covered that or you'd have a bunch of lads hanging around every evening waiting to clock in the for the auld trespassing late shift. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Billy86 wrote: »
    Got to love that sign by the front door "no tresspassing day or night." Good they covered that or you'd have a bunch of lads hanging around every evening waiting to clock in the for the auld trespassing late shift. :pac:

It actually says "No Parking" :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭tara73

yes, most probably for all the three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

It actually says "No Parking" :P

.......................shut up.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,540 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ive been cycling past this on/off for years, and thought it was a legit church. Alas no, it too is now a poky apartment

https://www.daft.ie/11524452

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,591 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

retalivity wrote: »
    Ive been cycling past this on/off for years, and thought it was a legit church. Alas no, it too is now a poky apartment

Under 400 sq ft :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I genuinely fail to understand the layout of this shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,358 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Looked at a place for rent in there years ago, not for me. Cramped, storage heaters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭tara73

haha, no, converted into apartments a long time ago, lived close to it and always wondered how it looks inside. great to see pictures, for me it looks great, very special and cosy.
    And I think it's not too bad for that price regarding quality and location.

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

tara73 wrote: »
    haha, no, converted into apartments a long time ago, lived close to it and always wondered how it looks inside. great to see pictures, for me it looks great, very special and cosy.
    And I think it's not too bad for that price regarding quality and location.

Id say its freezing in the winter. Elec storage heating .... usually very inefficient.

The price ... geez, no thanks

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

The furniture seems to be poorly chosen and the way its arranged makes it look more stuffed and cramped than it needs to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Neyite wrote: »
    The furniture seems to be poorly chosen and the way its arranged makes it look more stuffed and cramped than it needs to be.

With the size of that place, the only furniture that wouldn't make it feel cramped is in the pic below.

0Jd.jpg

^^ even the dolls house has the washing machine in the bedroom, that'll give some slumlords ideas!

If the bed aint a rockin, there's always the option of sitting on the washing machine. :D

BattleCorp wrote: »
    If the bed aint a rockin, there's always the option of sitting on the washing machine. :D
    Fast spin!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

http://www.daft.ie/sligo/houses-for-sale/ballymote/carrowcauly-ballymote-sligo-1561959/

I'd love to buy it and rent out 10 of the rooms cheaply to the homeless to pay for running costs, and live in the 11th room myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

Nomis21 wrote: »
    http://www.daft.ie/sligo/houses-for-sale/ballymote/carrowcauly-ballymote-sligo-1561959/

I'd love to buy it and rent out 10 of the rooms cheaply to the homeless to pay for running costs, and live in the 11th room myself.

Should that not be 1.2 mil ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Some of the existing tenants would have to leave though.

2017_10_23_133039.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Should that not be 1.2 mil ?

Maybe not, this place is in the middle of nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,481 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I doubt they'd want to live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I'd be fairly sure that will end up as a nursing home.
    The price must be wrong. Probably 2m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I'd be fairly sure that will end up as a nursing home.
    The price must be wrong. Probably 2m.

Weird, I'd accept it as a mistake if they only had the numerical value up in the ad but it specifically says in the description
    The auctioneers now invite immediate enquiries and all offers after €200,000 to sell.

I bet it's haunted by nuns that make you pray all night.

It's in Carrowcauley, not D4. Still a good price though.

It wouldn't be suitable for a nursing home, too many steps, no lifts etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

One could certainly make it into something stunning.

Honestly that's a really nice house. What's the hook? Being haunted or something?

LirW wrote: »
    Honestly that's a really nice house. What's the hook? Being haunted or something?

Given the history of the Religious orders here in Ireland, you'd wonder did anything unsavoury happen there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭blackwhite

It's right on the edge of Ballymote town - reasonable commuting distance to Sligo, etc.

BUT - for what would need to be spend to modernise it (after already shelling out the €200k to buy), you'd be able to build better in a similar location.

I'm not sure I'd be too keen on having a secondary school effectively in the garden either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

LirW wrote: »
    I guess it's a low reserve to generate interest for the auction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Given the history of the Religious orders here in Ireland, you'd wonder did anything unsavoury happen there?

My Aunt is a nun and they are selling property all over the UK and Ireland in the last 10 years. She is only one of the younger ones in her mid 70's. Its fine and selling these at 200k but the money they would need to upgrade and maintenance on these old house have truly run their structural time. You have to take into account high ceilings, inefficent wall, fire safety and modern standards. Knock and Rebuild job that is if An Taisce dont come in and slap a protection order on it.

Saying that my cousin got a lovely house for himself in Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

200k seems to be about right.

Here is one twice the size that's been on the market for 4 years:

http://www.daft.ie/leitrim/houses-for-sale/ballinamore/the-convent-convent-road-ballinamore-leitrim-928444/

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

http://www.daft.ie/leitrim/houses-for-sale/ballinamore/the-convent-convent-road-ballinamore-leitrim-928444/

Nice green sofa there ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Don't mind the aul' tiles on the ceiling there, they're falling off anyway.:eek:

http://www.daft.ie/leitrim/houses-for-sale/aughavas/gorteen-aughavas-leitrim-1536054/

Jesus, that's sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Is that a cross in pic 3 keeping the door closed?