Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny Houses/Flats to rent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1197784

Was going to have a look at this last week. Figured it was going to be sort of **** but I'm only going to be living in Cork for 3 months so I figured it might be worth a look.

The whole road is like a bombsite though. Cans and refuse scattered all over the place. I counted 31 satellite dishes on 18 houses. Didn't feel particularly safe around there on my own at 1pm nevermind 1am. Googled the st. and pretty sure someone died in a house fire there in July so there's another reason to avoid it.

You have to love the microwave on the kitchen chair.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

dantbyhid wrote: »

Thats got to be the worst one yet. The third picture "study/dining area". Its barely deep enough for the plate or the book that you'd be studying/dining with. And the armchair IN the bunkbed. Thats apalling. And they have a washer AND dryer!

And my mum actually did chew out an estate agent once... we viewed a place with an old cast iron bathtub that was corroding and a load of damp on the walls. We were told they would paint over the mould. She's not one to shy away from a good argument with an EA... and promptly tore strips off her! The EA responded by wishing her the best of luck and that she wont get anything in the area of that quality for that price.

Ended up getting a two bedroom one of these

http://www.property.ie/new-homes/Fortfield-Square-Fortfield-Square-Terenure-Dublin-6/14422/

for the same price :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

syklops wrote: »
    The crying chair next to the oven looks familiar. Has that been posted already?

You don't really think that those places really come with an expensive crying chair like that. :eek:

The Landlords Association share the chair amongst each other's properties for when the Estate Agents come round to photograph them. It makes all the dives look cosier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Just discovered this thread and having looked at about 3 properties on offer I am genuinely depressed.

I vow henceforth to do whatever is needed to always have a decent place to live. I'm going to study hard, very hard with this motivation.

dont think so, but maybe there is some sinister shop selling these chairs....

Jake1 wrote: »
    dont think so, but maybe there is some sinister shop selling these chairs....

I didn't mean the chair looks familiar, I meant the layout. Bed -> crying chair -> oven. I am sure I have seen that once on this thread already.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I like the idea of sleeping in my kitchen...

Too warm during the summer? Open the fridge door - instant air con!
    Too cold during the winter? Open the oven door - no need for your fancy fire places!

Still too cold during the winder - jam your entire head into the oven, from the comfort of your bed, let your troubles drift away!

Just discovered this thread and having looked at about 3 properties on offer I am genuinely depressed.

I vow henceforth to do whatever is needed to always have a decent place to live. I'm going to study hard, very hard with this motivation.

See, this thread is a Public Service Thread.

(should come with a health warning )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Maybe we could start a club where we go around to view these properties just to waste the time of the twisted sadists responsible. I'd only be prepared to do this as a duo or a trio though given the murder scene-esque nature of what's on offer.

They remind me of a terrifying place I once rented for a week in Germany, I was too disturbed by it at the time to take photographs, I paid my rent, had a look around and ran out to a hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I agree, they should show this thread to kids who are thinking of dropping out of school or aren't working hard enough during their Leaving Cert!

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Flabangav

Yeah, it was a few pages back!

I think we have a winner.

You can reach the fridge from your crying chair, while sobbing into your pillow, all at the same time!!!

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1238822

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Seriously, are some of these not illegal???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

dantbyhid wrote: »

Pic 3: Dining in luxury :pac:

Flabangav wrote: »
    Yeah, it was a few pages back!

oops sorry about that, didnt notice it :)

neemish wrote: »
    Seriously, are some of these not illegal???

Some of them deserve a call to the style police. That said, if that is a demonstration of their attention to detail, you would wonder about more pressing things like regular boiler services, what the state of the electrics are like, are the plug sockets 3-pin or are they using the old ancient kind, was the place checked for radon in this century etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Flabangav

oops sorry about that, didnt notice it :)

Ah but I think it's so crap it's worth mentioning twice! :P :pac:

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1250019

Crying chair oblligatory - if only because of the colour of the bathroom suite

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1254790

Shower in the bedroom - trendy!

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1254790

Shower in the bedroom - trendy!

Its amazing how a small 2 ring electric hob translates to "Fully equipped kitchen".

I think the only qualification you need to be an estate agent is a certificate in creative writing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Its amazing how a small 2 ring electric hob translates to "Fully equipped kitchen".

I think the only qualification you need to be an estate agent is a certificate in creative writing.

ah here....

Their spelling and grammar is shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

I'm actually lost for words

I wonder how it works if one of the tenants has a lady friend back. Is there a sock put on the door or is it just a matter of sticking earphones in and letting them get on with it.

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1255733

Ooooooooooo it's a development on the room within a room school of architecture

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Wow, a few absolute gems being posted in here today!

The two box rooms with kitchens and showers wedged into the corners were particularly grim, like something out of a low budget Russia porno or something as equally depressing.

Both around £400 a pop too, I don't whether to laugh or cry :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

Maybe we could start a club where we go around to view these properties just to waste the time of the twisted sadists responsible. I'd only be prepared to do this as a duo or a trio though given the murder scene-esque nature of what's on offer.

They remind me of a terrifying place I once rented for a week in Germany, I was too disturbed by it at the time to take photographs, I paid my rent, had a look around and ran out to a hotel.
    Id deffo be on for time wasters club hahaha stick it to the man!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Nice, Im supposed to be looking for an apartment right now instead im trying to find cockroach invested dumps on daft to post here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1255733

Ooooooooooo it's a development on the room within a room school of architecture

Could be a lot worse for €200 a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

Sweet jaysus, if ya put the dog into some of these hovels he would come out with his tail between his legs.

It should be a criminal offence to rent some of these - greedy pr!cks still at it. :mad:

Some of the crying (cry-****) chair compositions are feckin hilarious :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

Confab wrote: »
    Could be a lot worse for €200 a month.

:eek: WTF! I would love to rent it, just to burn it to the ground...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

"It would suit professionals".......I'm guessing the oldest profession in the world?