Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny Houses/Flats to rent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

lazygal wrote: »
    Why the tap close up?

Possibly the landlord is of the type which considers running water for tenants to be the height of luxury & wants to advertise that boundless generosity in the accompanying photos.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭blackwhite

How do you close the bathroom door in this one? The crying chair/desk comes with notepad to pen your final thoughts......

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1314961

You'd think they'd at least pick up the fecking post off the floor before taking photos

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I spotted this one via thejournal.ie, fantastic description:
    Do not be mislead by the attractive exterior of this double fronted village cottage with its dirty sash windows and rickety hall door; all is not well on the inside.

Not entirely devoid of plumbing, there is a grotty kitchen with a cold tap. Not much of a bathroom although Howth has excellent public bathing in the nearby Balscadden Bay !

Untouched by the 21st century as far as conveniences for even the basic human decencies are concerned. Although, it is still habitable judging by the bed of rags, fag ends and bottles that used to adorn one corner.

The décor of the six principle rooms, some of which hangs inelegantly from the walls is revolting. Daylight peeps in here and there and the lack of insulation has encouraged the insects to move elsewhere.

The slimy rear garden is over grown although it appears to have a decent amount of space. It gets plenty of afternoon sun if you'd care to idle out there !

Otherwise there is not much wrong with this property.

With plenty of scope for the socially aspiring to express their decorative taste, sacrifice €229,000. Tarted up these houses can make four hundred grand !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Scarinae wrote: »
    I spotted this one via thejournal.ie, fantastic description:

Classic! I thought at first the description was a piss-take on the journal aimed at the ad. Didn't realize it was written by the people trying to sell it

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

You can't fault them on their honesty!

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭marnie d

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2286069/Living-box-The-tiny-coffin-apartments-Tokyo-cost-400-month-rent.html

And we thought Irish bedsits were bad. They must have communal bathrooms and cooking facilities or something. I'd be too claustrophobic for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

marnie d wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2286069/Living-box-The-tiny-coffin-apartments-Tokyo-cost-400-month-rent.html

And we thought Irish bedsits were bad. They must have communal bathrooms and cooking facilities or something. I'd be too claustrophobic for this.

£400 rent :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,289 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

it looks like an old converted capsule motel, i stayed in one of those when i was in japan and they were grand if all you wanted was to keep your head down.

In asian cities its usually just as cheap to eat out than to buy food and cook for yourself. Id imagine there are communal toilets and showers and things, but id be more concerned about where do people keep their stuff? Does that guy only have one suit that he wears every day?

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

This one put a smile on my face. Wonder if what's in Pic 7 comes with the apartment? :P

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1324017

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Double post

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭boomtown123

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=713609

Imagine trying to relax in the bath with a freaky clown looking at you. (pic no 7)

Actually...imagine trying to relax in this house anyway. Not for any people with OCD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Imagine trying to relax in the bath with a freaky clown looking at you. (pic no 7)

Actually...imagine trying to relax in this house anyway. Not for any people with OCD

That's a very 'odd' looking part on the outside table....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

God, I'd have to take 5 skips of junk out of that place before I'd even be able to sit down!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,920 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

The book case in pic 4 has my skin crawling! I think if you locked me in there for an hour I'd be reduced to a pathetic weeping ball rocking in the corner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

I love the crying rocker thats yet to be assembled...and you know that competition of guess how many jelly beans are in a jar....well we could play guess the number of rugs in the house...and we could also play thro the keyhole ,guess what type of a person lives here. Shabby chic is just plain shabby here. Susan Boyle lives here you can see her in pic 8

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭boomtown123

Toots* wrote: »
    The book case in pic 4 has my skin crawling! I think if you locked me in there for an hour I'd be reduced to a pathetic weeping ball rocking in the corner.

To make it worst there's a beanbag and cushion right at the foot at it - luring people to sit down and risk their life of been knocked on the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭jaffa20

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

jaffa20 wrote: »

Who would pay 750 a month for that?!? "Rent allowance not accepted"!! Can you put that under "house"?

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

Love2love wrote: »
    Who would pay 750 a month for that?!? "Rent allowance not accepted"!! Can you put that under "house"?

It's a "House" near "Tesco".

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jimbob_jones

So about two years ago myself and the missus were looking for a house and this one popped up on our radar...

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/27-herberton-park-rialto-dublin-8/411207

The usual craic needed work etc..... the reason we didn't go for it...

Check out the address on the google map link below and then have a look at the street view , I won't ruin the surprise :pac:...

http://bit.ly/169pz1H

Needless to say we gave it a miss

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I might go for that meself it looks really secure.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭KungPao

Love2love wrote: »

Well to be fair, it's in a very good LOCATION!!!

Here's the previous tenant!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

http://bit.ly/169pz1H

Needless to say we gave it a miss

Nah .... There's a house like that across from me.... That's where the cops swan off for their elevenses ..... Guarantee you a cop lives there:D there's always a fleet of them together black Mariahs the works.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

jaffa20 wrote: »

Is that Alan Partridge's caravan, 'static home' ?:eek:

Edit: Damn Kungpao beat me to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭D_D

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=713927

Got this little shock in my inbox today... This one has a 'crying couch', a couch to listen to someone dying in bed.

The brown toilet also sets it apart.

Disgraceful.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Breakfast in bed would require little effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

D_D wrote: »
    http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=713927

Got this little shock in my inbox today... This one has a 'crying couch', a couch to listen to someone dying in bed.

The brown toilet also sets it apart.

Disgraceful.

Worse, it's a SHARED property :eek: There's already one guy living there and looking for a roomie.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I thought those kinds of places (having the bed & cooking facilities in the one room) were illegal now & that landlords had to meet some basic standards. Obviously I was mistaken, that's shocking. The cooker looks ancient.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Worse, it's a SHARED property :eek: There's already one guy living there and looking for a roomie.
    Jesus I nearly said thats alright for that address, I could see living in one as a last resort but who the fcuk would share one of those things?

the only roomie needed there is industrial strength Domestos.