Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how to buy ammo from america if possible at all what liscences or regulations?

• 06-02-2011 1:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭

just wondering if it is at all possible to buy ammo from america or other countries and what rules and regulations are prohibiting us from doing so??

i know in my heart and soul its a big no no but thought id ask:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Kramer

ammo from america...........what rules and regulations are prohibiting us from doing so??

1. Hazardous material shipping cost
    2. US export documentation
    3. Irish duty & vat

Economies of scale - it only becomes viable with large quantities i.e. distributor etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

thanks for reply ya just that ammo is well cheap over there and such an array of buckshot etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

thanks for reply ya just that ammo is well cheap over there and such an array of buckshot etc

Dave,
    Are you talking about having it shipped or bringing it in yourself?

The previous post is true in general, but not all.

If you give me some more information, perhaps, I can help.

Are you traveling to the states and plan to bring some back or looking to have it mailed? If mailing, I cannot help.

I always bring back my share of Hornaday. However, my situation is probably a bit different from the average poster on this board.

Under certain constraints, you can bring back 10lbs of ammo.

I have done this personally and declared what I did in the US to the airlines and the federally operated TSA and to the Irish customs at a port of debarkation. I never had to obtain any export documents from the US or import from the Irish.

As explained to myself, the word "import" is a bit nebulous. Import means to bring into a country. However, it often carries the expectation that you are going to use it in trade - to resell for example.

Resale, for a profit, is where customs is going to snag you. If you want to bring cigarettes in for personal consumption, you're allowed some. Booze as well. If you show up with a suitcase filled with cigarettes, guess what, you're going to get snagged.

Again, I only speak from several first hand experiences on both sides of the Atlantic and my situation may differ from yours.

At Irish ports of debarkation, I have waited for customs agents and informed them that I was bringing in ammo. The agents usually ask how much and for a license. I have never had a problem with the 100 rounds or so.

I feel your pain with respect to the buckshot!

i was hoping on buying online and mailing it over:(
    just wanted to get 100 or so 00 buckshot catridges
    is there anyway of gettting 00buckshot in ireland?
    i feel deprived shooting with our stuff when i know theres better out there

Sorry Dave, I feel your pain. No idea about mailing ammo to Ireland.

Let's not even start about sabots and slugs. Always depresses me that I cannot bring them back.

thanks fisma for help anyway! ya chances are ill never get to fire a slug in my life:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Whats the crack with slugs lads? i keep hearin ya cant get them but i was in a RFD one day chattin to the lad behind the counter and a farmer who was havin trouble with a fox, he said he had a shotgun and wanted somethin that would kill the fox, the lad behind the counter said i have just the thing and came back with a box of 10 remington slugs and said they'll do the job. why do i keep hearin ya cant buy them in ireland??

Jasus lads ye were up late!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Lads,

why do ye need buckshot or slugs?

Jonty wrote: »
    Lads,

just for the novelty more than anything really:D

its ridiculous how we dont have them here we have the same shotguns as america but hey ireland for ye:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

For a 100 rounds not worth the effort!
    10K maybe.And then it will come down to will the state Dept and the Intl Trafficking in Arms Regulations[ITAR] laws be broken if they consider it anyway exotic or for "military purposes".One reason many US dealers will not ship scopes,and other bits outside CONUS.It is too easy to fall foul of the State Dept regs.you are talking courier company and it is only a certain few who will do it,and slap on Haz mat charges aplenty.So your 100 rounds might be costing double to triple here.

YES,00 buck is available here.At least in this part of the country[Munster].You just have to ring a few dealers and ask.BTW the polite term is "fox shot";):)around here.

Slugs are RESTRICTED ammo,so if you have a restricted liscense you can/should be able to get them.

Use them for medium range foxing,or if it ever takes off here shotgun target shooting.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

grizzly i was out and about today and passed by my local RFD so called in for a look, picked up some ammo for the rifle and asked him about slugs. he said he has remington slugs with a 29gram(think thats what weight he said) solid lead shot and also said they are not restricted and come in a box of 10. thats 2 different lads have told me that now! he said lads buy them for foxes

Jonty wrote: »
    Lads,

I want to be able to drop a fox with a shotgun at 100-150ya no problem.

It's also a much more humane kill on deer and safer, range wise.

I think it's their use where the legalities come in. It is illegal to use them for deer shooting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

buckshot and slugs are restricted ammo under the new laws. if you have a restricted shotgun licence you can have restricted ammo. i would'nt advise buying buckshot or slugs if you are offered them as the garda would'nt be to pleased if you were caught with restricted ammo. i would think you would loose your licence/licences. a friend of mine is a restricted firearms dealer and stocks them from time to time, but without the restricted licence you can't buy them. which is a shame cos i would'nt mind messing around with a few myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Juice
    Buckshot IS NOT restricted!! Check the act.It applies to slugs and saboted ammo.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

I don't think that will work.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Save yourself the hassel use AAA for Foxes......:D

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭freddieot

'mailing it over'
    Big mistake, don't go down that road.

You need the correct import documents (see DOJ for details). Then you need a courier solution. US Postal Service, An Post and all other postal organisations won't touch ammo with a barge pole - it's iin breach of international treaties to put it in the mail system. You would need a specialised company.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

grizzly i was out and about today and passed by my local RFD so called in for a look, picked up some ammo for the rifle and asked him about slugs. he said he has remington slugs with a 29gram(think thats what weight he said) solid lead shot and also said they are not restricted and come in a box of 10. thats 2 different lads have told me that now! he said lads buy them for foxes

slug ammo is restricted

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

I honestly thought this thread was a wind-up, how on earth could you mail order ammo? Come on....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

Hello Folks, New to this, just registered.

Dont know about the 00 Buck but you can get what the folks in the US cal 0, or "one-aught", known as SG buck over this side (9 x .32 cal balls).
    Dont remember wher I bought them but have some here.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

Vegeta wrote: »
    slug ammo is restricted
    iv been told that on here but told different in 2 RFDs. any1 got a link to where it says its restricted??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056015210

You're looking for the link called "Original Restricted List SI"

Which directs you here

And says
    5. The following ammunition is declared to be restricted ammunition for the
    purposes of the Act:
    (b) slug ammunition for shotguns;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

iv been told that on here but told different in 2 RFDs. any1 got a link to where it says its restricted??

Some RFD's will sell you a mod without the proper authorization for it as well. I am always wary of taking advice from people who may profit from my decision.