Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bohemian FC Talk/Transfers/Rumours Thread 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It will be a great act of altruism from Finn to ignore strong interest from England and the rest of the LOI to be part of the modestly-paid D7 revolution next season. He must be commended. Maybe he has a trust-fund or something.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's still a rumour in fairness, not like we're parading him around Dalymount

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

stovelid wrote: »
    It will be a great act from altruism of Finn to ignore strong interest from England and the rest of the LOI to be part of the modestly-paid D7 revolution next season. He must be commended. Maybe he has a trust-fund or something.

Aaron Greene went to Sligo despite "strong interest" from England. Madden to Carlisle despite the vast majority of bigger teams in England, Scotland and Stuttgart being strongly interested.

Didn't Rovers sign some kid despite strong interest from Inter?

bohsman wrote: »
    Aaron Greene went to Sligo despite "strong interest" from England. Madden to Carlisle despite the vast majority of bigger teams in England, Scotland and Stuttgart being strongly interested.

Didn't Rovers sign some kid despite strong interest from Inter?

We (and I assume Sligo or Carlisle) don't have annual player budgets of 250k. :)

Not the point I was making. Strong interest is a contract offer. I would be surprised if either signed anyway. Finn to Rovers surely since Anto Murphy didnt sign?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Finn was offered a contract last week, but he was on trial with Palace this week, so obviously put the decision off, it depends on anything coming from that trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,083 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Our budget is 250k by all accounts and the entire budget has not been used up. 250k is reasonable no matter how many players we sign.

I would still have preferred a clean sweep with Fenlon and all players going but it is what it is. I will be very unhappy if the board come begging again around July and will also be unhappy if we are not at least breakeven.
    If you sign either of those players you can safely assume that 250k is a lie.

CSF wrote: »
    If you sign either of those players you can safely assume that 250k is a lie.

Think you're way overestimating wages. Derek O'Brien is gone to Cork ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,083 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Think you're way overestimating wages. Derek O'Brien is gone to Cork ffs.
    Yes but Ronan Finn is probably the best player in the league at the moment. Any other team would want him.

Up till the start of November when we openly told the players the money wasn't there we always paid on time, I cant see that changing any time soon and the cash flow is just not there to go way over budget.

I'd say we offered Finn 500 or so a week with a promise that he could leave in July if an English team came in for him. I fully expect him to end up at Rovers.

Im guessing he is in the same boat as Williams in that he cant play for an English team till July?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Bohs will get no sympathy next time this happens, kinda weird was talking to few junkies about this earlier.

When Derry had the buckets out we put money in, when drogs needed the cash we helped ( i saved drogs btw), when rovers were screwed we helped, list goes on every club always helps. I reckon up until about 2 days ago we would have helped bohs ( we not in a better state). Sadly i dont see that courtesy being offered ever again ( it was offered).

Bohs are taking the piss now, at least Rovers "took their oil" and came back better for it altho smug *****, nowhere near the level of smugness Shels fans have and Rovers won the league! Bohs will get no sympathy when the buckets are out.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Bohs will get no sympathy next time this happens, kinda weird was talking to few junkies about this earlier.

When Derry had the buckets out we put money in, when drogs needed the cash we helped ( i saved drogs btw), when rovers were screwed we helped, list goes on every club always helps. I reckon up until about 2 days ago we would have helped bohs ( we not in a better state). Sadly i dont see that courtesy being offered ever again ( it was offered).

Bohs are taking the piss now, at least Rovers "took their oil" and came back better for it altho smug *****, nowhere near the level of smugness Shels fans have and Rovers won the league! Bohs will get no sympathy when the buckets are out.

What do you mean next time? We are still in very very deep. Thats not changing till Dalymount is sold unfortunately.

I am choosing to take Fenlons word on the budget being around 250k, he has no reason to lie.

What do you mean next time?

Your licence exists until the next one, your ****ed tbh and its all your members fault. I hope it works out but you have cheated the system again blatantly and knowingly.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Your licence exists until the next one, your ****ed tbh and its all your members fault. I hope it works out but you have cheated the system again blatantly and knowingly.

Yes, we are ****ed even if we get players to pay to play for us. It all depends on selling Dalymount.

However this whole slating the club for players that haven't signed and guessing confirmed signings wages is beyond ridiculous.

If Ronan Finn or Gary O Neill is signed, will you concede that Bohs are in fact not working off a reasonable budget?

I see Shels beat Rovers tonight. Going to have to assume that you're paying fortunes in wages to afford a team that good.

However this whole slating the club for players that haven't signed and guessing confirmed signings wages is beyond ridiculous.
    Agreed, if we sign the players in question, we deserve criticism, but people look to be using rumours as proof...

GON signed for rovers apparently...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

We have a budget of around 250,000. Okay? This is affordable due to the income coming into the club. This budget is about 20% probably even less of the budget we have operated on since the deal was done to sell Dalymount, we all know what happened there. This is the first budget that hasn't relied on the sale of the ground. Bohemian Football Club has paid their dues, and are basically starting anew this season. Whatever people might say, Bohs are one of the biggest clubs in this country, and will always have a bigger budget due to this fact, and be able to attract the highest quality. This is the reason I can't understand people giving out about the way the club is being run, the money is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Bohemian Football Club has paid their dues, and are basically starting anew this season. Whatever people might say, Bohs are one of the biggest clubs in this country, and will always have a bigger budget due to this fact, and be able to attract the highest quality. This is the reason I can't understand people giving out about the way the club is being run, the money is there.
    Deluded

Finn to Rovers surely since Anto Murphy didnt sign?

We need Finn far more than GON, basically. Murphy's usefulness as cover has been superseded by another player on trial (McCormack) that looks like being signed. Will Anto sign back for you now do you think?

Everybody will defend their club I guess. I'm sorry for some of the Bohs lads that are basically being forced into defending their board in this case. Bohsboy, of course, should be back around whenever the storm passes over. Thanking snidey Sligo and Shels posts is obviously his level.

Cant see Anto Murphy coming back, he's unhappy that we wouldnt pay for him to fly to Finalnd to have an operation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

Is Barry Murphy going to re-sign for ye?

No idea what the Barry Murphy situation is, if he is happy to resign on substantially reduced wages happy days but we dont really need him with O'Connor and Sexton in the squad.

Anto Murphy to Pats according to Pats fans.

Fantastic night :)

Fantastic night is right, Royseven the highlight.

All the acts were excellent, great atmosphere and craic. Goosd crowd back in Dalymount too. Bottom floor was full, any idea how the upper tier was?

A few empty seats in the upper tier, seems most were no shows rather than unsold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

According to the Mail on Sunday the Dept of Arts, Sport and Tourism has no intention of issuing this letter than has held up Bohs release of funds for settlement of the outstanding payments to players.

Amazing that they got a licence. And will be even more amazing if they are allowed to keep it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Is the match tonight still on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

A few empty seats in the upper tier, seems most were no shows rather than unsold.

how many tiers was there?? i was on the top tier but must have counted only 40 might have been a tier below us!!

Is the match tonight still on?
    Yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

major bill wrote: »
    how many tiers was there?? i was on the top tier but must have counted only 40 might have been a tier below us!!

The circle was sold out, and the ground floor was fairly full (think it was sold out aswell, but people didn't show). Assume you were in the upper circle? Those are the ones we sold last I think.

Also @Ciaran, it seems the FAI knew about this during licencing, but we will find out about our licence tomorrow I suppose.

I was in the circle, a handful of empty seats but between no shows and people standing at the back I'd say it was sold out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

frantic190 wrote: »
    The circle was sold out, and the ground floor was fairly full (think it was sold out aswell, but people didn't show). Assume you were in the upper circle? Those are the ones we sold last I think.

Also @Ciaran, it seems the FAI knew about this during licencing, but we will find out about our licence tomorrow I suppose.

yea upper circle was fairly empty but more room in the bar i suppose:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

How much is it in for a Student tonight? I saw it's 10 for adults. That's a rip.

SantryRed wrote: »
    How much is it in for a Student tonight? I saw it's 10 for adults. That's a rip.
    Nothing mentioned about students

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Anyone fancy going down early and letting me know if it's a fiver for students :pac:

SantryRed wrote: »

Agreed, have to pay those wages somehow tho.

Its almost certainly just the one price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Everybody will defend their club I guess. I'm sorry for some of the Bohs lads that are basically being forced into defending their board in this case. Bohsboy, of course, should be back around whenever the storm passes over. Thanking snidey Sligo and Shels posts is obviously his level.

Still very much here my obsessed friend, recovering from a savage night in the Olympia. Im sorry I cant keep an around the clock watch here due to work commitments, a problem which a lot of the hooped hordes obviously haven't got.

Im delighted to see you're as annoyed as ever by my thanking of posts. I'll endeavour to keep it up as the desired result is being achieved. Its comical stuff, it really is. ;)

THANKS. :pac:

1-1 against Longford.

Looked rusty, especially at the back but to be expected. Thought we played well, Fagan looks a very good player, linked up well. Him and Bisto could prove to be very effective. Plenty of youngsters getting a run out, mostly impressive imo, Dixon, Mcevoy and Forrester especially for me.

Good to be back :)

Bohemians: Murphy, Heary, Lopez, O’Brien, Feely (Kovaciscs 60), Price, Dixon (McEvoy 75), Joyce (Burke 54), Fagan (Somers 79), Flood (Traynor 70), Forrester (Gurendez 54).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭shanec1928

1-1 against Longford.

Looked rusty, especially at the back but to be expected. Thought we played well, Fagan looks a very good player, linked up well. Him and Bisto could prove to be very effective. Plenty of youngsters getting a run out, mostly impressive imo, Dixon, Mcevoy and Forrester especially for me.

Good to be back :)

Bohemians: Murphy, Heary, Lopez, O’Brien, Feely (Kovaciscs 60), Price, Dixon (McEvoy 75), Joyce (Burke 54), Fagan (Somers 79), Flood (Traynor 70), Forrester (Gurendez 54).
    did he sign for youse again? was their a reason that some of the more senior lads didnt play?

Haven't heard that he's signed, dont need him and Skippy so would be happy to lose one of them. No idea why some players didn't appear, apart from Cronin being injured obviously.

Thought it was a good performance for the first game back. We look to be playing a bit of ball at least, I was impressed with Bisto, Fagan and Forrester, all look like they will be getting on the scoresheet this season a good few times. A Team players all slotted in well, would of liked to have seen Sexton maybe get a half in goal.

By the looks of it we have a lot of potential, reckon we will be solid mid table material, hopefully wont be relegation candidates. Looks to have been a slight lack of communication in defense, lot of passes gone astray, hopefully ironed out by the time the season starts.

Very much needed game of football.

Cronin and Burns injured, dont know about Bayly, think thats all the senior players covered. Fagan was a class apart, Forester, Joyce and Dixon looked decent aswell.

Good lad, Don. :)

Keep it up and you can come back in a year or two like Killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

i see chrissy fagan plays 4 bohs now.....guy was some bender complete and utter scobe like i went to trials with home farm(better than him) and he was like 'u poshy' lol

Few of them were injured, Burns probably couldn't fit down the tunnel.

partyndbs wrote: »
    i see chrissy fagan plays 4 bohs now.....guy was some bender complete and utter scobe like i went to trials with home farm(better than him) and he was like 'u poshy' lol
    Cool story bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Brool corey sto

edit: can I hear it again?

And you play for?

Murphy was never out of contract, so he's technically still here rather than signed again I think.