Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert Prophets - PREDICTIONS 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 InYourDreamsOx

Please some one help me iv done barely any study. does anyone have any predictions fr Biology OL Home Ec OL Geog HL Irish OL

pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭fionnsci

Please some one help me iv done barely any study. does anyone have any predictions fr Biology OL Home Ec OL Geog HL Irish OL

pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!

Check this out for biology http://www.youtube.com/user/LeavingCertificate#p/u/1/NcVgSUGXHkY

For geography, if you're doing geoecology then learn your biome well.

Physical, learn essays on one landform (mine is a cirque), interaction with natural process (mine is mainly river rhine), one of quarrying, mining etc., formation of landscape (karst or other) and know tectonics well.

Regional, know primary, secondary and tertiary for an Irish Region (Mine is Dublin), a European region (Paris), and a subcontinental/continental region (India). Maybe learn about the growth of a city, Dublin, Paris etc., and a cultural region e.g. the Gaeltacht or Division in Belgium.

I'd buy the book Exam Skills Geography, it has basically every sample answer you need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭martyllia

English- For poetry I'm doing all females and Frost,i might do hopkins if i have time. For comparatives cultural context and theme/issue and for Hamlet,Hamlet,Claudius,Gertrude & Ophelia, theme of revenge.

Geography- Physical : plate tectonics,rock cycle,human interaction with rock cycle,river processes ,human interaction with surface processes

Regional:primary,secondary,teritary(Paris & Mezzogiorno) -primary activities in Europe haven't come up since 2008,Irish culture,urban growth, secondary,teritary ,urban growth (Brazil)

Elective- colonialism,MNC case study,sustainable development,CAP,CFP

Geoecology- Biome,Human Influence on Biomes,Soil formation

History- Irish: Treaty,Belfast during WW II, CnG and FF economic policy
    European: Everything on Hitler and Germany,Britain, Stalin
    US: Montgomery Bus Boycott,Civil Rights,Vietnam War, Truman,Nixon,Reagan,Roosevelt,McCarthyism

Art- Irish:Newgrange,Bronze Age,Iron Age
    European: Picasso,Van Gogh,Dali,Monet,Degas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Robyn93

those notes were brilliant really helped thanks!
    do you think i'm safe for history if i do
    hitlers foreign policy
    anti semitism
    propaganda numremburg rallies
    stalin show trials
    main social and economic problems facing britain

then
    which govt handled economy better cng or ff
    impact ww2 on belfast
    treaty negotions
    treaty causes cicl war
    sinn fein 1918 election
    1916 rising

then
    cold war
    hungarian uprising
    oil crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭xaoifsx

any predictions for religion?? for the few people that do it!?!? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Robyn93 wrote: »
    those notes were brilliant really helped thanks!
    do you think i'm safe for history if i do
    hitlers foreign policy
    anti semitism
    propaganda numremburg rallies
    stalin show trials
    main social and economic problems facing britain

then
    which govt handled economy better cng or ff
    impact ww2 on belfast
    treaty negotions
    treaty causes cicl war
    sinn fein 1918 election
    1916 rising

then
    cold war
    hungarian uprising
    oil crisis

Well I don't do that later European section but I'd say you'd be grand with that.

In terms of study now I am just doing everthing on Fianna Fáil and Cumann na nGaedhael from 1923 to 1945, because there has been a question on that every year. If worst comes to worst, I already have a pretty good knowledge of the 1916 rising, War of Independence and Civil War and may be able to get by in the exam. But I'd be surprised if something on CnaG didn't come up.

As for European...I'm going to mainly focus on the rise of Fascism and Nazism, and Hitler's foreign policy. I'll also know the whole Communism chapter just for cover. I'm definitely not doing a question with Britain in it or one on technology of war.

And just foreign policy and domestic factors affecting it for America. I'm considering learning something on Johnson's domestic policies and maybe Truman aswell. There's not all that much to learn and will help in a personality question. Not touching civil rights, consumerism or any of those other ones though.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

xaoifsx wrote: »
    any predictions for religion?? for the few people that do it!?!? :D
    yeah religion predictions are greatly needed. i've heard people say the sophists might come up but really no idea at all :/

yeah iv heard that too!! i hope the myth question comes up or to christain movements or galileo..i know these on the back of my hand.. :) i also have a week to focus purely on religion..i say it would be okay.. but predictions would be nice!! :)

i can predict sunny hot weather during our exams!!!...although it has been around for the past few leaving certs..i thought maybe they were going to give it a miss this year!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

I will eat my pencil case if:

-CnG V Fianna Fail economic policies/Sinn Fein and 1918 election/1916 Military failure/Compare North and South Ireland during ww2

-Growth and Oirgin of fascism/ Hitler foreign policy/Anti semitism

-How successful was containment/Collapse of consensus/The Impact of Domestic factors on US FPolicy/Troubled Affleunce(poverty,drugs,violence)

..come up

I will cry hysterically..............:o Feck, Id do a dance on the table!

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Donerkebab

Just wondering lads, what sort of info should be contained in a Theme or issue answer. My texts are Lies of Silence, Dancing at Lughnasa and Il postino. Will the length of a Theme or Issue by shorter than say for example a cultural context answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

lilyos wrote: »
    For Home Ec Higher level....my teacher said...protein or carbohydrates with some type of food ie eggs, milk, cheese, cereals, nuts etc have a good chance of coming up in section B question 1. Hope this helps!! ;)

My Home Ec teacher said pretty much the same thing so id say there's a high chance it'll come up!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 x.Ais.x

LC2010HIS wrote: »

-CnG V Fianna Fail economic policies/Sinn Fein and 1918 election/1916 Military failure/Compare North and South Ireland during ww2

-How successful was containment/Collapse of consensus/The Impact of Domestic factors on US FPolicy/Troubled Affleunce(poverty,drugs,violence)

..come up

You'll eat your pencil case if those topics do come up or if they don't? Cause whatever about the others I thought c na ng/ ff economic policies were likely...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

My Home Ec teacher said pretty much the same thing so id say there's a high chance it'll come up!:)

I hope so! That would be a lovely question!:D

x.Ais.x wrote: »
    You'll eat your pencil case if those topics do come up or if they don't? Cause whatever about the others I thought c na ng/ ff economic policies were likely...?

I will eat it if they do :D:D:D As in, Id be delighted!

*crosses fingers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I will eat it if they do :D:D:D As in, Id be delighted!
    You have a very odd way of expressing your delight! :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 nicenri

Donerkebab wrote: »
    Just wondering lads, what sort of info should be contained in a Theme or issue answer. My texts are Lies of Silence, Dancing at Lughnasa and Il postino. Will the length of a Theme or Issue by shorter than say for example a cultural context answer.

Those are the same texts I'm studying.

For theme and issue you choose you theme and discuss it under the headings Introduction, development, complication and resolution.

For Cultural context my headings are Family, class structure, religion, violence, effects of poverty and the roles of men and women.

My cultural context essay is shorter than my theme or issue but thats probabaly only because I find it easier to write on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

nicenri wrote: »
    Those are the same texts I'm studying.

For theme and issue you choose you theme and discuss it under the headings Introduction, development, complication and resolution.

For Cultural context my headings are Family, class structure, religion, violence, effects of poverty and the roles of men and women.

My cultural context essay is shorter than my theme or issue but thats probabaly only because I find it easier to write on :)

What theme are you doing? Il Postino is one of my texts as well, but all I have according to your headings is introduction, complication, resolution. I don't really have a development. If something on key moments doesn't come up in theme and issue, I'm screwed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭irishgirl10

Alot of people seem to be talking about Anti Semitism as a full essay question? I literally only have a paragraph on that in our history book :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lactobacillus

Anyone thinking that possibly a long Question on Sensory Analysis could appear as it hasn't been up in a while?? In Home Ec!!

Hey guys,

Is it just one theme in the essay, through out??????

*confusion*

Alot of people seem to be talking about Anti Semitism as a full essay question? I literally only have a paragraph on that in our history book :/

Anti Semitism in Nazis Germany:

- Introduction :
    Anti Semitism played a major role in nazi policy in 1933-1945. With the use of propaganda and Hitlers' showmanship, he managed to enlarge and maintain power. The supression of jews sent streams of German refugees into exile and alienation. Hitlers actions concerning the jewish population was the most horrific and inhuman acts ever seen in Europe to date.

P 1 - Nazi ideas/racialism
    (Hitlers ideas - Aryan master race, superior, jews inferior, "Jew is a parasite...." ,Jews were blamed for ww1, great depression etc etc (general)

P 2 - Persecution begins - 1933
    Hitler and nazis NOW fully in power.
    Started by excluding them - say how - boycotts, attacks

P 3 Systematic Persecution - 1935
    How Hitlers rules against jews were more severe - banned from German life
    Nuremberg laws @ the rally - 1935

P4 Kristallnacht - 1938
    Berlin Olympics, Worst oppression : Night of the crystal glass 1938 (the polish jew murdered a official in german embassy in paris, describe events)

P5 Final Solution/Holocaust 1939
    Jews emmigrated, jews sent to concentration camps
    from 1942 - final solution (describe the happenings eg, fit seperated from unfit, poisioned, human experiments

P 6 Conclusion
    Figures of how many died
    Analysis - "...Most horrifying actions ever taken in the 20th century"

Result: 96%

-Hope this helps !

Anti Semitism in Nazis Germany:

- Introduction :
    Anti Semitism played a major role in nazi policy in 1933-1945. With the use of propaganda and Hitlers' showmanship, he managed to enlarge and maintain power. The supression of jews sent streams of German refugees into exile and alienation. Hitlers actions concerning the jewish population was the most horrific and inhuman acts ever seen in Europe to date.

P 1 - Nazi ideas/racialism
    (Hitlers ideas - Aryan master race, superior, jews inferior, "Jew is a parasite...." ,Jews were blamed for ww1, great depression etc etc (general)

P 2 - Persecution begins - 1933
    Hitler and nazis NOW fully in power.
    Started by excluding them - say how - boycotts, attacks

P 3 Systematic Persecution - 1935
    How Hitlers rules against jews were more severe - banned from German life
    Nuremberg laws @ the rally - 1935

P4 Kristallnacht - 1938
    Berlin Olympics, Worst oppression : Night of the crystal glass 1938 (the polish jew murdered a official in german embassy in paris, describe events)

P5 Final Solution/Holocaust 1939
    Jews emmigrated, jews sent to concentration camps
    from 1942 - final solution (describe the happenings eg, fit seperated from unfit, poisioned, human experiments

P 6 Conclusion
    Figures of how many died
    Analysis - "...Most horrifying actions ever taken in the 20th century"

Result: 96%

-Hope this helps !

Cheers! :D how many pages did that turn out to be??

6? Back to back like.....:)

Grand, il try write that out over the weekend and send you on mine..thanks again!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

..come up

I would say 1 from each section is almost certain to come up......I'd invest in an edible pencil case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cjcjcj

squishness wrote: »
    I don't know what topics you're doing. I assume you're doing Late Modern and not Early Modern. We're doing America, Dictatorship and Democracy, Sovereignity and Partition and the Northern Ireland one for the document.

Not Eucharistic Congress that much that's for sure.

All the case studies (obviously) eg. Belfast, Jarrow March
    Stalin and Lenin's Russia
    USSR's role in the war
    Britain's role in the war/Britain during the war
    The Treaty Commission/The Treaty (1921? I think. Don't have my notes on me.)
    JJ McElligott and how FF and Cumann na nGaedhael tackled Ireland's economic situation.
    Vietnam... not so much though.
    Reagan's role as President
    Civil Rights Movement
    Montgomery Bus Boycott
    Counter-culture, youth culture, multi-culturalism
    Economic bust in the US
    Cold War
    Changes in Technology (wouldn't come up by itself though...)
    Red Scare/McCarthyism

You can't really narrow down history that much though. :rolleyes: I basically just typed out everything that wasn't up last year. Dictatorship and Democracy no one is quite sure of though. American everyone thinks it's going to be Montgomery/Civil Rights. Ireland ... it's really a toss up but hopefully it's going to be the Treaty.

Id nearly say:

Pursuit of S & P:
    1. belfast blitz
    2. cumann na geadhael and free state
    3. anglo irish treaty and civil war
    4. culture north & south

Dictatorship & Democracy:
    1. Lenin and russia
    2. WW2 (propaganda or anti-semitism)
    3. france and third republic
    4. britains economic depression/jarrow crusade

America & wider word:
    1. urban poverty & drugs crimes/montgomerybus boycott
    2. vietnam
    3.advances in space, military and technology
    4. key personality (i think reagan mite be it but dunno)

thats what i think but dont take my word for it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭squishness

I doubt Reagan would be up again! His successes/failures came up in 06. Maybe Truman though. Here's hoping for Consensus/counter-culture/economic bust/religion/mass media/higher education.

I would be so happy if the Blitz and the Anglo-Irish Treaty came up. :D I'd cry from happiness.

Also: Hitler. I can't see how something on Hitler couldn't come up. Propaganda/anti-semitism/consolidation of power.

Anything except Sunningdale would be great too. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 x.Ais.x

squishness wrote: »
    I doubt Reagan would be up again! His successes/failures came up in 06. Maybe Truman though. Here's hoping for Consensus/counter-culture/economic bust/religion/mass media/higher education.

I would be so happy if the Blitz and the Anglo-Irish Treaty came up. :D I'd cry from happiness.

Also: Hitler. I can't see how something on Hitler couldn't come up. Propaganda/anti-semitism/consolidation of power.

Anything except Sunningdale would be great too. :p

Are people learning Sunningdale? Cause my teacher told us not to even think about it but I don't know of that's taking a risk... A small one I suppose but still...

Whats up with all the Coleraine predictions?

Why are people so sure like...?:confused::confused::confused: