Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

walshb wrote: »
    Tickets still available, 087 2511772 is a contact number for getting tickets
    for the finals

as a matter of interest Walshb, who's number is that?

is it possible to buy the tickets from mick dowlings, or am i still stuck in the 90's??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

as a matter of interest Walshb, who's number is that?

is it possible to buy the tickets from mick dowlings, or am i still stuck in the 90's??? :D

Carla, IABA sales!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 sharonbabes

Paddy Power have chalked up the odds on all ten male senior final boxing bouts which will be decided at the National Stadium in Dublin on Friday night.

Olympic Silver medalist Kenneth Egan remains the bookies favourite at 2/7 to be crowned All Ireland Senior Champion in his weight category of 81kg for a record breaking eleventh year in row.

Others tipped to do well on the night include Olympic bronze medalist Paddy Barnes at 1/20, Mullingar man John Joe Nevin at 1/14, Crumlin’s Phillip Sutcliffe at 1/4 and Clonmel’s Con Sheehan at 1/16.

The closest bout looks to be between Karl Brabazon and Adam Nolan in the 69kg category, with Brabazon just about nudging ahead at odds of 4/7.

Live coverage of the 2011 Elite National Seniors Boxing Championships will begin at 9.15pm on Friday, 25 February on RTÉ Two.

2011 Elite National Senior Championships

49kg 1/20 Paddy Barnes v Evan Metcalfe 15/2
    52kg 1/2 Michael Conlan v Christopher Phelan 6/4
    56kg 1/14 John Joe Nevin v Tyrone McCullagh 13/2
    60kg 1/3 David Oliver Joyce v Michael McDonagh 2/1
    64kg 1/4 Phillip Sutcliffe v Ross Hickey 5/2
    69kg 4/7 Karl Brabazon v Adam Nolan 5/4
    75kg 1/5 Darren O'Neill v Jason Quigley 3/1
    81kg 2/7 Kenneth Egan v Joe Ward 9/4
    91kg 1/16 Con Sheehan v Patrick Corcoran 13/2
    91kg+ 1/7 Cathal McMonagle v Kenneth Okungbowa 4/1

Betting is currently available on request - 1800 721 821 and will be available on www.paddypower.com later tonight or first thing tomorrow am

Wonder how much you'd get for a ten euro accumulator?:)

Someone figure that out, please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

This is looking pretty good. Anyone know if I can get tickets from the Stadium itself if I walk down there tomorrow or do they have to be booked over the phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

I got some from the stadium today , cant wait it's nearly as good as cheltenham week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Paddy Power have chalked up the odds on all ten male senior final boxing bouts which will be decided at the National Stadium in Dublin on Friday night.

Olympic Silver medalist Kenneth Egan remains the bookies favourite at 2/7 to be crowned All Ireland Senior Champion in his weight category of 81kg for a record breaking eleventh year in row.

Others tipped to do well on the night include Olympic bronze medalist Paddy Barnes at 1/20, Mullingar man John Joe Nevin at 1/14, Crumlin’s Phillip Sutcliffe at 1/4 and Clonmel’s Con Sheehan at 1/16.

The closest bout looks to be between Karl Brabazon and Adam Nolan in the 69kg category, with Brabazon just about nudging ahead at odds of 4/7.

Live coverage of the 2011 Elite National Seniors Boxing Championships will begin at 9.15pm on Friday, 25 February on RTÉ Two.

2011 Elite National Senior Championships

49kg 1/20 Paddy Barnes v Evan Metcalfe 15/2
    52kg 1/2 Michael Conlan v Christopher Phelan 6/4
    56kg 1/14 John Joe Nevin v Tyrone McCullagh 13/2
    60kg 1/3 David Oliver Joyce v Michael McDonagh 2/1
    64kg 1/4 Phillip Sutcliffe v Ross Hickey 5/2
    69kg 4/7 Karl Brabazon v Adam Nolan 5/4
    75kg 1/5 Darren O'Neill v Jason Quigley 3/1
    81kg 2/7 Kenneth Egan v Joe Ward 9/4
    91kg 1/16 Con Sheehan v Patrick Corcoran 13/2
    91kg+ 1/7 Cathal McMonagle v Kenneth Okungbowa 4/1

Betting is currently available on request - 1800 721 821 and will be available on www.paddypower.com later tonight or first thing tomorrow am

Those odds are crazy! these fights will be very tight.

Most definately putting a few bob on Kenneth Okungbowa at 4/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Those odds are absoloutely ridiculous.

Of all the scraps, and odds, I think Ross Hickey will be the upset. That bout will be close.

you'll lose your money there sucko will ko him ya cant run all night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I feel Hickey has a very good chance also. Those odds are value.

I want Philip to win, and to put on a show, but Hickey is slick, cute and fast.
    I see him and his team devising a plan to try and steal this.

Hickey is slick and fast , but hell most guys Phil boxes are he beat Adam Nolan a few weeks ago who is taller than hickey with a similar style. I just hope if he does stop hickey he gets his just rewards and get the best boxer award.
    Also i'm really struggling to pick a winner of the Conlon and Phelan fight that could turn out to be the best fight of the night.

By the way on the paddy power site it ain't letting me put on an accumulator for the senior final , the most i can do is a treble.:eek:

that accumulator issue should be sorted now but lemme know if there are any more probs..

Thanks, Paddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭lex123

Will Con Sheehan go through the championships without dropping a point?surely that would be a 1st??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭iii Stevo iii

Edit: being televised 21.15 -22.45 on RTE2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Really looking forward to tomorrow nights boxing . Does anyone know which ones will be shown live?

lex123 wrote: »
    Will Con Sheehan go through the championships without dropping a point?surely that would be a 1st??

I think so...such a puncher..gonna be a serious display of talent later on tonight :D

Sheehan going thru the champinships without losing a score will not do the sport any good. I find it very hard to believe that none of his opponents scored a shot on him. It hurts the sport, and affirms the issues concerning the comp scoring. Now, haven't seen him fight, so maybe he was that amazing?:confused:

If you're going tonight you'll see how good he is..he's excellent. Scoring is bad this year though. Alot of body shots aren't being rewarded. So annoying

I have seen him several times, lovely boxer/puncher.

Those body shots not getting scores gets my goat.

It's a disgrace that a boxer puts in all that efforet thru the year, breaks
    his balls in the ring and comes out with a 0, a 1, a 2 type score.

Body shots were my main shot. Explains a lot. That or I'm being bitter :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭EriT

Lads can you get tickets at the door ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

EriT wrote: »
    Lads can you get tickets at the door ?

lets hope so, because thats what im going to try and do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Great scrap so far... Ward is very very wild..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why was Egan penalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Ward wins! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Why was Egan penalised?

dropping his head, it was harsh (2 warnings)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

Looks like he has a bit of power in those guns. Definitely don't think he'll be light heavy for too long. Looks an exciting prospect!

I thought deducting one point was harsh.. deducting two points was ridiculous.. It could be argued that he was being pushed down to some extent.. Are they tougher on those rules in the amateur game, I cant remember anything similar ever happening for such a thing in the Olympics?

That Ward lad is a tough lad.. He kept missing with the left and then being tagged by Kenny.. but things started to go his way after the deduction..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭lmao

Does anybody know what odds Ward was to win?

9/4

His technique seems a little loose but if he's able to put an Olympic finalist on his arse twice at seventeen, there could be good times ahead. Can't imagine what he was doing to people his own age. Unbeaten in Ireland since he was ten. What a stat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭lmao

Johner wrote: »
    9/4

Damn had hoped to stick a bet on it today but never got around to it. Egan's age (and partying :)) look like they have caught up with him!

He was very wild in the earlier rounds, but he was cute enough to batten down the hatches in the last round when he knew he was well ahead.. But the could easily have caught a big one when he missed with numerous big lefts, which Kenny continuously ducked... I feel a bit sorry for Kenny actually, it must feel like the changing of the guard for him....

Yeah, felt sorry for Kenny myself. Oozes class in the ring and probably should be Olympic Champion were it not for some slightly dodgy judging. Can't help thinking he should have more international medals however! Perhaps a little harsh!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Unbeaten in Ireland since he was ten. What a stat!

sure thats the same as meself, although me last fight was when i was 13 :pac::pac:

Joe Ward. future potential world heavyweight champion :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

Ward wins! :D

ran out to vote, missed the feckin thing just in time for darren fight. wait for youtubes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

boxireland is that you leaning on the ring with your cameras?

Don't like Sheahan's jerky style. Wish he'd be a bit smoother. Looks like he's trying to be Naz.

Damn thought Sutcliffe would be one of the live fights, did he win?

Scummy stuff from Joyce there.

Didn't show much class either at the end. Deserved what he got. Terrible selection of fights for the most part. Egan and ward the exception. Surely Rte could have influenced the order in favour of the more videogenic weights!

FFS, they cut the boxing short to show tired repeats of naked camera. RTE are meant to be a public service broadcaster.

Scummy stuff from Joyce there.

The low blow, or his disappointmet at the end?

The blow was hardly deliberate, an inch or two higher and it
    was a legit shot.

What's the crack with the referee counting the guy out, AND then DQing
    Joyce? If the ref there and then thought it was low, why did he count?
    Similar happened with O'Neill. He gives Quigley a count, as if to say the shot was legit, then he publicly warns O'Neill?

Also, that RTE coverage stinks. No other fights spoken of? Four live fights and nothing else from the others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭iii Stevo iii

RTE are a shower of pr****. What reason would they have to show 3 or 4 fights, not even show highlights or give results of the others and then put on repeats of a 6year old show.

So, how do we find out the scores for the remaining fights? I checked the IABA website and RTE's and there doesn't seem to be live scores coming through. Just the result of the Egan fight.

How did the McMonagle and Nevin fights go?