Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think the world will end in 2012?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

Kasabian wrote: »
    December 31st at midnight moving from east to west.

actually its the 21st (its got to do with the solstice).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

actually its the 21st (its got to do with the solstice).

That's the problem with stuff like this, now I have to change my booking on the spaceship. I suppose I will get charged extra there probably is a high demand for seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

well the mayan calculations, the pharoahs calculations and signs in stonehenge, ancient astrologists all point to december 21, 2012 as a major event day - where the world will change in some way shape or form. thats not to say it won't be around any longer.

Now that's a prediction I can believe in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Also, the Mayans thought that there were 360 days in the year. Retards. Putting a stick in the ground and watching it for a year would have told them otherwise. Even if they did predict the end of the world or a change in conciousness which they didn't, I still wouldn't put much faith in them.

Kasabian wrote: »
    That's the problem with stuff like this, now I have to change my booking on the spaceship. I suppose I will get charged extra there probably is a high demand for seats.

well, I am taking that day off, just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭CrashBandicoot Girl

No I dont think it will end, Nostradamus said the world wont end until 3027 and his predictions have been pretty accurate...

Also I dont want to die as a teenager, that would really suck :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

If the world ends where does it go? Is "will human life end" not a more appropriate question? The world is going no where for another 6 billion years ago; this end of the world nonsense is just human narcicism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

To be honest, something probably will happen on December 21st, 2012 because that's the date people are up in arms about and some freak(s) will make sure something will happen that day.

I know where I'll be that day........................late Xmas shopping wondering what the fùck am I supposed to be buying for the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Hell is other people. The worlds hell enough already without aliens invading or comets crashing down on the liffey.

I will be getting drunk, eating tapas and marinating fine cheese on 31st Decemeber 2011 in preperation for our new world order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

No I don't think the world will end in 2012, and neither did the Mayans, incidentally. That's something which is usually forgotten or ignored when this is brought up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

I for one welcome our new Mayan overlords, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

I think these things all happen in cycles if you look at a 1900 up to about 1950 there was:
    WW1 and 2,
    there was the beginning of Irish war of independence,
    boxer rebellion in China,
    Italian King assassinated,
    Plague in India,
    Russian Revolution,
    The San Francisco earthquake,
    earthquake in Italy killing 150'000,
    Japanese prince assassination,
    1918 Spanish flu pandemic

if you then match that to the disasters that have occurred so far and will continue for the next 40 years I think you will find equal amounts through the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

liah wrote: »
    Wait, there's people who ACTUALLY believe there's a remote possibility of it being true?

Really? :confused:

According to the poll, 16% believe this will happen.

Then again, according to the opinion polls, roughly the same amount believe Fianna Fail should be running the country after the next election.

Not sure which one is scarier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

I think the earth is going to get so sick of this 'Is the world gonna end' talk that it will just explode anyway and I hope im around to see it happen, definitely one for the grand children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

This site gives a humourous selection of the predictions of 'The End' past, present and future.

http://web.me.com/lorenmadsen/endings/pick_a_year.html

"Prediction is very difficult, especially if it's about the future."

Niels Bohr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

Sofaspud wrote: »
    Of course it won't, Busted have been to the year 3000!

Apparently it hasn't changed much.
    Except that people live underwater, that is.

They lied to us through song! I hate when people do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Lets burn it down anyway so this will never happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

No.

I did have a dream last night though that the magnetic poles had reversed and for some reason Wales was the new magnetic South Pole, there was also something to do with Sweden, riot gear, and a book shop...? And I was also the Taoiseach.

No I dont think it will end, Nostradamus said the world wont end until 3027 and his predictions have been pretty accurate...

Also I dont want to die as a teenager, that would really suck :(

ahh, nostradamus - the worlds favourite fortune teller - you can manipulate anything he says to suit the scenario.

at least the mayan calendar/pyramids/newgrange/stonehenge, etc have some sort of system and methodology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

If we all turn our TV's off standby this will all be avoided.

Columbia wrote: »
    No I don't think the world will end in 2012, and neither did the Mayans, incidentally. That's something which is usually forgotten or ignored when this is brought up.

you need to read all the posts before replying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Sykk wrote: »
    Having thought about this it doesn't fit in the conspiracy theory forum as there's no conspiring, just an odd question.

I was in an argument recently with a group of mates in which most of them do believe it will end in 2012.

Reasons being there has been an increasing amount of natural disasters (Australia, 1 side of fire, the other underwater)
    Economic meltdown, governments refusing to step down etc, water shortages all over the world.. Oil shortages, oil prices etc.

IMO there has always been massive natural disasters, governments ousted, water shortages.. There just wasn't globalized news coverage of it all, so people didn't really know about it.

So, simple question, do you think the world will end in 2012 or not?

No it won't. Unless it is hit by a million asteroids before then, it should last another few billion years (depending on the sun's lifespan).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Wait...didn't the mayan calender have 20 months in a year? And didn't they believe in that calender around the year 300AD?

I took foundation maths but even I can figure out that their 2012 prediction isn't even close to the Christian calender's 2012.

Alot of the doomsday believers can't seem to figure that out though. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Also, the Mayans thought that there were 360 days in the year. Retards. Putting a stick in the ground and watching it for a year would have told them otherwise. Even if they did predict the end of the world or a change in conciousness which they didn't, I still wouldn't put much faith in them.

I think more to the point its astounding how much faith some people have in one societies ability to predict the distant future but not their own downfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Assuming for a second some of the 20 eejits that have voted yes aren't just doing it for the lulz, what in Christ are you doing wasting your last bit of time on earth on the fking internet for?

go out and rob banks and do heroine you wasteful twats... not like you can be punished is it?

dr gonzo wrote: »
    I think more to the point its astounding how much faith some people have in one societies ability to predict the distant future but not their own downfall.

Still though it's a great money spinner for opportunists in Hollywood, the book publishing business, book authors, stock markets etc looking to make a quick buck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

All this talk about solar flares affecting satelites seems a bit silly does it not - surely the best engineers in the world would have taken this into account before building the satellites day 1 would they not???

if they didn't it would have been a major oversight?? - something tells me that they did think about it

and i really hope they did or else there could be some major problems all across the globe and I don't even want to think what could possibly happen..

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    All this talk about solar flares affecting satelites seems a bit silly does it not - surely the best engineers in the world would have taken this into account before building the satellites day 1 would they not???

if they didn't it would have been a major oversight?? - something tells me that they did think about it

and i really hope they did or else there could be some major problems all across the globe and I don't even want to think what could possibly happen..

Well scientific logic can only explain and educate on the obvious, you are never going to convince the doomsayers that their masturbatory fantasies of the world ending is nothing but a delusion.

No doubt on the 1st of January 2013 when questions are asked, there will be some excuses about God/ Zeus or some Mayan god falling asleep on the handle, or deciding he'll "forgive us" for the time been, and put off the doomsday for a later date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

yea, they shut them down when they detect incoming flares to avoid damage to the systems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Sykk wrote: »
    So, simple question, do you think the world will end in 2012 or not?
    Of course not. Why would it end in 2012?

But you always find enough fools out there to make a few bobs on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ForceOfNature

next they will be telling us that strech armstrong never went to the moon:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I hope it does, at least then I won't have to hear any more about the f*cking government/recession.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

oh yeah just like all the computers crashed in 1999.........oh wait...

Yes, all computers which were not Y2K compliant or patched to allow for it DID crash. What is your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Anyone else planning a big party for 21st Dec 2012? Should be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Gottalovegreys

Fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Honestly, no I dont think it will.

But, I'm so cynical at this stage I wouldn't give a sh!te if it did, so long as we had a few months of complete and utter last-days-of-the-Roman-Empire style hedonism where we got wasted on booze, weed, speed, blow, & Toilet Duck and fucked anything that moved or stood still, before the meteor hits or the alien spaceships blow the fuck out of us or whatever.

But thats only my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Anyone ever see that film "Knowing"? biggest pile of shite ever. About the end of the world though.
    twas a solar flare wot done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

surely the best engineers in the world would have taken this into account before building the satellites day 1 would they not???

Never mind Engineers, what about the crowd of nippels that let a little country fall down the toilet....oversight!! money sight more like, thats what it all comes down to, (In their eyes) be it building satellites or a car park.
    End of the world?....My arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No, and if i'm wrong, who the **** is going to tell me so the day after?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

I have bet £100 on the world ending in 2012, so will be rich hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

The Bible says...(My particular favourite ,
    Interpretations of the Christian Bible reveal that the date for Armageddon, the final battle between Good and Evil, has been set down for 2012.

ONLY ON PAY PER VIEW!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Bull****

Die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

tiger55 wrote: »
    I have bet £100 on the world ending in 2012, so will be rich hopefully.

I got ****e odds on it not ending, :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

just Endas luck, waits 35 years, finally becomes t-shirt and the feckin world goes and ends:D - its the enda everything, he's jinxed I tells ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

No :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If it keeps going the way it is, with corruption, greed and the like taking over, it might well be a blessing in disguise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭hardcore

I'm getting ready for the day that the world will end, 21st december 2012 is the day there will be a catastrophic disaster one that will wipe out a large chunk of the human race and that includes Ireland.

The Mayan calender states that the world ends at the end of the full cycle which is due for next year and also there is other factors that could lead up to this. Volcanic eruption of Yellowstone would wipe out the north of America and would cover the worlds athmostphere in ash and smog. We would die of bad air and not the kind of air our green hippies go on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

There's gonna be some queue getting into heaven and hell that day, so I intend on killing myself and the family the day before. Fail to prepare, prepare to queue.

hardcore wrote: »
    The Mayan calender states that the world ends at the end of the full cycle which is due for next year and also there is other factors that could lead up to this. Volcanic eruption of Yellowstone would wipe out the north of America and would cover the worlds athmostphere in ash and smog. We would die of bad air and not the kind of air our green hippies go on about.
    The thing is, this isn't the first full cycle, it has already rolled over 12 times without any catastrophic event. Is this all to do with this being the 13th rollover or something?