Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late late Show Friday 11th February 2011AD

1171819202123»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

well it definitely wasn't meant to be used as a complementary term.

And you're ignorant to why it's wrong to use, then? Unbelievable ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Really happy Jedward's song got picked :D
    The song is extremely catchy :o

And as nice as Falling was, I thought it sounded abit much like Azerbaijan's "Drip Drop" last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Really happy Jedward's song got picked :D
    The song is extremely catchy :o

Syphilis is also catchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Syphilis is also catchy.

In a good way -_-

"Shake my collar, collar eh eh eh"

*shakes collar*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

And as nice as Falling was, I thought it sounded abit much like Azerbaijan's "Drip Drop" last year.

Exactly what i thought...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Thats what I meant when I said it would be lost in a sea of generic clones this year. There's going to be 10 identical songs and by much better people than Ireland's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Ripping off The Script, nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Nolanger wrote: »
    Ripping off The Script, nice!

Well (I posted earlier) that I think it's a lot like: Into The Great Wide Open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

I would say Cynthia is a nightmare in real life

She definitely has that Padraig Flynn air about her as others have said......probably felt a bit that the whole thing was really beneath her now, being a Barrister / businesswoman and all that !! What a cow.

Actually liked this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

F**k me! 75 pages of whinging shyte this week..... Must be some kind of record....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 breaghwy

Come back Dustin all is forgiven :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

breaghwy wrote: »
    Come back Dustin all is forgiven :D

2 Turkeys are better than 1.!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Have to laugh at all the folk in hear claiming jedward f*cked over real singers. Now I am certainly no jedward fan but did ya hear some of the sh*te that was passed off as "potential eurovision winners" ????

That tune talking with Jennifer took the biscuit, the most middle of the road tripe performed by a bloke who was neither a decent singer, nor a credible performer (anyone who did not cringe at his shapes needs a taste transplant). Fair play apparently he co-wrote the song himself but it was a poor poor song. Everything about it, the lyrics especially which is kinda the problem with a song like that, which is aimed at being taken seriously.

The Nikki Kavanagh one was clearly RTE's choice, she performs regularly with the RTE orchestra FFS, so it was an inside effort by all accounts. The audience was even full of her neighbours and extended family and friends. Couple that with the fact that the song is eerily similar to Jordan Sparks tune Battlefield.

Now I cannot stand seeing those eejits prancing around but to say they should stand aside and let supposed real talent have a crack at it, well I say thats a load of bollix. There was no other talent there last night FFS. The eurovision isn't about a great singing voice anymore, its a freak show and these lads are perfect. People copped on 10 years ago that if you want to be a credible singer then don't enter the Eurovision.

Listening to Brian Kennedy was quite funny too. Musical standards have dropped significantly he reckons, thats what he tells himself when he sees nobody buys or even listens to his sh*te anymore, to make himself feel better.

jedward are pure scutter but their kind of scutter goes perfectly with the Eurovision.

Plus i'm delighted to see RTE disappointed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Shakyfan wrote: »
    F**k me! 75 pages of whinging shyte this week..... Must be some kind of record....

Change your posts per page to something respectable young man.

Jayob10 wrote: »
    That tune talking with Jennifer took the biscuit, the most middle of the road tripe performed by a bloke who was neither a decent singer, nor a credible performer (anyone who did not cringe at his shapes needs a taste transplant).

To be fair, if you heard the single .. it's a very good vocal performance.. but I would agree his performance last night did not match the recording..
    The Nikki Kavanagh one was clearly RTE's choice,

Kind of seemed like that alright.. RTE really pushed Niamh Kavanagh's song last year. I think Mooney was conscious of that when he was playing the songs for the first time on his show this week... They pushed Niamh Kavanaghs' song hugely last year, it was completely unfair.. At least they've corrected that inequality I spose..
    Listening to Brian Kennedy was quite funny too. Musical standards have dropped significantly he reckons, thats what he tells himself when he sees nobody buys or even listens to his sh*te anymore, to make himself feel better.

Brian Kennedy is a fine singer, but he's never written or performed a good song.. it's kind of surprising that good songwriters havent sought him out to sing their songs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Cris Jones

Brian Kennedy is a fine singer, but he's never written or performed a good song.. it's kind of surprising that good songwriters havent sought him out to sing their songs..
    JonathanAnon needs to think before she posts. Not a clue.

Cris Jones wrote: »
    JonathanAnon needs to think before she posts. Not a clue.

She :confused:..

My point is that he has a great voice but the songs just arent there.. Pick your favourite hit from his singles.. All very mediocre imo..

* Hollow (1990)
    * Captured (1990)
    * Believe It (1990)
    * A Better Man (1996) - Reached number 28 in June 1996 (UK Chart)
    * Life Love And Happiness (1996) - Reached number 27 in Sept 1996 (UK chart)
    * Put The Message In The Box (1997) - World Party Cover reached number 37 in April 1997 (UK Chart)
    * Get On With Your Short Life (2002)
    * George Best - A Tribute (2005) - Reached number 4 in December 2005 (UK Chart)
    * If You Don't Believe In Me (2006)
    * Destination (2006)
    * Every Song Is A Cry For Love (2006)

By saying that I have no clue, I can only presume you think these are great songs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

By saying that I have no clue, I can only presume you think these are great songs?

Either that or is disagreeing that Brian is a fine singer ;)

Brian Kennedy is a fine singer, but he's never written or performed a good song..
    Did ye see him slating Lordi saying no-one could hum their Hard rock hallelujah song? He just doesn't get 'monster metal' and thinks they're a novelty act. If he opened his ears, eyes, and mind he would realise that Lordi are part of a metal genre along with bands like GWAR and Green Jelly. Tosser!

Did ye see him slating Lordi saying no-one could hum their Hard rock hallelujah song?

Ye, couldnt understand that.. I thought it was a really catchy song.. Pretty ironic considering Lordi won, and he came nowhere with a probably one of the worst songs we have ever entered in the competition.. Every Song Is A Cry For Love.. awful rubbish..

He's just a Nordie wan*er acting nice to get on with everyone. True artists don't 'play' the system. Hate the way Irish people think they're experts on the Eurovision because we won it 15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Ye, couldnt understand that.. I thought it was a really catchy song.. Pretty ironic considering Lordi won, and he came nowhere with a probably one of the worst songs we have ever entered in the competition.. Every Song Is A Cry For Love.. awful rubbish..

I love the way he had a pop at Britney Spears aswell, which is pretty bizarre when ya think he has alot in common with her, neither write their own material, however Britney has had alot more success.

She :confused:..

My point is that he has a great voice but the songs just arent there.. Pick your favourite hit from his singles.. All very mediocre imo..

* Hollow (1990)
    * Captured (1990)
    * Believe It (1990)
    * A Better Man (1996) - Reached number 28 in June 1996 (UK Chart)
    * Life Love And Happiness (1996) - Reached number 27 in Sept 1996 (UK chart)
    * Put The Message In The Box (1997) - World Party Cover reached number 37 in April 1997 (UK Chart)
    * Get On With Your Short Life (2002)
    * George Best - A Tribute (2005) - Reached number 4 in December 2005 (UK Chart)
    * If You Don't Believe In Me (2006)
    * Destination (2006)
    * Every Song Is A Cry For Love (2006)

He is a successful artist and the LLS show invited him on to comment on the Song for Europe on Friday night. He is in the music business and knows what he is talking about.;)
    Either that or is disagreeing that Brian is a fine singer ;)
    He is a good singer. He has made a career out of it.;)
    Is that the song he sang for Ireland in the Eurovision:cool: if it was voted for in the Song for Europe part then that was the voters fault and not his. You probably voted for him yourself. I thought it was just as good as any other songs Ireland put through to the Eurovision myself plus he was an established singer.:)
    He's just a Nordie wan*er acting nice to get on with everyone. True artists don't 'play' the system. Hate the way Irish people think they're experts on the Eurovision because we won it 15 years ago.
    What is a "Nordie"...He is an "expert" on the Eurovision because he took part in it.;)
    Jayob10 wrote: »
    I love the way he had a pop at Britney Spears aswell, which is pretty bizarre when ya think he has alot in common with her, neither write their own material, however Britney has had alot more success.
    she has had global success but BK has not done too bad either. He wasnt really having a "pop" at her that I heard, just comparing music styles.

He is a good singer. He has made a career out of it.;)

He certainly is Cris.. but my point is that the songs he's released have been a very poor vehicle for his voice.. I mean can you genuinely pick a decent song out of those singles I listed above.. (I mean not without picking one out just to contradict me.. lol) With the right songs, he could have been a huge star imo..
    Is that the song he sang for Ireland in the Eurovision:cool: if it was voted for in the Song for Europe part then that was the voters fault and not his. You probably voted for him yourself.

Just thinking back.. I wouldnt have voted for that song, or probably any of them... But weren't there five final songs in the final.. one of which he had written, "Every Song Is A Cry For Love"... and then he sang the other four songs (written by other people) as well. Then the audience or whoever happened to pick that song as the winner.. I think that's how it worked anyway.. Was an odd setup altogether..

He certainly is Cris.. but my point is that the songs he's released have been a very poor vehicle for his voice.. I mean can you genuinely pick a decent song out of those singles I listed above.. (I mean not without picking one out just to contradict me.. lol) With the right songs, he could have been a huge star imo..

Just thinking back.. I wouldnt have voted for that song, or probably any of them... But weren't there five final songs in the final.. one of which he had written, "Every Song Is A Cry For Love"... and then he sang the other four songs (written by other people) as well. Then the audience or whoever happened to pick that song as the winner.. I think that's how it worked anyway.. Was an odd setup altogether..
    The George Best Single was the worst. :o He has made a good career out of being a singer eg he has sang at the Whitehouse and eg thanked President Clinton for knowing the words to some Irish songs. So he is a big star and a talent. He did just as well in the Eurovision as Niamh Kavanagh did eg. He has a career outside of the Eurovision and is always a welcome guest on shows such as the LLS because he knows the music business and is great to chat to.

Yeah, you're right. We weren't given a choice of singer that year. It was the song we chose. He sang all five on the night, including one he had a hand in writing and thus it was pretty obvious which one he wanted to win.

I'm not going to comment on his talents or his history as a musician, outside of saying that I think outside of this country, he'd have to be classified as an unknown I will say that he talked some major nonsense on Friday night and is the personification of what I dislike about Ireland's song choice process. He's a relic of a bygone age and doesn't have a clue what the entire of Europe is looking for. His comments about Lordi were absurd and he may as well have said "Those young'uns with their rappy rock music; they play it too loud!"

Yeah, you're right. We weren't given a choice of singer that year. It was the song we chose. He sang all five on the night, including one he had a hand in writing and thus it was pretty obvious which one he wanted to win.

nearly forgot.. I went a searching on the InterWeb and found them... He sang THREE songs that night..

Song A : Jimmy MacCarthy - The Greatest Song Of All..

Song B: Don Mescall - All Over The World

Song C: Brian Kennedy - Every Song Is A Cry For Love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If we sent U2 over to the fatherland we would still finish last

We have very few friends in Europe now

I'm not going to comment on his talents or his history as a musician, outside of saying that I think outside of this country, he'd have to be classified as an unknown I will say that he talked some major nonsense on Friday night and is the personification of what I dislike about Ireland's song choice process. He's a relic of a bygone age and doesn't have a clue what the entire of Europe is looking for. His comments about Lordi were absurd and he may as well have said "Those young'uns with their rappy rock music; they play it too loud!"
    He made comments on Friday night that he was right to do as he represented Ireland at the Eurovision, has a music career outside of the Eurovision and knows what he is talking about.;) Oh JonathanAnon has been doing some internet searching and he finds that BK sang 3 of the songs on that night :o BK is not a "relic of a bygone age" you are just agreeing with jonathan anon . are you jonathon'anon's other id:D
    nearly forgot.. I went a searching on the InterWeb and found them... He sang THREE songs that night..

Song A : Jimmy MacCarthy - The Greatest Song Of All..

Song B: Don Mescall - All Over The World

Song C: Brian Kennedy - Every Song Is A Cry For Love

Thanks for doing your internet research, Irelands song for europe that year was sending over an established star. How did niamh kavanagh do last year could be your next internet search.:)

He made comments on Friday night that he was right to do as he represented Ireland at the Eurovision, has a music career outside of the Eurovision and knows what he is talking about.

I think you're picking me up wrong.. Like I said before, Brian Kennedy is a fine singer... my only problems with him was that I felt he spoke too derogatorily of the previous winners, given that he himself couldnt win himself .. I'm sure he'll get another shot if they use this same "menthor" method of finding the potential singers in the future... I just hope he gets a better song though..

Oh watch here for where Ryan gets mad with the audience..

I think you're picking me up wrong.. Like I said before, Brian Kennedy is a fine singer... my only problems with him was that I felt he spoke too derogatorily of the previous winners, given that he himself couldnt win himself .. I'm sure he'll get another shot if they use this same "menthor" method of finding the potential singers in the future... I just hope he gets a better song though..

Oh watch here for where Ryan gets mad with the audience..
    He didnt win but neither did Niamh Kavanagh and he has a career outside of the eurovision

Saw your initial post, I'm not admitting defeat.. ;) Kavanagh won it 1993. She lost badly last year, but that doesnt take from her first win or her credibility..

Can wait to see what this crazy pair do in the actual competition.. should be some craic..

Saw your initial post, I'm not admitting defeat.. ;) Kavanagh won it 1993. She lost badly last year, but that doesnt take from her first win or her credibility..

Can wait to see what this crazy pair do in the actual competition.. should be some craic..
    Glad that you wait to see my posts before I check for spelling mistakes.:rolleyes::D How is your other id doing.:rolleyes: Niamh won the Euro before yes but she didnt win it last year. she did really badly. and she doesnt have a career out side of the eurovision does she.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

. are you jonathon'anon's other id:D

.:)

Leave this type of thing out.

JonAnon is a credible poster in this forum. He doesn't need to create an "other id" and he certainly doesn't need you accusing him of same.

Get over yourself! ;)

He made comments on Friday night that he was right to do as he represented Ireland at the Eurovision, has a music career outside of the Eurovision and knows what he is talking about. Oh JonathanAnon has been doing some internet searching and he finds that BK sang 3 of the songs on that night BK is not a "relic of a bygone age" you are just agreeing with jonathan anon . are you jonathon'anon's other id

Ok, looking back over my last post, I will admit I was a little harsh to BK. He's a decent enough singer and he does have some semblence of a career outside of the country.

I stand by my comments that he doesnt have a clue though. When I call him a relic, I'm refering to the fact that he seems to think a nice song or something "Irish" will win the competition, when anyone who looks back over the last few years will see that's simply not the case.

In the last four years, the winners have all been under 30 years old (19, 23, 24 & 27, if my maths is correct, going backwards in years). Five years ago, a rock song won it, which is obviously aimed at the youth of Europe. Continuing back,in 2005, a 24 year old won it and in 2004, a 33 year old won it, but with a preformance which involved (iirc) whips, fire, scantly clad men and women and a lot more bling, so to speak.

But BK, and many others at RTE, are still convinced that Ireland can win with someone in their 40s, singing a "nice" balad. No pop tracks, no backing dancers, no energy. Just an over-reliance on nostalgia and "credibility". Every year, a load of old fogeys go on the Eurovision and moan about the young'uns and seem to start every sentence with "back in my day..."

BK may have a "credible" career but he's not really one you could define as "popular". RTE fills it's critic roles on the Late Late with a load of old people, nearly ignoring the young people who will control the show on the night. Jedward are a "young" act. They are adored by young teenage girls (who I believe control all voting on all talent shows). They are well known in England. They have pledged to start hitting European shows to get themselves better known. And they have more chance to appeal to the youth of Europe that Niamh Kavanagh or Brian Kennedy will ever do.

As for the accusation I'm an alt, can I just say...lol. Heaven forbid someone might actually agree with someone else on the internet. But then I'm missing that the internet is actually the plaything of a single entity who posts as millions of different accounts...:P

But BK, and many others at RTE, are still convinced that Ireland can win with someone in their 40s, singing a "nice" balad. No pop tracks, no backing dancers, no energy. Just an over-reliance on nostalgia and "credibility". Every year, a load of old fogeys go on the Eurovision and moan about the young'uns and seem to start every sentence with "back in my day..."

Yeah, if we want to compete, we need to send them what both the judges and the voting audience are looking for.... And that seems to be a combination of youth / looks / dance act / upbeat song... if we keep sending the type of song that our Eurovision purists THINK should win, then we will continue to finish in the bottom half..

I think there is an amount of snobbery and nostalgia about "the good old days" of Eurovision from elder Eurovision statesmen like Logan and Shay Healy.. Brian Kennedy also comes across as being a bit bitter about the thing. He's probably still pissed off that he was beaten by a crowd of monsters (Lordi) in 2006.. :D

Niamh Kavanagh had a much better attitude towards the thing last year.. more of an "all I can do is my best, and let the others do the judging" attitude. And in choosing to send her, I think that those behind the Irish Eurovision effort may have been influenced by the fact that Johanna (Iceland) came second to Rybak with a big ballad the previous year.. Johanna was stunningly beautiful as well, which I'm sure helped..

Leave this type of thing out.

JonAnon is a credible poster in this forum. He doesn't need to create an "other id" and he certainly doesn't need you accusing him of same.

Get over yourself! ;)
    ;) How would you know he is a credible poster are you another id of him..:p otherwise get over yourself.;) I guess I wont get a thanks from Jonathaonanon for this like you did.:D
    Ok, looking back over my last post, I will admit I was a little harsh to BK. He's a decent enough singer and he does have some semblence of a career outside of the country.

I stand by my comments that he doesnt have a clue though. When I call him a relic, I'm refering to the fact that he seems to think a nice song or something "Irish" will win the competition, when anyone who looks back over the last few years will see that's simply not the case.

In the last four years, the winners have all been under 30 years old (19, 23, 24 & 27, if my maths is correct, going backwards in years). Five years ago, a rock song won it, which is obviously aimed at the youth of Europe. Continuing back,in 2005, a 24 year old won it and in 2004, a 33 year old won it, but with a preformance which involved (iirc) whips, fire, scantly clad men and women and a lot more bling, so to speak.

BK may have a "credible" career but he's not really one you could define as "popular". RTE fills it's critic roles on the Late Late with a load of old people, nearly ignoring the young people who will control the show on the night. Jedward are a "young" act. They are adored by young teenage girls (who I believe control all voting on all talent shows). They are well known in England. They have pledged to start hitting European shows to get themselves better known. And they have more chance to appeal to the youth of Europe that Niamh Kavanagh or Brian Kennedy will ever do.

As for the accusation I'm an alt, can I just say...lol. Heaven forbid someone might actually agree with someone else on the internet. But then I'm missing that the internet is actually the plaything of a single entity who posts as millions of different accounts...:P
    Your post doesnt make any sense. ;):D its all over the place. make a point. or are you just spamming.;)
    Yeah, if we want to compete, we need to send them what both the judges and the voting audience are looking for.... And that seems to be a combination of youth / looks / dance act / upbeat song... if we keep sending the type of song that our Eurovision purists THINK should win, then we will continue to finish in the bottom half..

I think there is an amount of snobbery and nostalgia about "the good old days" of Eurovision from elder Eurovision statesmen like Logan and Shay Healy.. Brian Kennedy also comes across as being a bit bitter about the thing. He's probably still pissed off that he was beaten by a crowd of monsters (Lordi) in 2006.. :D

Niamh Kavanagh had a much better attitude towards the thing last year.. more of an "all I can do is my best, and let the others do the judging" attitude. And in choosing to send her, I think that those behind the Irish Eurovision effort may have been influenced by the fact that Johanna (Iceland) came second to Rybak with a big ballad the previous year.. Johanna was stunningly beautiful as well, which I'm sure helped..
    Hi again jonathananon, still posting, bk came across as knowing what he talked about something you could learn from.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭jimaneejeebus

I just saw it on rte player..... pure and utter gold! Words cannot describe how much I laughed when Jedward won. The Boo's from the audience. Tubridy telling them to shut up.... and the boys John and Ed doing what they do best

I think this has to be one of the funniest moments in tv history?