Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest cosmetic purchases and reviews

• Registered Users Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Using the cult beauty discount code (YOU15) I got a beauty blender set; which contains a regular, a blush and micro beauty blender as well as cleaning soap for about 35e and the Becca backlighting primer and under eye corrector for 42e! Delighted!!

(I'm using the sterling -15% discount as a lazy estimate for the euro rate, lol)

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Thanks I was rather hoping that someone would say you don't really need it and I wouldn't be so tempted then! :P
    Anyone know if UD still do they mini version of the all nighter setting spray? I don't see it on Debenhams website and wanted to try it and would grab it if I was placing an order with Debenhams (have no Urban Decay counter near me)

I keep talking myself out of the new ud basics. I'm sure I saw the travel sized version of the all nighter last week it's brilliant.
    You could try the nyx setting sprays they are very good and are about €12.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Thanks to the Cult Beauty code I've ordered a beauty blender and a Morphe fan brush.

https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/morphe-brushes-large-soft-fan-brush-m310.html

https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/beautyblender-pure-sponge.html

Dying to try the beauty blender as I've never used one before, only have the Real Techniques one so excited to see what the BB is like. :)

Thanks to the Cult Beauty code I've ordered a beauty blender and a Morphe fan brush.

https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/morphe-brushes-large-soft-fan-brush-m310.html

https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/beautyblender-pure-sponge.html

Dying to try the beauty blender as I've never used one before, only have the Real Techniques one so excited to see what the BB is like. :)

They don't compare IMO, you'll love it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭mejulie805

GingerLily wrote: »
    They don't compare IMO, you'll love it :)

Yeah you'll never look back! I love using their soap to clean mine too!

Thanks I was rather hoping that someone would say you don't really need it and I wouldn't be so tempted then! :P
    Anyone know if UD still do they mini version of the all nighter setting spray? I don't see it on Debenhams website and wanted to try it and would grab it if I was placing an order with Debenhams (have no Urban Decay counter near me)

http://m.debenhams.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10052_10001_123932024599_-1

There's the link to the mini version of the setting spray :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Anyone notice there's a huge discrepancy between Debenhams € prices and their UK site?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Cria wrote: »
    http://m.debenhams.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10052_10001_123932024599_-1

There's the link to the mini version of the setting spray :D
    Thanks for enabling me!! :D
    Email from Debenhams......
    "Thanks for your order"

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Hoolies

Has anyone got the Urban Decay Naked Ultimate Basics palette and what did they think of it? I only just purchased the UD Naked 2 palette last week and have used it non stop - it is miles better than the W7 dupe I had been using. But the Naked 2 has more shimmers in it than I would really gravitate towards. So trying to justify buying it when I have ABH and Blank canvas palettes already in use also and I only have one set of eyeballs!

I have this. I love matte colours and the pigment is good I just find very little shade difference in the various brown transition shades. Now maybe to a pro they could work it but for me, I'm applying 4 different colours to get the one brown colour :-)

Thanks for enabling me!! :D
    Email from Debenhams......
    "Thanks for your order"

lol your welcome
    Enjoy 8 hours of flawless make up :D

anna080 wrote: »
    Anyone notice there's a huge discrepancy between Debenhams € prices and their UK site?

Yes I did some products are much dearer on the Ireland website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Hopeful2016

Tried out the BC Master Series One palette. Not particularly impressed. Found the pigmentation to be poor enough and it doesn't have great lasting power. Doesn't compare to UD or Kat Von D which I would normally use. I know it's cheaper (and I also got it on discount for €22) but at €35 full price it's only €10 or so cheaper than UD Ultimate Basics. Debenhams also often do 10% off beauty which would reduce the difference.

I guess it'd be ok for day to day wear, which is what I'll use it for, but not for a night out or an all-day event. I've seen MUA reviews online, saying they use it in their kit. If I was paying to get my make up done for a wedding or something and someone pulled this out, I definitely be objecting.

Amazingly I managed to get onto the Boots website and place an order :D

Picked up this Benefit set and two of these face masks to see what they are like.

http://www.boots.ie/en/Benefit-real-cheeky-party-set-ROI_1907757/

https://www.boots.ie/en/Garnier-Moisture-Bomb-Tissue-Mask_1864094/

Really didn't need the Benefit set but I said feck it I'm treating myself.

Just waiting on the 75% sale to start now for a few more treats...:o 🙈🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Can anyone recommend a good brush cleaner that I could order from boots, cloud 10 or Debenhams.....im all out and need to wash them this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I have the UD ultimate basics and while it's grand, it's my least favourite of the naked palettes (I have them all except naked basics 2). The packaging was very cheap, the mirror slipped out in mine and got stuck in the hinge and broke. I de-potted it into my z-palette which is better. I found more fall out and they were much harder to blend than the other naked palettes.

Can anyone recommend a good brush cleaner that I could order from boots, cloud 10 or Debenhams.....im all out and need to wash them this weekend.
    Johnson's baby shampoo. Best there is and cheap as chips too.

http://www.boots.ie/en/Johnsons-Baby-Shampoo-300ml_7370/

I also have used the Dr Bronner liquid soap, got it in TK Maxx, its grand, but I prefer baby shampoo, better and cheaper too.

https://www.drbronner.com/DBMS/category/CITRUSORANGE.html

Thanks so much to Cactusgal these should be arriving in the post some time next week. I can't wait to try them all out :)

L'Oreal Paris Brow Stylist Sculptor https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6256044&color=&skuId=sku6218318&CATID=360457&size=0.04

L'Oreal Eyeshadow Amber Rush https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6117065&color=&skuId=sku6088742&CATID=360457&size=0.12 - dying for this one, have wanted it for ages.

CoverGirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Liquid Makeup Foundation https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6247097&color=&skuId=sku6211512&CATID=360453&size=1.00

Oh my god the excitement of new make up. I won't need to buy any for months but that won't stop me 🙈🙊

Real techniques do a brush cleaning gel it's very good. Boots are selling them, although I mainly use baby shampoo I don't find much of a difference.

Thanks so much to Cactusgal these should be arriving in the post some time next week. I can't wait to try them all out :)

L'Oreal Paris Brow Stylist Sculptor https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6256044&color=&skuId=sku6218318&CATID=360457&size=0.04

L'Oreal Eyeshadow Amber Rush https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6117065&color=&skuId=sku6088742&CATID=360457&size=0.12 - dying for this one, have wanted it for ages.

CoverGirl Ready, Set Gorgeous Liquid Makeup Foundation https://www.walgreens.com/store/store/product/view_product_details.jsp?defaultRadio=Ship&id=prod6247097&color=&skuId=sku6211512&CATID=360453&size=1.00

Oh my god the excitement of new make up. I won't need to buy any for months but that won't stop me 🙈🙊

What is cactusgal is it a shipping company. I use an American address to ship my make up over.
    That amber rush is stunning I bought it last year. I love the cover girl 3 in 1 foundation.

I want to buy the IT Cosmetics your skin but better cc cream does anyone have it.

What is cactusgal is it a shipping company. I use an American address to ship my make up over.
    That amber rush is stunning I bought it last year. I love the cover girl 3 in 1 foundation.

I want to buy the IT Cosmetics your skin but better cc cream does anyone have it.
    :D Cactusgal is a poster on here :D She was so kind to pick up those items for me while over in the US, that's how I got them. I use Go Send usually, but only when I'm getting a lot as I find the cost of shipping plus the exchange rate so bad it only makes sense (to me anyway) to use Go Send for a lot of stuff :)

Never tried IT cosmetics, wouldn't mind trying a few bits from them, just not sure what to try :)

:D Cactusgal is a poster on here :D She was so kind to pick up those items for me while over in the US, that's how I got them. I use Go Send usually, but only when I'm getting a lot as I find the cost of shipping plus the exchange rate so bad it only makes sense (to me anyway) to use Go Send for a lot of stuff :)

Never tried IT cosmetics, wouldn't mind trying a few bits from them, just not sure what to try :)

Haha I was thinking why have I not heard of this company. The exchange rate and shipping is crazy and on top of all that customs.

I keep reading about that cc cream lately I wonder if I'm being sucked into the American bloggers plugging of brands now. :D

Haha I was thinking why have I not heard of this company. The exchange rate and shipping is crazy and on top of all that customs.

I keep reading about that cc cream lately I wonder if I'm being sucked into the American bloggers plugging of brands now. :D
    Yeah the customs. Good Jaysus I got caught last year when I ordered something.

I actually bought the Mario by ABH Palette and a few other small bits so I'm going to grab a few more wee bits and then have them shipped tome.

I might pick up something from IT cosmetics cos I am dying to try some of their stuff. Maybe their bye bye under eye. God knows I've blue bags to do me for life :D

My favourite UK blogger loves this stuff, she named it as her only favourite makeup base 2016, which carries a good bit of weight for me!

I really want a lorac pro palette, might use one of these shipping companies, hmmmm.

Also really want to try the tarte shape tape concealer!

My favourite UK blogger loves this stuff, she named it as her only favourite makeup base 2016, which carries a good bit of weight for me!

I really want a lorac pro palette, might use one of these shipping companies, hmmmm.

Yeah the customs. Good Jaysus I got caught last year when I ordered something.

I actually bought the Mario by ABH Palette and a few other small bits so I'm going to grab a few more wee bits and then have them shipped tome.

I might pick up something from IT cosmetics cos I am dying to try some of their stuff. Maybe their bye bye under eye. God knows I've blue bags to do me for life :D

Oh I'd love the mario pallette is it good I have the modern renaissance so I was thinking I didn't need this .

GingerLily wrote: »

I have the Lorac pro and three of the Lorac mega pro palettes . They are very pigmented and easy to blend, as far as I know amazon are an authorised stockist for Lorac well they were about a year ago.

Oh I'd love the mario pallette is it good I have the modern renaissance so I was thinking I didn't need this .
    I don't have the palette yet as I haven't had it shipped from the US yet, I can't wait to play around with it though.

I don't have the Modern Renaissance palette as the brighter colors aren't ones I'd wear so I gave it a miss and opted for the Mario one instead.

I've a Tarte palette from last year, it's okay, shadows aren't great pigment wise or wear wise but the blushes are gorgeous, but you do need a light hand to avoid the clown look :D Haven't tried anything else from them though I'd like too.

I don't have the palette yet as I haven't had it shipped from the US yet, I can't wait to play around with it though.

I don't have the Modern Renaissance palette as the brighter colors aren't ones I'd wear so I gave it a miss and opted for the Mario one instead.

I've a Tarte palette from last year, it's okay, shadows aren't great pigment wise or wear wise but the blushes are gorgeous, but you do need a light hand to avoid the clown look :D Haven't tried anything else from them though I'd like too.

I love the tarte blushes you do need a light hand with the Christmas collection blushes, I find the regular blushes need a heavier hand.
    I have the tarte xmas collection palettes from the last two years eye shadows aren't great but the two bloom palettes are very good. For pigmentation Kat Von d is brilliant.

I love the tarte blushes you do need a light hand with the Christmas collection blushes, I find the regular blushes need a heavier hand.
    I have the tarte xmas collection palettes from the last two years eye shadows aren't great but the two bloom palettes are very good. For pigmentation Kat Von d is brilliant.
    Yeah this is the set I have

https://www.amazon.com/Tarte-Holidaze-Coolectors-Portable-Palette/dp/B0163KQABS

I love the lip colour and the blushes, the shadows and mascara are pretty meh, I wouldn't be rushing out to buy the full size mascara to be honest. I wouldn't mind trying the bloom palettes if they were better quality and had good pigmentation too.

I haven't tried KVD palettes, am tempted by the shade/light eye palette though. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Ladies, I hope someone can help. Wanting to order one Kylie Lip kit as a gift, it's $29, how much can I expect to pay in customs fees? Trying to decide if it's worth it or not!