Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jedward to win EU vision thingy tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Who won???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Desire to Aspire

Who won???

Jedward by two points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Jedward by two points.

Thanks, I can sleep well now knowing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

MoodeRator wrote: »
    Was humoured by your sracasm then noted the "AFC" in the name! :D Bless you!
    Stands for Arsenal FC. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Who won???

Hint - It wasn't talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Have you seen Eurovision? Jedward have real talent anyway. They don't rely on stupid background dancing. Brilliant singers and i think they will win. Fantastic talents.

Can see them getting a number 1 in the UK soon.

fúck I think you are actually serious now!:mad: STOP IT!

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Stands for Arsenal FC. :)
    You actually felt the need to explain that? seriously? cop on!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Great performance tonight and a great show put on by RTE.
    This is great for Ireland and we'll finally shake of the image that we're
    all drunk fold singing idiots.
    Now Europe will know that we also have gays who can't sing, about lipstick.
    Can I take the time to remind people that we are still the only EU country with water fluoridation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

wush06 wrote: »
    Build a bridge

Calling the OPW!

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mulner92

Most people i know absolutely despise them and i don't think they deserve the hate. Fair play to them for going to Eurovision and i like their song We shouldn't forget its only eurovision, people say we'll be an embarassment we already are. Funny hearing the people giving out about them winning, can be pretty sure they probably didn't vote for the other acts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

How do we actually know how the public voted? How will we ever know? All we got was Ryan telling us the supposed results. Who's to say that RTE don't rig these things?

You need to realise that the other acts have little or no appeal to the very young audience, also key difference is probably the fact that majority of 10-12 year old girls voted for jedward anyway, i felt limerick badly let down Don Mescall, he was right in it till then

Who won???
    RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

I'm pretty sure this was on the terms and conditions of the IMF/EU loan, the small print at the end that no one bothers to read

:pac: <= still alive :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭positron

Irish people have absolutely no self respect by the looks of it! Just goes to show Simon Cowell's poo is perfume to some people around here!

I think we have great musicians in the country who could do a cracking job at Eurovision. Traditional bands, specialist bands - they can all go there and do a 'different' type of song and impress, rather than sending turkeys and gimps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The Euro song contest used to be aboit the quality of the song and singer; it's not anymore. It's glam, style, charisma and energy now. Jedward suit this down to the ground. All they need now is to change their name to Jedvardas, or some other similar Eastern European name and they'll be sure to get votes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Worse TV I saw in a long time, seems as now that we cannot win the eurovision we are hell bent on making a mockery of it, if they think this is going to encourage talent in the future forget it. RTE are an embarrasment! Bring on Pat short next year with the jumbo breakfast roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

positron wrote: »
    Irish people have absolutely no self respect by the looks of it! Just goes to show Simon Cowell's poo is perfume to some people around here!

I think we have great musicians in the country who could do a cracking job at Eurovision. Traditional bands, specialist bands - they can all go there and do a 'different' type of song and impress, rather than sending turkeys and gimps!

Dervish?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Go Team Jedward!!!

Not really but who gives a damn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

………………..,-~*’`¯lllllll`*~,
    …………..,-~*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll¯`*-,
    ………,-~*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll*-,
    ……,-*llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll.\
    ….;*`lllllllllllllllllllllllllll,-~*~-,llllllllllllllllllll\
    …..\lllllllllllllllllllllllllll/………\;;;;llllllllllll,-`~-,
    …...\lllllllllllllllllllll,-*………..`~-~-,…(.(¯`*,`,
    …….\llllllllllll,-~*…………………)_-\..*`*;..)
    ……..\,-*`¯,*`)…………,-~*`~.………….../
    ……...|/.../…/~,…...-~*,-~*`;……………./.\
    ……../.../…/…/..,-,..*~,.`*~*…………….*...\
    …….|.../…/…/.*`...\...……………………)….)¯`~,
    …….|./…/…./…….)……,.)`*~-,……….../….|..)…`~-,
    ……/./.../…,*`-,…..`-,…*`….,---…...\…./…../..|……...¯```*~-
    …...(……….)`*~-,….`*`.,-~*.,-*……|…/.…/…/…………\
    …….*-,…….`*-,...`~,..``.,,,-*……….|.,*...,*…|…...\
    ……….*,………`-,…)-,…………..,-*`...,-*….(`-,…

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

God they really cannot sing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

I'd sooner see a good song go out there and lose than a bad song go out there and win to be honest, eurovision or not. I'm almost certain it was fixed. Home base probably saw the results of the text vote and then told the 'regional' judges what to say.

People used to look at Irish music and see the Cranberries, U2 etc, now they look at us and we're sending out Jedward. Agh!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Good...........fùckin'...............grief!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Oh lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

the eurovision is a joke because WE made it a joke, the booing of the result on last nights late late summed it up, now we send turkeys and dustin ;) not long ago we were sending this and winning by a landslide

I don't really care about eurovision too much and neither should anybody else. We sent decent acts in dervish,ecetera and Niamh Kavanagh in recent years but the less said the better. I hope they do well, sure you would need a laugh in theses difficult times. As for the voting maybe people just didn't vote enough for the other acts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

h8ors gona h8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

jaysus dustin the turkey had more going on for him.
    but the truth is its often the stupidly cheesy or OTT acts that win - with the help of neighbours voting for neighbours....
    the eurovision started going downhill in quality when the voting was made public. which makes me think the public perhaps shouldnt be bloody voting. look at the x factor and wagnergate. sure isnt one of these shows where jedward came from - too many young ones with phones eh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

rossie1977 wrote: »
    the eurovision is a joke because WE made it a joke, the booing of the result on last nights late late summed it up, now we send turkeys and dustin ;) not long ago we were sending this and winning by a landslide
    Eurovision has been a joke for years. It's not Ireland's doing, novelty acts have been doing well for years.we were still sending "legit" singers up until very recently and we were coming dead last. If a country send a serious song into Eurovision nowadays you look like a load of eejits who can't take a joke.

last year a Lily Allen knock off won, it seems Europe is looking for contemporaty stuff now. Ireland hasn't got any decent contemporary acts, so let's just let Jedward do it forever.

Anyway, Ireland will never win again. Countries just vote for their neighbours and we're an island :(

We get a few points from the UK and that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Our very own Bevis and Butthead

• Registered Users Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

What most Irish people seen to not understand is that the Eurovision is a totally different animal than it was in the 80's/90's. it makes me wonder are the only people who vote on the late late old(ish) ones who remember Johny Logan winning it?

The norm is now cheesy bubblegum pop stuff and novelty acts that are a bit of fun and entertainment for the night. Sending in super serious Trad acts like Dervish and Niamh Kavanagh get us nowhere, especially since Niamh had the nomination won before she even sang the bloody song, what the hell does that say about the attitude of Irish voters?

Yes, Block voting is still an issue, but the judges are back to a degree and the Grimes are probably the best chance we've had in years. if you don't lke it, grand, don't watch. otherwise, just enjoy it for what it is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

I can't see why everyone is giving out that Jedward is our act for eurovision. They are probably our best chance we've had in years because they fit the bill. There fun, cheesy, dancing and the song is catchy. I may not be their biggest fans but for once i think we got it right, its not as silly as dustin which was a pisstake really (funny for Ireland) and not as serious as Niamh Kanvagh.Its a bit of fun!

Unfortuntly Trad bands don't work, soppy songs don't work, and on the rare occasion we have sent a good song we got to the final but thats it. We have to move with the times and not go on about the past. Its the only way.

Block voting is a problem but the reintroduction of judges of half the votes its more even than it has years before!!! Its a night of entertainment whether its our guilty pleasure, a night with the parents or there is nothing on!!! And we shouldn't be taken it as seriously as some of the comments before have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah acts like Jedward shouldn't be representing us, but what they hey,they known in England so may get a few more votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Good to see special needs people getting the same breaks as ordinary people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

phasers wrote: »
    Eurovision has been a joke for years. It's not Ireland's doing, novelty acts have been doing well for years.we were still sending "legit" singers up until very recently and we were coming dead last. If a country send a serious song into Eurovision nowadays you look like a load of eejits who can't take a joke.

last year a Lily Allen knock off won, it seems Europe is looking for contemporaty stuff now. Ireland hasn't got any decent contemporary acts, so let's just let Jedward do it forever.

and that lily allen knock off was number one in numerous countries BEFORE the eurovision, turkey last year sent in a band that had won the best new band on mtv awards, we send dustin and jedward, see whats wrong with the picture here

niamh had a nice song but lets be serious a mid 40s 20+ stone woman would need an amazing song to win

Scráib wrote: »
    I'd sooner see a good song go out there and lose than a bad song go out there and win to be honest, eurovision or not. I'm almost certain it was fixed. Home base probably saw the results of the text vote and then told the 'regional' judges what to say.

People used to look at Irish music and see the Cranberries, U2 etc, now they look at us and we're sending out Jedward. Agh!! :mad:

What makes you almost certain it was fixed?

I can't remember U2 ever entering the National Song Contest, maybe someone should ask Bono to do it next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

rossie1977 wrote: »

The Eurovision is a joke because the "New Europeans" vote for each other in overwhelming block votes. Bring back the Berlin Wall. We were happy enough in our Western ghetto. Sure they want to join our organisations, but then vote overwhelmingly for each other.

This contest was serious when Dana won and panels consisted of trained musicologists, songwriters and artists. Now, with television votes for 20 acts, the Eastern countries vote for each other ( I think because there is a lot of migration), but Western countries dont ( Ireland and the UK, for instance). You can top the poll with 6%, with 20 acts.

While this continues we have no reason to care. Keep sending Turkeys.

Because if we were to send the modern equivalent of All Kinds of Everything it would come last, or second last, if it even got into the finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Jedward on the late late?

I was too busy staring at Maireads legs. Durty. <rubs knees>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭positron

The norm is now cheesy bubblegum pop stuff and novelty acts that are a bit of fun and entertainment for the night. Sending in super serious Trad acts like Dervish and Niamh Kavanagh get us nowhere, especially since Niamh had the nomination won before she even sang the bloody song, what the hell does that say about the attitude of Irish voters?

I think it should be about participating, not winning. You don't have to win the darn thing to have a good time! Think of it as a platform to say hello to other European nations. Why not try and show a good and different side of Ireland there to the Europe-wide audience. What we are proud of, what our culture is about, what we have to offer to rest of the world? And what are we doing with such a large audience? Dustin! And UK TV show rejects! And some people think what are are doing is great fun! But the joke is on us people, and if anyone is laughing, they are laughing at us, not with us!

Dervish?

Sure. How about Kila? Now they are different!

= Dustin! And UK TV show rejects! And some people think the it's a crack - but the joke is on us. If anyone is laughing, they are laughing at us, not with us!

I see it as us laughing at the eurovision.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭fivestar

I was laughing, they're the best thing on tele... along with those hilarious gypsies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The audience on the night were booing, and rightly so. It was a mark of disrespect on our part. I hope Jedward are interpreted in the same way. Sadly, I think they will do well

Sadly, I think they will do well

No they wont, but we could send Christy Moore singing ride on ( were it new) and he would come last if he even qualified, as would a new song by Morrissey were the English to send him - he has expressed an interest,

the point is this: the competition is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Dunjohn wrote: »
    This is the Jedward thread. The election thread is further down.

Personally, I thought we'd learned our lesson after Dustin. Frankly I'm amazed we want to compound that. I don't despise Jedward as much as most do, I think they're having a good laugh and fair play to them but musically, they're not titans. We know who Jedward are. We've been watching them since Pop Idol or XFactor or whatever piece of crap they came from. The rest of Europe hasn't. They won't get it. They'll get it even less than they got Dustin.

Actually you're wrong. Jedward have already penetrated* europe. I was in a tesco in Prague a few weeks ago and who do I hear on the tannoy? Jedward feat. Vanilla Ice.

As you can imagine, I dont read many magazines over here but I have the odd browse now and again to see whats in this months Top Gear magazine. What greeted me on the front of one of the glossy magazines? You guessed it Jon-jo and Edwina.

Unlike Dustin, who no-one east of Howth understood, they will be taken serious and could get a few votes too.

/me shudders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

the only thing that can be done is to not speak of 'them'
    they feed off people hating them (like jordan just with no tits).
    just ignore 'them' and re-direct any conversation where they come up.
    now let this be the last post on those stains, now new unrelated discussion..mmmm.... talentless irish eurovision entries, no no, irelands most punchable heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

the only thing that can be done is to not speak of 'them'
    they feed off people hating them (like jordan just with no tits).
    just ignore 'them' and re-direct any conversation where they come up.
    now let this be the last post on those stains, now new unrelated discussion..mmmm.... talentless irish eurovision entries, no no, irelands most punchable heads.

I disagree. In the boy band named Jedward, there is at least one tit, if not two.

I think it should be about participating, not winning. You don't have to win the darn thing to have a good time! Think of it as a platform to say hello to other European nations. Why not try and show a good and different side of Ireland there to the Europe-wide audience. What we are proud of, what our culture is about, what we have to offer to rest of the world? And what are we doing with such a large audience? Dustin! And UK TV show rejects! And some people think what are are doing is great fun! But the joke is on us people, and if anyone is laughing, they are laughing at us, not with us!

Sure. How about Kila? Now they are different!

You do know that Dervish represented Ireland in 2007? They finished last with 5points, all from Albania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Congratulations to John and Edward at winning the rite to represent Ireland, two lads from Dublin who made it. We should all get behind them and wish them well, come on Ireland