Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dragon Age 2

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I am quite enjoying it, but it does have some seriously awful flaws. Most have been mentioned already (and I have not read the full thread): Blatantly reusing maps, repetitive quests, no real main plot (that I've seen), stuck in Kirkwall (I don't know yet if this will not change, I suspect it won't), clunky dialogue (especially when he comes out with something pretty damn different to the chosen option). I could go on.

I do, however, find it quite interesting that the rogue has powerful area of effect attacks and my mage does more melee dps than the fighters.

Also; Force Mage. You bastards. At first I giggled like an evil school girl when I saw that Force Mage was a specialty. Telekinetic shockwave, you say? YES PLEASE. This is going to be great. Wait. It doesn't do any damage? Any damage. Zero. Screw you. In the end I just poured points into Primal and haven't looked back.

Also, if it turns out the bad guys are blood mages summoning demons one more god damn time I think I'll scream. Also the blood magic spells do not and never have looked any fun to me. I don't get the appeal.

Basically I could write an entire essay on the flaws, but I'm enjoying it a lot none the less. Combat is fun, if a little frenetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

5 1/2 hours in, really enjoying it tbh, finding the combat fun (Playing as a warrior). Dont get what all the whinging was about, doesnt seem that different from DA1...

Playing on hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

20 hours in and still in act 1 :O Really enjoying it especially the companions quest. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Zillah wrote: »
    Also; Force Mage. You bastards. At first I giggled like an evil school girl when I saw that Force Mage was a specialty. Telekinetic shockwave, you say? YES PLEASE. This is going to be great. Wait. It doesn't do any damage? Any damage. Zero. Screw you. In the end I just poured points into Primal and haven't looked back.
    FFS that's disappointing, I was looking forward to being like a Jedi and flinging people around with the wave of a hand.

Although being a force mage doesn't sound too bad, if Unshakable is as good as it sounds:
    The mage suppresses the physical and elemental force of incoming attacks, becoming nearly immune to knockdown or other effects that interrupt combat. + 100 Fortitude

That could be very handy.
    Zillah wrote: »
    Also the blood magic spells do not and never have looked any fun to me. I don't get the appeal.
    Well I never played as a Blood Mage in DA:O but from what I heard, that Blood Slave spell (or whatever it's equivalent name in DA:O was) was one of the best spells in the game. So it might be worth checking out for that.

Overall, despite the lack of cynical Golem companions and other less important but still apparent flaws, I'm enjoying the game. The dumbing down is mostly superficial and I don't mind it too much. The combat is still a lot of fun. I'm playing on hard and find myself pausing a lot to strategise, which is what I want. The thing that irks me the most so far is the lack of a high camera view. It makes the precise placement of area of effect spell markers very difficult and the fighting inside confined rooms incredibly awkward.

I don't mind the inclusion of a fully voiced main character as much as I thought I would. The voice acting is well done. However I find it very frustrating that the dialogue options you get are never what you actually say and often totally different.

Would someone who has finished or at least got quite far in the game answer me two questions. What is the level cap and do you get multiple class specialisations or just the one?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Finished it tonight. Really enjoyed it overall. Definitely some bad features, which have been talked about here already, but overall i think it was a great game. Took me 30 hours to clear, with nearly all side quests completed.

Ending Spoilers -
    So i was kind of annoyed how things turned out at the end. I spend the entire game protecting the Mages, saying that not all of them are evil blah blah, and the First Enchanter goes all Blood Mage on me. Seemed kind of stupid, but i guess it just shows that they were pushed too far by the Templars.

I'm really interested to see how certain decisions would be different if i had been a Mage myself...time to start playing again i think :)
    Creature wrote: »
    Would someone who has finished or at least got quite far in the game answer me two questions. What is the level cap and do you get multiple class specialisations or just the one?

Not sure what the cap is, but i'd say you'd be hard pressed to reach it with a normal play through. I was lvl24 when i finished it, and did pretty much every side quest (bar 2 i think). And you get two specialisation points through the game, at lvl7 and lvl14 (iirc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Cap is 50 , made use of the xp glitch to have some fun earlier

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

Boss battle in this game is fecking rediculously unreal. Im playing this game on hard difficulty everything seems going well until i reached
    Anicient Rock Wraith
    Spent an hour trying to kill this git. I don't really wanna knock it down to Normal difficulty, especially since I did the
    Giant Spider and Dragon
    Any pro tips how to defeat the mofo? :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Finished it this morning. 35 or so hours total. Enjoyed it although Act 3 is really short compared to act 1 and 2. The ending does feel rushed.

I'm going to list some stuff that happened through my playthrough so if everybody wants to list their choices, we can compare and have a laugh. Off the top of my head mind, so I might miss stuff. Bare in mind this is a long game so.....Long post incoming :p I was going to use spoiler tags but it would blank out the entire post and be annoying so.....

SPOILER ALERT :D

Right well, I went with a Warrior(two hander) which basically means Carver dies at the start and Bethany lives....they did this for party balance I think.

I did the vast majority of the game with Aveline as my tank, Isabela as rogue dps and Anders as healer/debuffer. Worked quite well. I would swap anders out occasionally for bethany or Merril for some more dps.

I agreed to take Flemiths medallion thingy to the top of the mountain. When I got there, she flew off and I never saw her again. Bit surprised she didn't show up later but obviously they needed to "retcon" her back to life because most people killed her in Dragon Age 1.

I Bought my way into kirkwall by doing jobs for that Merc.....but refused to kill people so he ambushed me later and I killed him good and proper :D.

I left Bethany behind when going into the deep roads as I had a feeling she would die. She does apparently if you take her. If you leave her behind, she gets abducted by the templars and has to spend 80% of the game in the Circle of mages so you cant use her in your party. I found this a shame as her AoE spells are immense.

Bertrand betrayed me in the deep roads....I didn't make a deal with the Rock Demon thing and killed him. Good fight this. Hiding behind the pillar to escape his AoE attack reminded me of World of warcraft though :p.

When I caught up with Bertrand he had gone insane from the idol and I let Varric kill him for revenge. Varric wanted the Idol and went a bit mad but I made him give it up and I used Sandal, the dopey "enchantment?" kid to destroy it.

I sided with Mages alot throughout the game. My champion was a Mage in Dragon age 1 so I felt sorry for them being abducted all the time. Lots of blood mages though :rolleyes:.

The Viscounts son ended up dying when he converted to the Qunari's religion.

My mother also ended up dying. I killed that blood mage who was after the "flower killer" instead of going after the killer myself so I think this is what got her killed. He ended up kidnapping her for her face....zombie style. :p

I went 50/50 with the dude who owned the mine but dragons kept coming back so they all died eventually. The large High dragon was real tough to kill. Took me a good 10 minutes. Longest fight in the game by far. Lots of potion usage but got him first time out which was cool.

I helped Isabella get her relic to save herself as she was my romantic interest. Great dialogue. She ran off with it though.....and came back just in time to give it to the arishok. I ended up killing the Arishok. I denied his duel and my party helped me kill him. He was a bit of a douche. Happy he died.

One quest I found interesting was where you escort the Qunari who doesn't talk and has the giant lock on his face. He ended up killing himself and I'm curious if you can get him as a party member if you choose a different option. Probably not though.

I reunited My Uncle with his estranged daughter and I think I made her keep the Gem he was after.

Alistair showed up as king for a bit of dialogue so that was cool.

Fenris ended up killing everyone who had wronged him.
    Isabela got her Giant boat.
    I took merril from the dalish and helped her reconstruct the mirror. Her keeper was possessed and I killed her. I managed to talk the dalish into not fighting.
    Aveline fell in love with one of the other guards.

Anders. Wow. He killed that mage girl by accident. I tried to help him get rid of his demon and in my game....at the end he blew up the Chantry and killed buckets of people :eek: I killed him in retribution but he didn't fight it.

I sided with The mage enchanter against Knight Commander Meredith. He ended up using blood magic and becoming possessed though :rolleyes:(sigh) and he died. I also killed Meredith in the end aswell. Went off into the sunset with Isabela.

Thats it pretty much. All I could think of off the top of my head. Enjoyed it. Still prefer Dragon age 1 though.

Kirby wrote: »
    SPOILER ALERT :D

What he said :P

That's almost exactly as what happened me. Like almost sentance for sentance :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Creature wrote: »
    Although being a force mage doesn't sound too bad, if Unshakable is as good as it sounds:
    The mage suppresses the physical and elemental force of incoming attacks, becoming nearly immune to knockdown or other effects that interrupt combat. + 100 Fortitude

That could be very handy.

Yes, it's pretty cool, but really really does not make up for it. It is very frustrating to be able to hurl a room-ful of enemies against the walls only for them to stand up a second later as though nothing happened. Great, that spell was worth the mana...It has certain tactical uses, but overall just not nearly as much fun as it should be. And of course cliffs/lava/rivers are all fake, people bounce off invisible walls if they get hurled towards them. You fire off Fist of the Maker, do a small bit of damage and...you're down 40 mana and can make people stumble around while your team does the actual work.

It's extra weird too, because Arcane has a shock wave power that does the same thing except can stun people, and it has telekinetic cage...making the force mage spells pretty crappy by comparison.

A lot of this game is very poorly thought out. Anyway, Primal is awesome. Stonefist feels like a potent telekinetic thrust, Petrify is tactically wonderful, and all that lightning! I love lightning.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Yeah I think I'll mage an evil mage bitch for my second playthrough. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Kinda dissapointed with the end
    Sided with the templars first then got that ending, then sided with the mages and it was pretty much the same

Its worth taking Isabella with you everwhere, some of the conservations she has while you're running around are brilliant in particular with merrill, also there's 2-3 quests that she's a must for the cutscenes.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I was gifted this on Steam, so that solved my problem of not wanting to buy it. :D

My opinion of it is still the same. On it's own, it's not a bad RPG. Nothing remarkable, but fun and has it's moments (I'm quite fond of Merrill). Not really keen on any of the others so far.

The fact that a lot of the minor dialogue choices don't make a difference to the NPC's reply is really grating. The dumbed down conversations are almost heartbreaking in comparison to old Bioware games. Almost all the loot having the "Usable by Hawk" tag is annoying. The "junk" inventory is moronic and just takes up space. Reusing locations is lazy, and still the locations are criminally underused, empty affairs. The fights are repetative and you can actually tell what is going to appear and where, when you start a section. And some of the quests just seem to resolve themselves for no reason (the ones where you find something and instantly know who to give it to and where they'll be, despite the item description not giving any clues).

But despite all these faults I am enjoying it. It's not a great game by any stretch of the imagination. I wouldn't even class it was a Bioware game, more an EA game trying to emulate Bioware. And that's my main problem with it. I wanted a sequel to Dragon Age: Origins, and got a spin off instead. It unfair to hold it against the game, but it seems they were so close to getting it so right that it's hard to forgive them for getting it so wrong.

I guess I'm just bitter in my old age. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

after reading so many people have enjoyed the game despite all the changes, I'm kinda tempted to pick it up and give it a run through but I might wait a while. I played the witcher for the first time last week and after that amount of sheer digital awesomeness, the faults/streamlined changes in da2 might just grate on me all the more

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Finished my 1st play through over the weekend, as a Female mage, and I have to say that i liked the game. I didn't mind the steamlined changes, and taught they made sense for consoles (might not be the case for PC). I
    sided with the mages in my first play through. Will try the templar side the 2nd time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I got my review copy on PC there on Friday and tried installing it.

First of all, it took 20 minutes to start. All this faffing about of filling out online forms and not taking previously imputed details like the CD key or EA Account details brought about RAEG! It's either some plan to turn people off PC gaming entirely or that they simply don't give a flying fig, but it was a fundamentally broken process.

Finally got to click on the "Play" button and it crapped out. Hit the forums up and found it was a potential video error, so checked and found my nVidia drivers were out of date. OK, my bad I though, I should've checked that sooner.

Then it wouldn't recognise that I had my wired XBox controller plugged in and insisted I use the mouse and keyboard. Now here we have a position where reality has turned in on itself and the mouse & keyboard is possibly the most awkward way to try play this game. The default controls layout made no sense to me.

So after all that, I was too annoyed to play and didn't really do anything past the very first bit which overly fiddly cause it's a real time game with a turn based control system.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

humanji wrote: »
    I was gifted this on Steam, so that solved my problem of not wanting to buy it. :D

My opinion of it is still the same. On it's own, it's not a bad RPG. Nothing remarkable, but fun and has it's moments (I'm quite fond of Merrill). Not really keen on any of the others so far.

The fact that a lot of the minor dialogue choices don't make a difference to the NPC's reply is really grating. The dumbed down conversations are almost heartbreaking in comparison to old Bioware games. Almost all the loot having the "Usable by Hawk" tag is annoying. The "junk" inventory is moronic and just takes up space. Reusing locations is lazy, and still the locations are criminally underused, empty affairs. The fights are repetative and you can actually tell what is going to appear and where, when you start a section. And some of the quests just seem to resolve themselves for no reason (the ones where you find something and instantly know who to give it to and where they'll be, despite the item description not giving any clues).

But despite all these faults I am enjoying it. It's not a great game by any stretch of the imagination. I wouldn't even class it was a Bioware game, more an EA game trying to emulate Bioware. And that's my main problem with it. I wanted a sequel to Dragon Age: Origins, and got a spin off instead. It unfair to hold it against the game, but it seems they were so close to getting it so right that it's hard to forgive them for getting it so wrong.

I guess I'm just bitter in my old age. :)

It does lack a certain epic feel that DA:O and Mass Effect had and like Mass Effect 2 seems to suffer from the changes made to both sequels with the streamlining for consoles or EA involvement or both.

Graphics wise is amazing with the HD texture pack an all settings maxed out and I like the new combat system tho the skills system feels rather restrictive compared to the first game. The loading screens are really well done and very fast as well.

Story wise it really isn't anything special and unlike every other Bioware RPG its seems like it dosent make any difference in what dialogue options you pick for 95% of the game and this totally kills replay value. The fact that so many characters can't be saved from their fate really bugged me and killed the idea of being the hero of the story.

I honestly feel Bioware dropped the ball bigtime on Dragon Age 2 and Mass Effect 2 to a smaller degree and have gone from a company whose games I would buy without the need of review to a company who I will now require very positive feedback to consider a purchase.

Kharn wrote: »
    Now here we have a position where reality has turned in on itself and the mouse & keyboard is possibly the most awkward way to try play this game. The default controls layout made no sense to me.

I thought the controls were pretty much the standard fair on all RPG's these days. It's fairly identical to DA:O and WoW and the like. What did you find off about them?

WASD was switched to WQES which makes no sense to me with A & D being camera controls. I don't use WASD anyway, I prefer RDFG as there's a whole slew of options for using QWAS\ZX and TYGHVBN as extras - just put your fingers on RDFG and see how many more options you have :) But maybe that's another discussion...

I thought that maybe my controller wasn't being picked up in Windows (I've never had reason to use it before), but I tried it on other stuff and it's definitely working. I will have another look to see if I can enable it somehow.

Anyway, using the mouse + button to control camera felt natural to a point, but again, my main beef is that this is a real time "hack 'n' slash" combat game with what appears to be turn based controls which is why I feel it's essential that you use a controller. They've designed this to be a stripped down Action game with RPG elements rather than an RPG like the last game which is the only reason I wanted to play it cause having looked at someone else playing it, I thought the first game was awful. I also think WoW is awful and only dabbled in it once for an hour at a friend's house. That's just my preferences, I don't enjoy that sort of game. I play table top "dice, pen and paper" RPGs and find them far more interesting and fun. I also LARP a bit, so I get my "proper RPG" fix that way :)

All that said, I spent a full day playing a pre-alpha of The Old Republic which is also Bioware and after an hour or so, I was able to map the controls into my head. They were extremely off-putting to me though and given it was such an early build, we had no ability to re-map them.

All that said, I spent a full day playing a pre-alpha of The Old Republic

I hate you :pac:

I hate me too, it made me think "Oh gods, I'm going to become a MMORPGer" because I thought it was a lot of fun...

Doing Sebastian's quest from Act 3
    Leliana
    showed up :eek:

Bumped into
    Zeveran
    today too.

I hate me too, it made me think "Oh gods, I'm going to become a MMORPGer" because I thought it was a lot of fun...
    You best pass it along to me. I don't want you to suffer unduly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

humanji wrote: »
    You best pass it along to me. I don't want you to suffer unduly.

The force is not strong with you :p

He needs to pass it on to me :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

Have to say, the thing that annoys me the most is the AI. Absolutely appalling standard of path finding. Characters getting stuck behind walls and the like, end up being half the map away from you when you go into battle.

Once and had Bethandy and Varric forgot how to turn a corner, so they went all the way back to the beginning of the level so they could go down the parallel route that sort of came near me, but separated by a wall. Ridiculous.

Not to mention, if yer ever struggling, just target all mages/archers first then run your tank around like an idiot. The bad guys don't just get attracted to you, they actually follow your path! You can run around for hours like this and a pack of enemies will never land a blow.

And is it just me, but queuing up moves doesn't seem to work like it used? Once you take focus off a character, they seem to just to their own thing irrespective of whether you've told them to do anything. :confused: Fed up of my characters dying when that Heal I selected was never cast.

Having said that I am still enjoying it (about 12 hours in), it does get a bit hack and slash tedious at times but once you bump up the difficulty it compensates for it a little.

Overall I think it's a good game spoiled somewhat by being rushed to market. I can see what the developers were trying to do, but I think they bit off a bit more than they could chew in trying to keep everyone happy and yet still releasing it so soon after the first. Standard publisher driven sequel tbh, scratches an itch reasonably well yet could have been so much more.

Meant to ask what changes when you load a save from DA:O. have my saves on a drive after a hd swapout on the PS3 but never bothered to load them on.

Well if you use the DA:O save you get some chat about what you did in it during events,
    Alastair , popped up in my game drunk as a skunk in the hanged man
    :D and saves you the trouble of having to play the game twice for the Epic trophy / achievement. That was all I really noticed.

Thats a bit crappy then if thats all. I think my save was pretty much was the default start character was
    made alistair king, boned leilani, did the business with morrigan to save my sorry ass in the last battle
    . Iwas hoping for something like isabella and leilani to go at it again or some unique weapon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

All that said, I spent a full day playing a pre-alpha of The Old Republic

Im far more interested in your thoughts on this than DA2 :D

Dcully wrote: »
    Im far more interested in your thoughts on this than DA2 :D

I'm pretty sure Bioware/EA would break his legs if he talked about it.