Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great films you hate (or just didnt get) *Spoiler Alert*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I didn't read the whole thread but I have to say The Notebook

And I do watch chock flicks and in spite of me enjoy them but ffs, there's nothing to that film
    Even on a hungover viewing where i can get emotional on a gorgeous car on top gear this does nothing

I actually love bridget jones, there i said it, cos its kinda real, but the notebokk is a load a **** and i cant see why anyone but a lovestruck teenager would find it meaningful

I'm female and HATE The Notebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Here's a fun fact about The Notebook, anyone seen Face/Off? well you know the bald drug dealer dude who hangs around with Nic Cage's character? this guy: http://www.hotflick.net/flicks/1997_Face-Off/997FEO_Nick_Cassavetes_001.jpg

he directed it, how fcuking mental is that?!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Withnail and I. Utter tripe...even if I do use some of its lines a little too often. It's still bollox.

The Blues Brothers. A noisy wankfest enjoyed by people that don't get out a lot. It's the xmas party of movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

krudler wrote: »
    Here's a fun fact about The Notebook, anyone seen Face/Off? well you know the bald drug dealer dude who hangs around with Nic Cage's character? this guy: http://www.hotflick.net/flicks/1997_Face-Off/997FEO_Nick_Cassavetes_001.jpg

he directed it, how fcuking mental is that?!

Did you see the episode of Entourage with him in it?

It was good! :)

Dempsey wrote: »
    Did you see the episode of Entourage with him in it?

It was good! :)

yeah he was good in it, it still just find it mental that he directed one of the sappiest movies in history :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

aDeener wrote: »
    there will be blood is utter shite

Your spot on its pure bullcrap,went to see it inda cinema and was so dissapointed...same as true grit,was an ok film but after all the **** i heard about it is was exspecting a masterpiece...and was let down severally ..was ok but i would'nt watch it again

give me back my 7.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Thank god other people didn't like the hangover, I was thinking I was the only one.

Lord of the rings - boring, the best bit in it was when the wizard turned white, I went into the fits of giggles, the first thing that came into my head when the wizard appeared was 'Daz, whiter than white!':o Stupid but at that point I was bored out of my mind
    The godfather - any of them I can't tell them apart. I think this is down to I may have been too young watching one and it bored the living crap put of me and since my brain just shuts off after watching a few minutes of any of them. That and I just can never seem to like mafia films.
    Forrest Gump - :o I blame my brother for my dislike of this film, he LOVED it and watched it the WHOLE time quoted it the WHOLE time it drove me to the point were I don't like even thinking about the film now.

I get(or more so don't) dr strangelove and the big lebowski. They weren't bad but weren't good either. Dr strangelove as far as I remember had one good line and that was it, fair enough about the antiwar thing but I thought it was a comedy.

Nearly forgot when the ring came out everyone thought it was fantastic, didn't get how they could think that at all.

Orla K wrote: »
    Thank god other people didn't like the hangover, I was thinking I was the only one.

Lord of the rings - boring, the best bit in it was when the wizard turned white, I went into the fits of giggles, the first thing that came into my head when the wizard appeared was 'Daz, whiter than white!':o Stupid but at that point I was bored out of my mind
    The godfather - any of them I can't tell them apart. I think this is down to I may have been too young watching one and it bored the living crap put of me and since my brain just shuts off after watching a few minutes of any of them. That and I just can never seem to like mafia films.
    Forrest Gump - :o I blame my brother for my dislike of this film, he LOVED it and watched it the WHOLE time quoted it the WHOLE time it drove me to the point were I don't like even thinking about the film now.

I get(or more so don't) dr strangelove and the big lebowski. They weren't bad but weren't good either. Dr strangelove as far as I remember had one good line and that was it, fair enough about the antiwar thing but I thought it was a comedy.

Nearly forgot when the ring came out everyone thought it was fantastic, didn't get how they could think that at all.

The godfather - any of them I can't tell them apart. I think this is down to I may have been too young watching one and it bored the living crap put of me and since my brain just shuts off after watching a few minutes of any of them...... the godfather 1 and 2 are pure class if u dont like them that your own fault for being to stupid.3 is ****e i'l give you that....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Philistines and ingrates the lotta yis

it'd be interesting to poll everyone who respended to see what their favourite movies are...

the fkin rugrats movie by the looks of things..

david75 wrote: »
    Philistines and ingrates the lotta yis

it'd be interesting to poll everyone who respended to see what their favourite movies are...

the fkin rugrats movie by the looks of things..

what an idiot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

well at least you could spell!

you preferred rugrats 2 then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs or any other Quention Tarantino film. They're just violence with no discernible plot. I like a bit of action in a film, but not bloody violence for the sake of it.

Carrie. Almost nothing happens for the duration of the film until the last fifteen minutes or so.

The Life Of Brian or any other Monty Python film. They just seem like a five minute sketch dragged out for an hour and a half.

Fight Club. I just thought it was a boring pile of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭doriansmith

No Country For Old Men
    There Will be Blood
    As Good as it Gets
    Slumdog Millionaire

All of the above bored me to tears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

the Taxi driver what a load of ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

TheZohan wrote: »
    Titanic
    it sank
    No sh1t.
    The Passion of the Christ
    he died
    Good thing for us He did.
    J.F.K
    He died
    Either that, or that was some damn fine good acting he did on that footage reel.
    Spoilers:
    god I hate spoilers, pain in the ass to navigate
    Me too. Except for a different reason. If someone doesn't want to know about a subject in advance, THEN DON'T GO TO A TOPIC THAT DISCUSSES IT !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Pulp Fiction... pure rubbish, disjointed sh1te trying ever so hard to be "cool"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 DalkeyRose

Kill Bill 1 or 2..................not interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Johro wrote: »
    You pissed on my rug man!

...peed on my rug !!! ;):p

Scent of a woman...........pile of sh!te, shut the fuck up shouting Pacino you overacting little b0ll0x.

oh yeh and 'Gladiator'....wut? boring ...has to turn it off after 30 insufferable minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Slumdog Millionaire..was alright, didnt warrant the hype imo, was a bit boring.
    Anchorman. Don't get why people rave bout this as a brilliant comedy, I *LOVE* comedies but didnt find it funny at all. Might give it a second go.
    Tropic Thunder is another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Andre80Johnson

Yeah but film students for the most part know fcuk all about films so its excusable :pac:

Ah but you see, some of the greatest films ever made are from, erm film graduates so yeah good one.
    bonerm
    Citizen Cane. Spoiler:
    He never even found his cane.

You mean
    Rosebud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

Schindlers List - tried watching it twice and fell asleep both time after half an hour.

The Deer Hunter - some scenes are good both mostly thought it was a boring and depressing pile of crap.

+ 1 on heat. Apart from the shoot out scene on the street which was class.

I dont get the hate for Heat on here, its a modern classic. people got too caught up in the "Pacino vs De Niro" stuff and expected them to be having constant shootouts or something, the times they do share the screen together are brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Being John Malkovich. Liked it, but It's surreal to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I suppose technically not a "great" but it gets a lot of critical acclaim and awards.

The social network absolutely sucked. The story was incedibly dull and the dialogue was painfully stupid. It made mark Zuckerberg look like a twat with aspergers too. It says a lot about a film when Justin Timberlizzle is the best thing about it. Why is it getting so many Oscar noms?

It did look great though, very nice cinematography.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah but you see, some of the greatest films ever made are from, erm film graduates so yeah good one.
    Yea but the vast vast majority of film students work? Even the lauded ones? I've seen better films on my teeth after a feed of beer.
    Scent of a woman...........pile of sh!te, shut the fuck up shouting Pacino you overacting little b0ll0x.
    +1 on the overacting. Must be making up for his lack of stature. He was bloody brilliant in the early days but now it's all about the ranty ranty.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

Nobody has ever agreed with me, but I hated Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

I ****ing hate the Coen brothers!! Their over hyped immature movie geeks that are all style and no soul!!

There, I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

I ****ing hate the Coen brothers!! Their over hyped immature movie geeks that are all style and no soul!!

There, I said it.

The Big Lebowski = top 5 but........

couldn't agree more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭eurokev

I really hated the godfather triology.

Im probably on my own, just found them utterly boring,and painful to sit through. I even watched them twice becase I just assumed i was wrong. The third one is especially bad altogether, just struck me as something they turfed out for another payday

eurokev wrote: »
    I really hated the godfather triology.

Im probably on my own, just found them utterly boring,and painful to sit through. I even watched them twice becase I just assumed i was wrong. The third one is especially bad altogether, just struck me as something they turfed out for another payday
    Did you find that it insisted upon itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Wibbs wrote: »
    akin to The Pink Floyd in music. Promises much, but except for one or two highlights overly long pretentious crap wittering on about nothing with nary a tune throughout

:mad:
    You know nowt Wibbs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i hate inception and cloverfield to name just 2

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Jelly 292 wrote: »
    I don't think a movie will ever fully nail the war thing but both of these films should be shown in schools IMO, stop the west invading poor countries a little maybe
    This film was actually banned because people thought it would have that effect http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0020629/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

This film was actually banned because people thought it would have that effect http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0020629/

It was an amazing book too that I read when was about 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

Slumdog Millionaire for me was the biggest pile of crap i've seen in ages.I could'nt believe a film like that got so much hype and so many awards.The girlfriend and i were going to walk out of it but stayed to see if maybe the ending was the good part,we were wrong,we should have walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Ray von

Eternal sunshine of a spotless mind. To this day still not a breeze what it was about! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

Aiel wrote: »
    Slumdog Millionaire for me was the biggest pile of crap i've seen in ages.I could'nt believe a film like that got so much hype and so many awards.The girlfriend and i were going to walk out of it but stayed to see if maybe the ending was the good part,we were wrong,we should have walked out.

Was that your girlfriend ? she's lovely :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

Really? Because it's more guys than girls who do Blue Steel and Magnum jokes, in my experience. So are you saying only girls find shít things funny? Because The Hangover is very popular with both sexes alike. ;)

I think it's OKish, but I'm still for waiting for a quality satire of the fashion industry - Zoolander and The Devil Wears Prada didn't cut it for me.

zoolander was fairly funny but i dont take films like that too seriously - i watch stiller and jack black, owen wilson for laughs. didnt know vaughen was a commedian cos he has his moments but all in all he isnt funny.

but oh yes... devil wears prada was SO hyped and it utterly stank. within 10 mins you knew what would happen in the end. i dont watch ugly betty since season 1 - but i preferred that to prada cos prada was sooo predictable. true, mirren played a good portrayel of a fashion b^tch. but it pretty much ended there. i wondered if it was the word 'prada' that had people jumping around excitedly.

think a few people forgot the threads about hyped films that didnt live up to the hype for them. cos some of the films mentioned werent so hyped. then again there are always people who will hype so who knows.
    one film that actually got canned - x files 2 - i liked. i knew in advance it wouldnt be about aliens or deal with the running story from the show. they stated clearly it would be a stand alone monster of the day thing the show was famous for. but fans were still sick when it didnt turn out to be about conspiracy and aliens. im a die hard files fan and i liked it so i think it came down to expectations really...
    though the producers did miss an opportunity for a great movie to sum all the alien ****e up. but with things like that the imagination is often better at doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

I know everyone's entitled to their opinions...but reading this thread is a bit depressing, it's becoming more clear why the cinemas are full of big-budget, low-quality remakes and 3D everything. Any films that require a bit of concentration, have a slower pace and/or try to play with the normal conventions of Hollywood films are apparently BOOOORRRRING! God forbid the audience might be asked to do a bit of the leg-work!

rant over:p

Worthy films that turn out to be nothing but over-wrought melodramas get my goat. Crash and Million-dollar Baby are 2 that come to mind - the latter of which was some spectacular piece of misery porn, which didn't seem to have any other reason for being. The Oscars seem to love these sort of films too, unfortunately...

The Blind Side is another one that I didn't get at all - in fairness, I don't think it got great reviews, but it did win Sandra Bullock an Oscar, inexplicably. It was a TV movie at best.

Another recent one was Avatar - the visuals were spectacular but the story itself wasn't even 2D. I did enjoy it, but it wasn't spectacular

There are a few films that I didn't get the first time round that I loved on later viewings - As Good As It Gets is one that comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Lost in Translation.

The absolute worst. Pretentious and boring. Another Oscar thief. A sad demise for Bill Murray's career

The Hangover

It's Very Bad Things mixed with Fear and Loathing for pussies. I tittered a few times but it was a disappointment

Kill Bill

Kill Quentin, he's done.What a fcukin bore the Kill Bill series is.

No Country For Old Men

Did I miss something. Was the wife's head in the box, or was he really dead all along? Did the the cripple do it? Somebody help me please.

Lost in Translation.

The absolute worst. Pretentious and boring. Another Oscar thief. A sad demise for Bill Murray's career

not enough gopher puppets. also its what restarted Bill Murrays career, he did get an Oscar nomination remember?

Why's it boring exactly? its about 2 people in a country where neither of them speak the local language, if you were in Japan and didnt understand a word you'd be sitting around trying to pass the time as well.

I'd take one Lost In Translation over a dozen "wacky" comedies where the leads shockingly wind up liking each other after bickering for the whole movie.

haha - i quite liked Dude, wheres my car - for its sheer OTT stupidity - and the scene with the ostritches or however you spell that. the birds made that film, :pac:

Up-n-atom! wrote: »
    I know everyone's entitled to their opinions...but reading this thread is a bit depressing, it's becoming more clear why the cinemas are full of big-budget, low-quality remakes and 3D everything. Any films that require a bit of concentration, have a slower pace and/or try to play with the normal conventions of Hollywood films are apparently BOOOORRRRING! God forbid the audience might be asked to do a bit of the leg-work!

rant over:p

This, "omg I have to work out something myself!" attitude seems to be the reason modern audiences are pandered to so much. If I dont get a movie I just watch it again, in fact some of the best movies of recent years are ones that get better with rewatching, stuff like Primer, Inception (its not required but its cool seeing how it all fits on a second viewing) and The Prestige.

People complain about the cinemas being full of sequels and remakes then when something with even an amount of originality and doesnt appeal to the lowest common denominator comes along, like There Will Be Blood, its labeled as "pretentious" and "boring".

Aishae wrote: »
    haha - i quite liked Dude, wheres my car - for its sheer OTT stupidity - and the scene with the ostritches or however you spell that. the birds made that film, :pac:

nothing wrong with stupid comedies at all when they're done well, I adore Dumb and Dumber, but it doesnt mean I'll rush out to see the next Epic Movie or something, because they're utter sh1t even though they rake in millions.

I thought Lost in Translation was pretentious twaddle as well.

This thread is getting a bit snobby for my liking as well ...

This, "omg I have to work out something myself!" attitude seems to be the reason modern audiences are pandered to so much. If I dont get a movie I just watch it again, in fact some of the best movies of recent years are ones that get better with rewatching, stuff like Primer, Inception (its not required but its cool seeing how it all fits on a second viewing) and The Prestige.

People complain about the cinemas being full of sequels and remakes then when something with even an amount of originality and doesnt appeal to the lowest common denominator comes along, like There Will Be Blood, its labeled as "pretentious" and "boring".

true this must be a huge part of why most films dont take many firing neurons to understand.

but that said, we're listing films we didnt appreciate the same way a lot of people did but that doesnt mean everyone on this thread agrees with everyone else.
    i liked matrix, shawshank, lost in translation and many of the others listed. though i agreed with some of youse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Slightly off topic, but soemthing that bugs me is when folks come out with, "Ah, the book is much better." Eh, one is a ****ing movie, the other, a book. I don't see why they compare....

What exactly made it pretentious though? its a genuine question, I thought it was overhyped when I first saw it on release but i've watched it a load of times since and love it.

walshb wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but soemthing that bugs me is when folks come out with, "Ah, the book is much better." Eh, one is a ****ing movie, the other, a book. I don't see why they compare....

Ha yeah "they cut too much out of the Harry Potter books!" errr yeah cos the movies would be 13 hours long each if they left everything in.

walshb wrote: »

the books usually are - you fit more into a book. the only exception ive see in LOTR - and only cos the book was too full of songs at every meal, the pace was better in the film i thought.
    it seems like something people sy with an air of snobbishness. though most people just want something to say.