Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool v Wigan

• 12-02-2011 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Agger out and Gerrard fails fitness test (so it was real?! ;) )

Liverpool: formation my guess

Reina,
    Kelly-Carragher-Skrtel-Johnson
    Lucas
    Maxi
    Meireles----Aurelio
    Kuyt-Suarez.

Subs: Gulacsi, Kyrgiakos, Wilson, Poulsen, Pacheco, Jovanovic, Ngog.

Wigan

Al-Habsi, Gohouri, Alcarez, McCarthy, Caldwell, Watson, N'Zgobia, Moses, Rodallega, Diame, Figouera

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

liverpool-fc-crest.jpgVS ChiefWiggum2.gif

Who's Wigam ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

Reina,
    ----Kelly-Carragher-Skrtel-
    Lucas
    Johnson--Maxi--Meireles--Aurelio
    Kuyt-Suarez.

I dont see them changing from the 3 at the back who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Wonder if theres a chance that GJ will start RW, with Aurelio LB and Maxi LW in a 442? As much as Id like to see GJ on the wing, he been doing well on the left so he'l prob stay there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

mike65 wrote: »
    Agger out and Gerrard fails fitness test (so it was real?! ;) )

Reina,
    Kelly-Carragher-Skrtel-Johnson
    Lucas
    Maxi
    Meireles----Aurelio
    Kuyt-Suarez.

Subs: Gulacsi, Kyrgiakos, Wilson, Poulsen, Pacheco, Jovanovic, Ngog.

Or a 3-4-3/5-2-3 setup

Reina

Kelly---Carragher
    Skrtel----
    Johnson
    Aurelio
    Lucas
    Meireles
    Maxi
    Suarez
    Kuyt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Perhaps?

Reina

Kelly---Carragher
    Skrtel----
    Johnson
    Aurelio
    Lucas
    Meireles
    Kuyt
    Maxi
    Suarez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I'm guessing a 4-3-3. Aurelio, Lucas and Meireles in midfiled. Maxi and Suarez supporting Kuyt from the flanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Yeh, I reckon its probably 3 CBs again with Kelly at CB and Johnson / Aurelio as the WBs.

Could easily be a 4-4-2 tho as well.

Reina
    Kelly - Carragher - Skrtl - Aurelio
    Johnson - Lucas - Meireles - Maxi
    Kuyt --- Suarez

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Wigan are a bit of a bogey side for us, hope we put them away today.

With gerrard out i'm expecting to see Meireles shine once again, hes in superb form.

This will be my first proper look at James McCarthy for 90mins aswell, no doubt Kenny will be keeping an eye on him aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Any good streams lads?? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Fowler87 wrote: »

http://www.vipfast.fr/ch2.html
    http://www.magedtv.net/ch3.php
    sop://broker.sopcast.com:3912/90521
    sop://broker.sopcast.com:3912/81774
    http://www.fsportshd.net/p/channel-1.html

Fowler87 wrote: »

It's on Setanta Ireland if you have it

rarnes1 wrote: »
    It's on Setanta Ireland if you have it

I do have it mate but theres no picture coming through, just the sound:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Anybody know whats up with D'agger??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Lol at the ref giving out to Suarez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

nice play. Looked like Suarez went down easy. Warning seems fair since there was some contact.

daithijjj wrote: »

Thanks.. Suarez looking dangerous already! Reckon he should have got a pen there now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

how we lining up?

Solid start by Kelly, keeping Nzogbia quiet. Wigan have settled first in this game, we need our midfield to put our foot on the ball a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Didn't know this was live, only tuning in now.

What's the formation lads?

We haven't settled yet at all today... come on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    We haven't settled yet at all today... come on lads.

true, we're rubbish so far...

Think the formation is 4-2-3-1, with Aurelio-Lucas in the centre field, Meireles in front of them, then Maxi, Kuyt & Suarez up front.
    Suarez has had a lively start, maxi might as well not be on the pitch.

Kelly again having a stormer on nzogbia.

at last , some good play....suarez is a real bright spark so far...

Kuyt Has also been rubbish so far, he is really breaking up the flow of some of our attacks by picking the wrong options

Anyone interesting on the bench? Pacheco? Suso?

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    at last , some good play....suarez is a real bright spark so far...

Himself and Kuyt seem to have a good understanding already. Some decent link up play between the two..

Get in. Meireles with a sweet strike after a deflected cross from Aurelio. Totally against the run of play.

Edit: pacheco is on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Great goal the man is on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

What a good strike, that man is in some form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

And the leagues best midfielder scores again

We need a song for this man! What a player!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ming is Merciless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Wigan caught on the break. They were playin nicely and all. Meireles is on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Goal Meireles :D

Fifth goal in six games for Meireles. He really has found his goal scoring touch since Kenny came in. He is really showing how much of a threat he can be in a team that tries to play further up the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

No tap ins for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Get in. Meireles with a sweet strike after a deflected cross from Aurelio. Totally against the run of play.

I wouldnt say totally against the run of play, wigan have been slightly better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Mister men wrote: »
    And the leagues best midfielder scores again

:eek::eek:

I presume your having a laugh. Ever heard of Cesc Fabregas

Hopefully that'll spur us on. Kelly and Raul are two bright beacons for our future.

Savage finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

Quality!!

If Hodgson did one thing right it was bringing him in although not even playing him in his proper position!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭meercat

daithijjj wrote: »

thanks daithijjj

Raul Meireles.. What a player!! Volley king... **** you Rooney:pac::cool: Lovely slick football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Unlucky Suarez

almost a classic from suarez, he's deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Suarez. looks. class.

I love Suarez already... overbite and all!

niallo27 wrote: »
    I wouldnt say totally against the run of play, wigan have been slightly better

Fair point, but we havent really settled at all.
    Lovely play by suarez there, striking the post. He looks very very lively. Does go down a bit easily, but its not unexpected for somebody coming into the PL

What is really great to see today is that whilst things are not quite clicking, the team are still working hard and chasing down every ball. No trying to hide or retreat further back the pitch.

Fair point, but we havent really settled at all.
    Lovely play by suarez there, striking the post. He looks very very lively. Does go down a bit easily, but its not unexpected for somebody coming into the PL

He does get knocked over a bit, but he seems to try to get up as fast as he can each time. Good attitude being shown by him.