Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is it so difficult to get laid in ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Well I never had any problems :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

and don't forget Tiger Woods (he's on tv right now....seemed appropriate

liah wrote: »
    Um.. it isn't.
    Ok you're a girl. Its easier for girls.
    You are also a very good looking girl. Its even easier for very good looking girls.
    You are also foreign. Its even even easier for very good looking foreign girls.

For all we know, OP is the biggest, welly wearing, bailing twine for a belt, mucksavage bogman to ever walk the face of Ireland.

Therefore I put it to you that you are not making a fair comparison between yourself and the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Sex is seen as a bigger deal in Ireland than it is in a country like the UK. I have lived in both places and UK girls will readily have one night stands and think nothing of it. You don't even have to travel to the mainland - NI girls are easier than southern ones.

I suspect our religious upbringing has something to do with it.
    +1 million.

oh its time for one of these threads. I'll get the ball rolling with the expected response.

OP, its cause Irish woman have such high standards of themselves and make themselves unapproachable. blah blah blah european counterparts.. blah blah blah polish girls.
    With the amount of threads on this topic, maybe theres some truth in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭slum dog

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    +1 million.

definitly. im just wondering what percentage of irish women between the ages of 23-25 are still virgins. i wouldnt be suprised if it was 75%+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

slum dog wrote: »
    im up for it so...
    bonerm wrote: »
    grand. send me pm.

I was just kidding, but thanks for the PM at 19:01.

To answer your question I live at 69 horny street, sexytown.

too bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think there's too much stock placed in the whole religion thing here. Maybe it's a factor, but only a subconscious one it seems. Of our peers (and the age group here is teens to 40s) those who are, on the surface, affected by religion are few and far between. Just because girls seem "easier" (ew...) in Britain, doesn't mean we're prudes here, or that we view sex as a big deal. One-night stands are not a big deal among my peers and I (and I'm not into being very promiscuous) but we're not just going to fuck any guy we meet at all who's offering sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Really? I just happen to live in number 68. Can I borrow some sugar?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Dudess wrote: »
    I think there's too much stock placed in the whole religion thing here. Maybe it's a factor, but only a subconscious one it seems. Of our peers (and the age group here is teens to 40s) those who are on the surface affected by religion are few and far between. Just because girls seem "easier" (ew...) in Britain, doesn't mean we're prudes here. One-night stands are not a big deal among my peers at all, but we're not going to just fuck any guy we meet at all who's offering sex.

I've a full set of teeth and my own hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Anyone arguing with OP is clueless.

Getting the shift with a girl is relatively easy, most girls are up for it and think nothing of it.

Bringing a girl home is VERY DIFFICULT. Girls go out in groups and her friends are NOT going to let her go off with a random drunk lad regardless of how good looking he is.

So if you said it's easy to get laid, either you've been very lucky or you prey on the drunken unattractive loner girls who sit in a corner praying someone is drunk enough to talk to them.

Eh? You're doing it wrong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

definitly. im just wondering what percentage of irish women between the ages of 23-25 are still virgins. i wouldnt be suprised if it was 75%+

remember 80/20, 80% of girls are having sex with 20% of fellas

rossie1977 wrote: »
    remember 80/20, 80% of girls are having sex with 20% of fellas

that makes my blood boil

Never ceases to amaze me how anyone who isn't getting theirs, gets tons of replies of "You're doing it wrong". Nobody ever seems to mention how to do it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

never had any difficulty getting the scrape myself,just lower your standarts op
    there is always someone out there for everyone

deathrider wrote: »
    Never ceases to amaze me how anyone who isn't getting theirs, gets tons of replies of "You're doing it wrong". Nobody ever seems to mention how to do it right.

But what's the big deal? I don't understand at all how people can complain about not being able to hook up. Come on. If you're not attractive, you can still be funny. Sex is sex - it happens all the time!

Now, I'm not single, and I haven't had a lot of one night things. But, if I wanted to hook up with somebody, when I wasn't in a relationship, I would. And if, for some reason, you couldn't get the person you wanted, go for somebody else!

I think there is way too much of a taboo feeling for a large minority of the people in Ireland. Maybe it's a throwback from the old religious hold on the country - I just don't understand it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭karl tyrrell

go for fat chicks:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

"First you get the sugar, then you get the power, then you get
    the women"

OP........take a whirl on Plenty of Fish or equivalant. I know plenty of people that are having sex eh success with these sites.

Good luck you ugly fecker.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Nobody ever seems to mention how to do it right.

Just be yourself.
    Unless you are Gary glitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

OP, its cause Irish woman have such high standards of themselves and make themselves unapproachable. blah blah blah european counterparts.. blah blah blah polish girls.

Plus based on my extensive research (sleeping in the railway station when inter-railing) chicks in Madrid are 16.5% hotter than their counterparts in Riga.

xoxyx wrote: »
    if, for some reason, you couldn't get the person you wanted, go for somebody else!
    Jaysus, we're not alleycats!
    I think there is way too much of a taboo feeling for a large minority of the people in Ireland. Maybe it's a throwback from the old religious hold on the country - I just don't understand it!!
    Ah now, I don't think it's anything taboo or religious - just that a lot of people would prefer to shag someone they like! Doesn't have to be love or extreme physical attraction, but just a bit more than having genitals. :)

go for fat chicks:)

mate, i screwd a 45 year old fat chick. my standards are rock bottom. i still find it hard to get laid here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    *wipes tears away*
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

mate, i screwd a 45 year old fat chick. my standards are rock bottom. i still find it hard to get laid here

Maybe its you bro and not them

Ah, come on Dudess. I didn't mean go for the next guy you meet at the bar!!
    Ah now, I don't think it's anything taboo or religious - just that a lot of people would prefer to shag someone they like! Doesn't have to be love or extreme physical attraction, but just a bit more than having genitals.

I'm not advocating random miscellaneous sex (ok - maybe I am just a little bit :)). What I'm trying to say is that people get attracted to other people all the time, and if you're not in a relationship, and if you practice safe sex, I don't see the big deal in hooking up with somebody - as long as you're secure enough in yourself to treat it as the fun it is. Sex is great! Relationships are better; but, honestly, what at all is wrong with getting on well with somebody and getting an orgasm (or several) out of it!!?!

Ah now, I don't think it's anything taboo or religious - just that a lot of people would prefer to shag someone they like! Doesn't have to be love or extreme physical attraction, but just a bit more than having genitals. :)

I think there definitely is an element of that to it. People arent as open about sex in this country compared to our european counterparts. I think this hangup is largely gone for todays teens, but when I was growing up it was seen as something dirty (which was half the fun).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Ok, i'm just being honest. (looking at the world we live in)

for a girl.
    its easier for her to get laid if she chooses to so. As men generally are the 'chasers' (the approachers) and women are the 'choosers'

So lets take that in a typical bar setting:
    Girl just has to be in a bar for guys to notice her and most girls generally let the guy break the ice.

for a guy.
    If you are a guy you have to have confidence and bottle. If you lack in either sadly you wont get far.

So lets take that in a typical bar setting:
    Guy has to break the ice. Yeah sure, some girls do first, but lets talk generally. They dont. Its up to the guy to pluck the courage up the break the ice. And as I say if you lack confidence/courage to do so, you wont get very far.

Guys generally put themselves out there first, and also to be rejected. which is the biggest confidence/courage knocker. If you let it get to you. Girls generally and sadly let the guy make the first moves.

am i right or wrong?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

LighterGuy wrote: »
    am i right or wrong?

You're so right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

People arent as open about sex in this country compared to our european counterparts.

I always clung to that hypothesis when I was 16. It was that she didn't want to get up on me - she was gagging for it but the nuns had messed her head up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

hit the nail on the head there, nothing worse than shagging someone you have no interest in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

hit the nail on the head there, nothing worse than shagging someone you have no interest in!

*Looks at username*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

Reading other threads I'm pretty sure the ladies are as gagging for it as much as the lads, but the old double standards remain for a lot of people - so the women are holding back a bit not because they don't want to, but because they don't want to be judged. Saying that, some ladies also have standards (but so do some men, I believe!)

mikom wrote: »
    *Looks at username*

http://gangstaname.com/names/porn

So don't. Really, in the name of all that's true and good, why would you have sex with somebody you don't fancy? ??

You have either a physical attraction or an emotional one, and, if you're very lucky, you have both. There are plenty of fish in the sea - why have sex with somebody you're not into??

I'm not advocating random miscellaneous sex (ok - maybe I am just a little bit :)). What I'm trying to say is that people get attracted to other people all the time, and if you're not in a relationship, and if you practice safe sex, I don't see the big deal in hooking up with somebody - as long as you're secure enough in yourself to treat it as the fun it is. Sex is great! Relationships are better; but, honestly, what at all is wrong with getting on well with somebody and getting an orgasm (or several) out of it!!?!
    Think you're looking at something different to me - the OP was wondering why it's so difficult to get a shag here, you seem to be looking at the way some people treat sex as a big deal. I don't see sex as a big deal and would agree with everything you say there. At the same time though, nothing sexually repressed about having a bit of choosiness. The OP seems to be pissed off about a lack of choosiness - and then throws out the "repressed" card.
    I think there definitely is an element of that to it. People arent as open about sex in this country compared to our european counterparts.
    I prefer a level of privacy to it tbh - a society where swinging, sex shows etc are as routine as making a cup of tea would bore me to tears. Sex being a little bit unavailable, having a level of mystique to it, makes it all the more exciting imo. Sex being unspoken of and treated as dirty is completely different I think, and obviously messed up as hell, but those days are gone - thankfully.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

why have sex with somebody you're not into??

Desperation, validation, number count, filling the emptiness of ones life, getting some hole.

Up-n-atom! wrote: »
    Reading other threads I'm pretty sure the ladies are as gagging for it as much as the lads, but the old double standards remain for a lot of people - so the women are holding back a bit not because they don't want to, but because they don't want to be judged. Saying that, some ladies also have standards (but so do some men, I believe!)
    I think it's silly to not shag whom and when you want due to a fear of developing a reputation - that's other people's problem. Although subtlety has more class - not everyone wants to hear a person going on and on about their sexual escapades.

So don't. Really, in the name of all that's true and good, why would you have sex with somebody you don't fancy? ??

You have either a physical attraction or an emotional one, and, if you're very lucky, you have both. There are plenty of fish in the sea - why have sex with somebody you're not into??

to break the famine :o

Think you're looking at something different to me - the OP was wondering why it's so difficult to get a shag here, you seem to be looking at the way some people treat sex as a big deal. I don't see sex as a big deal and would agree with everything you say there. At the same time though, nothing sexually repressed about having a bit of choosiness. The OP seems to be pissed off about a lack of choosiness - and then throws out the "repressed" card.

I know what you're saying. I brought up the point re. religion / sexual freedom because I think people are still repressed in Ireland to some degree which may be what's affecting the OP. I also agree with you on the point of choosiness. It's very important and I don't want to come across as sombody who believes sex can be given away with no consequence. It can be casual and that's fine and great. But whatever about that, sex with the right person who you love is the most special of things so it shouldn't be underestimated in any way.

stovelid wrote: »
    I always clung to that hypothesis when I was 16. It was that she didn't want to get up on me - she was gagging for it but the nuns had messed her head up.
    It was like something out of caligula when I was 16. I mean we're not as open about sex in the home compared to other europeans.

Desperation, validation, number count, filling the emptiness of ones life, getting some hole.

Good username so!! :D

Couldn't agree more with this. I've homestly never seen the point. I've often talked to mates the day after a night out when they are banging on about how they got some action last night.

I'd ask "was she hot?"
    They'd reply something to the effect of "No, she was a mutt. And you shoulda seen her in daylight."
    And so, I'm left wondering just what the damn point was then.

Couldn't agree more with this. I've homestly never seen the point. I've often talked to mates the day after a night out when they are banging on about how they got some action last night.

I'd ask "was she hot?"
    They'd reply something to the effect of "No, she was a mutt. And you shoulda seen her in daylight."
    And so, I'm left wondering just what the damn point was then.

thats why some girls don't put out, afraid they would be thought of like this,

any hole is a goal mentality

That's completely understandable. And to be perfectly honest, I don't have a good comeback here to make males look any better in this situation.

thats why some girls don't put out, afraid they would be thought of like this,

any hole is a goal mentality

Bolloxology. Come here - do your friends really not get off with guys because they think such bad things will be said about then the next day? See, this is what I mean by the wrong mentality. Hook up with people that you get on with and that you find attractive and have a coffee and a giggle in the morning and either take it further or else don't hook up again. What the crap are you doing getting with somebody who would badmouth you to their friends the next day??

(I don't mean you Marcia - not having a go. Just think this kind of behaviour is awful!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Anyone arguing with OP is clueless.

Getting the shift with a girl is relatively easy, most girls are up for it and think nothing of it.

Bringing a girl home is VERY DIFFICULT. Girls go out in groups and her friends are NOT going to let her go off with a random drunk lad regardless of how good looking he is.

So if you said it's easy to get laid, either you've been very lucky or you prey on the drunken unattractive loner girls who sit in a corner praying someone is drunk enough to talk to them.
    Trick one of her friends to come back to your place as well so they all feel safe n' sh1t, then lock the munter friend in the hotpress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

I guess one thing it is doesn't exactly seem safe, the idea of a girl to be going off with random guys.
    No one ever seems to worry if the girl is a psycho... media conditions us that way I guess.

Another factor could be the issue that, with girls, orgasms are not a guarantee, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I get laid for doing thoughtful stuff, like hanging out the washing without been asked :eek:

Noodleworm wrote: »
    Another factor could be the issue that, with girls, orgasms are not a guarantee, unfortunately.

You're doing it wrong!!!

(Sorry - I had to. I'm not well today and this is my only entertainment!! :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

You're doing it wrong!!!

(Sorry - I had to. I'm not well today and this is my only entertainment!! :P)

Is anyone else imagining her avatar doing nasty stuff?