Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is life in USA?

• 12-02-2011 7:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭

Hope this is the correct place for this thread.

I'm considering moving to the USA for work - I am employed by a large US based company (software engineering) who have multiple sites across the US. I think I might be able to get a Visa to work on one of their sites.

Basically, what I want to know is how you are getting along in the States? My one maion concern about moving there is that I am being persuaded by the glamorous US TV programmes etc which promote the country as a fun place with lots of exciting things to do and people to meet.

What is the gritty reality? Is work more stressful? Are you pushed harder? Or are you having a ball?

I'm aware that it will not be like an episode of Friends, but how is the change for you - has it been positive or negative?

My situation is that I have not many friends where I currently live and am thinking of a fresh start. How did you find it bedding in over there? Is the worklife much more stricter than here?

I'd appreciate any stories for you guys already out there!

(Not sure what part I'll be aiming for, we'll see if I decide to go for it).

Thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Hope this is the correct place for this thread.
    Yes. Welcome! Post here often if you're interested in living in the United States.
    I'm considering moving to the USA for work - I am employed by a large US based company (software engineering) who have multiple sites across the US. I think I might be able to get a Visa to work on one of their sites.
    This would be a smart move.
    What is the gritty reality? Is work more stressful? Are you pushed harder? Or are you having a ball?
    In California unemployment is double-digit, when it is about 5 percent during prosperous times, so the state is very much struggling with the Great Recession. You see more stores closed in shopping malls than normal.

Nearby Santa Ana downtown looks more like an impoverished Mexican city than those pictured in The Real Housewives of Orange County (found in Newport Beach and Laguna), leading some of us to suspect that there were those that profited off the recession, as well as the vast numbers that were made poor by it.
    I'm aware that it will not be like an episode of Friends, but how is the change for you - has it been positive or negative?
    Oh, but you have not been to some of the house parties held in So Cal, especially near universities. Welcome to the drink-in-the-hot-tub and java house culture.
    Is the worklife much more stricter than here?
    You'll have to ask lil_lisa about real work, as I only work part-time, having a free ride at university since crossing the pond.

(Not sure what part I'll be aiming for, we'll see if I decide to go for it).
    Grand! I wish we had more people like you posting on our forum. In time we shall.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Thanks hopefully more people will fill me in on working life in USA.

Also, forgot to ask - how are you finding interacting with the Americans and their culture?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Also, forgot to ask - how are you finding interacting with the Americans and their culture?
    Been here about 5 years, and from day 1 to present, most everyone has been nice to me. I like the java house scene here, especially near large universities. Easy to meet new people and hang-out with friends, unlike the typical meat market one-line pickup atmosphere of pubs and clubs back home or bars here.

What is the Java House scene?

May I ask what age you are? I'm almost in my mid 30's and wondering if I've left it too late to move.

Part of the reason I'm thinking of moving is due to a lack of friends and love interest here in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Like anywhere you go there's good and bad but most people are generally friendly. The weather is generally much better than home and there's nothing like a nice hot summer to put you in a good humour. Better beer selection and it's cheaper than home, food can be a bit crap so you might have to go out of your way to find stuff that's half decent.

Generally don't get as many holidays over here and people do tend to work harder, I find the atmosphere in the workplace here is not as good as at home a lot of the people seem to lack personality but there's a good chance that could just happen to be where I'm working.

In my opinion it really come down to who you know, that's what makes a place no matter where in the world you are. If you come over here and find a great bunch of friends you'll enjoy it, if not it'll probably be a bit miserable. So if you do make the move, then be prepared to go all out do whatever it takes to meet lots of people (not just Irish people), then you'll surely find at least a small bunch to hang around with who will make the experience much better.

Hmmm, I'm a quiet person who has never had many friends here in Ireland. I'm now in a position to buy a place here now after waiting for so long.

My family would be dead against me going, but that is because they are quite insular and I don't think my father has ever left the farm!

I don't know if my backwards personality would allow me to adapt to US living or whether it is just the thing I need to break me out of this rut.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

I don't know if my backwards personality would allow me to adapt to US living or whether it is just the thing I need to break me out of this rut.

One thing is for sure: anyone can adapt to US living. The US is where you go when you don't fit in elsewhere!

As Permabear pointed out, there is no one American culture that you'll find everywhere over here. I have lived in a small town in the mid-west for the last year and a half and believe me it's quite different form the image of America you get from TV and movie culture. People are nice, but...different. Here they here are much less straightforward that back home - much harder to get to know. They are friendly but very untrusting. I have been told that it's different elsewhere I but haven't lived anywhere else for long enough to make a good comparison.

The mid west is the conservative heartland of the US: no one out here voted for Obama, and they're thinking about passing a state law to block the new healthcare system. Coming from a leftie country like Ireland a lot of people have a hard time with this aspect of American culture.

On the other hand, most of the states around here are in much better economic shape than the rest of the country.

I choose to live here rather than Ireland, but if I could live anywhere in the US it would not be here. I would live nearer the west coast. (But probably not CA; that's no place for a gun-nut like me ;) )

Don't be too put off by the economic downturn in some states - Americans are the smartest people in the world when it comes to making money and they'll be back on their feet before long. (Before us for sure)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

Everyone has already hit the nail on the head so I'll just add my two cents.

The work depends on the company and maybe even the place. A lot of jobs in California are trying to push a relaxed environment and the "California" way of life lately. At the same time, there are a lot of places in Silicon Valley, and I'm sure in other areas, where they work you to the ground. A friend of mine works almost every weekend and is usually wrecked.

From what I've seen though, this country is about working hard and playing hard.
    Black Swan wrote: »
    In California unemployment is double-digit, when it is about 5 percent during prosperous times, so the state is very much struggling with the Great Recession. You see more stores closed in shopping malls than normal.

This is true, however for IT unemployment hasn't stirred much and is still around the 4% mark, quite low compared to other sectors.

As firefly said, the backwards personality is a majority in this country and almost everyone is accepted. I think it would be an amazing opportunity for you to take up. At least look into it, see where's available and if it's doable. If it is, I can't think of many reasons not to go for it.

Thanks for all the replies.

I work in software, but i'd be leaving a very secure job here in ireland with good benefits and reasonable pay.

I'm quite a backward person and I don't know whether I've got it in me to make the move.

Making friends has been a big issue for me here in Ireland, so I am scared to go to usa and fail to mix there too.

I've also got a medical condition which is expensive to treat. This is another factor.

I doubt if my folks would be too happy either. :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

FunkeyMonkey, I was in a similar situation to you a while ago. Worked in IT in Galway for an American firm until they decided to close the Galway Office and a few of us were offered positions in the NY office. So I said I'd give it a go and have a good summer in the states. 19 years, a yankee wife and 3 american kids later I'm still here.

I love it here and would not move back to Ireland for a minute. I look forward to going back home on my yearly trip but about a day after I arrive in Shannon I usually have had enough and start looking forward to leaving again.

As others have said here, work hard and play hard. Starting out, many companies only give 2 weeks vacay a year but you adjust to that. I have no problem for working hard as the rewards are great. As someone else mentioned, there is little of the begrudgery mentality that exists in Ireland.

I've found it easier to make friends here as I wasn't into drinking much in Ireland. People back home look at you funny and slag you when you say you don't want a drink but not so the case here. People take you as you are. Which I guess is the reason why I never really went to the Irish influenced pubs, etc nearby in Bronx, Queens etc. Also, I've lived in Connecticut the entire time I've been here and I've traveled a fair bit to different parts of the country for work/vacay so people a different in other parts.

You say your company might be able to facilitate a move. If so, they will sort you out with medical insurance, get information from them about if your conditioned is covered, deductibles, copays etc. If you have any questions about medical, you can ask here too. I'd say give it a go and you can always return if it doesn't work out.

Father Ted,
    What type of work are you in?

I have many concerns, as outlined above. One which I have not mentioned is my concern about my ability in the work. Although i get on fine in my current job the experience is mainly in propietary software and safety critical sw.

Like you i am not a big drinker, so i don't really fit in here. I just don't know if i would be moving for right reasons i.e. Moving to escape here rather than go to usa, if that makes sense.

I've been told that west coast is a lot more relaxed than east, correct?

Did you notice much difference in employer expectations and employee skill levels in usa compared to ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I was originally a programmer in Dibol way back when but progressed to different areas from dba, sys admin, SAP Basis, now doing web work for my current company. I've been lucky, I've been with my current place about 10 years now and the encourage employees to change things every few years e.g. I've had a lot of oppurtunity to expand into different areas and I'm not stuck doing the same thing year after year. Based on my experience and fellow Irish IT friends who are here, I would have to say us Irish are better than the average American IT Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Based on my experience and fellow Irish IT friends who are here, I would have to say us Irish are better than the average American IT Joe

I also work in IT and I'd be inclined to agree with that. I know some great American programmers and architects but you tend to see more below average people out of their depth in this business over here than back home.

I'll ask my HR rep what opportunities there are for me in states.
    It might be best to look for a year or 16 month placement. That way i can come back to my job here if it does not work out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

I've been told that west coast is a lot more relaxed than east, correct?

Parts of CA are certainly laid back. But you can't really generalize in that way about the East Coast. It's a whole lot of coast! I'd say NY is less back than, say LA. But I wouldn't be comfortable making more broad comparisons. Afterall, Savannah is on the East coast. It is most definitely relaxed.

Keep in mind that this country is huge and very diverse. A lot more culturally diverse than Ireland.

I think you should give it a go. What's the worst thing that could happen? I'll tell you: you'll forever regret not trying.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I moved here in July 2009 (internal company transfer, so they hooked me up with a visa) and I love it. I am in south central Idaho which is fairly laid back and is a cheap and pretty place to live. It is quite rural though and full of Mormons, but I find them easier to live with than the evangelicals that were all over the place when I lived in eastern New Mexico.

Life is good. I'm paid better than I was in Ireland, driving a car I could never have afforded to run in Ireland and met the love of my life here :) I also like the climate. Its cold with some snow in winter, but long, warm summers. If I want to go skiing its only an hour's drive north into the mountains, and Vegas is a couple of hours flying time to the south. Unemployment is also a lot lower here than in places like California.

How did you find it meeting people - a previous poster said they were friendly, but cautious in the central states.

I was just looking on my company's website. They have jobs in Monterey, Burnsville, Phoenix, possibly Indinaopolis and Vergennes. I'm not fully sure about getting Visa's though :( Some jobs say Vias's not supported, others do not mention anything about supporting applications.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Oisintarrant

Central Illinois here for a year and a half now.

I stopped here to see relatives on the way home from a Aus/Nz year out. Just after the recession kicked in. Parents are from here so had citizenship anyway. Id say definitely give it a go. But dont close the door behind you if you get me. Id consider myself to be very extroverted, but having worked in two software jobs, I could count friends on one hand. Office type workers here are closed off types who are genuinely very friendly but seem as though they just couldnt careless for any kind of continual friendship kinda thing. You'd be coming to the right place if you dont drink as few people actually leave the house to drink.

In respect to work, they can give a lot, and expect a lot, but its not like at home where you have people counting down the minutes while joking about how much they screwed the boss over on getting money for nothing.

What hours do you work on average?

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

Interesting thread to read. As I read it, the following song lyrics from "Mary of Dungloe" (written in 1936) popped into my head:

"Oh, then fare ye well, sweet Donegal, the Rosses and Gweedore. I'm crossing the main ocean, where the foaming billows roar, it breaks my heart from you to part, where I spent many happy days. Farewell to kind relations for I'm bound for Amerikay."

At least in 2011, it's nice to see some folks aren't "forced" to emigrate, but can take their time and rationally weigh the risks and benefits.

That said, Funkey Monkey, it's such a personal decision. For my family (we're first-generation Americans from Donegal), it's made all the difference - it has been the "land of opportunity" for many of my brothers and sisters/as well as my wife's family(also first generation Irish-Americans). Having recently been back to "the back of beyond" Donegal to see the relations, I see many of my cousins loving their life in Donegal, but many have multiple "odd jobs" to keep things going.

Regarding many of your questions posed in your first post, I believe many of the answers lie in where you would ultimately relocate to for the job. Echoing what many have stated, the US is a tremendously large and diverse country (Ireland is approximately the size of the State of Indiana). As you allude to, it's not all a "Friends" or "Cartoon Lifestyle" over here. To me, personally, it's more about the people, not as much about the place.

That said, there's tremendous differences between say a Burnsville, Minnesota (near Minneapolis/St. Paul - very cool, diverse city with a long, cold winter) and Phoenix. Vergennes, Vermont is located very near Burlington, VT. Burlington is an extremely left-leaning city (their former mayor, Bernie Sanders, is the first person ever elected to the US Senate who identifies himself as a socialist). Indianapolis, on the other hand, would be identified as a much more conservative type city located in the heartland.

I don't know this has helped in your decision-making process, but I do wish you the best of luck in making the decision. Certainly if you receive more specifics on where you might end up, please post it, as that might help others in guiding you with their advice. My personal instinct, as Fr. Ted mentioned, is if the company can sort out some of the particulars - I would go for it. As he mentioned - you can always return home if it doesn't work out. Who knows, maybe if you come over, you might even get your father off the farm for a visit!

I'm worried I can't get a Visa though. I knwo you people 'down South' have some sort of Visa scheme at the minute. I know nothing about it - is it something I should look into or is it a lost cause for me?

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

Funkey-just do it.

I came here on a greencard in '94 and never looked back. Americans are great-you know exactly where you stand with them. If theres an issue, they'll let you know, give you a chance to fix it-and move on. None of this "say nothing, and hold a grudge for 2 decades" like you see back in Ireland.

I have lived mainly in the Northeast-Boston and CT to be exact. Most people are highly educated, highly motivated, work hard - play hard types. You dont get anywhere near the class distinction you get in Ireland. I know guys who are CFOs of Fortune 500 companies and the best man at their wedding was a Union Laborer.

Burlington VT-unbelievable city. If you are into the outdoors, the arts, drinking, sports, academia-you name it, you'll find it.

Be prepared to break outside your comfort zone-if you come, dont sit back and wait for stuff to happen. You have to make it happen yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

What hours do you work on average?

8-5 Monday to Friday, with some out of hours on-call work as well.

Thanks for the replies.

I need to find out if work can arrange it for me. I doubt it though as we are quite busy. Pity!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Central Illinois here for a year and a half now.

I stopped here to see relatives on the way home from a Aus/Nz year out. Just after the recession kicked in. Parents are from here so had citizenship anyway. Id say definitely give it a go. But dont close the door behind you if you get me. Id consider myself to be very extroverted, but having worked in two software jobs, I could count friends on one hand. Office type workers here are closed off types who are genuinely very friendly but seem as though they just couldnt careless for any kind of continual friendship kinda thing. You'd be coming to the right place if you dont drink as few people actually leave the house to drink.

In respect to work, they can give a lot, and expect a lot, but its not like at home where you have people counting down the minutes while joking about how much they screwed the boss over on getting money for nothing.

Mind if I ask what part of Central Illinois - I went to UIUC and most of my family is in that area.

FM, do you work for a certain large retailer? Just curious because I used to work there and some of the centers are located near some of the places you listed.

I'll be frank in saying that as an American living in Ireland, I am equally frustrated and in awe by the 1.5 to 2 hour lunch breaks that I seem to stumble across. There may be more to it than what I encounter, I just know that if I ever have to call into an office, I know that I can't call between 12 to 2 and expect the office to be fully staffed.

I think one of the biggest downfalls about the American work ethic is that we have internalized the concept of living to work instead of working to live. Because we are so wrapped up in trying to achieve the American dream, we sometimes fail to realize just how much we have managed to accomplish on an individual and family basis. As someone who worked in corporate America, I had so many colleagues who would go into work at 7 and wouldn't leave until after 7 in the evening. Then they would get into their cars and drive an hour just to get to their home in the suburbs; maybe they were lucky to have dinner with their kids but mostly they had family time on Sunday (Saturday usually was a work from home type deal).

When you are salaried, the company essentially takes ownership of your time and person. Depending on how relaxed the company is, you may have to request time off for vacation; you may have to ration your sick days (and they better be legitimate sick days). Being five minutes late will get you written up or you may be expected to work through lunch if your boss expects a report to be completed before he leaves for the evening. One of the great things about working for some of the large tech companies is that they tend to take a "work hard/play hard" mentality and they are a bit more relaxed in expectations, but I would say in general, you will find yourself swimming in a sea of certain professional expectations. It's just crazy at times.

Many thanks for your reply Killer Wench.

I work for a company in the Aerospace sector as a software engineer. I have a good job here, but my wish is to live in a different country/culture even if only for 12 months - just so i can get this out of my system and not spend all my life wondering.

The American way appeals to me, but I don't know why. I'm quite a reserved and quiet person so I'm not sure how I'd fit in. But the same can be said for any other country I'd think of going to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Living in central Illinois for 6 years now (green card holder, first move in 2005). I live (on the outskirts) in a college town, home of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and work at the main public library in Champaign. I only work part time but am glad of it, working for city government or a library is not as safe as it used to be, especially when the state is bankrupt and owing money to various agencies. It pays well, paid time off, etc. My wife works in healthcare and we have our own business at home.

We keep to ourselves for the most part, she connected with a few of her school pals and we see them every once in a while. I don't drink or smoke and never liked the pub/club thing so I travel about the Midwest doing road races to keep busy and see some of the country. Plan to do a few more road trips this year, love driving about. :)

My dad was military so I grew up in many places, but most of my life was spent living in the midwest. My mom is from the Midwest and dad is from the South. I grew up with the midwestern openness that is quite distinct from the culture of the South, the Pacific NW, the West Coast, or East Coast (I've lived in CA, WA, CO, IL, and MO with time in Memphis, Boise, and DC). Even walking the streets of Dublin, I typically make eye contact and say hello to strangers. Unfortunately, this had led a couple of fellas to presume that I am romantically interested in them when I am just being friendly, but that's another story! :D

Prior to living in Dublin, I lived in Seattle where people are much more closed off and kept to themself. I spent most of my teen years in a small town where people would stop by other people's houses; they would sit on the porch and just 'conversate' about what was going on. In Seattle, it was considered rude to stop by someone's house without first calling to see if it was okay to visit. Just subtle differences in what was socially acceptable but as a military brat, I was used to adjusting.

If you are a reserved individual, I would say that you would fit into the Seattle or Portland scene. It can be hard to break into established cliques but when you have a circle a friends, it seems to be a very fun city to explore. You should look into jobs at Amazon.com, Boeing, Microsoft, Google, Expedia, and Facebook; if my memory serves me correctly, most of them have offices located in Seattle metro region. I don't know if this may be helpful but take a look at:

http://www.irishclub.org/