Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

thats what I was thinking. If I had the shed space to take them I would have bid

A good gamble. You might have cattle for life though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

back from carnaross. pen of 11 jersey cross bulls, 230 kg. couldnt be sold at 120 a head:eek:

surely they were worth a punt at that

jersey's for free sometimes arent worth a punt. dont think I have ever bought a jersey. maybe thats where im going wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭Good loser

back from carnaross. pen of 11 jersey cross bulls, 230 kg. couldnt be sold at 120 a head:eek:

They're definitely value.

Jerseys can fatten quite young.

Made a killing on a Jersey once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i wonder had some one bought them earlier in the year for more? jeez looking at that i did well with my friesian bull weanling in ardee, got 300 for him january born, put him in calf sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

whelan1 wrote: »

i wonder had some one bought them earlier in the year for more? jeez looking at that i did well with my friesian bull weanling in ardee, got 300 for him january born, put him in calf sale

Fella near me, specialises in hanging around weanling sales, and picking up the lightest and poorest animals. Week later the same animals show up in the runner sale, and on average make a nice profit. Most expensive animals in the mart are runners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Jeez i got 550 last year for a 4 month old friesian bull but he was alovely looking lad.

td5man wrote: »
    Jeez i got 550 last year for a 4 month old friesian bull but he was alovely looking lad.
    that was last year

td5man wrote: »

guys got that for animals only 3 months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

^^^
    lads, what's a runner sale?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Fella near me, specialises in hanging around weanling sales, and picking up the lightest and poorest animals. Week later the same animals show up in the runner sale, and on average make a nice profit. Most expensive animals in the mart are runners!!
    There is a huge difference between the two rings from what I have seen, all my neighbours are bringing their calves to the runner ring now. Be nice if they gave you a print out of the weight.
    ^^^

Go to Ennis and you will know what it is!! Its a sucky calf sale....but 95% of the sucky calves are between 250-350 kilos because you dont have to enter them for the mart in advance and if you get a late pen in ennis you may as well stay at home in my honest opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

just do it wrote: »
    I got the measuring tape out this evening and can say that cows can reach silage upto 45 inches away from feed barrier. So for a 4ft bale to last 3 days you want to drop it 16inches inside this i.e. 29inches away from barrier. And then, needles to say, you push it in 16inches each day.

That's how we do it - except these days we are making a 4ft bale last 4 days by filling the gap inbetween with straw on alternative mornings/evenings. We're feeding 1 bale of straw with every 3 bales of silage to dry cows that have sufficient body condition scores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

anyone know whats the story with all the " we export the following diggers" adds on dondeal every day,last couple of weeks there are load of them every day.. there must a be a shortage of scrap hitachi's in some part of the world is there??

Scrap metal has had an increase in price recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

There's a programme on at the moment on MTV about lads who just shoot those calves and throw them in a drain. It's called Jersey Shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Quick question here everyone (Can't be bothered making a new thread for it!), what is an Undersown spray, and how does it differ in terms of application etc from other sprays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Muckit wrote: »
    There's a programme on at the moment on MTV about lads who just shoot those calves and throw them in a drain. It's called Jersey Shore.
    Jeez, the woman tells me to shut up and/or feck off out the door when "jersey shore" is coming on. I never realised she was into that kinda reality TV......
    In fairness, it'd be as entertaining as the real show.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Timmaay wrote: »
    Quick question here everyone (Can't be bothered making a new thread for it!), what is an Undersown spray, and how does it differ in terms of application etc from other sprays?

If you were to use a selective herbicide in cereals, with the aim of keeping clover- but nuking other broadleaved weeds (for example), it would be known as an undersown spray. Application would be (once again for example) at 2-3 leaf stage in the cereal, but before jointing. There was a thread in this forum about it before (getting rid of ferns- difference context, same idea).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

^^^

A runner is a calf suckler calf on or just off the cow. A runner sale is a weanling sale.

Bizzum wrote: »
    A runner is a calf suckler calf on or just off the cow. A runner sale is a weanling sale.
    i thought if you where in the suckler scheme you could not sell a weanling as a runner?

You cant sell a runner straight off a cow if you're in the SCWS, but lads still call them runners!

Bizzum wrote: »
    You cant sell a runner straight off a cow if you're in the SCWS, but lads still call them runners!

Huge percentage of weanlings still being presented in the marts, just off the cow, even when in the SCWS! It's a joke, and I can't understand how buyers put up with it:confused:

Yeah, calves being weaned "on paper". I suppose old habits die hard. We forward graze the weanlings onto a field of nice grass/ creep feed and they get used to being away from the cows so are easier weaned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Is it just me or has it been much much quieter on here recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I thought it was much quieter too. Maybe everybody just busy. I know I have been chasing my tail for the last month but on top of things now.

Reading a tb test tomorrow is the last of the panic. Herding today I noticed no lumps so fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ya I think there was a lull there a few weeks ago too , but there is still better reading here than the journal or independant :D

Reading a tb test tomorrow is the last of the panic. Herding today I noticed no lumps so fingers crossed.[/QUOTE]

Good luck with it, it's like waiting for the leaving cert results, but every year!

I noticed that too,
    I'm here a bit more this week after a busy summer, the cattle went into the shed on Tuesday!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Noticed too, an awful lot of lookers on with a few contributors. If you look on the bottom of the main page when you are signed in you'll see something like 4 or 5 members and 50 viewers. Often wondered who they are.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Noticed too, an awful lot of lookers on with a few contributors. If you look on the bottom of the main page when you are signed in you'll see something like 4 or 5 members and 50 viewers. Often wondered who they are.

I often browse without logging in, and then log in if I've something to say! Quite enough lately too I thought, though I've noticed a few new lads aswell posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just dipped below 2 degrees here..
    Looks like a frosty night in store....

I'd rather frost at this stage than the relentless rain... had a shower of hail today in the middle of a downpour :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

blue5000 wrote: »
    I have a look in although I don't post as I'm not a farmer. I'm of farming stock, have lived on a farm and am very interested. Most of my neighbours and friends are farmers and if I had a chance, I'd buy a farm. My son who's now 25 loved helping with milking and looking after the livestock. But no money and no land means that he now works in Cork.

just got my silage results...
    cut 1 dmd 70%
    dm 21.5%
    protein 13.5
    ph 4
    ndf 52
    me 10
    ufl 0.78

cut 2
    dmd 65
    dm 32
    protein 10
    ph 4.3
    ndf 52
    me 9
    ufl .72

• Registered Users Posts: 24 spt88

i know i haven been on here in ages.. too busy over the summer months. but now im back for the winter. n just pulled a smashing bull calf out of a 2yr old yellow charolais springer

I noticed that too,
    I'm here a bit more this week after a busy summer, the cattle went into the shed on Tuesday!

I suppose every body is mental busy when the weather picked up a bit - trying to get work done that should have been done during the summer

Mental busy ourselves lately - putting up new shed, extending roadways and some reseeding - bank balance is taking a whack

I have a look in although I don't post as I'm not a farmer. I'm of farming stock, have lived on a farm and am very interested. Most of my neighbours and friends are farmers and if I had a chance, I'd buy a farm. My son who's now 25 loved helping with milking and looking after the livestock. But no money and no land means that he now works in Cork.

Feel free to post anytime - you don't need to be a farming expert. God knows i'm not

The more the merrier as they say

I suppose every body is mental busy when the weather picked up a bit - trying to get work done that should have been done during the summer

Did I sleep through that??:rolleyes:
    Yesterday we had thunderbursts of rain and hail... Temperature was down in frost regions for a good deal of the night..

We've only had the odd day without percipitation of some level, maybe 10 sonce the start of the summer.. 90% of the land couldn't be traveled without leaving ruts.

It's a funny little Island indeed..

bbam wrote: »
    Yesterday we had thunderbursts of rain and hail... Temperature was down in frost regions for a good deal of the night..

We've only had the odd day without percipitation of some level, maybe 10 sonce the start of the summer.. 90% of the land couldn't be traveled without leaving ruts.

September was dry for us - but god knows it was desperately needed

Yeah temperatures way down this last week - it could be a very long winter

it could be a very long winter

Indeed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,356 ✭✭✭naughto

got a price of a lad for firewood 80euro delivered ton bag
    75euro if the give the bag back after iam done with it.
    have another lad with coal 11euro a bag delivered he even give me a bag to try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

bbam wrote: »

Weird, I thought the June / July in Cavan wasn't so bad? Based on conversations with the in-laws, it seemed to rain every day in June / July down here, but often the weather seemed dry up there :confused:

Not saying ye had a good summer, don't think anyone could say that, but surprised to hear you say you had rain every day... but like you say, it is a funny little island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

naughto wrote: »
    got a price of a lad for firewood 80euro delivered ton bag
    75euro if the give the bag back after iam done with it.
    have another lad with coal 11euro a bag delivered he even give me a bag to try

Roughly what weight would a bag of timber be? And is the coal a 25kg bag?

this is what a ton bag that ill be getting
    40 kg bag of coal.its not your polish coal its called black gold
    i am using it in a open fire.
    153559091.jpg

Mental busy ourselves lately - putting up new shed, extending roadways and some reseeding - bank balance is taking a whack

pick up - gotten worse here, bad now since the 3rd week in may and no let up. Over 60% of animals indoors and glad to be that way. Grass in fields but not worth grazing its such ****e. has being a poor september again and doubt any winter crop will be worth sowing at this early stage. Feed moving in all directions already and its only October, going to be serious issues for smaller farmers just to have money to be able to fed the animals

just got my silage results...
    cut 1 dmd 70%
    dm 21.5%
    protein 13.5
    ph 4
    ndf 52
    me 10
    ufl 0.78

cut 2
    dmd 65
    dm 32
    protein 10
    ph 4.3
    ndf 52
    me 9
    ufl .72

Anyone else using the Calorie system for analysis of energy? dont understand why it isnt pushed as it a simpler system for the farmer IMV. For once the Americans get something right

September was dry for us - but god knows it was desperately needed

Yeah temperatures way down this last week - it could be a very long winter

Wettest September for us in my memory. Couple that with the wettest June, July and August that I have ever seen and its been a bad year. All cows and calves weaned last weekend and still in the shed. Calves will get out this weekend, but cows are in for the winter. Plenty of grass, but cows ploughing to their knees to eat it.

I was complaining earlier that our ground was too wet to cross with the tractor, after that I lowered expectations and said that it was too wet to travel on with the quad. Now its too wet to walk on - you are sure to lose the wellies. A piece of bogland that we have, I was trying to get cattle off it last weekend and fell into a hole where I went to my waist in black mud. This time last year I took a cut of silage off it. Its a shambles!

Only cattle that we have out now are the dry cows - that's on rented land 35 miles from home. A few heifers are out, but that's because they have to cross a river to get in and its been too high in recent weeks for to get them through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

naughto wrote: »
    this is what a ton bag that ill be getting
    40 kg bag of coal.its not your polish coal its called black gold
    i am using it in a open fire.
    153559091.jpg

doubt very much if that bag will weight 1 tonne, maybe some body in the know would enlighten us

reilig wrote: »
    Wettest September for us in my memory. Couple that with the wettest June, July and August that I have ever seen and its been a bad year. All cows and calves weaned last weekend and still in the shed. Calves will get out this weekend, but cows are in for the winter. Plenty of grass, but cows ploughing to their knees to eat it.

I was complaining earlier that our ground was too wet to cross with the tractor, after that I lowered expectations and said that it was too wet to travel on with the quad. Now its too wet to walk on - you are sure to lose the wellies. A piece of bogland that we have, I was trying to get cattle off it last weekend and fell into a hole where I went to my waist in black mud. This time last year I took a cut of silage off it. Its a shambles!

Only cattle that we have out now are the dry cows - that's on rented land 35 miles from home. A few heifers are out, but that's because they have to cross a river to get in and its been too high in recent weeks for to get them through it.

Tuesday's and yesterday's rain was the final straw here. this morning we housed all the incalf heifers and 2 pens of the smaller weanlings,

The milkers are out by day and even then are doing some serious damage , the home farm wouldn't exactly be noted for early grass even in good years, so a scarcity of fodder and an abundance of slurry is something we will have to address

snowman707 wrote: »
    doubt very much if that bag will weight 1 tonne, maybe some body in the know would enlighten us

If its unseasoned oak it might weigh a ton. The fact that it is in this bag is why people think it is a ton - they are commonly called ton bags because they will hold a ton of gravel or a ton of sand. In reality, this bag in the picture is just a cubic meter of wood. If its evergreen and seasoned, it may weight less than half a ton. If its broadleaf like ash or oak and unseasoned, it will weigh more.

Tuesday's and yesterday's rain was the final straw here. this morning we housed all the incalf heifers and 2 pens of the smaller weanlings,

The milkers are out by day and even then are doing some serious damage , the home farm wouldn't exactly be noted for early grass even in good years, so a scarcity of fodder and an abundance of slurry is something we will have to address

I saw a bird trying to take off this morning in my place. It had to flap it's wings for about two minutes, before it managed to get daylight between it's feet and the muck. :cool:

that was just a pic i got on google images to show what i was getting.its in the shed since last yr so well seasoned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Rainfall - Johnstown castle in wexford only got about 1/3 of the normal rainfall for september, 33mm.
    Finner, up near you Relig, got 117mm. That's some difference.
    http://www.met.ie/climate/monthly-data.asp?Num=1775