Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan1 wrote: »
    had a surprise visit from the eastern fisheries board on tuesday:eek: was a problem with the river that goes through our farm, i havent been down that way since november. Lady was very nice we sourced the problem and she came back today and all is ok, really should have gone down that way regularly over the winter, lesson learned the hard way and all is dandy now thank god:)

Let me guess.....You left the poacher net behind you the last time you were down there?:P

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Quick one, any of ye dairy guys or girls have any thoughts on contract rearing of replacement heifers or is it likely to be something that wont be thought about until after 2015?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

had a surprise visit from the eastern fisheries board on tuesday:eek: was a problem with the river that goes through our farm, i havent been down that way since november. Lady was very nice we sourced the problem and she came back today and all is ok, really should have gone down that way regularly over the winter, lesson learned the hard way and all is dandy now thank god:)

You should have told her that the Eastern Regional Fisheries Board as an organisation has not not existed since July 2010.
    She must be caught in a time warp:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

real rough day today. got a call this morning, the old man was after getting malled by a cow. for any of you who like ourselves keep a cow just because shes good (but a demon b***h) put her on a hook. hes a factured jaw, crushed chest bone, fractured ribs24 stitches across his face, broken teeth (the last few) and may have to get his spline removed. just get her culled. she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Bizzum wrote: »
    You should have told her that the Eastern Regional Fisheries Board as an organisation has not not existed since July 2010.
    She must be caught in a time warp:D
    she needs to change her car so:Das that is what was written on it, correct title is "inland fisheries ireland"

1chippy wrote: »
    real rough day today. got a call this morning, the old man was after getting malled by a cow. for any of you who like ourselves keep a cow just because shes good (but a demon b***h) put her on a hook. hes a factured jaw, crushed chest bone, fractured ribs24 stitches across his face, broken teeth (the last few) and may have to get his spline removed. just get her culled. she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

Jaysus. Rough day indeed. I'm sorry to read that. Hope the old boy gets through it as well as he can.
    It should be a warning to us all. No cow is worth that.

holy fook, he's lucky to be alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Jeez chippy I wish him a speedy recovery. All those on the FL22 thread be warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Christ, sorry to her that. Hope he gets well soon.
    Just for the rest of us, did ye know she was wild before this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

christ, hope he makes a full and fast recovery.

agree completely, no weanling is worth keeping an angry old b*tch for :(

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

bull attacked me last summer. got to gap in time. he was hangin up that evenin. life is too short.

we knew she was cross. I was allways nervy working anywhere round her. even when feeding she would just plough her way through anything to get to the first fork of silage. smashing cow but. the two best we have are going the other ones more nervy than vicious, but just came to the conclusion she has to go. she was calved a week and we decided to put her out with a few quieter cows rather than have her charging the gates everytime we entered the shed. dad just decided to take them in because of the wet weather he was keeping well clear of her calf but she still malled him. wont get near the value as in the marts but wouldnt like to see anyone else hurt. is there any ejits out there specialising in wicked stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

meant to say, fair play to him for getting a shot in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭limo_100

its very hard to read stories like that i have to say. We've being lucky enough i suppose he don't have any wild cattle including the limos. we find that since we started doing ai that the cows have become very controlable in our situation anyway

Sorry to hear that chipy, hope he'll be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Christ lad, hope he'll be alright! I have had a few close calls with some of our own, you couldn't be too careful with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

we knew she was cross. I was allways nervy working anywhere round her. even when feeding she would just plough her way through anything to get to the first fork of silage. smashing cow but. the two best we have are going the other ones more nervy than vicious, but just came to the conclusion she has to go. she was calved a week and we decided to put her out with a few quieter cows rather than have her charging the gates everytime we entered the shed. dad just decided to take them in because of the wet weather he was keeping well clear of her calf but she still malled h.im. wont get near the value as in the marts but wouldnt like to see anyone else hurt. is there any ejits out there specialising in wicked stock?

Jaysus, that is very rough of her. But some just can't be tamed at all. Hope yer auld man is ok

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭weefarmer

Not nice to hear that atall, hopefully he has a good recovery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

anyone notice that the better farm part of the comic is missing about the sucklers.sponcer has pulled out is that correct,like reading it as to see what i should be doing this week:o.chippy sorry to her about the boss,i would love to be over her when shes in the box and whistling to get her to put head up to give it her last thought, bang

leg wax wrote: »
    anyone notice that the better farm part of the comic is missing about the sucklers.sponcer has pulled out is that correct,like reading it as to see what i should be doing this week:o.chippy sorry to her about the boss,i would love to be over her when shes in the box and whistling to get her to put head up to give it her last thought, bang

My teagasc man said they were looking for a few new recruits this year. I think it was a 3 yr deal for the lads that were in it, and a good few have their time up. Will you go for it legs?

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

hope your father gets well soon chippy. I hear a lot of guys saying they carry a four grain fork for the bull or a wicked cow, I would think something like a baseball bat or a sledge handle would be easier to use.one belt on the side of the head would stun him(her!) and slow him down. it would be easier to swing as well, and you wont leave it stuck in a pile of dung somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Hope your Father is on the mend Chippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

jeepers only noticed this post now, sorry to hear that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Jesus:eek:. Sorry to hear about that 1chippy. At least your father is around to tell the tale, thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

blue5000 wrote: »
    My teagasc man said they were looking for a few new recruits this year. I think it was a 3 yr deal for the lads that were in it, and a good few have their time up. Will you go for it legs?
    i put up electric gates to keep teagasc and the ifa out:D,well they did tell me to make more cut backs so he was gone.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

I'm not with Teagasc.
    Whats the benefits and bad points of their service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Are you going to be prosecuted? Fisheries are tough to deal with even when your right

got off with a warning, think it pays to be nice to these people:), i honestly didnt know there was a problem until she arrived and sorted it out very quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

got off with a warning, think it pays to be nice to these people:), i honestly didnt know there was a problem until she arrived and sorted it out very quickly

how did they know there was a problem and how did they trace it back to yourself?

now thats the million dollar question:D tbh it was obvious to see where the problem was coming from when you looked at the river , but in all fairness at least i know there was a problem now and its all sorted. I didnt ask the lady who came out if some one had reported it

I'm not with Teagasc.
    Whats the benefits and bad points of their service?
    Benefits
    Access to a huge knowledge base
    Most are good at what they do
    Service does improve as years go by
    Bad points
    Some of the advisors may not be the best or suit your chosen direction
    May have further fees if you need more specialised advice

Just some that spring to mind. If you check the search forum function (and type in Teagasc) at the side of the main page you will find a few threads about Teagasc

got off with a warning, think it pays to be nice to these people:)

I think you hit the nail on the head here. Being civil can go a long way.

now thats the million dollar question:D tbh it was obvious to see where the problem was coming from when you looked at the river , but in all fairness at least i know there was a problem now and its all sorted. I didnt ask the lady who came out if some one had reported it

This time of the year it is usual that Fishery staff are patrolling many of the smaller rivers/streams to record Trout/Salmon spawning activity. It could be that the issue was noticed this way.

You meet all sorts of people in life. Whether right or wrong if the initail contact is civil it usually sets the tone.

she was calved a week and we decided to put her out with a few quieter cows rather than have her charging the gates everytime we entered the shed.

How is the patient today?

My initail reaction to your post was a freshly calved cow. Even normally quiet cows can lose all reason for a week or two post calving.
    We have one at present who will go this year because of her antics at calving.

dosed the sucklers today, hate that job and was totally mindful after reading 1chippy's post here last night, had a pitch fork with me:o also weaned the last of them , so mammy cows where not happy... sucklers really are a mind of their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

sorry to hear about your dad Chippy, wishing him a speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

sorry to hear about your father chippy, hope he has a speedy recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

Chippy hope he gets over it soon all the best to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

This weed is coming through in a field of grass, i sprayed it all with MCPA Summer 2010 and it made a great job of it killed everything but the grass but just walked it today and this weed is creeping through. What is it and will it die off as grass grows/first grazing or will i need to kill it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

How is the patient today?

My initail reaction to your post was a freshly calved cow. Even normally quiet cows can lose all reason for a week or two post calving.
    We have one at present who will go this year because of her antics at calving.

My mother was attacked and trampled by a dairy cow just after calving. The cow just suddenly went mental. After the incident, no one could get near the field for days, it took about 4 people and two tractors to round her up to get her in a trailer to take her to burger-town!
    Just goes to show, you can never relax around the animals. Me Daddy always has a good stick with him.

I hope your dad gets better quickly, Chippy. It's an awful fright to get a call like that. Make sure the doctors keep an eye on him. My mother had residual injuries long after, the doctors kept not spotting them. And her being a typical Irish farmer, kept on going despite falling to bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

You meet all sorts of people in life. Whether right or wrong if the initail contact is civil it usually sets the tone.

But you can also be civil for too long aswell as I have found out, if your nice and polite these people like calling to see you to collect their milage. I have never dealt with the fisheries thank god but your experience of them Whelan isnt the norm for listening to people who have being lucky enough to be called on.

But you can also be civil for too long aswell as I have found out, if your nice and polite these people like calling to see you to collect their milage.

If it were simply a matter as making up mileage, there would be no need to call in to see anyone.

[Qoute]I have never dealt with the fisheries thank god but your experience of them Whelan isnt the norm for listening to people who have being lucky enough to be called on.

Depends who you listen to I suppose.
    I can tell you the number of farmers who legal proceedings are instigated against is tiny in comparison to the number of farmers who are called upon.

Thanks for all the well wishes. Its really decent of people. they are going to move hospital in a few days, still draining blood off his lungs. Hes in a lot better shape this evening. He even asked my mother to bring up his glasses so he could read the journal. he should have a good list of tips for me tomorrow. he hasnt got the hang of the computer yet but is always interested in whats being talked about on this site.
    Have an interesting morning tomorrow isolating that bit*h.
    thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Thanks for all the well wishes. Its really decent of people. they are going to move hospital in a few days, still draining blood off his lungs. Hes in a lot better shape this evening. He even asked my mother to bring up his glasses so he could read the journal. he should have a good list of tips for me tomorrow. he hasnt got the hang of the computer yet but is always interested in whats being talked about on this site.
    Have an interesting morning tomorrow isolating that bit*h.
    thanks again

Glad to hear that he's doing well. Hope he makes a good recovery!!

had a heifer looked like she was going to calve last nite, got up at 3 to check her , but no sign of anything , at7 am she was still messing around, handled her at 10am, just a tail coming and she was very tight:o got vet got calf out alive but died after :mad: heifer ok....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭stanflt

had a heifer looked like she was going to calve last nite, got up at 3 to check her , but no sign of anything , at7 am she was still messing around, handled her at 10am, just a tail coming and she was very tight:o got vet got calf out alive but died after :mad: heifer ok....

sorry to hear that-hope heifer will be ok

stanflt wrote: »
    sorry to hear that-hope heifer will be ok
    milked her this morning , alls well, shes cleaned and all...

was putting cubicle lime from bag in to bucket this evening and i got some in my eye:eek: of course i couldnt find the optrex, was really sore ... unreal how something you do every day turns into a hazard!

Cow with twins calved last night. Both dead, heifer and bull off SOK:mad: and i didnt get many SOK straws.

Now i have sent off for BVD tags but they havent come yet so do i wait till they come before sending off the calves or is there some way of getting a sample and sending that off?

4 weeks waiting now:mad::mad:

5live wrote: »
    Cow with twins calved last night. Both dead, heifer and bull off SOK:mad: and i didnt get many SOK straws.

Now i have sent off for BVD tags but they havent come yet so do i wait till they come before sending off the calves or is there some way of getting a sample and sending that off?

4 weeks waiting now:mad::mad:
    someone else was on here the other day about that, maybe give them a ring, i ordered them by phone and got them last week, think i was waiting 2 weeks...