Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Bodacious wrote: »
    exactly couple of bruised ribs too and a bruised ego:D but lucky lucky boy overall. machinery can be replaced i could have been mangled beneath it:mad:
    Yup despite our OHs claims, we are difficult to replace. Glad to hear you are up and running again. The old ego can be massaged back to shape but the body talks a lot longer. Just reading in the paper about a man in cork that died after a kick from a heifer but had a history of close calls including one with a bull last year. Ar dheis de go raibh a anam dilis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

So the moral of the story is quads cost a fortune to run (from other thread) and will kill ya

Get rid i say

On a more serious note it is great that you have all escaped unscathed. bi curamach lads and lasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

5live wrote: »
    Once you can walk away its a cheap lesson learned. A couple of weeks ago i was feeding ration in the evening and running late. I loaded the bags into the grab and went feeding. Second bag slipped and i moved to catch it and my boots lost grip in the yard. I fell onto the spikes. 4 holes in my jacket jumper shirt and tee shirt and only 1 bad scratch and 4 bruises on my ribs. Too much rushing isnt good but no damage done:o

Yikes!!! That sounds like an incredibly close one! :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

5live wrote: »
    Yup despite our OHs claims, we are difficult to replace. Glad to hear you are up and running again. The old ego can be massaged back to shape but the body talks a lot longer. Just reading in the paper about a man in cork that died after a kick from a heifer but had a history of close calls including one with a bull last year. Ar dheis de go raibh a anam dilis

Poor fella. I usually quiet safety minded but we all get caught out. My best mate bent down to lift a ramp after covering a mare for a fella and mare caught him clean in the mouth with one of her finest.. she sent him 20 feet back from the box with the rattle.. he was far enough down and away for her to land the perfect belt on him... good bit of dental work but he fine thank god:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

MAndrew wrote: »
    Hello.
    I have a quick question. My father is considering getting into farming, his father is a farmer, so they can work together. He needs to buy a tractor, but we don't know what make is the best for its money. We found on another forum this link to used tractors category (and here it is), but there are several models to choose from :/ And they're pretty expensive (except the "vintage" ones). Our budget is about 15,000. What would be the best choice?

id recommend a massey ferguson 390 or 390t....pure beasts and you can pick up a very good one for 15,000 i could give you a number to a man who would do you a good deal pm me if interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

Poor fella. I usually quiet safety minded but we all get caught out. My best mate bent down to lift a ramp after covering a mare for a fella and mare caught him clean in the mouth with one of her finest.. she sent him 20 feet back from the box with the rattle.. he was far enough down and away for her to land the perfect belt on him... good bit of dental work but he fine thank god:)
    he a very luckly man a kick to the head and it would be all over.i know a man working show horses got the same loading a mare and spent a few nights in intenvice care in hosptail.dangerous work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I came down a hill I shouldn't have on the quad the last day. Right down near the bottom it got steep, was sure there was another way off it but no :rolleyes: Wasn't 100% sure the back wheels were going to stay on the ground. Sat back as far as I could and inched it down with the brakes on. Won't be doing that again.

If I had been thinking, I should have put her in park, got off, and driven it down walking along side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

see minister coveney said today that thecountry was unofficially 0.45% under quota ... happy days for alot of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    see minister coveney said today that thecountry was unofficially 0.45% under quota ... happy days for alot of people

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

did any one else notice that alot of the furze and brambles died with the big freeze , no loss really , i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

did any one else notice that alot of the furze and brambles died with the big freeze , no loss really , i suppose

Don't worry, they'll be back - probably stronger than ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Did anyone read the articles on docks in the IFJ?

In one article it was spouting about how a (scottish... I think?) university had made the "amazing" discovery that a 20% infestation of docks in silage swards could mean a 20% decrease in silage yield!!!!!!!

Well no sh1t Einsteins ..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

weaned calves today including one brute of a limo out of a montbelliard who died and the calf was sucking anything he could get near.
    This was the second attempt to wean this lad as he broke back to the cows last time.
    anyways went to give them some meal and noticed a whitehead heifer missing. went walking and eventually heard the bawling. found her 5 feilds over. walked her back handy enough since she was shattered from all the runing and bawling.
    was walking back and saw the red limo break out to a tillage field. by the time we got to the gap (3 minutes max) there was no sign of him. went around the field and spoted him in the next feild. was gonna leave him there gtill morning but he spotted me and decided to break back.
    The old lad turns up now and we started to walk him back. The he was walking slowly and we didnt want to force him so took our time.
    Came up to a wet patch and the bullock walks straight through it. The there is an almighty SNAP and down he goes. Hind leg broken. :mad:
    Never saw the likes of it.
    Have to wait till morning and try and get him to the butcher. poor bastard!:(

weaned calves today including one brute of a limo out of a montbelliard who died and the calf was sucking anything he could get near.
    This was the second attempt to wean this lad as he broke back to the cows last time.
    anyways went to give them some meal and noticed a whitehead heifer missing. went walking and eventually heard the bawling. found her 5 feilds over. walked her back handy enough since she was shattered from all the runing and bawling.
    was walking back and saw the red limo break out to a tillage field. by the time we got to the gap (3 minutes max) there was no sign of him. went around the field and spoted him in the next feild. was gonna leave him there gtill morning but he spotted me and decided to break back.
    The old lad turns up now and we started to walk him back. The he was walking slowly and we didnt want to force him so took our time.
    Came up to a wet patch and the bullock walks straight through it. The there is an almighty SNAP and down he goes. Hind leg broken. :mad:
    Never saw the likes of it.
    Have to wait till morning and try and get him to the butcher. poor bastard!:(
    talk about a day of hell

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

The soner you get him killed the better.take him handy because he might not give the blood .if that happens the meat will not set.

wish I could do it now. Hate the idea of leaving him like that over night

Dont give him any injection .if you do the vet will skip him .I saw it happen a month ago.

do you have a note from the vet , dont know if factory will take him, our local factory in duleek have a new vet who is very strict:mad: good luck with him

Dont go to factory with him you will get nothing there. get him killed by local butcher for freezer.

bloody crows are back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bloody crows are back

Big time - I was spreading slurry last night and they were swarming all over the covered ground. It was like a scene out of Hitchcock's "The Birds".

Dont go to factory with him you will get nothing there. get him killed by local butcher for freezer.

Thats grand if you have a big freezer to take him but we dont.

Got him loaded onto a trailer and killed at the factory anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

dar31 wrote: »
    just proved that men cant multi task.
    tried to ring missus while feeding calves, got fed up waiting for her to answer so i stuck phone between ear and shoulder so i could get on with it, guess where the phone landed, into a bucket of lovely fresh biestings.
    saved the sim, phone knackered.
    backed it up last month so not to bad.

My first phone fell into a river nd survived, then it spent a night out in long grass nd survived, it wasnt untill the tractor wheel drove over it that it got knackered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭dar31

Mr.Success wrote: »
    My first phone fell into a river nd survived, then it spent a night out in long grass nd survived, it wasnt untill the tractor wheel drove over it that it got knackered.

was due an upgrade any ways, got it a few weeks ago.
    put it through the washing machine with my work clothes this evening.

2 phones in 2 months,.. bugger

bloody crows are back
    crow came throw mesh at top of chimney and in to the living room, frightened the daylights out of me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

crow came throw mesh at top of chimney and in to the living room, frightened the daylights out of me

Sounds like that horror movie:eek: We have the BirdGard thing thing here, does a good job, I use the gun too.

the big sissy i am i got my dad to get it out:D hate crows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

fecking litle blackbirds or some sort of birds anyway nest ing in the walls of machinery shed, little hoors, they are sh1ting on everything, put wire mesh on rafters and no good, will have to get bird scarer or something...hung a fake cat of the rafters as well, it had these reflective eyes that are supposed to frighten them...the feckers eat the eyes out of the thing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Advertised our silage in the local paper which came out this morning.

got a call around half nine from someone fairly local asking about it, told him what field it was and he said he'd call up for a look later on.

got a call just now, he's taking it, no negotiation, half being paid tonight, half before he cuts it.

Clearly we're too cheap :)

but cash in the bank is worth far more than a great price that you have to chase for two years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

JohnBoy wrote: »
    Advertised our silage in the local paper which came out this morning.

got a call around half nine from someone fairly local asking about it, told him what field it was and he said he'd call up for a look later on.

got a call just now, he's taking it, no negotiation, half being paid tonight, half before he cuts it.

Clearly we're too cheap :)

but cash in the bank is worth far more than a great price that you have to chase for two years

well sure he probably knew the ground already once he found out who you were so as you say it was just a question of money, good result though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

aye, we had the townland in the ad, and he asked is that up near Murphys*. Not near Murphys*, actually Murphys*

we'd gotten a fright a few weeks ago when an auctioneer told us it'd only be worth 120 an acre and we'd spent just shy of 100 on fertilizer.

*all names changed to protect the innocent

had a skinny third calver , i mollycoddled her for a while and she calved ok 3 weeks ago ... let her with cows last night and she was dead this morning, she fell in a ditch:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

did anyone see any 2011 lambs in marts yet. As in the early weaned lambs that were born in january? What prices were they going.

had a skinny third calver , i mollycoddled her for a while and she calved ok 3 weeks ago ... let her with cows last night and she was dead this morning, she fell in a ditch:mad::mad:
    sorry to hear about your cow.

+1 May all the bad luck go with her:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

did anyone see any 2011 lambs in marts yet. As in the early weaned lambs that were born in january? What prices were they going.

M8 got 130/140? one of the two sorry. End of Dec/Jan lambs.
    Course then he went and spent it all on a few hoggets

Two slow pokes left to lamb, wish they'd hurry up to... Expect a set of twins and a single. Am hoping for two ewe lambs out of that trio. But, with 28 ram wether lambs out of 43 lambs total so far, I'm not counting my chickens just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,772 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

According to todays IT, farmers with early lambs are rolling in it:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Had a cow this evening eating stones on the road:mad: hopefully she is the only one. Was tormented by it last year, some were saying phosphorous, but they had enough of that, tested everything. In the end, we reckoned it was acidosis from lush grass:confused:

got a call to say there where cattle out in my silage ground , went up and there where 5 massive deer there :rolleyes:

Few lads over in Hunting would be only delighted to know that :)

johngalway wrote: »
    Few lads over in Hunting would be only delighted to know that :)

They hard to shift too once they get a taste of the place:mad: John is it closed Season for hunting them now though?!

time for a bbq;)

They hard to shift too once they get a taste of the place:mad: John is it closed Season for hunting them now though?!

Yes it's closed season now. May be possible to get a section 42 if they're causing a LOT of damage. That'd be for a ranger to assess though.

their was a stag deer on the out farm some years ago he lay beside the cattle and one of the bullocks went down with tb.

does any one know do you need a licence or something to keep poultry , ds has around a dozen hens etc and someone said we should have a licence , its the first i ever heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

does any one know do you need a licence or something to keep poultry , ds has around a dozen hens etc and someone said we should have a licence , its the first i ever heard

You're supposed to have a flock number AFAIK. We have 5 hens and a rooster and don't have one. Don't know how its enforced it or who inspects it, but I'm sure it keeps a couple of hundred people in the Dep of Agriculture in employment across the country.

sold a really good bull today- oji*mcl 181 ebi got what i wanted so happy days

also loaded the last 3milking heifers from this seasons sales-hope next year will be as good

reilig wrote: »
    You're supposed to have a flock number AFAIK. We have 5 hens and a rooster and don't have one. Don't know how its enforced it or who inspects it, but I'm sure it keeps a couple of hundred people in the Dep of Agriculture in employment across the country.
    the dept sent out a form to everyone at the time of the bird flu to fill in if you had hens for eggs for your own use.

afair we had a few ducks at that stage , we got an odd letter about poultry things so we must be registered so