Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AC Milan Away - Match Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

can we dream lads? Qtr final of the champos league...get in there

that gattuso a right little scumbag

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Everything In Its Right Place

wow

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭marty2002

Wow what a win, what a performance, sandro looks the dogs balls bigtime.
    COYS....fcuking beertime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mayospur

yiddo59 wrote: »
    Think we'll need an away goal to go through and I think we'll get it.
    a great win a great team perforance i'm so proud to be a spurs fan for nearly 50 yrs [even JJ got in on the act!] a great night

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I'm begining to believe........... COYS.

Delighted for the lads from here who went over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Lads some of youse need to say sorry to Gomes for doubting him

Top Keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Brilliant!

I want a still shot of Lennon riding that challenge from Yeppe.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Glebee

Great performance and got the result that was deserved. To dare is to do. Second leg should be magic at the lane.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭philon

BERBA wrote: »
    nerves are shot.

COYS

Mine still are.....what a performance all round COYS :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

I am a Uniited fan, want to say what a performance, thoroughly deserved win, Hopefully Joe Jordan is currently knocking seven shades of ****e out of Gattuso, What a spiteful little prick he is.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭dodgygeezer

Looking good for the quarter finals. I think we could take anybody except barca on our day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Well done lads!

I hope there is no trouble after the game

Nice to see Woodgate back for yas too, Sandro looks very handy, Crouch was excellent

• Registered Users Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Unreal lads.

Switched on the laptop at kick-off but couldn't take my eyes off the game.

Cracking result.

All credit to Redknapp... he had the tactic's spot on and had the lads clued in. I thought we'd get found out in europe this season he he really knows his stuff. Pienear instead of Niko was the right choice and Crouch was the perfect outlet. Games like this are won and lost in the opening 20mins and getting those deep crosses into Crouchie at the back post really unsettled Milan.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Delighted. Thought all the lads did brilliantly. Great to see Woody back. Hope Corluka isn't hurt too bad. Was a disgraceful challenge from the ex-arsenal man. Should have saw red for that for sure.

Cant wait for the game back in our back yard with Bale back and Modric fit and ready to go. Should be a great game, quarters here we come.

:D:D:D:D

Edit: Is there a draw to see who plays who in the next round or is that already decided? If so who we got(if we get through obv)?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Brilliant performance... all the lads played out of their skin... tactics spot on (1st half reminded me of man u v arsenal this season)... showed great character all round... a great night for spurs :) COYS

On a side not BERBA, i dont know why you would post in the Soccer forum at all. All those nay saying man u and bitter liverpool posters could easily spoil your night!! That Misterman is a total clown.

Cant wait to get them down WHL in a fortnight :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

ziedth wrote: »
    I'm begining to believe........... COYS.

Delighted for the lads from here who went over.
    Only Barce, Madrid, Chelski and UTD are favoured ahead of us by Paddy Power for the CL.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Joe took off his glasses and also took out his teeth :P

Gattuso should have been sent off.............little TURD :mad:

Flammini should have gone as well :mad:

Gomez made two brilliant saves, first one was one of the best I've ever seen. Last time we drew with them there, Pat Jennings was our man of the match.

All the Spurs players played well together, Sandros had a blinder,

Go Joe,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,COYS

3359u3b.gif

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

One of the regular poster stated months ago that 'we could do a leeds' and maybe reach the semi's.

I'm starting to believe too.

If we can go to the san siro and get a win surely we can go to OT, the bridge, emarites etc and get a win.

*cue a defeat at Molineux in two weeks time*

Little turd indeed.

Credit to all the team and the management. We almost lost the run of ourselves in the aftermath of the first Gattuso flare-up but its a sign of our maturity and Redknapps management that we kept our cool when alot of other teams would have fallen for Milans dirty tricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Emoran

The real Italian job.

Credit were credits due, sandro played a blinder! Every tackle was immense...

To dare is to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Brilliant, just brilliant.
    They all did there bit, everyone one of them.
    Massive performance.
    Gives us a great chance of making the last 8 of the European Cup.

As for Gattuso, he didn't get a sniff off our 2nd string midfield, he's bound to be upset :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

So proud of the players and the management staff

Great night for all Spurs people all over the world

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭spursman11

absolutely fantastic,all spurs players played their part,looking forward to leg @WHL,ensure we win and not let them get an early goal,only half time

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

14 heroes in Lillywhite :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Very disappointed in Milan thought they were disgraceful should of ended with 9 men and I hope that gattusu gets a proper long ban and serious club fine.

Team was immense Sandro looks great really delighted with him. COYS team of men we have.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

Super performance tonight...
    Have to say Sandro looks to be finding his game, the boy has a massive engine! He and Luka could be the making of an awesome partnership. The strings Luka pulled when he came on were a joy to watch. Poor Crouch looked like a horse ready to be put down!

AC Milan - Deplorable tactics....

I hope we bring them to the Lane and send them home humiliated for their carry on....

HR "I know who I'd pick between Joe Jordan and Gennaro Gattuso anyway... Joe all night long. All night long." :D

COYS!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

What a night,EPIC.One of the best Spurs performances I've seen in a long long time,every player did there bit and ran there arses off tonight,''glory glory'':)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yiddo59

Champions League: Five things we learned from Milan 0-1 Tottenham

Tottenham have nothing to fear at the highest level – except perhaps the attentions of a frustrated Gennaro Gattuso

• stuart_james_140x140.jpg
    • gattuso-007.jpg The Milan captain Gennaro Gattuso, right, confronts Harry Redknapp and the Spurs assistant manager, Joe Jordan at San Siro. Photograph: Mike Egerton/Empics Sport 1 Harry was true to his word

It was tempting to wonder whether Harry Redknapp was playing a few mind games before the match, when he said "we will have a right go" at Milan, but the Spurs manager was true to his word. The enforced inclusion of Sandro and Wilson Palacios, two holding midfielders, made little difference to the away team's attacking approach as they took the game to Milan from the first minute and they reached the interval entitled to feel that they had more than held their own. Even recognised defenders like the two full-backs, Vedran Corluka and Benoît Assou-Ekotto, were keen to join in at every opportunity as Spurs sought to penetrate the Milan defence on both flanks. Tottenham managed to strike a nice balance between staying compact when Milan were in possession and breaking forward with purpose whenever the opportunity to counter presented itself. In other words, their display was nothing like that in the first half against Internazionale here.
      2 Palacios and Sandro did well

Luka Modric, who came on in the second half, would have started this game if he had been fully fit. But the impressive performances of Palacios and Sandro suggested that being without the Croatian was not an entirely bad thing for Spurs. Although Modric might have made more of the possession Spurs enjoyed before he came on to the field, Palacios and Sandro were impressive in the centre of the pitch. They have rarely played together and are behind Modric, Tom Huddlestone and Jermaine Jenas in Redknapp's midfield pecking order but they looked like long-term partners on this occasion. Some might have harboured concerns that Sandro would have been out of his depth in a game of this magnitude – he had not even been named in Tottenham's squad for the group stage of the competition – but the 21-year-old Brazilian broke up play and moved the ball intelligently. Palacios also snapped into tackles and, by screening the Spurs rearguard, made it difficult for Milan to thread balls into the front men.
      3 This is no vintage Milan side

As seven-time winners of the competition Milan have a wonderful pedigree but on this evidence Massimiliano Allegri's team are not worthy of being mentioned in the same breath as some of the great teams of yesteryear. His men may be occupying top spot in Serie A but it was a measure of how comfortable Spurs were early on that their goalkeeper, Heurelho Gomes, had not been forced to make a notable save by the time half-time came around. It was no surprise to see Clarence Seedorf, one of several veterans in this Milan side, being taken off at the break, to be replaced by the young Brazilian Pato. Robinho, who will always be remembered as the flagship signing who failed to deliver at Manchester City, was anonymous and Zlatan Ibrahimovic, so dangerous domestically, once again managed to go missing on a Champions League night. It said it all that the player who looked most like scoring for Milan was Mario Yepes, a central defender.
      4 Gattuso doesn't know Joe Jordan

Gennaro Gattuso has always had fiery reputation but the Milan captain clearly knows little about Joe Jordan, despite the fact the Scotsman once played for the Italian club. The Milan captain thrust his hand into the face of Jordan, on the touchline in the second half. How the Spurs assistant manager must have wished he had been out on the pitch to exact retribution. Gattuso later picked up a caution that will rule him out of the second leg but he can count himself lucky that Stéphane Lannoy, the referee, failed to spot him clip Peter Crouch around the ear off the ball. The biggest crime, though, was that Mathieu Flamini stayed on the pitch. The former Arsenal player was guilty of a shocking two-footed lunge on Vedran Corluka that brought the Croatian's night to an end. Flamini escaped with a yellow card.
      5 Spurs have nothing to fear

This performance and result, without Gareth Bale, was proof that Redknapp's side not only belong at this level but deserve to be regarded as genuine contenders. They have comprehensively beaten the reigning champions and they have beaten Milan on their own patch. Tottenham executed their game plan brilliantly, as they showed defensive discipline that is rarely associated with Redknapp's teams and also attacked with menace. Nobody deserved to score the winner more than Peter Crouch, who caused problems throughout. Aaron Lennon's role in that breakaway was also hugely significant. Redknapp knows the job is not done but Spurs have given themselves a wonderful chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

Just in from watching the game. What a fantastic result tonight but also a great performance.

I was started to get worried at half-time that we had bossed it so much but failed to score. Sure enough, Milan showed more spirit in the 2nd half but in IMO they never showed any serious threat. Ok, Gomes made 1 great save from that header but on their own patch I was expecting more from Milan and generally thought their attack was quite predictable. Some good defending from our lads as well.

I was screaming at the lads to keep giving Lennon the ball in the 2nd half, everytime he had it in the 1st half the milan players were sh1tting themselves.

Finally we got the ball to him and sure enough he cut through them like a hot knife through butter. Fair play to Crouchy for being in the right place at the right time. The finish itself was easy, my 6yr old would have put that away.

Harry got the selection right tonight and great to see Modric back.

Was suprised that the assistant ref's ruled out the late late Ibrahimavic goal (rightly so for the push) seeing as the referee and his assistants had failed to spot numerous red card offences by Milan throughout the game. Maybe the guilty conscience caught up with them.

Let's not get too cocky, as after all it is only half-time, but we have a great chance now.

COYS

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭wellboys

What a win.. What a performance.. I reckon a lot of people are eating a nice slice of humble pie after saying we were to be "taken down from our wonderland" and that "we would be thrashed".. True passion and determination should through tonight. Makes me proud to wear the jersey..

Believe.
    To dare is to do.