Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Socialization / dog walking buddy

• 14-02-2011 5:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭

Hi

I have an 18 weeks old puppy. I walk him in the mornings and when i get back from work and a bit before going to bed.
    Thing is i walk him around my state, there are no parks very close so just walk in a field and i never see other dogs with or without owner so my puppy never sees other dogs, which i think its very sad :(
    I take him to puppy training on the weekends and he has such a great time!! He defo needs to be more in contact with other dogs.. so was wondering how can i achieve this.
    I only moved to the state where i live now in November and I dont know anybody there.. so, dunno, maybe there are dogs but i havent seen them yet..
    I live around citywest area in Dublin, so do you have any suggestions? Do you live there and have a dog and want to go walking with me & my pups?
    Please, help us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭boxerly

Maybe you could go to Marley park in Clondalkin at weekends? or Castletown in Celbridge..your bound to meet loads of dogs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Loads of dogs in Marlay Park alright, in the dog park, when the weather is decent, so if that's an option for you.
    I'm sure if you put up a post you can convince a few people from here to meet up with you as well, not that you'd really need to since the place is full of dogs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Do you drive OP? Dog Training Ireland do daycare and it usually takes me about 20-30 mins to get from there to citywest and it's brilliant for socialising them. I've seen a good few dogs being walked around the ciywest campus too so there's definitely some there!

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭TonyFella

boxerly wrote: »
    Maybe you could go to Marley park in Clondalkin at weekends? or Castletown in Celbridge..your bound to meet loads of dogs :)

OP just to clarify Marley Park is not in Clondalkin its in Rathfarnham here is a map showing where it is http://maps.google.ie/maps?hl=en&biw=1366&bih=667&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=0,0,8843392975281502585&fb=1&hq=Marley+park&hnear=Clondalkin,+Co.+South+Dublin&gl=ie&daddr=Grange+Road,+Rathfarnham,+Dublin+16,+Rathfarnham,+Dublin+16,+Co.+Dublin&geocode=7209282025474815701,53.279551,-6.271533&ei=LsRZTYndLd-qhAfNkKH0DA&sa=X&oi=local_result&ct=directions-to&resnum=1&ved=0CBYQngIwAA

The park is now opened to 6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭boxerly

ahh feck sorry hahahaha,my mind was thinking of 2 diff things:) whats the one in clondalkin?

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭amira

thanks everybody for the suggestions

i do try my best on the weekends.. I take him to the puppy training and some days i bring him to Corkagh park, (i think that's the one you meant in Clondalkin)

but i thought it'd be nice if i could meet other dogs during the week too.. i get home from work around 6 so by that time the parks are closed.. :(

I don't think i could afford the day care.. but thanks for that suggestion too!

So you think another post asking for dog owners in Citywest will help :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

Cherryfield in Firhouse is always open and with the evenings getting a bit brighter each day it's worth a visit. You'll always meet other dogs here and you don't necessarily have to keep your dog on a lead. Directions in the link below (click on the little footballer), it's near the Spawell.

http://www.pitchcheck.ie/2009/11/04/cherryfield-park-firhouse-rd-ballyboden-dublin-16/

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭reeta

amira wrote: »
    thanks everybody for the suggestions

i do try my best on the weekends.. I take him to the puppy training and some days i bring him to Corkagh park, (i think that's the one you meant in Clondalkin)

but i thought it'd be nice if i could meet other dogs during the week too.. i get home from work around 6 so by that time the parks are closed.. :(

I don't think i could afford the day care.. but thanks for that suggestion too!

So you think another post asking for dog owners in Citywest will help :rolleyes:

You should try "Cherryfield" which is on the ballyboden road (not even ten minutes drive from Citywest), open 24/7, basically walk is behind the playing fields, people walk their dogs there all day, you can leave them off the lead. Great place to socialise your dog.

wow! are you two sinchronized??
    I'll definitely try that place then.. i just hope it's not a boggey place to walk at nite.. i dont know all the areas around tallaght yet.. and altho eves are getting brighter is still dark at 6..

I've walked it at night, except for a few bats flying overhead it's grand. An odd time you'll meet a few lads drinking cans near the bridge under the M50, their knowledge of dogs is unbelievable! Maybe give it another couple of weeks and honestly you'll get a great walk in the evenings from then until October, great at weekends too.

will do!! thanks again for the advice.. i might wait a couple of weeks then and give it a try..
    and if i need dog advise i'll just pop around the bridge, meet those lads.. ;)

Ha ha, as Reeta says the best walk is beyond the playing fields. Basically if you park in the car park near the football pitch on the link, walk towards the pitch and then towards the dodder river, it's on your right. Walk along the banks of the river towards Firhouse, and it takes about an hour, the pathway actually loops back when you get to the Speaker Pub on Firhouse road.

You could also park in Morton's Pub on the Firhouse Road and enter the park there near the M50 underpass. You'll meet lots of people and eventually they will walk with you for parts or all of the walk. Lots of wildlife to enjoy too.

That sounds great.. thanks for the detailed info!!
    I might even give it a try on Sunday.. Weather allowing that is!! Not sure about an hour walk, the pup is still small.. But sure he'll enjoy just being around other dogs, however long the walk is.. Can't wait now..:D

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Crazyivan 1979

The one in clondalkin is called Corkagh Park, it is a nice enough park, there a few fields behind it where you can let your dogs off the lead.