Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aris Thessaloniki v Manchester City, Kick Off: 5pm (Setanta Ireland)

• 15-02-2011 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭

Might as well get the ball rolling just in case no once else can be Aris-ed *cough*.

Expecting a strong lineup and a win to take back to Comms. Ex-City man Nery Castillo is in their squad.

Squad: Hart, Given, Taylor, Richards, Zabaleta, Boateng, K Toure, Kompany, Kolarov, Lescott, Wright-Phillips, Vieira, Y Toure, Silva, Barry, Tevez, Dzeko, Balotelli, Jo, M Johnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Be good to see city go for the trophy still think a champions league spot should go to the winner. 1-1 would be a good result considering the long journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

They beat Atletico away which must count for something. I was drinking in the bar where their fans went to celebrate afterwards and they seemed like good craic so I have a bit of a soft spot for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Hart, Richards, Boateng, K Toure, Kolarov, Barry, Y Toure, Silva, SWP, Tevez, Dzeko

Subs: Given, Kompany, Jo, Vieira, Zabaleta, Lescott, Balotelli

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Looking forward to this now, no idea what to expect from the opponents. Gonna be a feast of footie from 5pm onwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Surprised Given doesn't get a start for this.

Also, thought Balotelli was injured.

niallo24 wrote: »
    Looking forward to this now, no idea what to expect from the opponents. Gonna be a feast of footie from 5pm onwards!

Just watching the mid term report on espn and they are undefeated at home and helped to knock athletic Madrid out as well could be a very tough match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Yeah Aris beating Athletico makes me wary about this but its not the same Athletico we know plus we have a strong side out there.Looking forward to see SWP back in the starting XI

aris are unbeaten at home in europe for the last 40 years (24 games)!

Football!
    Time to spend the evening watching it :)

City in control so far you would think they were the home team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Desire to Aspire

Anyone got a good stream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

This is on ITV4 too btw.

Hmmmm,I know its early but wouldnt be surprised if we didnt score here today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Didn't think he carried that out there.

Barry must be an Aris fan. Absolute dog shit so far.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

This officiating team are awful, not that they are showing bias to any one team, they are just plain terrible.

Ya think he stepped out but kept ball inside the box

Anyone got a good stream?

Can you lads use tvcatchup down there? if you can I can't recommend it enough.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Barry must be an Aris fan. Absolute dog shit so far.

He's been terrible all season, hard to believe the same manager got fed with poor performances from Ireland but persists with the same from Barry.

i havent been impressed with barry since day 1 in a city jersey to be honest

couple of nice through balls from dzeko there

This is absolute shite again. So many misplaced passes.

City aren't closing down players at all while aris are and it's paying off at the moment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Its Like watching a carbon copy of Fulham V chelsea last nite , pure and utter muck

Not a bad effort from Dzeko,he looks eager to score,just not getting the help

Thank fook SWP is gone off. **** again.

How often does a Barry pass go directly to the opposition, so frustrating.

thank god thats over, dissapointing performance, we'll have them at home handily enough

What a waste of my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,838 ✭✭✭✭dahat

What a waste of my time.

Guess i am not missing much then?
    Sounds like a really poor affair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Hart, Richards, Boateng, K Toure, Kolarov, Barry, Y Toure, Silva, SWP, Tevez, Dzeko

Subs: Given, Kompany, Jo, Vieira, Zabaleta, Lescott, Balotelli

putting out that strong a team could cost city in the long run in the league. the top teams will all drop points during european games, city could capitalise on that, but they wont do so by playing pretty much their best team in a game like this....they are lucky though its on a tuesday and not a thursday.l

Not really, team still need time on the pitch to develop. We are not involved in the double game week, we only have the FA cup replay against Notts Co. to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

If city played them like they played United they would have hammered the shít out of them.

Amazing how SWP can turn up against Utd, but disappear against this crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

why was this game on tonight btw?

Hoki wrote: »
    why was this game on tonight btw?

Because same town club PAOK play on Thursday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

When the hell did they start having CL and europa cup games on the same fecking night?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

karma_ wrote: »
    Because same town club PAOK play on Thursday.

At home as well i presume? Strange all the same