Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de Munster roll call!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I was watching the videos posted by the lippy Dub on youtube of last nights event in Cork. I have been reminded as to why we do this thing.
    Humbling.
    HTFU time. I will do the leap even if I have to crawl up on my belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

ROK ON wrote: »
    I will more than likely avoid Priests Leap,
    I will never ever do it again and I'm happy with that level of mediocrity.

Class, you should run for politics!

The Leap isn't all that bad really, It's a bit like going to the dentist, your building yourself up, fretting and worrying about it, sure the waiting room is the worst bit, when you get there he checks you out and says that your fine EXCEPT FOR THE ROOT CANAL WORK WHICH HAS TO BE DONE WITH NO ANASTETIC!!!

I remember the fisrt time I went up it I was driving and as there was a bit of fog for added excitement, it frightened the living jebus outa me. I cycled it a week or so later in better conditions and while its a hard slog (yes I took a photo oppertunity or two) it was some thrill to get to the top. Biggest disappointment I thought was that the decent is so steep you have to ride the brakes for most of it. Watch out for sheep jumping out too, their wild up there.
    Unfortunatly come sat I will be elsewhere on a stag weekend while ye are touching the sky , I'll be thinking of ye! (I'll have to make it down before the tour and do it to have some sort of cred).

Have a great spin, wish I gonna be there......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Phil2me

we may need a boat to get up and down it at this rate, but at least we won't be standing in the cold rain for 25mins , when we stop to eat in Kenmare.

Weather for tomorrow could be ok. Apparently fine in the morning with short showers but possibility of heavy downpours in the afternoon.

I am going to bring a change of gear tomorrow. I will have mty car parked near the Lansdowne Hotel in the morning with my spare gear.

If anyone wants to pack a small bag with say spare socks shorts jersey in order to change at lunch time then come up to me before 745am. We can throw everthing in the boot of the car and change it at the lunch break should the necessity arise.
    Hopefully by doing this it will be an absolute scorcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Guys I will be showing The Flying Scotsman (short clip here) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQ8B-K6wyOI at Princes Street (Unitarian) Church Cork at 8pm on Tuesday July 5Th admission €10. Tea, coffee and refreshments will be available to buy before and during the film. If you would like to attend please send me a pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Phil2me

I was watching the videos posted by the lippy Dub on youtube of last nights event in Cork. I have been reminded as to why we do this thing.
    Humbling.

TWAS handy enough in the end......LOL.......
    It actually never gets easier.....

Things are taking shape for Tuesday's film night at Princes Street Church Cork. Kick off 8pm admission €10. Tea,coffee and refreshments will be available to buy before and during the film. Some tickets still available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Diego Murphy

Well lads, only 24 days to go to the tour. Enjoyable sprint on the Carrigrohane straight this evening. Now I know how what it means to "blow up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭karlmyson

Well lads, only 24 days to go to the tour. Enjoyable sprint on the Carrigrohane straight this evening. Now I know how what it means to "blow up"

Our group (Gp 4) missed that - we cut onto the Ballincollig bypass and had our sprint there. Pity, 'cos that Straight Road drag race is one of my favourite high speed run-ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

Enjoyable sprint on the Carrigrohane straight this evening. Now I know how what it means to "blow up"

It was quite the burn alright!

Well I collected my tour kit last night. Looks great. I thought last night might be a handy spin with it being so close to the tour but it was a good 70k with temple hill thrown in for good measure. It's testament to the training setup that the vast majority of people made it to the top without stopping for some air!

Hard to believe that this time next week, we'll be getting ready for road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Best of luck lads, enjoy!

If I get the chance to support ye in Limerick I will.
    Not sure which look I'll go for - "le buffoon" (mullet, stripped to the waist, can in hand, running alongside ye shouting) or this:
    c922c96044978075bc4c07b62303.jpeg

Well I collected my tour kit last night. .

You did wha where?

Can someone pm me details if there out there please???

You did wha where?

Can someone pm me details if there out there please???

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Special Red

Well I collected my tour kit last night. Looks great. I thought last night might be a handy spin with it being so close to the tour but it was a good 70k with temple hill thrown in for good measure. It's testament to the training setup that the vast majority of people made it to the top without stopping for some air!

Hard to believe that this time next week, we'll be getting ready for road.

Temple Hill was good craic alright. As you said Diego, it just goes to show if you put in the training you'll get up the likes of Temple Hill.

This time next week we'll be somewhere in Limerick; bring it on...

Got the kit, it looks the job!

Small problem though the jerseys are a bit big on me. I got one of each in L so if anyone has M jerseys and would like like a bit more room let me know.
    Not worn, only for 30 seconds in front for the mirror!!!

Small problem though the jerseys are a bit big on me. I got one of each in L so if anyone has M jerseys and would like like a bit more room let me know.
    Sorry can't help there. I suppose it would be worse if it was too small!

Mine too big also but gave them a 60 degree wash and then 30 mins in the tumble drier; shrunk them down a bit. Bib shorts fit well though

. I suppose it would be worse if it was too small!

True. No harm in having a bit of room over the four days. Plenty of room for layers if the weather is crap.
    Bib's and gillett fit perfectly though
    Mine too big also but gave them a 60 degree wash and then 30 mins in the tumble drier; shrunk them down a bit. Bib shorts fit well though

I did think of that but I'll wait and try and swap.:)

Well bike is ready now, I used the event to clean her up. New tyres, tape and brakes. I tried and failed to change the saddle so those who know me can look forward to 3 and a half days of bitching about it:)
    But she looks lovely.

4 Days of group cycling, climbs, descents, hammer drops and banter I'm really looking forward to it now, the last email has really made it more tangible!

Well bike is ready now, I used the event to clean her up. New tyres, tape and brakes. I tried and failed to change the saddle so those who know me can look forward to 3 and a half days of bitching about it:)
    But she looks lovely.

4 Days of group cycling, climbs, descents, hammer drops and banter I'm really looking forward to it now, the last email has really made it more tangible!

Can't wait for myself. Got Micheal(Cork Bicycle Services) to give the bike a good once over during the week. She's looking nice and shiny again so i'm ready for road.

Best of luck to all doing and supporting the TDM. I cant make days 1&2 but am hopefully joining ye in Tralee for days 3 and 4.
    Long range weather forecast is pretty poor - here hoping it is completely wrong.
    Have a safe happy tour.

Long range weather forecast is pretty poor - here hoping it is completely wrong.
    Have a safe happy tour.

I'm hoping that Met Eireann are wrong as usual, and that the guy from www.irishweatheronline.com is more accurate. This is what he's saying

THURSDAY … Variable cloud, rather warm, isolated showers more frequent and heavy in north, lows near 12 C and highs near 21 C.
    FRIDAY … Variable cloud, warm, showers, chance of heavier storms late in day, lows near 13 C and highs near 20 C.
    WEEKEND OUTLOOK … Variable cloud, cooler, westerly winds, some showers, highs 16-18 C.

Shoe covers and sunscreen so...

Wet for sure...but at least it looks like being mild enough.

Well it all kicks off tomorrow. Looks like Friday is the only day that's expected to be wet. Other than that, it's expected to be showery with sunny spells.

I've my overshoes ready so as long as my feet stay dry then that's alright. I can get over the rest of me getting wet.

Remember to follow us on twitter for 5k updates- @tourdemunster . Hope everyone is looking forward to it.

Best of luck to all the booardsies doing this.
    Have a safe happy ride with no punctures etc.
    Hopefully the weather will be kind.
    I will see ye all in Tralee on Fri night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Good luck to all participants, support crews and organisers this year.
    Forecast is so so but hope you all get to Cork trouble free.

Went into town to get the last few bits before tomorrow. Took a good hard look at Patricks hill and said to myself you'll keep! Best of luck to everyone over the next 4 days and remember early to bed tonight with Paul's group cycling document and coco! Ha Ha Thanks for all the good wishes. The last few days has been like waiting for Xmas day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Good luck everyone and enjoy.

Had toyed with the idea of doing it but just couldn't commit the time - well done to dedicated folk that have.

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Went into town to get the last few bits before tomorrow. Took a good hard look at Patricks hill and said to myself you'll keep! Best of luck to everyone over the next 4 days and remember early to bed tonight with Paul's group cycling document and coco! Ha Ha Thanks for all the good wishes. The last few days has been like waiting for Xmas day

You're right-there's been a great build up for the last few days.

The crowd at work went beyond the call of duty and put together a goody bag for me-talcon powder, anti chafing cream, herbal remedy plasters, baby oil, diarrhoea relief capsules, aching leg gel, an inflatable swimming ring & lucozade tablets. I hope to god that I don't need 90% of that stuff. I'm wondering is it all intended for the cycle or for my trip to Tenerife a week later!

You're right-there's been a great build up for the last few days.

The crowd at work went beyond the call of duty and put together a goody bag for me-talcon powder, anti chafing cream, herbal remedy plasters, baby oil, diarrhoea relief capsules, aching leg gel, an inflatable swimming ring & lucozade tablets. I hope to god that I don't need 90% of that stuff. I'm wondering is it all intended for the cycle or for my trip to Tenerife a week later!

A cycling hospital!

We might be laughing about it now, but those items could be in demand by tomorrow evening.

I can't believe they didn't throw in a few packets of condoms! Ha Ha

that's what i said to them

karlmyson wrote: »
    Bring it on! Anyone want to sign up to be in my lead out train into Killaloe ... ;)

Sure I'm always game for leading out...but you'll have your work cut out for you if Kelly is up for it!

Got Seán last year. He was 5th behind Micheál and I (4th/3rd, a debate perhaps). I had him boxed in and didn't let him out when he clearly indicated to, with about 500m to go, a mistake on my part. I was too concentrated on finishing ahead of him. Should have left him out without question, grabbed his wheel, and the worst I'd have got would probably have been 2nd. As it was, I was concerned about Micheál behind me, Kelly on my inside, and not really anyone else. There were two in front of me I knew I'd jump when required. Anyhow, with 200m to go as I was about to go, we got jumped ourselves by two guys who were in full flight and it was too late to respond to that - they took 1st and 2nd.

Of course if it was a real spring classic, I'd have been in the ditch in the blink of an eye for my insolence :D

Heading off to bed now. Bag packed, bike clean, pasta ate. Bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Good luck lads. I'll hopefully see yous rolling into Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Lemag wrote: »
    Good luck lads. I'll hopefully see yous rolling into Cork.

+ 1

4 days of nothing but bikes, perfect.
    And its after drying up, which is nice.

Happy Days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭damo80

Best of to all taking part today and next few days. Raging I'm missing this years one

Day three about to start, Tralee to Kenmare (the long way) and so far all good. We dodged yesterdays monsoon weather which was nice.

Conor pass and Molls gap today so tactics are being discussed all about, Kelly took the last hammer drop yesterday so the climbers are all out for revenge today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Saw you guys passing through Ennis yesterday - looked like great fun - well done to you all:D

At what time are ye expecting to roll in to Cork and via what route?

We hope to be coming into Cork 5/ 5:30 but that's only an estimate, check the twitter feed posted above for better info.
    We're wheeling in the Killarney road from Macroom, into the city up St. Patrick's hill (ouch) and onto the silversprings. More support the better to get us up the hill and to keep the bucket collectors busy:-)

Kelly took the last hammer drop yesterday so the climbers are all out for revenge today!

It would have been unfair of me to deny him the victory on the line :D

Best 20mins of fun on a bike I've had in a long time.

The hammer outside Castleisland on Friday was a power climb of 4-5km at 2%, followed by 6.4km of a drop at 3.2%. Burst a gut on the ascent on the coattails of some of my good buddies in an effort to get over the top in touch. On the drop I kept a close eye on Seán K in general and ignored everyone else as much as I could. Seriously, he is one classy descender. He ignored all the chaos, staying 6th or 7th wheel all the way down. People attacking and fading all over the place. Then with 400m to go a dangerous attack went off from one of my sprinting buddies and I felt I had to cover it. Got the wheel and then kicked around with 150m to go and I was sure I had it. Then with 10m to the line (the 50kmph sign outside Castleisland) the King came around for the win. Pure class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Saw them on Patricks hill earlier, brutal stuff, kelly in the first group, they were staggered from the bridge, he was second over the top but absolutely flying, not sure who the first guy was.
    Congrats to all who finished the journey, epic stuff, enjoy ure night, recover well!!! :D

Saw them on Patricks hill earlier, brutal stuff, kelly in the first group, they were staggered from the bridge, he was second over the top but absolutely flying, not sure who the first guy was.
    Congrats to all who finished the journey, epic stuff, enjoy ure night, recover well!!! :D
    This guy I think

0HKaz.jpg

Well done lads and ladies. The Patricks Hill climb made for a great spectacle.