Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL Charity Week 2011

• 17-02-2011 5:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭

Charity Week 2011
    This year Charity Week will be week 6, and below are the listings for what's on for the week. Remember that all profits from all gigs during Charity Week goes to charity. This years Charities are the Mid-Western Cancer Foundation, Console, The First Tee and The Alzheimer Society of Ireland.

Here is some of the events which you can raise money for. Sponsorship cards are available in SU Reception.
    Sky Dive

Raise €440 and get a Sky Dive compliments of Skydive UL and Skydive Ireland. €440 per person a €10 membership fee is also required for UL Skydive
    Bungee Jump

Raise €125 for Charity and you've earned yourself a jump from a crane at the East Gate. BOOM! €125 per person
    The Great Race

For those of you with a sense of adventure then this is the gig for you. It's a treasure hunt with a difference there's no clues just lots of running round. We'll set you a list of task that you need to complete and you are allocated points for each of those tasks, the winning team is the team that accumulate the highest number of points. Tasks range from getting your picture taken with celebrities, sportsmen, politicians , visiting the counties of Ireland, well known locations around the country, highest point , lowest
    point , highest building, biggest lake the list goes on and on and on etc. This is one of the most eargely anticipated events of Charity Week. The last time the event went ahead one of the
    highlights was a group of four UL students getting their photograph taken with Ian Paisley on a sunny Saturday morning in Belfast on the doorstep of his house…brave men! He even smiled for it, so he can't be all bad! You can pre prepare as much as you want and set stuff up in advance but the competition does not start until 12am on Friday and will finish at 12am on Monday. The results will be announced in the Stables Courtyard on Tuesday once they have been collated on Monday afternoon.

When
    12am Friday February 25th to
    12pm Monday February 28th

Where
    As far away as you can manage in a weekend!

How
    Teams Must Raise €500 in sponsorship to participate, 150 euros will go towards expenses. €350 to Charity Week Nominated Charities.
    A list of tasks will be published by ULSU in Pulse and each individual task will be assigned an individual point’s total. Points will be awarded on the basis of completed tasks. The team with the highest aggregate
    Points total at the end of the event will win the grand prize. Photographic evidence must be provided to support any claims of tasks completed with a newspaper of that day.
    Tug Of War

Whos the strongest team of five on campus? Four way tug of war outside the library. Its gonna be good! €25 per team
    Raft Race

Possibly the most anticipated event of Charity Week. Basically, you grab whatever you can, strap it together with twine, chewing gum or what ever you can find. Sail down from Kilmurry village to the Living bridge! First one across the line wins! Teams of 4 €50 + €50 deposit needed. Will be ruturned when the boats are taken home.
    Wonka Ticket and T - Shirt

Want to see all of the Charity Week events, but don't have the cash?Raise €80 for Charity and we'll give you a Wonka ticket and a Charity Week t-shirt for FREE!
    5 A Side Soccer

Like Ronseal, does exactly what it says on the tin! Get a team of any size, but only 5 can take the field at any one time, and see who is the new Torres, i mean Suarez... Too soon? €5 per player
    Tag Rugby

A squad of 12, with at least 3 girls on the pitch at any one time. €5 per person, more details available soon! Full rules available here.

Here are the listings for the weeks events.

Monday

11:00am...Raft Race................River by Kilmurry
    12pm...Giant Connect 4 Champs.............SU Courtyard
    12pm...Great Race Deadline..................SU
    All Day...Tag Rugby........................... Pitches
    1pm...Charity jukebox.........................SU Courtyard
    1pm...Jelly Wrestling...........................Stables Courtyard
    2pm...Yard of coke/ale........................ Scholars
    2:30pm...Dodgeball............................Stables Courtyard
    2:30pm...Mass Musical Chairs.................SU Courtyard
    3pm...Boat Race................................Scholars
    3:30pm...Live DJ................................Stables
    4pm...Kissing Competion.......................Stables
    4:30pm...Blinddate.............................Stables
    5:30pm...Fruity Games........................Stables
    6pm...Lovely Girl Competition.................Stables Courtyard
    6pm-9pm...Live Dj..............................Stables
    7pm...Nom nom nom...........................Your Gaff
    8pm...Live DJ...................................Stables Courtyard
    7pm-9pm...Traffic...........................Stables
    8pm...Casino Night...........................Sports Bar
    9pm...Christy Moore Tribute...........................Stables
    9pm...DJ Jeff...........................Scholars
    10:30pm...Live DJ...........................Stables
    11:30pm...Socialise...........................You Pick

Tuesday

All Day...Bucking Bronco...........................SU Courtyard
    All Day...Sumo Wrestling...........................SU Courtyard
    12pm...Gladiator Championship....................SU Courtyard
    1pm...Charity Jukebox..............................SU Courtyard
    1:45pm...Shave/Dye.................................Stables Courtyard
    2pm...Helium Karaoke................................Scholars
    3:30pm...Live DJ........................... Stables Courtyard
    4pm...Sock Pint Drink Competion...........................Stables
    4:30pm...Bonny Baby Competion...........................Stables
    4:30pm...Charity TV...........................SU Courtyard
    5pm...Banana Hoop competion...........................Stables
    4pm...Sex Quiz...........................Scholars
    6pm...Live DJ...........................Stables
    7pm...Get your eat on!...........................Your Gaff
    7pm-9pm...Traffic...........................Stables
    9pm...Undercover Creeps...........................Stables Courtyard
    9pm... Hermitage Green...........................Scholars
    11pm...Theme Tuesday........................... (Three Themes, Three Rooms) Angel Lane

Wednesday

All Day... Skydive
    All Day... Bungie Run........................... SU Courtyard
    All Day... Human Bowling........................... SU Courtyard
    11:00pm...5-a-Side Soccer........................... Astroturf
    12pm...Bean Eating Competition........................... Stables Courtyard
    1:00pm...Charity Jukebox........................... SU Courtyard
    1pm...Mud Wrestling........................... Stables Courtyard
    2pm...Sausage Eating Competition.................................... Scholars
    3pm...Iron Stomach Competition..........................Stables Courtyard
    3:30pm...Live DJ.............................................Stables
    3:45pm...Hypnotist Barry Sinclair........................... Stables Courtyard
    4pm...Kissing Race...........................................Stables
    4pm...Hooters Shooters...........................Scholars
    4pm...Tug of War........................... Library Green
    5pm...Wet T-Shirt Competition........................... Stables Courtyard
    5pm...Balloon Hug....................................Stables
    6pm...Live DJ..................................Stables
    7pm...Stuff your face...............................Your Gaff
    7:30pm...BYOB Cinema Night.............................SU Courtyard
    9pm...Enemy Aranda......................................Stables Courtyard
    11:30pm...Socialise Town

Thurdsay

All Day... Spin South West..................................SU Courtyard
    10:30am...Bungee Jump....................................East Gate
    12pm...Charity Jukebox.....................................SU Courtyard
    1:45pm...Charity Auction....................................Stables Courtyard
    2pm...Mankini Challenge..................................... Scholars
    2-5pm...Magician Steve Spade..............................Stables Courtyard
    2:30pm...Cadbury Milking....................................Stables Courtyard
    3pm...Sausage Eating Contest..............................Stables Courtyard
    3:30pm...Wedges Eating Competion.......................Stables Courtyard
    3:30pm...Live DJ.....................................Stables
    4pm... Millkshake Drinking Contest................................Scholars
    4pm...Cadbury Crème Egg Competition..........................Stables
    4pm...Henna Tattoo Artist.....................................SU Courtyard
    4:30pm...Male Female Outfit Swap .....................................Stables
    4:30pm...Mankini Challenge Wrap Up.............................Scholars
    5pm...Nose Pea Push Competition..................................... Stables
    6pm...Live DJ..................................... Stables
    7pm...Soakage Time!.....................................Your Gaff
    8pm...Live DJ..................................... Stables Courtyard
    8pm...Charity Ball Rubberbandits...................Arena
    9pm...Naked Bear.....................................Stables
    9pm...Silent Disco.....................................Scholars
    10:30pm...Live DJ.....................................Stables

Night Time Events

Monday
    Christy Moore Tribute - The Stables - FREE
    Liam Byrne is sings the songs of Christy,and other artists Like The POUGES

Tuesday
    The Undercover Creeps - The Stables Courtyard - FREE

Consisting of Ireland’s finest two party DJs, Johnny Hammond and DJ Flip, the Undercover Creeps have been tearing up dance floors across the country with their unique blend of scratching, mixing and mash ups.

Johnny is a full time, Limerick-based DJ of thirteen years. His CV boasts performances at Oxygen, Planet Love and Global Gathering. Described by many as Ireland’s most experienced club DJ, he has played memorable sets with Tiesto, Deadmau5, Faithless and Calvin Harris.

DJ Flip (aka Ronan Carney) got major kudos when he scratched his way to the title of ITF World Scratch Champion in 2003. It’s been onward and upward since then. He’s here and he’s 150% in your face at all times. He says what he wants, when he wants, where he wants, to who he wants. He covers the spectrum.

Wednesday

BYOB Cinema Night - SU Courtyard - €5
    What better way to raise money for Charity then bring a few cans and watch a good show with your mates? ULSU cinema will be back with Old School on the big screen in the courtyard. Tickets are €5 wich allows you to bring in 4 500ml unopened cans of beer or cider. NO glass, plastic or any other alcoholic beverage of any kind are allowed and only 4 cans. Doors open at 7pm and will CLOSE at 8.30pm. Show starts at 7.30pm. ONLY 500 TICKETS AVALIABLE

Thursday

ULSU Charity Ball with the Rubberbandits- UL Arena - €12

We're basically decking out the arena with a savage stage, some epic drapage, unreal lights and we're going to party with Limericks very own Rubberbandits. A session not to be missed!

For any more info e-mail sucso@ul.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mulner92

Hi Viv, well done looks like a great week to be looking forward to. Just wondering for any of the daily activities around ul, how much does it cost or do you just give what you can to the collection?

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭VivGrise

For events like the 5 a side, raft race, Tag rugby and bungee jump, you can find info here.

For other events like the eating competitions, sumo wrestling and the bucking bronco, you just have to make a little donation! :D

Finest, thanks. I think the bucking bronco is calling me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭KealanOCarroll

Talk about a packed week:eek:

Can't wait....gonna be epic:D

Are the stables/scholars open later that week or what time do they stay open till? Don't have much energy to go to town.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

No offence intended as I'm sure a lot of work has gone into it but imo that's the softest Rag Week I seen in my 4 years here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Are eightball still organising the gigs for this? There are absolutely no big acts playing bar the local heroes! Complete comedown from what I've experienced here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

BYOB cinema night is the highlight of Wednesday. Jesus that's poor. And a Christy Moore tribute band. I'd say the man himself surely wouldn't have cost much more.

Basically it's the RubberBandits. I mean there are loads of Irish bands that wouldn't be hugely expensive and draw a crowd, and no I'm not reffering to the Corona's.

The stuff during the day is great but its what happens at night that makes or breaks the day imo.

While this line up isn't farcical it's a poor attempt really. Weren't the Rubberbandits headlining one of the nights last year as well?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056008216&highlight=week

There were a lot of what I would have thought attainable acts mentioned in here.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

It looks looks ok, i'm sure it'll be a good week. Maybe you can answer me here Viv, seeing as there was no response before, as to the reason why the week was scheduled for week 6 this year? There's a fairly thorough thread on it a few ages back with no responses from the SU.

Also I hope you sell out the Rubberbandits. But i'd still question why the highlight of the week is put on Thursday by which stage many people are sick/broke/tired or gone home. You could probably sell out the gig at €15 on Monday/Tues.

Anyway, best of luck, here's to a good week.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭NeirBot

I think there should be more BYOB events, like it or not drinking is an integral part of rag(charity) week for most students and the funds aren't there to drink in the pubs for a couple days for most people.
    If nothing else it might stop people "skulling" drink right before coming down, which is a big reason why people get sooo drunk, it'd let people drink at their own pace.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 interesteduser

As expected people complaining about the line up. Have a look around the country lads, very few unions have any big name acts this year apart from the bandits... the money simply isnt there. The likes of Example who played LIT rag week last week was paid for by Trinity Rooms so personally I think UL line up this year is one not too be complained about.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

We can't put the financial viability of the organisation on the line to ensure people have fun.

Harsh and all as it sounds, our employment pays people's mortgages and it's not responsible to jeopardise that on ents.

It's not about the entertainment.

We can't "assume" people will buy tickets. Everything has to be backed up with a business case.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

I for one can't wait for RAG/Charity Week! Looking forward to Tag rugby and the Bandits, the Raft Race (as always) and tons more!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

What does the wonka ticket cover?

So far I can only see it covering the rubber bandits and the byob?

WHat else do we have to pay for/does it cover

It includes a T-Shirt and entry to any ticketed event...(i.e Rubberbandits/Campaign LK/Willie O DJ and the BYOB)

It's working differently this year as an incentive to raise money for charity it is only available to those who raise €80 or more individually.

It's just unfortunate that this idea didn't emerge in previous years when there were more ticketed events.

The Stables and Scholars also have something on each night.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

ninty9er wrote: »
    It includes a T-Shirt and entry to any ticketed event...(i.e Rubberbandits/Campaign LK/Willie O DJ and the BYOB)

It's working differently this year as an incentive to raise money for charity it is only available to those who raise €80 or more individually.

It's just unfortunate that this idea didn't emerge in previous years when there were more ticketed events.

The Stables and Scholars also have something on each night.

If I were to just donate €80 of my own money, would I be able to get a Wonka?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

attachment.php?attachmentid=149028&stc=1&d=1298280289

Am I reading this wrong so??... I thought it was saying wonka ticket €12 or if you want a free one, raise €80 for charity.

Out of interest; Mumford & Sons are playing Dolans in the middle of March @ €28. Now I don't know how receptive they'd have been to doing a University Rag Week but I'd be pretty sure you'd have sold a Rag Week gig with them out at that price and probably could have done it for less/added in another act given that you wouldn't have been as restricted on capacity as Dolans is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

cson wrote: »
    Out of interest; Mumford & Sons are playing Dolans in the middle of March @ €28. Now I don't know how receptive they'd have been to doing a University Rag Week but I'd be pretty sure you'd have sold a Rag Week gig with them out at that price and probably could have done it for less/added in another act given that you wouldn't have been as restricted on capacity as Dolans is.

+1 Great band and brilliant live I'd presume the bigger audience could see the ticket price down to around E20. I'd definately buy a ticket for them at that price and I'd know a good few other who would. Would have loved to have seen them in the lineup. Quite disappointed with the lineup, no real big music acts at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭McFry

So what's the story with Shave or dye on Tuesday in the courtyard? I'd love to do that. Do I buy dye and have it done there or what? Confused as to how to go about this. :/ Can't wait for my first rag week! :)

Really looking forward to it. Going to do as many things as possible, am heading to the bandits and the cinema night. Hope its very enjoyabl,e probably won't be there next year (co-op) it's all for good causes!

Viv won't know this but Mumford were looked into by our agents last year. They were uneconomic last year. I can't speak for them, but Dolans is a music junkie spot and I imagine Mumford probably would like to play there. We have research that shows people won't spend more than €15 on a gig.

Does the Stables do food during the week? I have meal vouchers and they'd be awful handy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Scholars did some epic snackboxes last year...nomnom

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

was just wondering does the wonka ticket cover entry to angel lane on tuesday night? because it says on angel lane's fb to get tickets from ulsu...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 useme2

Mumford & Sons are playing Dolans warehouse on March 16.

http://www.dolanspub.com/home.html

Such a pity that tickets are all gone for this as its gonna be a great gig.

There was talk of them being considered for charity week.Pity cos If that's anything to go by they'd have sold the place out!

****e didn't know it was sold out. Really wanted to go see them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Sophiee

For the Rubberbandits - what age group is it and where can you get tickets?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

5 day forecast rain free... happy days