Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Election News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Even if you just look at his photograph.

Seriously. Would you support someone who took a photograph like that and decided 'Jeez I look good here' and posted it on their FB page? FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

I see he lists himself as a builder and Farmer:(
    No mention of what he farms:mad:

See he's closed his FB wall to new posts and deleted the 'you're a disgrace' posts in the last hour.

What can I say - except have the sense to stay off the social networking sites when you have a dirty secret you can't defend, you thick fucker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

See he's closed his FB wall to new posts and deleted the 'you're a disgrace' posts in the last hour.

What can I say - except have the sense to stay off the social networking sites when you have a dirty secret you can't defend, you thick fucker.

PMSL!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Well Fine Gael claim that they will introduce new animal welfare law & reintroduce stag hunting :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

what did he do? I missed out the above.

(ps what's PMSL stands for!)

The more I look into it the worse it looks, I try and vote based on the individual and party policies, but its hard to find a candidate I am willing to support.
    I will keep looking.

And EGAR, I'd vote for you:D

@ the paws, He's probably Irelands most famous puppy farmer.

Discodog wrote: »
    Well Fine Gael claim that they will introduce new animal welfare law & reintroduce stag hunting :confused:

Don't you get it, DD? After reading their reply to me several times it dawned to me what they are aiming at: that the animals they use to rip other animals apart are healthy.

Unbelieveable....

Thanks EGAR! (I only know LOL! But I am learning something new today!)

God thats really horrible and sad. It is great that someone out there managed to dig up his background to show what he is really like....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shanao

FB page is gone but people can still comment on journal.ie http://www.thejournal.ie/election-candidates-2011/laois-offaly/john-boland/
    Man, I would love to be in this guys constituency. Imagine if he came canvassing to your door?

Does John Boland win a prize for the fastest ever brief encounter with social networking?

'I posted meself on facebook, but nobody likes me so I deleted the page.'
    'That's terrible, John, how many days were you on Facebook?'
    '...days?'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

I emailed FG [EMAIL="enda.kenny@finegael"]enda.kenny@finegael[/EMAIL].​ie - they confirmed they will introduce the stag hunting again immediately but are very concerned for outdated animal welfare laws- I pointed out the irony and they will pass to their party spokesman.:rolleyes:

then i heard Pete the vet

http://petethevet.blogspot.com/2011/02/animal-issues-in-irish-general-election.html

press play on VETelection.mp3

I cannot believe this Boland guy- we are such morons to elect paddy local in this country that if he was elected it would not surprise me. What qualifications has this guy for running a country?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

He's a disgusting excuse for a human being :mad:

You'd have to have all of your screws loose to vote for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭crally

"I can get you whatever type of pup you want,’ Mr Boland’s father boasted to one customer recently. ‘We are all in it to make money. The more pups we sell, the better.’”Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1050747/How-tiny-handbag-dogs-bred-conditions-horrific-cruelty.html#ixzz1EGBGzA4R

John Boland · TheJournal.ie
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ John Bolandsafe_image.php?d=c49ed45690aa83f1191aa7427eb2711d&w=90&h=90&url=http%3A%2F%2Fcdn.thejournal.ie%2Fmedia%2F2011%2F02%2FJohnBolandIND-197x197.jpg

Gilmore has just confirmed that Labour will oppose any attempt to reverse the Stag hunting ban as proposed by Fine Gael.

Oh & the Dog Breeding Bill was not signed into law - bet Mr Boland is delighted.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Sassy58

Guys - I made it my misson last night to hound that fecker John Boland - he doesn't like me and I am so going to loose sleep over him lol not - he blocked us all from his facebook and removed all our posts but if you go on to

http://www.thejournal.ie/election-candidates-2011/longford-westmeath/john-bloand/

all the candidates have a blog there and he is included as one of the independents - you can post your comments there - a few fo us have already - seems he failed to let ppl know he is one of the biggest puppy farmers in europe - there was also a piece about John Boland in The Sunday Times on the 10th June, 2007 by John Mooney

• Registered Users Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Cole

Gilmore has just confirmed that Labour will oppose any attempt to reverse the Stag hunting ban as proposed by Fine Gael.

On Pat Kenny's show? I heard that, but I was hoping that the caller would also ask him why Labour voted against the ban in the first place.

I heard him say, in a previous radio interview, that he responded in "political kind" to the then government bill. I interpreted that as meaning that Labour voted against the bill because it was a FF/Green proposal, not based on any beliefs or principles that he or Labour have on animal welfare issues (I don't think they have any). They're utterly shameful........as are Fine Gael for pledging to reverse the ban and for voting against the dog breeding bill.

The worst aspect of all of this is that both parties (but particularly Labour, who have championed animal welfare issues in the past) have gotten away with playing the most blatant, cynical political game for votes. Labour were going to vote against the dog breeding bill, but I think only voted for it at the last minute because they sensed the public were starting to cop on to the political games they were playing.

As has been said here before, animal welfare is such a non issue amongst most of the electorate, but I'm disappointed in the media for not grilling the likes of Gilmore on their hypocrisy.

As for Boland, he's not going to get a seat but his increased profile may make more people aware of his immoral 'business'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Owen curran

What a bunch of spineless clowns ye all are! John Boland this John Boland that! I bet not one of ye ever met him! Not one of ye were ever on his property! And ye all on the Internet hiding behind user names! I'm here using my real name, and I have met John Boland(only once)! What I do know about the man is that if someone does work for him he pays! John and all his family are hard working honest people! So stop hiding behind user names on the Internet, and slating a man you never met! For gods sake giving out about dog breeding! What about the poor sheep! A ewe is put in lamb every year for profit! Or the cow, the poor fecking cow is put in calf every year to produce milk! As soon as her calf is born it's taken away! Causing stress on both cow and calf! The cow is forced to live in a shed with maybe 100 other cows! And all this with thousands of gallons of their own poo in a tank underneath them! And all this is done for............shock horror MONEY!Farming is farming and farming by it's nature exploits the animals been used! ! I'm not a dog breeder or a farmer btw! Just sick of ye slating this man! He'd be a breath of fresh air!

You have met him only once yet you feel the urge to register here and post on his behalf..? Aye...;)

Click on my profile and you get my website. EGAR = East Galway Animal Rescue - I belong to the people who have fought for a long time to get the likes of John Boland and Co closed down. He is a disgrace.

So you have met him once, done some work & this qualifies you to give a detailed opinion ?. Sounds like you know him as well as any Taxi driver. How do you know that none of us know him or have been on his property ?. Agricultural animals are subjected to rigorous scrutiny unlike puppy farms. A dog has totally different health & environmental requirements to an agricultural animal.

If Mr Boland looks after his animals then he would open the doors & welcome anyone to inspect his dogs. He would welcome the DBEB instead of opposing it. No one would buy a puppy if they knew that it had been bred in a puppy farm which is why he sells to dealers & middle men.

You accuse us of hiding yet Mr Boland hides his puppies behind high fences & CCTV. When RTE did their program on Puppy Farming Mr Boland refused to take part - what is he hiding. Most of Europe regard Mr Boland's activities as animal cruelty & most here agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Paul T Barry

What your fail to understand Owen is that Lambs and Calves don't need to be socilaised in the first 8 - 10 weeks of their lives in order to have any kind of normal existence going forward. Pups do, and ones that are kept in facilities where there are up to 1000 breeding bitches,can't possibly get the care and attention / socialisation with humans and everyday occurrences they need. Fact! The animals you talk about have been raised on farms for years, dogs have been domesticated for years. I think thousands of years of evolution should indicate what animals should be raised on farms and which one's shouldn't

And just because Owen posted so nicely, here is another link:

http://sites.google.com/site/puppyalert/puppyfarmingsireland

Still no puke smilie....just imagine one.

Oh I think that "Owen" understands this perfectly well ;).

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shanao

What a bunch of spineless clowns ye all are!

Who exactly are the spineless clowns here? The people fighting day in, day out for better welfare for our animals, the people who live side by side with their dogs, pay out hundreds every year to guarantee their health and happiness, or the people who breed innocent animals to death for profit, ignoring medical issues and enviromental enrichment? Maybe you should think about that one for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

EGAR wrote: »
    And just because Owen posted so nicely, here is another link:

http://sites.google.com/site/puppyalert/puppyfarmingsireland

Still no puke smilie....just imagine one.
    sick0021.gif
    Any sheep/cattle farmer can have farm inspections at any time. If conditions are not right for his/her stock his single farm payments will be affected. If Boland is confident that his dogs are in suitable conditions why not invite Department officials in and inspect the place. Simples!

Even rescues in receipt of the Department of Agri grant agree to have regular inspections as a condition of the application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Owen curran

So when a suckler cow is separated from a calf and the both cry and bawl for a couple days or more, this is not cruel? Come on, of cousre its cruel. But its farming so it makes it fine! I met him once(fact) ! None of ye know him yet comment on his personality! I live 5 miles from him and the general feeling of John Boland in the area is positive! And if his place is as bad as it is made out to be surely the powers that be could close him down! Only conclusion I can come to is that it's not near as bad as ye folks make out! None of ye know me either so don't make assumptions on why I posted here! I have my reasons and they have nothing to do with John Boland ! This forum is like an on line pub! Plenty of people giving out about others with no foundations to what they say! Regards folks!

There is a big difference between a cow or sheep and a dog.

Dogs have been domesticated to live WITH humans, not in a field with little contact.

Farmers have regular inspections of all livestock, regular health checks to prevent disease, and there are rules about the keeping of these animals.

Puppy farmers have no rules and regs to follow, no health checks required.

There is a huge difference.