Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure gone!

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

& that muppet McCann is responsible for Waterford not having a proper shopping centre!

What I'd like to do too him!

Waterford will fight back! lovely new cafe on Michael street .... & a few other places around the city centre ... rates situation needs to be resolved, WIT moving into the Grannary building will bring a good few people into the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I can't believe that this thread has little to do with Pure and has become yet another discussion/rant about the state of the city-centre. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I suppose there is so much that can be said about Pure, but you are of course right:

Please keep on topic lads, there is a thread currently running about traffic and city centre. Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey leBlanc

gscully wrote: »
    I can't believe that this thread has little to do with Pure and has become yet another discussion/rant about the state of the city-centre. :rolleyes:

And I can't believe that a topic about a specialist clothes shop can run to 5 pages! Yes it was an alternative to what was around town but Im sure the rent/rates on the premises were far more than their previous stores in O'Connell St/beside the Simon Shop. Further, maybe the guys should have stocked some less expensive stuff to run with their costly label gear. Nice fellas but Im sure they will return somewhere else in a different guise.

I also noticed when passing the closed premises the other day a notice blames the closure on the current economic climate & thanks Bertie for making a mess of the country. I'd wager that 3/4yrs ago there was nothing being said when the cash till were constantly ringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

And I can't believe that a topic about a specialist clothes shop can run to 5 pages!

My point was that anyone viewing the main page would see a 5-page discussion, think there was something worth reading, then discover the same old arguments and debate in a different thread. Those debates are not without merit, but they have their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I also noticed when passing the closed premises the other day a notice blames the closure on the current economic climate & thanks Bertie for making a mess of the country. I'd wager that 3/4yrs ago there was nothing being said when the cash till were constantly ringing.

Hang on a sec, I'm trying to figure out what you're trying to say....do you mean to say that the owners of a small clothes shop should be able to know that Bertie has encouraged light touch regulation in order that his cronies the developers and bankers could lend and borrow money like mad feckin eejits and thus send the country rocketing to the poorhouse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

I really do hope they open back up... i must say i did find some of there clothes expensive, but they were all really good brands...

fecking loved there shoes though... sigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey leBlanc

Hang on a sec, I'm trying to figure out what you're trying to say....do you mean to say that the owners of a small clothes shop should be able to know that Bertie has encouraged light touch regulation in order that his cronies the developers and bankers could lend and borrow money like mad feckin eejits and thus send the country rocketing to the poorhouse?

What I am trying to say is that everyone rode the celtic tiger gravy train of excess without thinking of the consequences. I for one knew things were going a little askew when a developer paid the City Council over 40m euros for a parcel of land adjoining the city bypass (by the Johns Park exit, where M+S were gonna build). Not many people questioned the wisdom of the transaction, they just cheered! How was this allowed? After all Waterford is just a small city in a small country on the edge of Europe.

Everyone fed at the money trough. Many could'nt get enough. Had to change the car every year; their house every other year. Bought houses/apartments abroad. Told their kids they had to get on the property ladder now as prices would rise year after year. Got immigrants to do all the supposedly menial jobs. As the saying goes "what goes around, come around".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭decies

Joey makes good points . Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭DeiseX

Does anybody know of any shop in the region (Clonmel, Kilkenny or Wexford etc) similar to Pure??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭rayc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭wreckless

bad news for the country, real gents were the two men.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 shebzy

They must of made a killing during the boom years i think, there stuff was 1 of the most expensive in the town ,another store gone in waterford , bad news all round .